Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby RedVEVO » March 16th, 2022, 2:45 am

T&T Peeps have NO control of the " gas prices " ..

None, none , and none .

The current Gov't will do as THEY please despite ANY concerns or consequences.

Any $$$ increase at the TOP will trickle down to the increase of everything $$$ wise to peeps at the BOTTOM .

Why ?

You need to seriously think about how decisions are made in T&T .

Cause T&T peeps like to hide their head in the sand even when you cannot go to the beach !

Postby adnj » March 16th, 2022, 9:33 am

Oil prices dropped 30% in a week. What gives?

By Julia Horowitz, CNN Business

Updated 4:18 PM EDT, Tue March 15, 2022

London(CNN Business) After Russia invaded Ukraine, global oil prices experienced a dramatic spike. Just over a week ago, Brent crude leaped above $139 per barrel. Analysts warned prices could touch $185, then $200 as traders shunned Russian oil, pushing inflation even higher and adding huge strain to the global economy.

But there's been a rapid reversal since then. Brent crude futures, the global benchmark, have cratered almost 30% from their peak. They settled below $100 per barrel for the first time this month after shedding another 6.5% on Tuesday.

Stocks soared on the news as well. The Dow gained about 600 points, or 1.8%, Tuesday. The S&P 500 and Nasdaq rose 2.1% and 2.9% respectively.

What's happening: The unusually sharp pullback has been driven by hopes that Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates could boost oil production, and that demand from China could drop due to new coronavirus restrictions in major cities. This would ease the squeeze on the market.

Yet analysts warn that we're not out of the woods yet. Oil is still trading significantly above what it costs to produce it, and extreme swings are likely to persist at a moment of huge uncertainty.

"I wouldn't rule out $200 a barrel just yet," Bjørnar Tonhaugen, head of oil markets at Rystad Energy, told me. "It's too soon."

https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2022/03/15/inve ... index.html

Postby Ben_spanna » March 17th, 2022, 11:51 am

Allyuh see what happening in California? Gas prices so high the new thing is they drilling the bottom of your gas tank and emptying your car while its parked! MADNESS yes!

Postby Dave » March 17th, 2022, 3:13 pm

That's quite scary. If cutting a metal tank, metal cutting tool and gas sounds extremely dangerous. Attacking the rubber hose sounds safer if that's possible especially when dealing with gasoline.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 17th, 2022, 3:23 pm

Dave wrote:That's quite scary. If cutting a metal tank, metal cutting tool and gas sounds extremely dangerous. Attacking the rubber hose sounds safer if that's possible especially when dealing with gasoline.

Majority of newer cars now have plastic tanks, so theres no spark associated with drill bits and metal walls apparently.

:(

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2022, 3:25 pm

JUST IN: Gas prices set to increase in T&T from Tuesday April 19th, 2022

Premium gasoline: by $1 to $6.75 per liter
Super gasoline: by $1 to $5.96 per liter
Diesel: by 50¢ to $3.91 per liter

FB_IMG_1649445924267.jpg

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » April 8th, 2022, 3:28 pm

What's the source??

K74T wrote:JUST IN: Gas prices set to increase in T&T from Tuesday April 19th, 2022

Premium gasoline: by $1 to $6.75 per liter
Super gasoline: by $1 to $5.96 per liter
Diesel: by 50¢ to $3.91 per liter

FB_IMG_1649445924267.jpg

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2022, 3:32 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/fuel-prices-go-up-from-april-19/article_e7b648a8-b770-11ec-84f9-efb4e0c0dbe3.html

Finance Minister Colm Imbert has announced that as of Tuesday 19 April, the price of fuel will be increased.

The announcement was made today in the Parliament.

Premium and super gasoline will rise by $1 per litre to $6.75 and $5.97 respectively.

The price of diesel will be adjusted by 50c to $3.91 per litre

The price of LPG (cooking gas) will remain the same.

The price of kerosene has been increased to $3.50

Postby 16 cycles » April 8th, 2022, 3:44 pm

Will it move to a floating price eventually?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2022, 3:47 pm

gawddamn it

make meh care

Postby make meh care » April 8th, 2022, 3:49 pm

nice is about time

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 8th, 2022, 3:50 pm

Sooo what other dependent services in the country going to increase now after this increase? Taxi / Maxi what else?

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2022, 3:53 pm

Everything is dependent on fuel prices.

wing

Postby wing » April 8th, 2022, 4:07 pm

And we got a refinery rotting away. Buying scrap iron, ole battery buying...

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 8th, 2022, 4:11 pm

PNM 2025 guys.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2022, 4:15 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:PNM 2025 guys.

Until the yellow queen abdicates, it will be PNM 2025, 2030, and 2035 too.

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2022, 4:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yup cuz we are gluttons for punishment

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2022, 4:17 pm

feting and drinking alcohol affected?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 8th, 2022, 4:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

If only UNC peeps would understand that.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 8th, 2022, 4:18 pm

Kamla strikes again

tarzan

Postby tarzan » April 8th, 2022, 4:20 pm

DMan7 wrote:Sooo what other dependent services in the country going to increase now after this increase? Taxi / Maxi what else?

food
taxi
general transportion
construction / hardware consumables
general supplies

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2022, 4:21 pm

Oil prices are extremely high globally and we import gasoline so the price should increase.
We should however have authorities in place to prevent price gouging or unwarranted prices increases and using increased fuel price as a reason.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 8th, 2022, 4:23 pm

Cantmis wrote:Kamla strikes again
All the jokes you could make an arguement where Kamla's inability to be good leader leaves we at the mercy of the ketch yuh a$$ Pnm.

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2022, 4:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Oil prices are extremely high globally and we import gasoline so the price should increase.
We should however have authorities in place to prevent price gouging or unwarranted prices increases and using increased fuel price as a reason.
Question Duane,

Do we have anything in place if suppliers increase the price of food, why would you think we would have something in place for gas? The sad fact is we had a whole Refinery which is rotting away as we type and for what? What was accomplished by doing such?

Anyway don't mind me, impsbert said the economy is thriving so I guess this is part of a thriving economy :S

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2022, 4:49 pm

Cantmis wrote:Kamla strikes again
Kamla was able to successfully complete outstanding wage negotiations to battle the rising cost of living that Manning left on a cliffhanger ....how many wage negotiations has PNM concluded with their TWO consecutive terms in power. I'll wait.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2022, 4:53 pm

hover11 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Oil prices are extremely high globally and we import gasoline so the price should increase.
Question Duane,

Do we have anything in place if suppliers increase the price of food, why would you think we would have something in place for gas? The sad fact is we had a whole Refinery which is rotting away as we type and for what? What was accomplished by doing such?

Anyway don't mind me, impsbert said the economy is thriving so I guess this is part of a thriving economy :S

What I’m saying is I hope the coming price hikes are actually proportional to cost increase of fuel.
Simpler terms: if the fuel cost increase makes production cost increase by 10% then the selling price shouldn’t increase by 200%

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » April 8th, 2022, 5:22 pm

That’s like a slam bam thank you ma’am 10c USD increase across the board overnight. Would be a very Small change except people in private sector will take advantage to raise prices and not lower it when fuel prices go down

So That only brings you up to $3.79 USD per gallon for the $6.75 TTD premium gas. Premium gas here is almost $5 USD

My 87 octane fuel had gone up from 1.99 to 4.50 a gallon in 2 years but it’s currently making it’s way down and today it’s 4.25. Then I use the getupside app to get .25 off at my gas station. The NY state senate is about to remove a .33c fuel tax to bring it down lower.

Anyway I wish premium fuel prices here was that cheap. I would use it for my Suburban’s Direct injection engine. Tried running ethanol for a few days but it burns off very fast. I am jelly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2022, 5:35 pm

These prices are from April 4th before the T&T price increases

8396313d-92bb-4d00-b46d-c3092d207aea.jpg

371e12ef-ebfd-4ce9-9c5d-b7ce6d6d3405.jpg

3f4b5648-b0e5-4263-9a8a-d4527ded791b.jpg

Postby hover11 » April 8th, 2022, 5:38 pm

From having our own refinery to buying gas is tantamount to selling your stove to buy food

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2022, 5:38 pm

Minister of Finance like a thief in the night with this gas price increase lol great is the pnm and it shall prevail