shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Flour prices to increase by 33% from tomorrow
pugboy wrote:serious ?
gonna go buy a couple 10kg nowshake d livin wake d dead wrote:Flour prices to increase by 33% from tomorrow
What are you going and store it in?shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pugboy wrote:serious ?
gonna go buy a couple 10kg nowshake d livin wake d dead wrote:Flour prices to increase by 33% from tomorrow
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/nfm-to- ... Y.whatsapp
nemisis wrote:What are you going and store it in?shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pugboy wrote:serious ?
m@x wrote:nemisis wrote:What are you going and store it in?shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pugboy wrote:serious ?
freezer
nemisis wrote:What are you going and store it in?shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pugboy wrote:serious ?
daring dragoon wrote:doubles will go straight to $10
great is the pnm.
now the fun begins. a bag of four will be over $100. doubles, roti , bakery will close down. people will lose jobs. an some skunt argue that you cant hang yourself on 1 yard of rope.
hover11 wrote:How long can you really store flour for with weevil and other pests eventually we all have to face the new increase
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:NFM to increase flour price by 33%
National Flour Mills Limited (NFM) today announced that while it has been able to secure sufficient wheat stocks to guarantee that Trinidad and Tobago has an adequate supply of flour for the remainder of 2022, the cost of wheat to NFM has increased by a further 49 per cent in 2022, due to the ongoing war in Ukraine.
As a result, the company said that in order to reduce losses in its Flour Division, National Flour Mills has had to increase the wholesale price of flour by 33 per cent, with a suggested increase averaging 28 per cent on the retail price of flour to the consumer.
This decision the company said, follows continued initiatives to reduce operating costs to maintain the price of flour, in the face of increased supply chain challenges and soaring commodity prices.
Flour prices were increased in January 2022, NFM’s first increase since 2008, however the emerging crisis in eastern Europe and the decision by India and at least seven of the world’s wheat suppliers to curtail exports, saw a reduction in the quantities available to non-producing nations like Trinidad and Tobago and resulted in dramatic increases in the price of wheat globally.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/nfm-to- ... bd931e7712
teems1 wrote:daring dragoon wrote:doubles will go straight to $10
great is the pnm.
now the fun begins. a bag of four will be over $100. doubles, roti , bakery will close down. people will lose jobs. an some skunt argue that you cant hang yourself on 1 yard of rope.
What the PNM have to do with Putin invading Ukraine?
Ukraine is the wheat basket for the world, and are currently unable to produce as they normally would.
Supply goes down, price goes up.
Dizzy28 wrote:^ The output from the megafarms were not the major constituents of the daily calorie intake of the average Trini.
daring dragoon wrote:teems1 wrote:daring dragoon wrote:doubles will go straight to $10
great is the pnm.
What the PNM have to do with Putin invading Ukraine?
Ukraine is the wheat basket for the world, and are currently unable to produce as they normally would.
Supply goes down, price goes up.
allyuh kinda dotish. no steps was taken for food security, none at all. unc started mega farms, pnm close it down. come nah man pay attention. keep talking sheit and feel pnm innocent. TT have no food security.which is the job of the govt. chicken eggs and chicks imported, seeds imported, fertilizer imported and now TT have nothing. kiss will have to send home workers as bread sales slow. i hope you adopt a kiss worker and their family since they are not to blame for bread price increasing.
little venezuela here we come.
matr1x wrote:Wheat flour maybe, but different types of flour is possible.
Pnm killed the agricultural sector and has been distributing land for friends and family
DMan7 wrote:How much doubles to buy and freeze now???
hover11 wrote:Shouldn't subsidies now be placed on food importation rather fuel and reimpose taxes on hybrids. I believe purchasing food is a higher priority than such
SuperiorMan wrote:Frozen doubles yuck.
Dizz,Dizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Shouldn't subsidies now be placed on food importation rather fuel and reimpose taxes on hybrids. I believe purchasing food is a higher priority than such
The increase is not in line with the increased costs to NFM (49% increase in wheat price as opposed to 33% increase in flour price). I can only assume GORTT is subsidizing the difference.
matr1x wrote:Wheat flour maybe, but different types of flour is possible.
Pnm killed the agricultural sector and has been distributing land for friends and family