Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Lawsuits Filed

Re: Underwater welders missing in the Gulf of Paria??

Postby st7 » February 28th, 2022, 11:00 am

kamla get blame yet?

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2022, 11:11 am

alfa wrote:
carluva wrote:A Maths/Add Maths teacher is a member of the BoD?

So clear to see how ppl benefit from party cards.
bluefete wrote:Paria Fuel- Board of Directors

Chairman - NEWMAN GEORGE - (Rowley's lawyer)

FAYAD ALI

AVIE CHADEE

PETER CLARKE

EUSTACE NANCIS

REZA SALIM

I was now about to ask this same thing. A man who used to side hustle with maths lessons in the 90s is now on a board of directors of an oil company. Ok then

He was part of Faris Al Rawi's campaign team during the August 2020 elections so you done know he got his reward.

wall

Underwater welders missing in the Gulf of Paria??

Postby wall » February 28th, 2022, 11:16 am

Last edited by wall on February 28th, 2022, 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » February 28th, 2022, 11:33 am

This whole situation sickening to me personally.That used to be part of my dad's job when he was younger.Luckily for him, the company he works for has zero tolerance for any kind of safety issue.They would have had MULTIPLE plans in place for that kind of issue,if it was allowed to happen in the first place.And that was over 2 decades ago when he used to weld underwater

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 28th, 2022, 11:47 am

I was hoping that a particular tuner would come and clear certain things for us who just cannot picture exactly what those conditions were underwater. We do have an underwater welder / professional diver amongst us but he prefers to stay anonymous for now. All I can say is, those deaths were scary just thinking about it. A 36 inch pipe, crude oil sludge, darkness and lack of oxygen? What about claustrophobia? God be with their souls and families.

Postby zoom rader » February 28th, 2022, 11:53 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:What really angers me the most is that these men were screaming for their lives, divers were available to help, but Paria site managers prevented a rescue and the help of the Coast Guard. Now they want to flush them out, breaking apart their bodies. Blood on all their hands. This won't be the end of it.

st7 wrote:PEA would do anything to be relevant oui

If it wasn't for PEA and his team, this would not have been widely publicized. PEA may have his political motives, but he was on the scene since Friday.

And if you're going to call out PEA, also call out Stuart Young who randomly made a presence on behalf of the government, but did NOTHING to help escalate the situation. The media also lied about Paria providing help when it was actually fellow divers who intervened to try and rescue as many as they could. The family members have been camped out for over 72 hours, and local businessmen and PEA has helped in sponsoring food, drinks, tables, chairs and portable bathrooms for those desperately seeking answers.
AP you getting to see the light as we have a bunch of idiots running this Cont-tree.

Expect a deep cover up from the red government

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2022, 12:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
alfa wrote:

FAYAD ALI

AVIE CHADEE

PETER CLARKE

EUSTACE NANCIS

REZA SALIM

I was now about to ask this same thing. A man who used to side hustle with maths lessons in the 90s is now on a board of directors of an oil company. Ok then

He was part of Faris Al Rawi's campaign team during the August 2020 elections so you done know he got his reward.

as a side note

that side hustle for him was making more than 40k a month without tax when i was in secondary school (around 2006 timing)

Postby st7 » February 28th, 2022, 12:37 pm

st7 wrote:kamla get blame yet?

https://www.facebook.com/fitzgerald.hin ... 5109434546
Fitzgerald Hinds
8:43am ·
The noisy, bachanal-loving, unpatriotic and corrupt UNC are “calling” for an investigation into the two recent horrific and unfortunate events of the home invasion and the accident at Paria, both of which sadly, claimed lives. Doesn’t the scandalous UNC know that in matters of this nature, full investigations follow naturally, like they follow tax-payers money; and police follow crooks and tief? Thorough investigations ARE underway! Then what is their point?
It is to make themselves pesty and relevant! It is to make unnecessary noise and scandal! It is to try to politicize the matters, to get political mileage out of people’s grief. We must not be distracted. We must continue to do the people’s work, following the laws and the Constitution of Trinidad and Tobago scrupulously, as we do.

look so

Postby aaron17 » February 28th, 2022, 1:00 pm

but when its the other way around , its gonna be the same thing...
:agrue:

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2022, 1:06 pm

lol @ hinds calling UNC corrupt

watch bacchanal when they start to dissect the board of directors for Paria and their professions and salaries and how they get that work.

That Colin Piper fella might hadda off himself during that investigation

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2022, 1:09 pm

Just received information from a family member of one of the deceased. The last know time that one or more of the divers were alive in that pipe was at or about 10pm friday night, approximately 7 hours after the accident. Keep in mind that they didn't receive that information from Paria but from persons who was dealing with the emergency situation.

Listening to what happened from the distraught had me weak.

Anybody here who is working for a state company, I suggest that you fix yuh business. Because if something happen to you, believe that the state company would not have you or your family back. If they realize that they have been negligent, they will quickly throw you under the bus.

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2022, 1:14 pm

i sure that the government investigations gonna find a way to blame the divers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 28th, 2022, 1:33 pm

Stuart say it have Gaps in Paria's systems....gheee dem

Postby Redman » February 28th, 2022, 2:06 pm

I dont think there is anything that could be said that would really sound adequate.

And who ever in charge of HSSE-send in the resignation to the board one time.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 28th, 2022, 2:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:lol @ hinds calling UNC corrupt

watch bacchanal when they start to dissect the board of directors for Paria and their professions and salaries and how they get that work.

I feel Mr Piper better take his life or something because from what I've heard he was the one who was giving adverse orders... Going against rescue protocols as though he gave up on rescuing these divers in the most crucial time (first couple hours).

And seeing how his name calling he'll be a target. Good luck surviving in Trinidad with such a reputation Mr Piper.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » February 28th, 2022, 3:02 pm

Nowhere close to being knowledgeable about this but why wouldn’t any work of this nature be done without some kind of umbilical safety line that has to be manned at all times with a mechanical pulley? So in the event of an emergency you can pull them out. I dunno how these things generally work but underwater pipe with minimal clearance to work. I would never

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2022, 3:17 pm

And to think nobody above and along the chain of command override Piper's decision.

For Stuart Young who always make excuses to mention gaps, he knows Paria in trouble legally.

Redman wrote:I dont think there is anything that could be said that would really sound adequate.

And who ever in charge of HSSE-send in the resignation to the board one time.

A board that knows nothing about oil and gas? and are basically political appointees to take a sweat?

Bruh, at this point that whole department all the way up to the board have to resign.

Postby j.o.e » February 28th, 2022, 3:29 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:lol @ hinds calling UNC corrupt

I feel Mr Piper better take his life or something because from what I've heard he was the one who was giving adverse orders... Going against rescue protocols as though he gave up on rescuing these divers in the most crucial time (first couple hours).

And seeing how his name calling he'll be a target. Good luck surviving in Trinidad with such a reputation Mr Piper.

You from Trinidad? You could do anything in trinidad and walk around free. Ask Abu Bakr, ask the senator who called a hit on a DJ and presided over lifesport and countless others. Steups

Postby toyolink » February 28th, 2022, 3:53 pm

I would hope that Paria could easily demonstrate that all appropriate safety and support systems and facilities were in place before the divers were deployed.
T&T is not a novice at deep water activities associated with our offshore hydrocarbon operations, in particular off our east coast.
Hopefully the contractor reviewed and approved all 'make safe' provisions before undertaking the exercise.
This is really a scenario the underwater fraternity dreads.
I am hopeful proper details about the circumstances which led to this incident would be made available to ensure that this doesn't happen again and must admit that I do feel a sense of sorrow for the victims and their family.
I anxiously await news.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2022, 3:54 pm

why heinz opening he mouth here
he should focus on his job

Postby goalpost » February 28th, 2022, 5:00 pm

Wah job ?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 28th, 2022, 5:06 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
alfa wrote:

FAYAD ALI

AVIE CHADEE

PETER CLARKE

EUSTACE NANCIS

REZA SALIM

Fayad taught me in the early 2010s, he is a well known lover of Porsche as well. His ego suits him well to be a pnm lackey.

Postby timelapse » February 28th, 2022, 6:15 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
alfa wrote:

FAYAD ALI

AVIE CHADEE

PETER CLARKE

EUSTACE NANCIS

REZA SALIM

Fayad taught me in the early 2010s, he is a well known lover of Porsche as well. His ego suits him well to be a pnm lackey.
He ever threatened to kick up your arse , or let his dogs at you when you questioned anything he said that didn't make sense?

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2022, 6:15 pm

does he wear tight shirts like the next porsche lover ferris?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 28th, 2022, 6:34 pm

timelapse wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
alfa wrote:

FAYAD ALI

AVIE CHADEE

PETER CLARKE

EUSTACE NANCIS

REZA SALIM

He ever threatened to kick up your arse , or let his dogs at you when you questioned anything he said that didn't make sense?

I behave myself because 180$ a month for lessons 10 years ago means you werent in a place to get on stink. It was $250 a month for form 6s.

Other people in the same class did get screamed at like that.

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2022, 6:37 pm

Unconfirmed reports that they pulled out three bodies

Postby timelapse » February 28th, 2022, 6:48 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
timelapse wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
alfa wrote:

FAYAD ALI

AVIE CHADEE

PETER CLARKE

EUSTACE NANCIS

REZA SALIM

I behave myself because 180$ a month for lessons 10 years ago means you werent in a place to get on stink. It was $250 a month for form 6s.

Other people in the same class did get screamed at like that.
I end up going elsewhere because of his stink attitude and ended up better for it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 28th, 2022, 6:53 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Unconfirmed reports that they pulled out three bodies

They're on a ttcg vessel and can hardly be recognized

Postby K74T » February 28th, 2022, 6:55 pm

The bodies of three of the four divers who were trapped in a Paria Fuel pipeline since Friday have been recovered.

The bodies were removed from the pipe this afternoon and the families of the three men have been informed by the company.

The incident occurred around 3 pm Friday just off the Pointe-a-Pierre jetty as five divers employed with LMCS Ltd were conducting an underwater maintenance exercise at No 36 Sealine Riser on Berth #6.

The men were sucked into the pipeline and while one managed to free himself, the other four remained trapped since then.

As news broke, grieving relatives attempted to storm into the gates of Paria Fuel Trading Limited on Monday evening.

President of the First Wave Movement Umar Abdullah called on the relatives to stay calm but he was shouted down.

"Nonsense, this is a waste of time. Its three days now we are waiting," a relative of diver Yusuff Henry shouted before she broke down in tears.

"Today is Monday and we have no word," another relative shouted.

Postby K74T » February 28th, 2022, 7:22 pm

FB_IMG_1646090215433.jpg