abducted wrote:
triniringo wrote:Got a 9HP honda engine for sale

Is it from a Civic? Probably a B16A,

Yuh real fork up with abducted self

viedcht

Re: Karcher or briggs and stratton pressure washer

Postby viedcht » December 24th, 2019, 9:44 pm

triniringo wrote:My water pump started to leak after just one hour of use...I return it the next day for a full refund

Hmmm... I wondering now. Coz I put in 300ml or so to make it half, use for a short while then checked and it went to overfilled. Will check oil level in the morning again.

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 26th, 2019, 12:41 am

I am on my 3rd electric Karcher in 20yrs. My latest was purchased a year ago and I ran it for 14 hrs straight with minor breaks in between (2days ago). So far no problems.

Postby pugboy » December 26th, 2019, 6:53 am

which model ?

agent007 wrote:I am on my 3rd electric Karcher in 20yrs. My latest was purchased a year ago and I ran it for 14 hrs straight with minor breaks in between (2days ago). So far no problems.

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 26th, 2019, 9:25 am

K4

Postby pugboy » December 26th, 2019, 9:30 am

nice, karcher motors seem to be able to standup and not burnout like the cheap chinese pressure washers

agent007 wrote:K4

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 26th, 2019, 10:56 pm

FYI

Last prices of Karchers at Hadden I had:

K2 1600psi - $1295
K3 1800psi - $1895
K4 1800psi - $1995
K1900 1900psi - $1995
K2000 2000psi - $2595
K5 2000psi - $2995
G2700 2700psi - $2995
G3000 K 3000psi - $3995
G3200 3200psi - $3995
G3000 OH 3000psi - $4995
G3500 3500psi - $5750

Postby SR » December 27th, 2019, 9:10 am

The K2 basic sold for $600 on december

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 13th, 2020, 6:48 am

Pricesmart has the karcher K3 1700psi for $1,299.95

carluva

Postby carluva » September 13th, 2020, 10:26 am

Fwiw.

If you are in the market for a new pressure washer, I'd strongly recommend you check Ramlagan's in Balmain.

Their business model is very different to the dealers. For example, and not actual figures, a dealer's markup may be 10% on purchase price for each unit and they may cater to sell 2-3 units per month to make their forecast revenue.

Ramlagan's would buy in bulk from the dealer and markup say a 4% on each unit, but sell 10 in a month and so make their revenue.

Three years ago, I was searching for a pressure washer and spoke to an agent at one of the dealers mentioned on this thread. The agent advised that I check Ramlagan's because I woul be able to get the unit cheaper there even if the dealer have me a sales discount.

That was true as Ramlagan's had the units cheaper.

I ended up buying a 3200 psi MiTM for $5200. At that time, the dealer for these units had a 2700 psi for $4600 and a 4000 psi for close to $7000, iirc. So I ended up getting a great deal on mines.

The point is, check Ramlagan's, they are really cheap. And if you are worried about their customer service, worry less, as with COVID and social distancing and quantity of persons in a store, they have become that more organised.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 13th, 2020, 10:32 am

True, and also the cheapest for Stihl products
carluva wrote:Fwiw.

If you are in the market for a new pressure washer, I'd strongly recommend you check Ramlagan's in Balmain.

Their business model is very different to the dealers. For example, and not actual figures, a dealer's markup may be 10% on purchase price for each unit and they may cater to sell 2-3 units per month to make their forecast revenue.

Ramlagan's would buy in bulk from the dealer and markup say a 4% on each unit, but sell 10 in a month and so make their revenue.

Three years ago, I was searching for a pressure washer and spoke to an agent at one of the dealers mentioned on this thread. The agent advised that I check Ramlagan's because I woul be able to get the unit cheaper there even if the dealer have me a sales discount.

That was true as Ramlagan's had the units cheaper.

I ended up buying a 3200 psi MiTM for $5200. At that time, the dealer for these units had a 2700 psi for $4600 and a 4000 psi for close to $7000, iirc. So I ended up getting a great deal on mines.

The point is, check Ramlagan's, they are really cheap. And if you are worried about their customer service, worry less, as with COVID and social distancing and quantity of persons in a store, they have become that more organised.

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2020, 10:49 am

They are cheapest for a lot of things, plumbing stuff like check valves etc are way cheaper than elsewhere

I see they open a private hospital now

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 13th, 2020, 1:28 pm

I have been using pressure washers commercially for more than 20 years. Though with the water restricions I depend on smaller works.

I have never used an electric pressure washer. For me it never appealed. If you want lower psi gas machines have a throttle..

Oils need to be changed often. Engine and pump oil.

A small gas pressure. Washer would outlast any e!ectrical pressure washer.

I trust in Honda Gx engines and Cat, Annovi Reverberi AR and General Pumps ,in that order.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » September 14th, 2020, 11:19 am

I think it's on the karcher manual. DON'T HAVE WASHER ON AND TRIGGER OFF!
I have a karcher over 10 years. I always press trigger and make sure water is flowing. Then put on switch. And you do the reverse to take off the unit. Never had a issue with it except to change the plug head by hadden and change the click connect hose head

0rb1tz

Postby 0rb1tz » August 12th, 2021, 1:02 pm

Here are some tips to prolong your pressure washer's life. All of these things are covered in the fine print in the user manual and the maintenance manuals.

1st thing to go bad in mostly everyone's pressure washer is the pump. "Replace the pump" is eventually heard by every pressure washer user. I searched these forums and found many troubleshooting threads with this exact phrase. But why is that? Do all these manufacturers build defective, unrealiable products? Not at all.

(A) Pump maintenance:

1. Your pressure washer requires an input GPM that at least matches the output GPM rate. My 2700psi 2.4 GPM output gas washer specifically says in the manual that it requires an input hose of 5gpm @20psi. That means hooking it up to a water pump that can push that. Gravity flow from the water tank was not enough. I put an outlet near my water pump for this reason. The water pump is cooled by the water flow and there is a safety venting feature that will activate on your gas washer if you don't depress the trigger for more than 2 minutes to allow the water to flow. If you don't do what the manual says you are going to put the pump under stress that will wear it out faster.

2. The pump oil needs changing every 250 operating hours. This is crank case oil specifically made for pressure washer pumps. It is not car oil. It is not the engine oil. It is the pump oil that lubricates the pump unit. You can find popular brands of pump oil. I will use Mi-T-M as an example https://www.mitm.com/accessories/pump-oil/2030/ Requires a bit of mechanic expertise to service these factory sealed water pumps, so when in doubt carry it to a small-engine repair place.

3. Storage: You need to run antifreeze pump saver through the pump before long-term storage (more than 1 month) of your unit. Think about it: there is still going to be pipe water deep in the pump resting and corroding inside it while you wait another 6 months to pressure wash the yard. The manual again specifically says to do this, and there are instructions how to within the manual and on Youtube. Mi-T-M example: https://www.mitm.com/accessories/pump-saver/2031/

I know what you're thinking "why do i need to winterize my pressure washer? This is not a winter country!" The same reason you use antifreeze coolant in your car's radiator: to prevent corrosion. Further research has lead me to understand that pressure washer pumps can be flushed out with non-silicate coolants. The Japanese types pink or blue coloured antifreeze coolants. Not the EU coolants. No need to spend too much money on "Pump Saver" Fluid when phosphate P-HOAT coolant can be used. Again, only the pink or blue colours. This applies to electric pressure washers as well. The water pump needs to flush out.

(B) Engine Maintenance:

1. The gas powered 4-cycle 1 cylinder engine in pressure washers requires maintenance as well. Change the oil every 50 operating hours. Most use 10W-30. I use a fully synthetic found in any car shop. This is just car oil, but use the oil weight that the manual says. Change the oil while it's hot, just after you turn off the unit. It's a simple procedure. 355ml is about what's required.

2. Long term storage: Just like brush cutters you must run the fuel tank dry until it cuts off. You do not want gasoline sitting in that engine and gumming up the works for months. Not just the carburetor, but the fuel lines will be filled with gunk from the gasoline after the ethanol has evaporated. Engine can't start when you ready to wash the yard for Christmas and you have to take apart the carburetor and lines and flush and clean everything. Some engines are designed to have a bit of reservoir left that can't burn off so simply. The manual states that you must use a fuel stabilizer for long term storage of your unit. STA-BIL, Star-Tron enzyme, Ethanol-Shield, they are all going to do the same thing, as long as the bottle says "stabilizer" and "fuel storage." Mix a bit with some fresh gas in the tank and run the pressure washer engine for at least 3 minutes so you know the stabilized fuel has reached the carburetor. Once a fuel stabilizer has been added, you can now leave this gas in the tank until the next season and the unit will cold start with no problem. https://www.goldeagle.com/brands/sta-bil/
Look for these products and use them.

##############################################################

As I said above, all these things are in your user manual. It's tradition that 99% of persons operating machinery don't read the manual before operating, it's just tradition, so all these very important points will be easily missed. Another very important bit is safety that is covered in the user manual. Eye, ear protection, proper clothing, sun protection, and it states it not operate the unit if you are feeling unwell. I just wanted to add these tips to the discussion for education purpose.