We will never know...only at the top of the pyramid knows the real deal.redmanjp wrote:I still seeing ppl on FB sharing a clip of dr trotman talking about 300 + ppl who died from covid after getting 1 dose of the vaccine. But they putting it across as 300+ vaccine deaths. I report it as false information. This type of thing will have us lock down till next year and kill another 1000 ppl.
Johnson & Johnson's Covid-19 vaccine works well against the delta variant and the immune response lasts at least eight months, the company said Thursday, citing lab tests of vaccine recipients' blood.
A study from a team of New York University researchers found the one-shot Johnson & Johnson vaccine is far less effective at preventing coronavirus infections from the Delta variant and other mutated forms of the virus than from earlier strains, a concerning find since the Delta variant now accounts for almost all U.S. Covid-19 cases.
Question is, if you, your parents or your kids get it, are you ok with the 1-2% chance that death will occur? Or will you do whatever it takes to protect lives? The percentage numbers may be small but lives matter, and a couple of million extra deaths worldwide due to covid is still significant. I really hope you and your loved ones are doing well and staying safe.Skanky wrote:^That's the point right there... to confuse people into making irrational decisions.
No rational person would look at the facts and say you know what.... this this has a 2% death rate,according to the ' experts' we must all get vaccinated.
If every single person in the world got Covid only approximately 2% give or take would die...... how the fcuk is that grounds to try to vaccinate the world?
Herd immunity is even more bullsheit. Keeping the world locked up is only prolonging the issue.
This thing could be fixed in a month if they wanted to. Open the country completely and vaccinate those who really need it I.e the elderly and those with underlying health conditions. Healthy people don't need to be vaccinated. Sure 1 or 2 might die but right now 100% of the population is suffering because of some 1% agenda. As long as the country is locked down we are just incubating this sheit. Somebody will have it and will spread it to somebody else and it will go on forever like a vicious cycle.
Did nobody go to school and do simple mathematics? The needs of the 98% are far greater than the needs of the possible 2%.
I shudder to think that people of the world nowadays are so stupid they believe that this thing is so deadly but you can be asymptomatic.
As for long Covid... try long KFC, doubles. roti, pesticide filled vegetables, soft drinks etc.
As for the variants try.... Royal Castle, binge watching tv, street burgers, no exercise and trinis newest hobby... drinking as much and as often as possible...variants.
Allyuh not fooling anybody with allyuh feigned concern for your health.
You going to die eventually... there is a 2% chance it's from Covid.
What the fcuk are we really doing locking down for 2% .
Early in the pandemic, some of the answers provided by public officials — who were scrambling to track the disease as it overwhelmed health systems — fed skepticism. Last April, Deborah Birx, MD, coordinator of the White House Coronavirus Task Force, said this when asked about people who have COVID-19 but die from preexisting conditions: “If someone dies with COVID-19, we are counting that as a COVID-19 death.”
That statement, combined with some state health officials saying they follow the same policy, sparked charges that the COVID-19 totals were inflated by deaths from other diseases and even auto accidents if the victims happened to have COVID-19. Federal and state governments gradually altered such policies over the spring and summer to say that in order for a death to be counted as a COVID-19 death, the disease had to have played a role.
wing wrote:Question is, if you, your parents or your kids get it, are you ok with the 1-2% chance that death will occur? Or will you do whatever it takes to protect lives? The percentage numbers may be small but lives matter, and a couple of million extra deaths worldwide due to covid is still significant. I really hope you and your loved ones are doing well and staying safe.Skanky wrote:^That's the point right there... to confuse people into making irrational decisions.
No rational person would look at the facts and say you know what.... this this has a 2% death rate,according to the ' experts' we must all get vaccinated.
If every single person in the world got Covid only approximately 2% give or take would die...... how the fcuk is that grounds to try to vaccinate the world?
Herd immunity is even more bullsheit. Keeping the world locked up is only prolonging the issue.
This thing could be fixed in a month if they wanted to. Open the country completely and vaccinate those who really need it I.e the elderly and those with underlying health conditions. Healthy people don't need to be vaccinated. Sure 1 or 2 might die but right now 100% of the population is suffering because of some 1% agenda. As long as the country is locked down we are just incubating this sheit. Somebody will have it and will spread it to somebody else and it will go on forever like a vicious cycle.
Did nobody go to school and do simple mathematics? The needs of the 98% are far greater than the needs of the possible 2%.
I shudder to think that people of the world nowadays are so stupid they believe that this thing is so deadly but you can be asymptomatic.
As for long Covid... try long KFC, doubles. roti, pesticide filled vegetables, soft drinks etc.
As for the variants try.... Royal Castle, binge watching tv, street burgers, no exercise and trinis newest hobby... drinking as much and as often as possible...variants.
Skanky wrote:wing wrote:Question is, if you, your parents or your kids get it, are you ok with the 1-2% chance that death will occur? Or will you do whatever it takes to protect lives? The percentage numbers may be small but lives matter, and a couple of million extra deaths worldwide due to covid is still significant. I really hope you and your loved ones are doing well and staying safe.Skanky wrote:^That's the point right there... to confuse people into making irrational decisions.
I agree every single life matters bit which ones matter more....2% or 98%?
You use numbers to make decisions not emotions and hope.
It irks me to my core everytime I hear some news outlet quoting raw figures.... so much new infections, highest number in the world etc.
Did nobody go to school and learn how to perform any type of scientific analysis on raw data and the fact that these raw numbers means little to nothing and it's just a means of scaring people.
The next time any of you have to collect data or write a paper collect the data and turn in your raw numbers as your conclusions and tell them that's exactly what is going on with Covid so it's correct.
It's like nobody has any sense anymore.
aaron17 wrote:yea but when side effects popping out a year later(time)....need I say more?
You require a certain amount of years to see anything happening in the human body overtime when these vaccines are taken.
ruffneck_12 wrote:https://nypost.com/2021/07/16/diabetics-make-up-40-of-covid-deaths-in-us-experts-say/
Diabetics make up 40% of COVID deaths in US, experts say
Ent we like to trust experts?
Funny how yall will ignore a 98% survival rate to wear a mask but won't eat healthy/exercise to save your own life.
Imagine thaaaaaaaaat, imagine that.
(brb, getting an experimental vaccine instead)
ruffneck_12 wrote:https://nypost.com/2021/07/16/diabetics-make-up-40-of-covid-deaths-in-us-experts-say/
Diabetics make up 40% of COVID deaths in US, experts say
Ent we like to trust experts?
Funny how yall will ignore a 98% survival rate to wear a mask but won't eat healthy/exercise to save your own life.
Imagine thaaaaaaaaat, imagine that.
(brb, getting an experimental vaccine instead)
aaron17 wrote:I worried about 'they' pressuring the FDA to fully approve the US vaccines so fast..
I can't say for other vaccines tho. eg sinopharm. China have a body like FDA? Any ways ...that vaccines are emergency use.
aaron17 wrote:I worried about 'they' pressuring the FDA to fully approve the US vaccines so fast..
I can't say for other vaccines tho. eg sinopharm. China have a body like FDA? Any ways ...that vaccines are emergency use.
Skanky wrote:aaron17 wrote:I worried about 'they' pressuring the FDA to fully approve the US vaccines so fast..
The vaccines are not fully FDA approved. They are approved for 'emergency medical use' or some other legal BS like that I.e if in the future serious side effects can be tied back to the use of these vaccines you won't have any legal recourse.
You have to ask yourself why the FDA won't fully approve these vaccines and if they aren't fully approved then why the hell are people allowed to take them?
It's either the vaccines are fully approved or not approved. End of story!
There is no middle ground aka approved for emergency medical use which is what they telling us and the whole world just lapping it up without asking any questions.
Skanky wrote:aaron17 wrote:I worried about 'they' pressuring the FDA to fully approve the US vaccines so fast..
The vaccines are not fully FDA approved. They are approved for 'emergency medical use' or some other legal BS like that I.e if in the future serious side effects can be tied back to the use of these vaccines you won't have any legal recourse.
You have to ask yourself why the FDA won't fully approve these vaccines and if they aren't fully approved then why the hell are people allowed to take them?
There is no middle ground aka approved for emergency medical use which is what they telling us and the whole world just lapping it up without asking any questions.
New York Times wrote:By David Leonhardt
Why is the F.D.A. encouraging people to receive a Covid-19 vaccine — but hasn’t formally approved those vaccines?
‘The No. 1’ public health issue
It is the most discordant part of the U.S. government’s response to Covid-19.
Even as President Biden, the C.D.C. and virtually the entire scientific community are urging — pleading with, even — Americans to get vaccinated, the government has not formally approved any vaccine. The Food and Drug Administration has instead given only “emergency use authorization” to the shots from Moderna, Pfizer and Johnson & Johnson. That’s a temporary form of approval that allows people to receive shots while the agency continues to study their effectiveness and safety.
The difference between emergency authorization and full approval matters. Right now, the military, schools and other organizations cannot easily require vaccinations. The “lack of F.D.A. licensure leave schools, colleges, businesses in a legal quandary,” Dr. Jerome Adams, a former surgeon general, recently wrote. Adams argued that lives were at stake and that the issue should be receiving more media coverage than it has.
The situation also feeds uncertainty and skepticism among some Americans who have not yet gotten a shot. Those skeptics, as Matthew Yglesias of Substack wrote yesterday, are effectively taking the F.D.A. at its word. The F.D.A. leaders’ official position is that “they don’t have enough safety data yet,” Yglesias noted.
The strangest part of all this is that the F.D.A.’s official position does not reflect its leaders’ actual views: They agree with the C.D.C. and other scientists that Americans should be getting vaccinated as soon as possible.
Dr. Janet Woodcock, the F.D.A.’s acting commissioner, has said that the F.D.A. “conducted a rigorous and thorough review” of the vaccines before allowing them to be given to people and that the Pfizer vaccine “meets F.D.A.’s high standards for safety and effectiveness.” She also said, “Getting more of our population vaccinated is critical to moving forward and past this pandemic.”
Hurry up and wait
Why, then, hasn’t the F.D.A. taken the final step of formal approval?
It is following a version of its traditional, cautious process for vaccine approval. That process has historically had some big advantages, reducing the chances that Americans end up taking a faulty drug. To move much more quickly would risk undermining the public’s confidence in the F.D.A. and, by extension, the medicines it approves, Dr. Peter Marks, who oversees the process, has argued.
But I think the F.D.A.’s leaders have failed to understand how most Americans really think about the vaccines. It is different from the way that scientists and epidemiologists do. It’s less technical and based more on an accumulation of the publicly known facts.
It reminds me of another example of expert miscommunication, early in the pandemic. Back then, public health officials made highly technical statements about masks that many people interpreted as discouragement from wearing them. These statements ignored the many reasons to believe that masks could make a difference (like their longtime popularity in Asia to prevent the spread of viruses) and focused instead on the absence of studies showing that masks specifically prevented the spread of Covid.
Later, officials insisted that they were merely “following the data.” In truth, though, they were basing their advice on a narrow reading of the data — and not understanding how most people would interpret their comments.
The long wait to approve the vaccines is similar. F.D.A. officials are acting as if most Americans are experts in the nuances of their approval process and will be shocked if the agency expedites it. In reality, many Americans know almost nothing about that process. But some are understandably confused by the mixed messages that the F.D.A. is sending.
Hundreds of millions of people around the world have been vaccinated. Tens of thousands of them were followed for months in clinical trials. And F.D.A. officials have repeatedly urged other Americans to get vaccinated. “In the history of medicine, few if any biologics (vaccines, antibodies, molecules) have had their safety and efficacy scrutinized to this degree,” Dr. Eric Topol of Scripps Research wrote in The Times.
Yet the agency still has not given formal approval to those same vaccines.
Big costs, few benefits
Think of it this way: In the highly unlikely event that the evidence were to change radically — if, say, the vaccines began causing serious side effects about 18 months after people had received a shot — Americans would not react by feeling confident in the F.D.A. and grateful for its caution. They would be outraged that Woodcock and other top officials had urged people to get vaccinated.
The combination means that the F.D.A.’s lack of formal approval has few benefits and large costs: The agency has neither protected its reputation for extreme caution nor maximized the number of Americans who have been protected from Covid. “In my mind, it’s the No. 1 issue in American public health,” Topol told me. “If we got F.D.A. approval, we could get another 20 million vaccinated,” he estimated.
Rebecca Robbins, who covers the vaccines for The Times, says she is less sure about the size of the impact. But she agrees that full approval, whenever it happens, is “probably going to be the catalyst for many new mandates.”
My colleague Noah Weiland says: “Right now, it appears a full approval for the Pfizer vaccine could come in September, with Moderna not far behind.”
In the meantime, more Americans may get sick from Covid. About 34 percent of Americans who are eligible for the vaccines have not yet gotten a shot. The number of new cases has roughly tripled this month, largely because of the Delta variant. The number of deaths has almost doubled in the past two weeks.
If you want to read the F.D.A.’s explanation, I recommend a letter Marks wrote to The Times: “We want to assure the public that the review of applications for full approval of Covid-19 vaccines is one of the highest priorities at the Food and Drug Administration.”
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It's a balance btween lives and livelyhood
Economies cannot continue in lockdown so the vaccines help to mitigate that by providing some buffer.
Many simply cannot afford to wait until the FDA and similar bodies go through the usual process of taking years to approve a drug.
elec2020 wrote:^ this exactly. For example, COVID-19 cases jump by 500% (which is simply if you had 10 cases you have 60 now) is just meant for fearmongering. But it working cause the sheep dare not question their masters.
Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr. Ralph Gonsalves says public sector workers who are not willing to take a vaccine to help prevent the spread of the coronavirus (COPVID-19) pandemic will be required to test regularly to prove their status.
In addition, he said, they will have to meet the cost of the test.
“You have to pay for it because what happens is this, some employers, and they must speak the truth about it …are saying you either get vaccinated or come with a COVID test every Monday morning,”
Skanky wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It's a balance btween lives and livelyhood
Economies cannot continue in lockdown so the vaccines help to mitigate that by providing some buffer.
Many simply cannot afford to wait until the FDA and similar bodies go through the usual process of taking years to approve a drug.
It's no balance it's BS. The thing has a 2% death rate. Only the sick and elderly need be vaccinated. Not school children and certainly not normal healthy people with no health concerns.
What Covid really is is a big mirror. The reason we're have such 'high numbers' is because of our diets, lack of exercise and sedentary lifestyle.
The poor state of health the average trini is in any decent virus will kill many.... it just happens to be Covid and people with an agenda are just milking it to their benefit.