Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

drchaos

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2022, 12:41 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:take ur 4th jab to keep your vaccine induced immunity account active. neglecting to do so may render u 'undervaxed'

Franklin Khan disagrees with this meme :lol:

Postby sMASH » June 11th, 2022, 7:42 am

redmanjp wrote:Hundreds get murdered every year or die in accidents in a country of 1.4 million but u worried about 1 in a million.

Only the AZ or J&J have a higher than 1 in a million risk blood clots. U still have Pfizer and Sinopharm.

waht they teach in defensive driving? even u are not the cause of an accident, there are things u could have done to prevent it.

if u go tru life aimlessly, then yes, u will be one of those random numbers in teh statistics.
but if u take measures to avoid certain places and circumstances, ur exposure to the crime is reduced and the likelyhood of becoming one of those stats is reduced.

avoiding getting those jabs, reduced my likelyhood of vaccine injury by 100%.

Postby adnj » June 11th, 2022, 9:18 am

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Hundreds get murdered every year or die in accidents in a country of 1.4 million but u worried about 1 in a million.

Only the AZ or J&J have a higher than 1 in a million risk blood clots. U still have Pfizer and Sinopharm.

waht they teach in defensive driving? even u are not the cause of an accident, there are things u could have done to prevent it.

if u go tru life aimlessly, then yes, u will be one of those random numbers in teh statistics.
but if u take measures to avoid certain places and circumstances, ur exposure to the crime is reduced and the likelyhood of becoming one of those stats is reduced.

Just keep posting. It will make you feel better.

Postby st7 » June 11th, 2022, 6:50 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

it's part entertaining, and sometimes part annoying

Postby sMASH » June 11th, 2022, 11:34 pm

st7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

it's part entertaining, and sometimes part annoying

i know being alive and unjabbed kinda annoying u all... i live to annoy u... [/purpose]

Postby st7 » June 11th, 2022, 11:35 pm

but u also entertain. doh sell yourself short sma

Postby K74T » June 11th, 2022, 11:46 pm

Yeh them PEPpers them kixsy. Brainwash FTW.

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2022, 4:15 pm

K74T wrote:Yeh them PEPpers them kixsy. Brainwash FTW.
Don't forget alive, Sans jab...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 12th, 2022, 8:28 pm

sMASH wrote:

You and more than half of the population that un-vaxxed.

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2022, 9:00 pm

Aside from vaccine hesitancy, a related challenge emerged months before a vaccine was made available—indeed almost as soon as the first COVID-19 cases appeared and well before the virus’ genome had even been sequenced. That issue has been skepticism or disbelief that the coronavirus is as pathogenic or virulent as advertised, or is even real [18]. Public health professionals are likely familiar with the tales of alleged conspiracies [19]—some perhaps semi-plausible early on (e.g., SARS-CoV-2 is a lab-weaponized pathogen), others quite ridiculous (e.g., COVID-19 is not a viral disease but is due to radiation from 5G towers) [20]. Vaccine hesitancy has spawned its own bizarre conspiracies [21], such as Bill Gates installing microchips or magnetic nanobots in the syringes for purposes of government surveillance, and its own disinformation [22], such as the vaccine not really being a vaccine, or the vaccine causing AIDS. Over two years into the pandemic, at the time of this writing, skepticism and hesitancy are twin impediments that, together, have created enough suspicion to have partly derailed the vaccine rollout and to have contributed to depressed rates of immunization throughout the U.S. [23]. This in turn may present a substantial impediment to finally reducing the incidence of COVID-19 cases to a manageable level, even to moderate endemicity.

Discussion
As seen in these analyses, our hypotheses were half right and half wrong. In these data, COVID-19 skepticism and SARS-CoV-2 vaccine hesitancy do not appear to be phenomena of both poles of the political and religious spectrum, as anticipated, but largely products of identification with the political and religious right. This finding is consistent with results of a recent online study [38], with European data [39], and with a U.S. Census Bureau household survey [40]. The findings for U.S. Presidential voting preference were, frankly, stark, though perhaps not unexpected [41]. The results for education and income suggest that skepticism and hesitancy may not be entirely a matter of lack of knowledge or lack of resources, and thus the solution may not be primarily about more health education or better access to vaccines. The problem instead may be philosophical and ideological and perhaps this is why the unvaccinated have proven so intransigent [42]. Note also that, in absolute numbers, skepticism does not inherently translate into vaccine hesitancy, but prevalences of the latter are still suboptimal for ending the pandemic. Still, the two issues are not as linked as one might have expected.

Up to now, exposing the myths inherent in skepticism and hesitancy has been ineffective in countering resistance to immunization. Noncompliance with primary-preventive measures remains “a significant impediment to suppression of SARS-CoV-2 spread” and thus requires more creative approaches [43]. For example, providing evidence of the dangers of communicable disease exposure to unvaccinated individuals, especially vulnerable loved ones such as children, was found to be a better strategy to combat antivaccination attitudes pre-COVID-19 [44]. People are jealous of their beliefs and ideologies, but, one hopes, are more jealous of the well-being of their family members. Regardless, as has been observed since early in the vaccine rollout, efforts to address the persistent lacuna of immunization have met with strident pushback, motivated in part by political and religious zealousness [45].

The observation that personal experience with COVID-19, in oneself or a loved one, did not mitigate the effect of politics on skepticism and only barely reduced its greater odds for hesitancy should raise alarms. The expectation that both COVID-19 skepticism and SARS-CoV-2 vaccine hesitancy will fade as more and more people, or those whom they know, fall victim to the disease may not be accurate. Nor are opinion leaders as significant here as might be hoped. One should recall that in August, 2021, speaking at rally of supporters, when former President Trump implored the crowed to get vaccinated he was met with “booing and jeering” [46]. For good reason, many epidemiologists and physicians are pessimistic about immunization coverage ever reaching a level that will end the pandemic through attaining herd immunity [47, 48], although so far this sentiment is not unanimous among biomedical scientists [49].

https://bmcpublichealth.biomedcentral.c ... 22-13477-2

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2022, 9:38 pm

drchaos wrote:
sMASH wrote:

i tawt who didnt take the vax was gonna ded? it was a death sentence??? damn, guess we screwed up that narrative

Postby sMASH » June 13th, 2022, 12:03 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
drchaos wrote:
sMASH wrote:

i tawt who didnt take the vax was gonna ded? it was a death sentence??? damn, guess we screwed up that narrative

No, you didn't. You got that part right.

u hadda show the deaths before the vax.

and the deaths drop off when no new vaxes were being taken up, :lol: :lol:
as the peopel stop taking vax, the death drop off.

shoulda put africa in that stats too, prolly too low to show up. low vax low deaths, low cases.. smh

Postby redmanjp » June 13th, 2022, 12:23 am

Italy, US & UK had plenty deaths before the vax. we didn't because borders were closed till July last year and we had more restrictions than many US states, plus the original strain was not as contagious as the gamma, delta and omicron strains. deaths locally started to rise when the gamma strain came in through illegal immigration, causing exponential rise in cases. and of course a spike in cases lead to a spike in deaths.

Dr. campbell had a video that seems to suggest Africa had it easier due to their genetics- basically most of the world where ppl had 2% neanderthal genes were more at risk. africans didnt have the gene.

Postby sMASH » June 13th, 2022, 6:48 am

redmanjp wrote:Italy, US & UK had plenty deaths before the vax. we didn't because borders were closed till July last year and we had more restrictions than many US states, plus the original strain was not as contagious as the gamma, delta and omicron strains. deaths locally started to rise when the gamma strain came in through illegal immigration, causing exponential rise in cases. and of course a spike in cases lead to a spike in deaths.

Dr. campbell had a video that seems to suggest Africa had it easier due to their genetics- basically most of the world where ppl had 2% neanderthal genes were more at risk. africans didnt have the gene.

i quite remember our christmas and new years and carnival and andrea barat vigils and ting went on with barely a bump... then when the vax hit and people gone to test out the new boat for easter... party shut down.

explain all u want, we had nuff superspreader events, months before the rise in cases. and the rise in cases came in just with the easter boat and the vax.

Postby redmanjp » June 13th, 2022, 8:22 am

No. The rise in cases started in March when the Gamma variant then called the Brazilian variant was picked up. This was more contagious so it spread more quickly. The Easter activities made it worse. And more cases always leads to more deaths as deaths are a % of cases. The vax landed April. I know cuz my mom got it first week.

Check back MOH archive u will see. And as I said before US and UK had plenty deaths especially in New York. Long before any vax.
Last edited by redmanjp on June 13th, 2022, 8:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » June 13th, 2022, 8:30 am

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Italy, US & UK had plenty deaths before the vax. we didn't because borders were closed till July last year and we had more restrictions than many US states, plus the original strain was not as contagious as the gamma, delta and omicron strains. deaths locally started to rise when the gamma strain came in through illegal immigration, causing exponential rise in cases. and of course a spike in cases lead to a spike in deaths.

i quite remember our christmas and new years and carnival and andrea barat vigils and ting went on with barely a bump... then when the vax hit and people gone to test out the new boat for easter... party shut down.

explain all u want, we had nuff superspreader events, months before the rise in cases. and the rise in cases came in just with the easter boat and the vax.

The narrative is that older people and the unvaccinated are more at risk of COVID death.

Younger, less vaccinated countries like South Africa and Trinidad and Tobago have helped to provide the proof that the narrative was, and still, holds true.

Postby sMASH » June 13th, 2022, 3:56 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

The narrative is that older people and the unvaccinated are more at risk of COVID death.

Younger, less vaccinated countries like South Africa and Trinidad and Tobago have helped to provide the proof that the narrative was, and still, holds true.

and ur govt so know what they doing, the put the ole people to sit down in the rain to take vax... bunch of numbskulls,,, only taking bill gates money to shove his program in people body

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 13th, 2022, 4:08 pm

just like the price of gas slyrocket and electric tax free. just another manipulation of the people to get them to buy electric.
how can a russia still be at war with a lil boy like Ukraine? just another attempt to manipulate food and shipping routes to fork up china.

Postby sMASH » June 13th, 2022, 9:35 pm

teh fella who ded today, if he swab positive for covid, his death woudl count in covee deaths... lol.

plandemic

Postby adnj » June 14th, 2022, 5:30 am

sMASH wrote:teh fella who ded today, if he swab positive for covid, his death woudl count in covee deaths... lol. plandemic

It was not done that way before. It is not done that way now.

Trinidad and Tobago follows the WHO guidelines below:
----------

World Health Organisation guidelines state that “COVID-19 should be recorded on the medical certificate of cause of death for ALL decedents where the disease, or is assumed to have caused, or contributed to death, i.e. COVID-19 is the underlying cause of death”. Such an example would be someone who has developed pneumonia as a result of COVID-19, dies from acute respiratory distress. Alternatively, COVID-19 may be present on the death certificate as a significant condition contributing to death but not the underlying cause. These guidelines are clear that in such cases these deaths “are not deaths due to COVID-19 and should not be certified as such”.

https://www.who.int/publications/m/item ... e-of-death

Postby sMASH » June 14th, 2022, 9:03 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:teh fella who ded today, if he swab positive for covid, his death woudl count in covee deaths... lol. plandemic

----------

World Health Organisation guidelines state that “COVID-19 should be recorded on the medical certificate of cause of death for ALL decedents where the disease, or is assumed to have caused, or contributed to death, i.e. COVID-19 is the underlying cause of death”. Such an example would be someone who has developed pneumonia as a result of COVID-19, dies from acute respiratory distress. Alternatively, COVID-19 may be present on the death certificate as a significant condition contributing to death but not the underlying cause. These guidelines are clear that in such cases these deaths “are not deaths due to COVID-19 and should not be certified as such”.

thats the death certificate. the published stats for covee deaths is inclusive of deaths WITH covee.
that has been repeated a couple times on the MoH breifings. werent u paying attention to my posts last year and the year before?

Postby redmanjp » June 14th, 2022, 9:46 am

daring dragoon wrote:just like the price of gas slyrocket and electric tax free. just another manipulation of the people to get them to buy electric.
how can a russia still be at war with a lil boy like Ukraine? just another attempt to manipulate food and shipping routes to fork up china.

wrong ched?

Postby adnj » June 14th, 2022, 10:10 am

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

----------

thats the death certificate. the published stats for covee deaths is inclusive of deaths WITH covee.
that has been repeated a couple times on the MoH breifings. werent u paying attention to my posts last year and the year before?

You're wrong again. If COVID accelerated or precipitated a person's death, that person's death is recorded as a COVID death.

I do realize that you're just throwing shitt against the wall but you're just posting the same misconceptions over, and over, and over.

Postby sMASH » June 14th, 2022, 10:14 am

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

----------

You're wrong again. If COVID accelerated or precipitated a person's death, that person's death is recorded as a COVID death.

I do realize that you're just throwing shitt against the wall but you're just posting the same misconceptions over, and over, and over.

i have never seen u, far less for throwing u...

Postby redmanjp » June 14th, 2022, 10:22 pm

BA.4/5 may be more severe than BA.1/2

https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2022.05.26.493539v1

Abstract
After the global spread of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron BA.2 lineage, some BA.2-related variants that acquire mutations in the L452 residue of spike protein, such as BA.2.9.1 and BA.2.13 (L452M), BA.2.12.1 (L452Q), and BA.2.11, BA.4 and BA.5 (L452R), emerged in multiple countries. Our statistical analysis showed that the effective reproduction numbers of these L452R/M/Q-bearing BA.2-related Omicron variants are greater than that of the original BA.2. Neutralization experiments revealed that the immunity induced by BA.1 and BA.2 infections is less effective against BA.4/5. Cell culture experiments showed that BA.2.12.1 and BA.4/5 replicate more efficiently in human alveolar epithelial cells than BA.2, and particularly, BA.4/5 is more fusogenic than BA.2. Furthermore, infection experiments using hamsters indicated that BA.4/5 is more pathogenic than BA.2. Altogether, our multiscale investigations suggest that the risk of L452R/M/Q-bearing BA.2-related Omicron variants, particularly BA.4 and BA.5, to global health is potentially greater than that of original BA.2.

Postby redmanjp » June 15th, 2022, 11:03 am

Covid & monkeypox update

Postby matr1x » June 18th, 2022, 7:02 am

On Thursday night I came back from Spain/France trip. Hardly anyone was wearing masks at all. Maybe a total of 20 in that entire trip. Still had to mask up in the plane.

Many felt that vaccinating below 5 was a bad idea. Not much trust in thr lack of side effects

Postby MaxPower » June 18th, 2022, 8:48 am

matr1x wrote:On Thursday night I came back from Spain/France trip. Hardly anyone was wearing masks at all. Maybe a total of 20 in that entire trip. Still had to mask up in the plane.

Many felt that vaccinating below 5 was a bad idea. Not much trust in thr lack of side effects

Lol,

Sure you did Slim.

You were posting all day Thursday but very happy to know you had wifi 24/7 on such a long journey.

Hope you had a good trip my good Spaniard.

Postby K74T » June 18th, 2022, 9:05 am

LOL

Postby matr1x » June 18th, 2022, 9:12 am

matr1x wrote:On Thursday night I came back from Spain/France trip. Hardly anyone was wearing masks at all. Maybe a total of 20 in that entire trip. Still had to mask up in the plane.

Lol,

Sure you did Slim.

You were posting all day Thursday but very happy to know you had wifi 24/7 on such a long journey.

Hope you had a good trip my good Spaniard.

Apparently by your mudda house, wifi hasn't reached yet. Also airline wifi is a thing. Not all of us is sufferers