COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 34577 cases, 935 deaths, 6093 active, 27549 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » July 12th, 2021, 5:42 pm

The calm before the storm when those borders reopen I hope the figures remain this low

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 34577 cases, 935 deaths, 6093 active, 27549 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » July 12th, 2021, 5:46 pm

need more open 'er up gifs

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2021, 5:47 pm

hover11 wrote:The calm before the storm when those borders reopen I hope the figures remain this low

Delta waiting to blow up.

Postby sMASH » July 12th, 2021, 6:04 pm

my net real splochy, only catching sound bites.
reporter hit abdool richards a question to the effect of since it hvae delta, u think it wise to open borders. and her response was to the effect , that rowley stated a procedure, and we ARE going to open.

meaning, what ever numbers they seeing, local or foreign, it eh matter, they opening.

Postby j.o.e » July 12th, 2021, 6:10 pm

sMASH wrote:my net real splochy, only catching sound bites.
reporter hit abdool richards a question to the effect of since it hvae delta, u think it wise to open borders. and her response was to the effect , that rowley stated a procedure, and we ARE going to open.

meaning, what ever numbers they seeing, local or foreign, it eh matter, they opening.

Balance of lives and livelihood I suppose.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 12th, 2021, 6:17 pm

11th to 12th 4095 tests done. Sure.

Postby sMASH » July 12th, 2021, 6:22 pm

nope, if it was that, they would not have lockdown so hard with curfew AND SoE. the measures they having now, would have been the measures to put.

what goin on is, is as stated above; they doing the sheit show, to hide the delta coming in. when it reach they will blame the people. they will cant blame the people if we was in soe, curfew, lock down, and we STILL get the delta. it would be PURELY their border management.

so, when it reach, the noise will be is we fault for moving round, and not gheir fault for sheit border control and entry policy.
the noise from teh knuckle draggers on the ground will be to stop bashing rowley and wear u mask, u only spreading coviddddd.

Postby aaron17 » July 12th, 2021, 6:43 pm

The more ppl coming out..the more them not wearing masks and behaving like normal.

Postby K74T » July 12th, 2021, 7:09 pm

FB_IMG_1626131297575.jpg

Postby adnj » July 12th, 2021, 7:10 pm

Most fully vaccinated people who get Covid delta infections are asymptomatic, WHO says

Mon, Jul 12 2021 3:46 PM EDT

KEY POINTS

· Covid hospitalizations are rising in some parts of the world, mostly where vaccination rates are low and the highly contagious delta variant is spreading.

· In the U.S., officials have said virtually all recent Covid hospitalizations and deaths were occurring among unvaccinated people.

· Some studies have shown that those infected with Covid after vaccination produce much less virus than those who are unvaccinated, reducing the risk of passing the virus to others.

People who are fully vaccinated against Covid-19 are still getting infected with the delta variant, but global health officials said the shots have protected most people from getting severely sick or dying.

"There are reports coming in that vaccinated populations have cases of infection, particularly with the delta variant," Dr. Soumya Swaminathan, the World Health Organization's chief scientist, said at a press briefing Monday. "The majority of these are mild or asymptomatic infections."

However, hospitalizations are rising in some parts of the world, mostly where vaccination rates are low and the highly contagious delta variant is spreading, she said.

https://www.cnbc.com/amp/2021/07/12/mos ... says-.html

Postby Gladiator » July 12th, 2021, 10:47 pm

teems1 wrote:
st7 wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Trinis need a wake up call…

This wave was too easy.
We needed to do a uk lockdown..one of the longest lockdown in the world.
We need to fire the present government for mismanagement of Covid

And replace with who? Kamla led UNC?

The very same Kamla who wanted to open the borders since July 2020.

wasn't that only to allow our citizens back into the country, and not foreigners?

but not kamla for sure... we screwed basically unless a new party with a great rep pops up... so we screwed lol

Yes, she wanted to allow our citizens back.

But it would have also included all those who were basically living in the US full time who needed a place to live after being evicted/jobless etc due to Covid.

They'd come back to Trinidad and live with granny for a few months until things cool down in the US and when the US economy reopened then they're straight back out.

The US was going though the worst of it, with hundreds of thousands of new cases and thousands of deaths per day.

Rowley keeping the borders shut kept these "Trinis in passport only" out, who have never contributed a cent directly in taxes who had a high chance of using the local health system.

You speaking from only one viewpoint with limited information... okay UNC wanted to open the borders since July 2020, but do you know that over 300 chinese nationals were granted exemption to enter in that period. The state paid for all quarantine facilities etc. Why couldn't this be 300+ nationals instead? There are quite a few hundred nationals legitimately stuck abroad. But hey if your contacts up in the PNM good you good to go... someone I know went to NYC to spend Christmas with his family, returned in February after geting an exemption and full salary run while he was on vacation...

Also with the Delta variant looming, the PNM has shut down the mandatory quarantine syatem and are allowing persons to enter due to vaccine status. Aren't the vaccinated able to contract and spread covid but not get severe symptoms. Why not ease the exemptions when the quarantime machinery was in place? no foresight, poor planning?

Postby paid_influencer » July 12th, 2021, 11:12 pm

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 2307180610

The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts, through its agencies, Tourism Trinidad Limited (TTL) and Tobago Tourism Agency Limited (TTAL), has begun the rollout of the COVID-19 Protocols for the Trinidad and Tobago Tourism Sector 2021.

216603113_10159222307140610_7858844875258295552_n.jpg

I wonder if the hotel bar will be open. The thing I miss most in the pandemic is the lil bowl of nuts and channa they does have in the bar. I have nuts and channa home but is not the same

Postby st7 » July 12th, 2021, 11:40 pm

teems1 wrote:
st7 wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Trinis need a wake up call…

This wave was too easy.
We needed to do a uk lockdown..one of the longest lockdown in the world.
We need to fire the present government for mismanagement of Covid

And replace with who? Kamla led UNC?

The very same Kamla who wanted to open the borders since July 2020.

wasn't that only to allow our citizens back into the country, and not foreigners?

but not kamla for sure... we screwed basically unless a new party with a great rep pops up... so we screwed lol

Yes, she wanted to allow our citizens back.

But it would have also included all those who were basically living in the US full time who needed a place to live after being evicted/jobless etc due to Covid.

They'd come back to Trinidad and live with granny for a few months until things cool down in the US and when the US economy reopened then they're straight back out.

The US was going though the worst of it, with hundreds of thousands of new cases and thousands of deaths per day.

Rowley keeping the borders shut kept these "Trinis in passport only" out, who have never contributed a cent directly in taxes who had a high chance of using the local health system.

so what if it included those people? that's a senseless point

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 34577 cases, 935 deaths, 6093 active, 27549 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » July 12th, 2021, 11:46 pm

paid_influencer wrote:https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 2307180610

The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts, through its agencies, Tourism Trinidad Limited (TTL) and Tobago Tourism Agency Limited (TTAL), has begun the rollout of the COVID-19 Protocols for the Trinidad and Tobago Tourism Sector 2021.

I wonder if the hotel bar will be open. The thing I miss most in the pandemic is the lil bowl of nuts and channa they does have in the bar. I have nuts and channa home but is not the same

any place which allows ppl to take off masks is the last place to open and the first to close

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 13th, 2021, 5:03 am

i dont know how people allowing terry to get away unscathed. the man making a mockery of the citizen suffering and failing at managing the country and covid while all of them putting their foot in their mouth. where is the talkative nat sec and AG in all the reopening and the high covid infections numbers? they doing a piss poor job regarding managing covid and doing it with attitude to the max. either we in or we out. everyone know the delta coming or it here. everyone know covid infections still rampant all over trinidad and even japan has an increase in cases because of the delta although they vaccinated. everyone know there was a draw down on the HSF to buy vaccines and yes majority of the vaccine were donated or paid for with a loan from china and we dont know where the draw down went. everyone know we will spike again so open everything one time and done. this feel you important phased opening that he as a minister can tell we peasant what to do is bull sheit while he skinning and grinning. opening everything one time let people make some money before delta fork we up.

Postby redmanjp » July 13th, 2021, 10:53 am

he should not be smiling while citizens suffer. however we doh need to rush to reopen now as that will just trigger another massive wave with this gamma variant. we getting 800k sinopharm so even if it allows spread it will be a lot milder come next month when it will be safer to reopen almost everything, provided that we do at least 10000-15000 per day 7 days a week prioritizing elderly and include the private sector vaccinating them as well.

Postby redmanjp » July 13th, 2021, 10:55 am

we will know when the vaccines are starting to work when the % mortality rate drops which hasn't happened yet.

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2021, 11:08 am

^ congrats, Keith!

dogg

Postby dogg » July 13th, 2021, 11:35 am

So even in so called first-world countries with supposedly premium vaccines, spikes are ballooning.

Now what?

Postby Gladiator » July 13th, 2021, 11:39 am

dogg wrote:So even in so called first-world countries with supposedly premium vaccines, spikes are ballooning.

Now what?
I seeing that the USA reporting for the first time vaccine deaths for the week surpasses covid deaths for the week. Not sure how credible the story was but...wth

death365

Postby death365 » July 13th, 2021, 11:53 am

Oh so ah looking for ah crib.... literally a baby crib...

Wha furniture or please go be open to get it .... need it ASAP.

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2021, 11:59 am

death365 wrote:Oh so ah looking for ah crib.... literally a baby crib...

https://www.facebook.com/jaystoybox.co/

jsali

Postby jsali » July 13th, 2021, 12:02 pm

death365 wrote:Oh so ah looking for ah crib.... literally a baby crib...

https://preggyplus.com/collections/playpens

https://preggyplus.com/collections/cribs

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2021, 12:04 pm

dogg wrote:So even in so called first-world countries with supposedly premium vaccines, spikes are ballooning.

Now what?

context tho. they don't wear masks or social distance and they are regularly having massive public gatherings (sports events etc with tens of thousands of people).

the UK might turn out to be the exception, but they are heavily AZ based and not mRNA based.

Postby teems1 » July 13th, 2021, 12:07 pm

Now what?

The number of deaths is drastically lower than where it was last year when the number of infections was the same.

It means those who do get the virus, get a milder version which does not require hospitalization, ICU, O2 etc.

Postby hover11 » July 13th, 2021, 12:10 pm

So question when the virus keeps bouncing off of vaccinated persons wouldn't it eventually find a way to bypass such if ppl continue to have this God complex , that I'm vaccinated congregations are good ....I just asking a question
teems1 wrote:

Now what?

The number of deaths is drastically lower than where it was last year when the number of infections was the same.

It means those who do get the virus, get a milder version which does not require hospitalization, ICU, O2 etc.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 13th, 2021, 12:14 pm

Now what?

It means you don't follow them. You still wear ya mask and social distance even after you have been vaccinated. The vaccines are not a cure.

Also remember that the politics of the first world countries are different. These are countries that readily send millions of people to die in wars etc. Don't think that human life is precious to them. Especially if it is minority lives etc.

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2021, 12:14 pm

FDA warns of J&J risk of Guillain-Barre Syndrome

https://www.bbc.com/pidgin/tori-57816526

(this is not really new or unexpected)

Postby bluefete » July 13th, 2021, 12:17 pm

That is the same Ministry which has this at the top of its website page? NOTE: No date given so it could be something from before that was not taken down. But great efficiency on their part.

Suppose someone reads this and goes to the beach and tells the police that it on an OFFICIAL GOVERNMENT WEBSITE!

Will the police still charge them?

http://tourism.gov.tt/

Maracas, Las Cuevas, Manzanilla and Vessigny Beach Facilities Reopened

The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts wishes to advise the public of the reopening of the following Beach Facilities under its direct responsibility, namely, Maracas Beach Facility, Las Cuevas Beach Facility, Manzanilla Beach Facility and the Vessigny Beach Facility. These beach facilities will be open between the hours of 6am and 6pm and in-establishment dining will not be allowed.

This ease in restrictions follows the Government’s recommended guidelines and guidance arising out of the COVID-19 global pandemic.

The Ministry is committed to ensuring the health, safety and well-being of all users of these beach facilities and your protection remains our highest priority. In this regard, we remind beachgoers that recommended personal protective measures against the transmission of COVID-19 as communicated by the Ministry of Health must be followed at these beach facilities. These include following personal hygiene measures, mask wearing, as well as, practicing social distancing. Members of the public are also reminded to restrict gatherings on beaches to groups of ten to limit the spread of the virus.

The Ministry will implement strict, around the clock monitoring of its facilities for adherence to health protocols. The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts is resolute in its commitment to the safety of the general public and will continue to do its part to reduce the spread of Covid-19.

paid_influencer wrote:https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/posts/10159222307180610