Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2022, 2:54 pm

Trinis does wear mask?

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 2:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Are these jackarses positing that all airlines should have been grounded before removal of the mandate?

no just either a heads up or an announcement that teh airline itself would remove it by a certain date.

does AATT have any say in the mask mandate for flights between T&T and US?

What heads up did you expect? :?
It was a court ordered removal, NOT a policy one :roll:

the airline can have its own mandate which they did before any federal mandate, so they could decide to continue to require it for a few days while they notify customers with booked tickets.

Airlines like Delta were requesting removal of the mandate for weeks now.
Again, if the mandate is lifted, then people are free to not wear a mask, and again, a federal judge ordered it lifted immediately, so whether you were already booked, matters not.

Postby st7 » April 19th, 2022, 2:59 pm

some people here dont have day jobs rather than post more and more sheit about being against vaccines etc?

level beat up oui

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 3:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:Anyone read the ruling and the reason? The reason why not to wear a mask?
Republican supporters (and the local trickle down facebook idiots) can't get more stupidly manipulated than this.
(Or can they!) *zoom in intensifies*

“Wearing a mask cleans nothing,” U.S. District Judge Kathryn Kimball Mizelle wrote in her decision on Monday. “At most, it traps virus droplets. But it neither ‘sanitizes’ the person wearing the mask nor ‘sanitizes’ the conveyance.”

Mizelle, 35, was only eight years out of law school at University of Florida when Trump appointed her to the lifetime position in 2020. The Daily Beast noted at the time that her only trial experience was as an intern, and that she held four clerkships, including one for Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas. Mizelle was rated “not qualified” by the American Bar Association prior to her appointment, citing her lack of experience.

https://www.rollingstone.com/politics/p ... e-1339427/

Was more expected from a 35 year old Trump appointed judge who never lead a case in her life, and was deemed as "unqualified" by the ABA? :|

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2022, 3:01 pm

st7 wrote:some people here dont have day jobs rather than post more and more sheit about being against vaccines etc?

level beat up oui

stD,

You eh fed up macoo and watch other people?

Hadda mind your own business bro

Postby st7 » April 19th, 2022, 3:04 pm

max, how old you is? i see you keep trying to make fun of my handle like a high school girl.

i imagine it must make your day giving me that special attention : )

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 3:13 pm

st7 wrote:max, how old you is? i see you keep trying to make fun of my handle like a high school girl.

i imagine it must make your day giving me that special attention : )

Sales like eet slow in de imaginary minimart :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby hover11 » April 19th, 2022, 5:54 pm

st7 wrote:some people here dont have day jobs rather than post more and more sheit about being against vaccines etc?

level beat up oui

stD,

You eh fed up macoo and watch other people?

Hadda mind your own business bro
Max,

You asking the man to do something he never did before. He just can't help it.

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 6:52 pm

Awwww, a rabid anti vax and pro vax unite because of a common enemy!

Postby paid_influencer » April 19th, 2022, 6:54 pm

FQsEvLTWQAA2A93.jpg

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2022, 10:20 pm

next year is midterms,,, white house trying to do some campainging early

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 21st, 2022, 10:41 pm

https://www.inquirer.com/health/coronav ... 20421.html

See guys, just four days of masking can end covid

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 10:03 am

FDA could authorize Covid shots for children under 5 in June

The Food and Drug Administration could authorize a Covid-19 vaccine for children under age 5 in June, according to two people familiar with the plans.

The agency has asked members of its advisory panel, called the Vaccines and Related Biological Products Advisory Committee, to set aside several days in June to potentially meet, the people said.

The panel members haven't been told what the tentative meeting will be about, but it's presumed the discussion will involve the topic of vaccinations in the nation's youngest cohort, one of the people said. The first potential meeting date is June 1.

The days are still subject to change, the people said, especially if the trajectory of the Covid cases continues to rise in the United States.

The FDA had also tentatively scheduled meetings of the advisory committee in May, but those were eventually scrapped.

There are an estimated 19.5 million children under age 5 in the U.S. and Puerto Rico, according to NBC News data.

In February, Pfizer-BioNTech announced they were postponing their rolling application to the FDA to expand the use of its two-dose Covid vaccine for children ages 6 months to 4 years.

The drugmakers said at the time that two doses didn’t generate a strong enough immune response in a clinical trial of children ages 2 to 4, so instead they would pursue a three-dose regimen, and submit their findings to the FDA when the new results came in.

Meanwhile, Moderna said it plans to file a submission to the FDA for children younger than 6 by the end of the month. The company announced its trial results in March. The vaccine wasn't found to be particularly effective against infection, though it did prevent serious illness in young children.

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... -rcna25386

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 10:43 am

Ivermectin as a COVID treatment continues to disappoint but the same studies show that other repurposed medications do successfully treat COVID.

An open label randomized clinical trial of Indomethacin for mild and moderate hospitalised Covid-19 patients

Abstract

Indomethacin, a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID), has been presented as a broad-spectrum antiviral agent. This randomised clinical trial in a hospital setting evaluated the efficacy and safety of this drug in RT-PCR-positive coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) patients. A total of 210 RT-PCR-positive COVID-19 patients who provided consent were allotted to the control or case arm, based on block randomisation. The control arm received standard of care comprising paracetamol, ivermectin, and other adjuvant therapies. The patients in the case arm received indomethacin instead of paracetamol, with other medications retained. The primary endpoint was the development of hypoxia/desaturation with SpO2 ≤ 93, while time to become afebrile and time for cough and myalgia resolution were the secondary endpoints. The results of 210 patients were available, with 103 and 107 patients in the indomethacin and paracetamol arms, respectively. We monitored patient profiles along with everyday clinical parameters. In addition, blood chemistry at the time of admission and discharge was assessed. As no one in either of the arms required high-flow oxygen, desaturation with a SpO2 level of 93 and below was the vital goal. In the indomethacin group, none of the 103 patients developed desaturation. On the other hand, 20 of the 107 patients in the paracetamol arm developed desaturation. Patients who received indomethacin also experienced more rapid symptomatic relief than those in the paracetamol arm, with most symptoms disappearing in half the time. In addition, 56 out of 107 in the paracetamol arm had fever on the seventh day, while no patient in the indomethacin group had fever. Neither arm reported any adverse event. The fourteenth-day follow-up revealed that the paracetamol arm patients had faced several discomforts; indomethacin arm patients mostly complained only of tiredness. Indomethacin is a safe and effective drug for treating patients with mild and moderate covid-19.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-022-10370-1

Postby sMASH » April 22nd, 2022, 11:24 am

Another study TREATING covid with ivermectin,
When ur supposed to have ivermectin in ur system BEFORE infection.

Postby timelapse » April 22nd, 2022, 11:50 am

sMASH wrote:Another study TREATING covid with ivermectin,
So in essence:
Dose with Ivermectin,then expose yourself to Covid to see if you contract it and die.Sounds logical enough

Postby sMASH » April 22nd, 2022, 12:42 pm

The science or the legal challenges ?
IMG_20220422_124111.jpg

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 4:30 pm

sMASH wrote:Another study TREATING covid with ivermectin,

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 5:06 pm

More than 415,000 people died from Covid-19 in 2021, while about 605,000 people died from cancer and about 693,000 people died from heart disease, according to the CDC data. Influenza dropped out of the top 10 causes of death in 2021, while suicide rose to the tenth leading cause of death overall.

https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2022/04/22/heal ... index.html

Postby sMASH » April 22nd, 2022, 5:33 pm

Still alive, no jab...
Or according to authorities metrics, I fall into the 'not fully vaxed' group.

matix

Postby matix » April 22nd, 2022, 5:35 pm

sMASH wrote:Still alive, no jab...

How many times have you taken ivermectin?

Postby redmanjp » April 22nd, 2022, 5:41 pm

matix wrote:

that is good if u have a parasitic infection and also end up in hospital being treated for covid- i think someone posted a study suggesting a benefit in the case where the covid treatment which suppresses the immune system to tackle the inflammatory response ends up allowing the parasitic infection to get out of control (as the immune system is essentially disabled) so u eventually die, but from that infection, not from covid. the ivermectin helps deal with the infection, which is why some studies showed a benefit - but they did not look at the actual cause of death.

Postby redmanjp » April 22nd, 2022, 11:19 pm

WHO approves Paxlovid

https://www.who.int/news/item/22-04-2022-who-recommends-highly-successful-covid-19-therapy-and-calls-for-wide-geographical-distribution-and-transparency-from-originator

WHO recommends highly successful COVID-19 therapy and calls for wide geographical distribution and transparency from originator
22 April 2022 Statement Geneva Reading time: 2 min (592 words)

Today, WHO made a strong recommendation for nirmatrelvir and ritonavir, sold under the name Paxlovid, for mild and moderate COVID-19 patients at highest risk of hospital admission, calling it the best therapeutic choice for high-risk patients to date. However, availability, lack of price transparency in bilateral deals made by the producer, and the need for prompt and accurate testing before administering it, are turning this life-saving medicine into a major challenge for low- and middle-income countries.

Pfizer’s oral antiviral drug (a combination of nirmatrelvir and ritonavir tablets) is strongly recommended for patients with non-severe COVID-19 who are at highest risk of developing severe disease and hospitalization, such as unvaccinated, older, or immunosuppressed patients.

This recommendation is based on new data from two randomized controlled trials involving 3078 patients. The data show that the risk of hospitalization is reduced by 85% following this treatment. In a high-risk group (over 10% risk of hospitalization), that means 84 fewer hospitalizations per 1000 patients.

WHO suggests against its use in patients at lower risk, as the benefits were found to be negligible.

One obstacle for low- and middle-income countries is that the medicine can only be administered while the disease is at its early stages; prompt and accurate testing is therefore essential for a successful outcome with this therapy. Data collected by FIND show that the average daily testing rate in low-income countries is as low as one-eightieth the rate in high-income countries. Improving access to early testing and diagnosis in primary health care settings will be key for the global rollout of this treatment.

WHO is extremely concerned that -- as occurred with COVID-19 vaccines -- low- and middle-income countries will again be pushed to the end of the queue when it comes to accessing this treatment.

Lack of transparency on the part of the originator company is making it difficult for public health organizations to obtain an accurate picture of the availability of the medicine, which countries are involved in bilateral deals and what they are paying. In addition, a licensing agreement made by Pfizer with the Medicines Patent Pool limits the number of countries that can benefit from generic production of the medicine.

The originator product, sold under the name Paxlovid, will be included in the WHO prequalification list today, but generic products are not yet available from quality-assured sources. Several generic companies (many of which are covered by the licensing agreement between the Medicines Pool and Pfizer) are in discussion with WHO Prequalification but may take some time to comply with international standards so that they can supply the medicine internationally.

WHO therefore strongly recommends that Pfizer make its pricing and deals more transparent and that it enlarge the geographical scope of its licence with the Medicines Patent Pool so that more generic manufacturers may start to produce the medicine and make it available faster at affordable prices.

Along with the strong recommendation for the use of nirmatrelvir and ritonavir, WHO has also updated its recommendation on remdesivir, another antiviral medicine.

Previously, WHO had suggested against its use in all COVID-19 patients regardless of disease severity, due to the totality of the evidence at that time showing little or no effect on mortality. Following publication of new data from a clinical trial looking at the outcome of admission to hospital, WHO has updated its recommendation. WHO now suggests the use of remdesivir in mild or moderate COVID-19 patients who are at high risk of hospitalization.

The recommendation for use of remdesivir in patients with severe or critical COVID-19 is currently under review.

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 4:11 am

redmanjp wrote:
matix wrote:

that is good if u have a parasitic infection and also end up in hospital being treated for covid- i think someone posted a study suggesting a benefit in the case where the covid treatment which suppresses the immune system to tackle the inflammatory response ends up allowing the parasitic infection to get out of control (as the immune system is essentially disabled) so u eventually die, but from that infection, not from covid. the ivermectin helps deal with the infection, which is why some studies showed a benefit - but they did not look at the actual cause of death.

since april 2020, very early on, a dr was saying, that the virus is dead 10 days after the initial infection. so, up to that time, u administer anti virals to kill the virus. but after that 10 days, u administer immuno supressants and anti inflamatories.
which makes sense, cause the major problem with covid is the body's own response,, over acting, killing itself ... the cytokine storm.

the ivermectin was observed to have the protease inhibitor effect. where it just interrupts the virus from attaching to the receptor sites of cells. so, blocking infection in that way. but, that will only work if its in the body circulating in enough quantities, compared to the virus cells.

so, taking it when ur already infected, means u have to take enough, and it must reach the area of infection (lung tissue) in quantities to be comparable to the viral cells, and not be overshelemed by the sheer amount of viral cells.
all that means is, u need to take it as early as possible to avoid the virus from infecting and spreading. cause the virus can out replicate the cells that get blocked. and covid replicates very quickly.
but u only need to keep it at bay for 10 days, until ur body can over come it.

so, the best thing is to have it well distributed in ur body before hand.

i was supposed to take the ivermectin at teh beginning of february, but didnt, cause i wanted to ensure i get exposure to omicron.

Postby timelapse » April 23rd, 2022, 7:15 am

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
matix wrote:

since april 2020, very early on, a dr was saying, that the virus is dead 10 days after the initial infection. so, up to that time, u administer anti virals to kill the virus. but after that 10 days, u administer immuno supressants and anti inflamatories.
which makes sense, cause the major problem with covid is the body's own response,, over acting, killing itself ... the cytokine storm.

the ivermectin was observed to have the protease inhibitor effect. where it just interrupts the virus from attaching to the receptor sites of cells. so, blocking infection in that way. but, that will only work if its in the body circulating in enough quantities, compared to the virus cells.

so, taking it when ur already infected, means u have to take enough, and it must reach the area of infection (lung tissue) in quantities to be comparable to the viral cells, and not be overshelemed by the sheer amount of viral cells.
all that means is, u need to take it as early as possible to avoid the virus from infecting and spreading. cause the virus can out replicate the cells that get blocked. and covid replicates very quickly.
but u only need to keep it at bay for 10 days, until ur body can over come it.

so, the best thing is to have it well distributed in ur body before hand.

i was supposed to take the ivermectin at teh beginning of february, but didnt, cause i wanted to ensure i get exposure to omicron.
So was marijuana.
https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/sciadv.abi6110
Your street pharmacist might be more useful than you think.Directions for smash: Go out your road, turn left, drive until the big corner by the bar.There are usually Herbalists around there.

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 7:31 am

but the mental effects... hmmmm, lol

Postby timelapse » April 23rd, 2022, 8:19 am

sMASH wrote:but the mental effects... hmmmm, lol
Make you calm tf down, want to hug everybody and raid their fridge?

Postby adnj » April 23rd, 2022, 10:30 am

Believing in ivermectin has become a badge of affiliation indicating a particular worldview. It also signals that a person is most likely exposed to — and may even believe — other common misinformation tropes embraced by that community, for example, the belief that the number of Covid deaths has been exaggerated (in fact, it is likely to have been underreported), that the vaccines killed thousands (in reality they saved hundreds of thousands of lives) and that the public health measures were unnecessary and ineffective (just wrong).

The ivermectin believers never really address the conceptual inconsistency of why it makes sense to advocate for an unproven pharmaceutical treatment with known side effects over a vaccine that has a mountain of evidence demonstrating efficacy and safety. Again, I think ideology plays a role. A vaccine that is given free by the government for the benefit of the entire community smells like socialism, I guess. While taking an unproven therapy is something individuals do for themselves. Freedom! 

https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/i ... -rcna22901

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2022, 11:15 am

^ nail on the head imo

axe

Postby axe » April 23rd, 2022, 11:53 am

What is the mountain of evidence showing vaccine safety?

What are the side effects of ivermectin BEFORE covid?

This is misinformation a nail in the head of truth