Everyone is doing their part except banks, insurance, utilities

abducted

Postby abducted » May 30th, 2021, 3:00 pm

People are going with out work, without salary, without being able to run their business, without income, but the banks, insurance and bills still have to be paid on time and in most cases with penalties for late payment, the banks offer deferrals but with higher interest, which means they make more money in the long run, same with insurance companies, Digicel charges a late fee on bill payment, there is no legislation to help that situation

Re: Everyone is doing their part except banks, insurance, utilities

Postby hover11 » May 30th, 2021, 3:21 pm

It is a FREE market , government has little influence on what private entities can do , hard fact, you are subject to businessmen having mercy towards the public, that doesn't help with their bottom line unfortunately so that's none of their concern
abducted wrote:People are going with out work, without salary, without being able to run their business, without income, but the banks, insurance and bills still have to be paid on time and in most cases with penalties for late payment, the banks offer deferrals but with higher interest, which means they make more money in the long run, same with insurance companies, Digicel charges a late fee on bill payment, there is no legislation to help that situation

abducted

Postby abducted » May 30th, 2021, 3:51 pm

hover11 wrote:It is a FREE market , government has little influence on what private entities can do , hard fact, you are subject to businessmen having mercy towards the public, that doesn't help with their bottom line unfortunately so that's none of their concern
abducted wrote:People are going with out work, without salary, without being able to run their business, without income, but the banks, insurance and bills still have to be paid on time and in most cases with penalties for late payment, the banks offer deferrals but with higher interest, which means they make more money in the long run, same with insurance companies, Digicel charges a late fee on bill payment, there is no legislation to help that situation

We are in a state of emergency, regular laws can be altered, that is why the Government can say who can operate their business and who cannot, the Attorney General can legislate that banks and money lenders, hire purchase etc defer mortgage and loan payments for one month to the end of the loan term without additional interest, this will ease the load on citizens tremendously while they cannot receive a salary, interest on bill payments for the SOE can be removed

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 30th, 2021, 4:00 pm

business , money, profit dont bother about anything, they dont die from covid, if the employee dies 10 more waiting to take their place, if a customer dies or unable to pay they have millions in bad debt insurance ready to right off to cover the cost. it is up to the consumer to decide who they going to give their business to after seeing how ruthless business can be.
which supermarket gave out hampers to the affected covid citizens ? and who did not?
which bank suspended loan and CC payments ? and who did not?
which taxi man raise fare and who didnt ?

this pandemic will end some time but who you going to give your hard earned money to come month end?

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2021, 4:46 pm

Trinis are to blame

The irresponsibility of Trinis put the banks and Govt etc in this position.

Trinis cannot want to keep playing the ass and expect everyone to just drop everything and accommodate them.

I remember clearly the Govt gave the population a chance since last year to be responsible or else….no one listened and they want to complain and criticize everyone else for a problem they started.

ALL Trinis had/have to do is follow the Covid 19 guidelines.

But sure, blame everyone else.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 30th, 2021, 4:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis are to blame

Trinis cannot want to keep playing the ass and expect everyone to just drop everything and accommodate them.

I remember clearly the Govt gave the population a chance since last year to be responsible or else….no one listened and they want to complain and criticize everyone else for a problem they started.

You are proving to me every time you make a post on this site that you are mentally challenged.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 30th, 2021, 5:08 pm

I've been saying this from the jump, well we're blaming some spanish people for covid/rise in covid right now, add that to the list of things we want to palm off responsibility on

Postby A172 » May 30th, 2021, 5:56 pm

so u wah use people thing and doh pay for it?

Postby redmanjp » May 30th, 2021, 6:06 pm

A172 wrote:
so u wah use people thing and doh pay for it?

other countries have had some moratoriums? why can't good ole T&T?

PM say d bank have shareholders to worry about? but apparently d restaurants. bars, and all non essential businesses that lock down don't :roll: banks posted billion dollar profits last year

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2021, 6:07 pm

wtf wrote:

You are proving to me every time you make a post on this site that you are mentally challenged.

Try and handle the truth,

Maybe it will change your thinking.

Tell me where in this post indicates that i am mentally challenged.

Allyuh blasted wrong and strong and that is a quality of the ignorant Trinidadian mentality that is the main reason why this country is the way it is.

Hymc

wing

Postby wing » May 30th, 2021, 6:24 pm

wtf wrote:

Allyuh blasted wrong and strong and that is a quality of the ignorant Trinidadian mentality that is the main reason why this country is the way it is.

Hymc
Max please don't allow yourself to stoop to his/her level. He's obviously here to rile up emotions especially when he doesn't have anything sensible to post.... which is basically always. Stay safe everyone.

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2021, 6:33 pm

wing wrote:Max please don't allow yourself to stoop to his/her level. He's obviously here to rile up emotions especially when he doesn't have anything sensible to post.... which is basically always. Stay safe everyone.

Hello wing,

Thank you and keep safe as well.

Postby paid_influencer » May 30th, 2021, 6:35 pm

the last time T&T had political dissent against banks was....? the 1970s or so?

Postby A172 » May 30th, 2021, 6:51 pm

germs all over the socials bawling flow & digicel mc, how dey killing poor ppl but is them same mc home using wifi & cable and vex they hadda pay for it

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 30th, 2021, 7:23 pm

FCB has an opt in deferral for the SoE, interest still running but it might make sense for some people whose income flow stopped

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 30th, 2021, 7:24 pm

wtf wrote:

Hymc
You hush your 3rd world mentality MC.
Every single thread is always a "trini fault" post and "it good for them"

You could look and talk down on trini how much you want but just know when you dead its a trini who gonna pick up your dead decomposing body, carry it in the morgue, autopsy most likely performed by a trini, local funeral home employees will prepare your useless body, trinis will cremate or dig the hole for you to go in.
You living in a delusional world of your own thinking you don't need to depend on a trini.
Feel empowered and hide behind your little tuner account. You dare not come outside and tell a trini those things in his face.

If you so hate trinis jump on a plane with your boyfriend tuner "Wing" and get the ph uck out of here. You will not be missed you chupid loser..

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 30th, 2021, 7:33 pm

Big Business don't care. Besides, they probably nose deep in the red and the big shots ain't going to dip in their own pockets because they give we ah bligh. Yuh know hummuch all dat equipment and software costing?

Even the small business them hadda mark up after all this covid ting for all de profit dem lorse. Trini business people overall don't like to take a hit. Most rarely do.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 30th, 2021, 7:35 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:FCB has an opt in deferral for the SoE, interest still running but it might make sense for some people whose income flow stopped

That offer only makes more money for the bank, the customer ends up paying more in the long run, and the banks know it, that's taking advantage of the situation, I'm not trying to use something and not pay for it, I'm saying everyone is sacrificing except some

Postby Country_Bookie » May 30th, 2021, 8:53 pm

We're seeing 1 side of things from the point of view of consumers of these services. However, it's not so easy for these businesses to just give their customers a bligh and forego their revenue. What happens when they make losses and go out of business? This then affects all their customers and employees.

Like I said, it's easy for us to see things from our perspective but these business have a lot of different factors to consider.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 30th, 2021, 9:04 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:We're seeing 1 side of things from the point of view of consumers of these services. However, it's not so easy for these businesses to just give their customers a bligh and forego their revenue. What happens when they make losses and go out of business? This then affects all their customers and employees.

Like I said, it's easy for us to see things from our perspective but these business have a lot of different factors to consider.

I disagree, they aren't losing these customers, merely jus taking a slight hit. They might actually win some customer loyalty out of it too.

But the issue is that upper management and the C-level work with yearly goals in mind - make X% profit or don't get your yearly bonus. Everyone's bonus is tied to performance so unless they get board approval to change (which will upset shareholders) their objectives, then there's no incentive for them so give customers a bligh.

If government policy dictates that they do, then it would be done. Government can step in here.

Postby A172 » May 30th, 2021, 9:13 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:We're seeing 1 side of things from the point of view of consumers of these services. However, it's not so easy for these businesses to just give their customers a bligh and forego their revenue. What happens when they make losses and go out of business? This then affects all their customers and employees.

boy u can't explain this to these people nah

if u know u broke humble & hush yuh mc and try to come to some arrangement quietly with the companies like how vexx mention offering deferrals etc.

even if u not getting any ease up sort out your issues quietly, i aint see dem dead last year when they was bawling the same nonsense

what annoying is how they braying all over like if is the companies' fault them aint have no $ for a rainy day

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 30th, 2021, 9:27 pm

A172 wrote:

if u know u broke humble & hush yuh mc and try to come to some arrangement quietly with the companies like how vexx mention offering deferrals etc.

even if u not getting any ease up sort out your issues quietly, i aint see dem dead last year when they was bawling the same nonsense

what annoying is how they braying all over like if is the companies' fault them aint have no $ for a rainy day

You and all out of touch with reality, lots of people live paycheck to paycheck, not because they want to but because they ain't got a choice. Life is expensive.

How are many of these people supposed to have savings now when for the last 15 months a pandemic has killed whole sectors of the economy.

I'd support your stances if this was April last year, but come nah man. I know so much ppl who haven't had steady work for the whole year.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 30th, 2021, 10:30 pm

T&Tec and WASa bullin all the small businesses, still charging them for the period while they cannot work, flow sending messages that their balance due even though the internet account cannot be used because there is no work going on.
Such utter rubbish.. all companies should just get together and refuse to pay for any utilities for the past month.. meanwhile govt will not do a single sh!t to help ….

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2021, 10:58 pm

Study who collapsed the entire Venezuelan economy and society, that occurred years prior to COVID-19 and caused this country and its citizens it's currentl situation before spouting that manure please.
You sounding like Rowlee when that big nosed low rent half-assed imitation of a Nigerian version of Kojak said that the Andrea Bharatt vigils in February are part of the cause for this current spike in covid cases and deaths.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 30th, 2021, 11:08 pm

first bill i pay was flow yes, cant do without meh Internet and tv, electric overpaid i go make et

Postby A172 » May 31st, 2021, 12:14 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
A172 wrote:

You and all out of touch with reality, lots of people live paycheck to paycheck, not because they want to but because they ain't got a choice. Life is expensive.

How are many of these people supposed to have savings now when for the last 15 months a pandemic has killed whole sectors of the economy.

I'd support your stances if this was April last year, but come nah man. I know so much ppl who haven't had steady work for the whole year.
well nobody knows the struggle better than u eh Daran

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2021, 12:22 am

Ben_spanna wrote:T&Tec and WASa bullin all the small businesses, still charging them for the period while they cannot work, flow sending messages that their balance due even though the internet account cannot be used because there is no work going on.
Such utter rubbish.. all companies should just get together and refuse to pay for any utilities for the past month.. meanwhile govt will not do a single sh!t to help ….

If they using current they pay for it.
If they have a problem with the WASA bill then request a meter.
Internet service is a facility. I am sure the sysadmins for the businesses do not want their servers to experience downtime so the internet is being used.

What can the government do in this case? The last thing the government should do is further their grip on the utilities. That would make our already precariously positioned utility providers to be in an even worse place.

Postby MaxPower » May 31st, 2021, 1:56 am

wtf wrote:
wtf wrote:

Hymc
You hush your 3rd world mentality MC.
Every single thread is always a "trini fault" post and "it good for them"

You could look and talk down on trini how much you want but just know when you dead its a trini who gonna pick up your dead decomposing body, carry it in the morgue, autopsy most likely performed by a trini, local funeral home employees will prepare your useless body, trinis will cremate or dig the hole for you to go in.
You living in a delusional world of your own thinking you don't need to depend on a trini.
Feel empowered and hide behind your little tuner account. You dare not come outside and tell a trini those things in his face.

If you so hate trinis jump on a plane with your boyfriend tuner "Wing" and get the ph uck out of here. You will not be missed you chupid loser..

Ok, so we have established that you are one of those Trinis who refuse to follow the Covid 19 guidelines.

Its pathetic Trinis as yourself is the reason why we have all these restrictions inconveniencing those who do the right thing.

And if you feel i dare not tell a Trini or anyone anything in their face, well you sit your suffering little duncey head there and feel so.

So again, its Trinis fault and Trinis fault again. Why can’t you and the other dummies at least try to do the right thing and not be a laughing stock in the Caribbean. Aren’t you ashamed of the numbers? Aren’t you fed up blaming others while your dumb ass does makes the situation worse?

Stfu and wear your mask, wash your hands and social distance rather than TOTING over my posts.

Trinis need work, Trinis must do better and you are too ignorant to admit that.

Run along now.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 31st, 2021, 6:01 am

eff wearing masks man, we doin like d venes 15 ah we in ah apartment crowd up whole day everyday partying no mask.
not to mention when they coming illegally and bringing more folks with c19 to spread and enjoy ln the overpacked boats.
I wish they close down for longer, the more people get desperate the better, from there is just a matter of time till dem trinidad-hating big boys and dem start to get touch up. Take care one of those can't do no-wrong venes you love so much hit yuh 2 in yuh navel an leave yuh to writhe up like a snake an eat yuh food and scrape da mini mart yuh claim to have clean. Hungry dog turn round bite yuh eh.

I poor so open up or total lockdown i say let the chips fall where it may.

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2021, 7:55 am

daxt0r wrote:eff wearing masks man, we doin like d venes 15 ah we in ah apartment crowd up whole day everyday partying no mask.
not to mention when they coming illegally and bringing more folks with c19 to spread and enjoy ln the overpacked boats.
I wish they close down for longer, the more people get desperate the better, from there is just a matter of time till dem trinidad-hating big boys and dem start to get touch up. Take care one of those can't do no-wrong venes you love so much hit yuh 2 in yuh navel an leave yuh to writhe up like a snake an eat yuh food and scrape da mini mart yuh claim to have clean. Hungry dog turn round bite yuh eh.

I poor so open up or total lockdown i say let the chips fall where it may.

Be careful what you wish for.
Because if you didn't know, by the time the big boys now getting touch up you might already be in a situation where your balls in a vise and it have a pole up yuh tailpipe. Meaning, when the shtf, is the poor people who does get touch up first, and most don't survive.

Everyone has to do their part, however small or large that part may be. Because you don't want yourself or your loved ones to have to go thru the stress and xp of dying of the virus or surviving only to suffer the long term physiological effects.