Local Games! (HangJack and now CODEBREAKER)

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 11:29 am

Here's another game I was hacking together.

This one has a finish line, and you'll have to figure out how to get there. There's a long way and a short way - either way the actual codebreaking is a small part of the puzzle. It's intended to be a bit of light fun.

It's responsive, but the layout is more friendly to tablets/desktops than smaller mobiles.

As usual, drop feedback if you like/hate it.

**** END OF UPDATE****

Here's something I pulled together and soft dropped.

It's a simple hangman word game with a fiendish Trinbago twist.

If you like it, share it. If I get some organic growth I'll drop some challenges/prizes on the FB page.

It's not meant to be static, so the word list will keep growing, and I hope to have some seasonal lists for Christmas, Carnival etc - still working on that.
(sorry for the big image, didn't resize)
hjfinal_blue2048.png

Drop some feedback for meh!
Like it?
Hate it?
Meh?
Wanna add words?
Last edited by VexXx Dogg on August 23rd, 2024, 10:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: HangJack! (web based word game)

Postby Redman » March 14th, 2022, 11:36 am

breds how much work you want me to not do today??

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » March 14th, 2022, 12:01 pm

meh computer crash eh like yuh send down ah russian hackin virus dey

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 12:14 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote:meh computer crash eh like yuh send down ah russian hackin virus dey

Whut?
Already have dozens of players since morning, computer and mobile and nothing like this. Might be a device issue, this is a real basic js/html game

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2022, 12:37 pm

Screenshot 2022-03-14 at 12.36.30 PM.jpg
Screenshot 2022-03-14 at 12.36.30 PM.jpg (22.66 KiB) Viewed 3361 times

almost didnt get it!

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2022, 1:06 pm

8-) 8-)
Capture.JPG

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 1:36 pm

keep going! Jack will get away each round until he get hang!

and the final score will look like this (output from the Share button after he get hang)

HangJack Final Score: 330 | Final Wordstack: 8

two Unicode characters had to be removed to post on tuner :)
on social it will be like this

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 1:36 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 1:38 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote:nah is my fault eh.........d bossman juss tell me d computer have malware n sheit n he going 2 scan it with a cdrom asking me if i was looking at pornz. well he right but i not tellin he dat.

dis is wat coming up.......buh is like dis nullpointer thing on all d page i open.

java.lang.NullPointerException

crash.png

thanks for sharing. Your browser might be blocking JavaScripts, or maybe it's older?
I tested on a few browsers/mobile incl iOS and android; windows and macOS. Safari/Firefox/Chrome and all good.

If you want send me your environment details nah I'll see if I can replicate it :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2022, 1:41 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:two Unicode characters had to be removed to post on tuner :)

Working on that
also can't post Wordle results here for the same reason

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 14th, 2022, 1:53 pm

I wonder if it was related? Check wiwords if you haven't for more trini slang.
Screenshot_20220314-134724.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 4:49 pm

Ripe Chenette wrote:I wonder if it was related? Check wiwords if you haven't for more trini slang.
Screenshot_20220314-134724.jpeg

Hahahahahahahahaha
Pressure bai jack

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2022, 6:38 pm

Firefox slowed down so much that it gave an error message to shut it down because it was using so much memory.

hangjack-score.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2022, 7:09 pm

maj. tom wrote:Firefox slowed down so much that it gave an error message to shut it down because it was using so much memory.

hangjack-score.jpg

The js supposed to be light but gawddamn you killin it

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 16th, 2022, 9:15 am

maj. tom wrote:Firefox slowed down so much that it gave an error message to shut it down because it was using so much memory.

hangjack-score.jpg

Thanks Major Tom! I shoulda have a bug bounty, but I poor. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

One other person reported this at exactly after the 50th word so I went digging I found a bug in my code to update as I grow my list.

That should sort it, because the actual js is less than 8kb with a simple math randomiser and should not be eating memory.

The word list is now 71, but I'll expand it. I can't believe people hitting 50 words already when I did the word list and I have not passed 20 :/

Postby MG Man » March 16th, 2022, 9:23 am

hoss this is brilliant!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 16th, 2022, 11:04 am

Whole morning I using

R S T L N E C D M A

Like I playing Wheel of Fortune and hoping for the best.

This is awesome.

Imagine a phone app

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 16th, 2022, 12:58 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys!

It's been a while since I dropped code, so if you spot any bugs like Maj Tom holla here.

Expanded dictionary to 116 words now. Gonna expand the escape messages. People real ketching kix on some of them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2022, 10:59 am

Saw there’s a Trini Wordle too

https://dubemaths.com/games/wordle/

Re: Local Games! (HangJack and now CODEBREAKER)

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2022, 12:02 pm

Here's another game I was hacking together.

This one has a finish line, and you'll have to figure out how to get there. There's a long way and a short way - either way the actual codebreaking is a small part of the puzzle. It's intended to be a bit of light fun.

FB page: https://www.facebook.com/codebreakergame/

Direct play link: https://noveck.github.io/codebreaker/

It's responsive, but the layout is more friendly to tablets/desktops than smaller mobiles.

As usual, drop feedback if you like/hate it.

** first page updated**

Postby timelapse » April 7th, 2022, 1:34 pm

I have a game for you to build if you want.
Its a tic tac toe kind of game we used to play in primary school on the ground.Pm if you interested

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2022, 1:45 pm

yuh idle eh
I just playing around these days while I'm in some kind of academic purgatory waiting to submit my thesis.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2022, 3:59 pm

Screenshot 2022-04-07 at 3.58.26 PM.jpg

scratches head*

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2022, 4:08 pm

2117 or 2127 maybe

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2022, 4:55 pm

A correct digit in the correct position will be shown as a green check
A correct digit in the wrong position will be shown as a yellow circle
An incorrect digit will be shown as a red X

The 2 is correct and in the correct spot, so are the 1 and the last 7.
right?
so how the other 7 can be correct but in the wrong spot?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2022, 5:15 pm

Repeat characters are a bit of curveball kinda like with wordle.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » April 7th, 2022, 7:47 pm

wat is d secret? ah do it twice n get [a=20] n [6=2] dat look like rel nonsense

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2022, 4:04 pm

image.png
bamfo_dennis wrote:wat is d secret? ah do it twice n get [a=20] n [6=2] dat look like rel nonsense

That's part of the hunt!

BIG BIG CONGRATS TO 2ner lurker IshaqM who was the first to break the code and stamp his name as the first Cipher Master. He's won the prize - but I dunno what that is yet. :)

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 8th, 2022, 4:22 pm

1753?

Postby maj. tom » April 8th, 2022, 6:07 pm

"A correct digit in the wrong position will be shown as a yellow circle: ↻"

So how this 0 get in there in the final answer? This has happened a few times. Or maybe I'm not understanding this yellow circle arrow.

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻