COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20267 cases, 390 deaths, 8150 active, 11727 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2021, 11:50 am

any govt data on ANY variants as the culprit of this new surge?

carluva

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20267 cases, 390 deaths, 8150 active, 11727 recovered in T&T

Postby carluva » May 25th, 2021, 12:14 pm

Good morning Grudge.

Your post is definitely in the wrong thread and you will not get the responses you would like.

Use this thread instead as you will get better views and more suitable responses.

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=761659

Please do not start a new thread.

Grudge wrote:Good Morning Tuners. I don't want to make a new thread, but was searching and there seems to be none on "Home Vegetable/Fruit Garden". I know under all the ole talk there are very knowledgeable
tuners in all different disciplines and looking for some general information on starting up a small garden. For example type of crop, yield time, required area, easy/difficult crop etc.
If such a thread does exist please direct me to it. If not, is it a good idea to start one?
Asking here as I am sure this is the most viewed thread right now.

Regards.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 25th, 2021, 12:23 pm

sMASH wrote:any govt data on ANY variants as the culprit of this new surge?

They last number of Brazil variants we heard was 25. That was a few weeks ago. But variants don't matter it was the vigils that caused the spike according to the Prime Minister who is advised by our great medical professionals.

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2021, 12:28 pm

if is 25... last stat, then we not fighting a new strain, its the same old virus we had all along

carluva

Postby carluva » May 25th, 2021, 12:35 pm

You all do realize that everyone is making some excuse for why this virus is spreading so profusely. Excuses/reasons on the table so far include:

1. Government.
2. The Opposition.
3. Call by PM to go to Tobago.
4. Vigils.
5. Masks.
6. The wait by vaccination centers.
7. The Venezuelans.
8. Brazilian P1 variant.
9. Carnival 2020.
10. Elections 2020.
11. Xmas rush.
12. Vaccines actually contributing to the increase in positive cases.

What this pandemic has shown is that this virus spreads primarily through human ignorance. We simply cannot follow simple instructions: (1) Stay home, (2) avoid crowds and mass gatherings, (3) when heading out, wear face masks and double up if necessary and (4) wash hands.

Many Trinidadians epitomize ignorance as these simple rules cannot be adhered to and if one tries to correct someone who has faulted, iz one seta loopholes and quarrel one faces.

Like most, I am sick of this pandemic. But most of all, I am sick of Trinis who are prolonging this unnecessarily by simply being, well, Trinis. It is unfair to those of us who choose to follow the rules and do what is right to curtail the spread when others are just ignorant about it.

Like my friend Max would say... Wake up Trinis. Stop making excuses and do the right thing by doing your part.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 25th, 2021, 12:41 pm

sMASH wrote:if is 25... last stat, then we not fighting a new strain, its the same old virus we had all along

We won't know if they don't give us the information. I don't think after having 25 unlinked cases that the Brazilian variant would just stop spreading.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 25th, 2021, 12:42 pm

carluva wrote:You all do realize that everyone is making some excuse for why this virus is spreading so profusely. Excuses/reasons on the table so far include:

1. Government.
2. The Opposition.
4. Vigils.
5. Masks.
7. The Venezuelans.
8. Brazilian P1 variant.
9. Carnival 2020.
10. Elections 2020.
11. Xmas rush.

What this pandemic has shown is that this virus spreads primarily through human ignorance. We simply cannot follow simple instructions: (1) Stay home, (2) avoid crowds and mass gatherings, (3) when heading out, wear face masks and double up if necessary and (4) wash hands.

Many Trinidadians epitomize ignorance as these simple rules cannot be adhered to and if one tries to correct someone who has faulted, iz one seta loopholes and quarrel one faces.

Like most, I am sick of this pandemic. But most of all, I am sick of Trinis who are prolonging this unnecessarily by simply being, well, Trinis. It is unfair to those of us who choose to follow the rules and do what is right to curtail the spread when others are just ignorant about it.

Like my friend Max would say... Wake up Trinis. Stop making excuses and do the right thing by doing your part.

Well you just added to the list by blaming trinis.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » May 25th, 2021, 12:42 pm

carluva wrote:Good morning Grudge.

Your post is definitely in the wrong thread and you will not get the responses you would like.

Use this thread instead as you will get better views and more suitable responses.

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=761659

Please do not start a new thread.

Grudge wrote:Good Morning Tuners. I don't want to make a new thread, but was searching and there seems to be none on "Home Vegetable/Fruit Garden". I know under all the ole talk there are very knowledgeable
tuners in all different disciplines and looking for some general information on starting up a small garden. For example type of crop, yield time, required area, easy/difficult crop etc.
If such a thread does exist please direct me to it. If not, is it a good idea to start one?
Asking here as I am sure this is the most viewed thread right now.

Regards.

Excellent. Thank a lot man!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 12:46 pm

carluva wrote:You all do realize that everyone is making some excuse for why this virus is spreading so profusely. Excuses/reasons on the table so far include:

1. Government.
2. The Opposition.
4. Vigils.
5. Masks.
7. The Venezuelans.
8. Brazilian P1 variant.
9. Carnival 2020.
10. Elections 2020.
11. Xmas rush.

Brah this happened in literally every country in the world. The problem with lockdowns is that they stifle human socialization which is honestly essential for many. It's a hard problem to solve.

We locked down everything and residential visits sky rocket as a result.

There is some truth to saying lockdowns aren't effective if that's how people are going to behave.

Postby Habit7 » May 25th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Time. science and political agenda will tell us what we did wrong locally and internationally to deal with this pandemic. Even as the notion of origin of covid-19 is changing due to who can control the narrative.

Postby MaxPower » May 25th, 2021, 1:16 pm

1. Government.
2. The Opposition.
4. Vigils.
5. Masks.
7. The Venezuelans.
8. Brazilian P1 variant.
9. Carnival 2020.
10. Elections 2020.
11. Xmas rush.

Hello carluva,

Hope you are keeping well my good man.

Such a remarkable post and if you would permit me to include/expand to that list the grocery/fast food congregating and the quarantine breachers and not to forget the “zessing” from home/private gatherings and special events.

And by all means, it is imperative that we ALL do our part.

Postby Gladiator » May 25th, 2021, 1:29 pm

From the time the Govt starts blaming others and looking for excuses that signals that they are failing....

Postby toyolink » May 25th, 2021, 1:34 pm

Honestly there is enough blame to share amongst everyone for our circumstances.
The reality of our existence demonstrates that no one was or is prepared for what it takes to deal with a pandemic/plague, in fact if we look inwardly we would have no choice but to admit the present day images of our lives never came into clear focus Feb/March 2020.
The expectation that things would returning to some normalcy in a matter of weeks is obvious in our national discourse and the real possibility that we may need not less than 9 months and at least 60% of the population fully vaccinated before Covid19 is adequately suppressed is almost unimaginable.
If the latter position is adopted as what is before us and resources are aggressively deployed, then and only then can change take place.
I firmly believe our national investment/ expenditure programs must go after this pandemic with a level of urgency which acknowledges our greatest and most valuable resource (our human resource).We must protect, nourish, support and seed hopefulness in our population since failure in this regard would cause us to reach a place where 'long covid' may leave us on life support for generations and casualty levels in every regard just too unimaginable to properly comprehend at this time.

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2021, 1:47 pm

that might be day1 after they win elections from kamala

Gladiator wrote:From the time the Govt starts blaming others and looking for excuses that signals that they are failing....

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 25th, 2021, 1:54 pm

To know what strain it is testing of the positive sample must be done. It's a different test that's needs to be done to determine the strain. So if they not doing the test we will never know. Before it was said they test random samples for the Brazilian strain.
Mmoney607 wrote:
sMASH wrote:if is 25... last stat, then we not fighting a new strain, its the same old virus we had all along

We won't know if they don't give us the information. I don't think after having 25 unlinked cases that the Brazilian variant would just stop spreading.

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2021, 2:35 pm

pugboy wrote:that might be day1 after they win elections from kamala

Gladiator wrote:From the time the Govt starts blaming others and looking for excuses that signals that they are failing....

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 25th, 2021, 2:41 pm

What Rowley have to say about this?
FB_IMG_1621968006429.jpeg

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2021, 2:48 pm

wtf wrote:What Rowley have to say about this?
It's behavioral. Always has been - worldwide. Expect the next spike in cases at the next holiday.

What causes a spike in coronavirus cases?

Human behavior is the major factor. State and local governments, as well as individual people, differ in their response to the pandemic. Some follow COVID-19 precautions, such as physical distancing, hand-washing and mask-wearing. Others are not as prescriptive in requiring these measures or in restricting certain high risk activities.

In some cities, towns and communities, public places are closed or practicing limitations (such as how many people are allowed inside at one time); others are operating normally. Some government and community leaders encourage or even mandate mask wearing and physical distancing in public areas. Others say it is a matter of personal choice.

However, the relationship between those precautions and cases of COVID-19 is clear: In areas where fewer people are wearing masks and more are gathering indoors to eat, drink, observe religious practices, celebrate and socialize, even with family, cases are on the rise.

Also, places where people live or work closely together (multigenerational households, long term care facilities, prisons and some types of businesses) have also tended to see more spread of the coronavirus. Coronavirus outbreaks at nursing homes and “superspreader” events — gatherings of people where one infected person or more transmits the virus to many others — continue to occur.

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/ ... oronavirus

Postby redmanjp » May 25th, 2021, 3:22 pm

ST Auto wrote:To know what strain it is testing of the positive sample must be done. It's a different test that's needs to be done to determine the strain. So if they not doing the test we will never know. Before it was said they test random samples for the Brazilian strain.
Mmoney607 wrote:

last i read they were only testing 10-20% of positive samples for variants

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 25th, 2021, 3:34 pm

1. Government.
2. The Opposition.
4. Vigils.
5. Masks.
7. The Venezuelans.
8. Brazilian P1 variant.
9. Carnival 2020.
10. Elections 2020.
11. Xmas rush.

yes but nobody staying the fuq home. i went to work yesterday and pass in superpharm to get a lysol spray an the amount of kants buying the prepackaged foods from presto and doubles. the roads more busy than normal in my opinion. whole families in cars going somewhere and groceries still full. who want to say they lorse they wuk, cant pay loans or rent, who need hampers is dam lying. nowhere out there showing people who financially stressed cause of the lockdown.

Postby aaron17 » May 25th, 2021, 3:38 pm

wtf wrote:What Rowley have to say about this?
So he fraid to lose he job or wha?

Postby Habit7 » May 25th, 2021, 3:47 pm

wtf wrote:What Rowley have to say about this?FB_IMG_1621968006429.jpeg

lets start chronologically

then there was Easter

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 25th, 2021, 4:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:
wtf wrote:What Rowley have to say about this?FB_IMG_1621968006429.jpeg

lets start chronologically

then there was Easter

Everyone outdoors, everyone wearing masks......those vigils were probably far safer than going to work.

Google Mobility data shows very little changes in February as well.
CleanShot 2021-05-25 at 3.56.46.png

CleanShot 2021-05-25 at 3.52.46.png

Honestly, blaming vigils is low, very low. In reality, cases were growing slowly and the sole reason we had this outbreak is due to the P1.

Look at our behavior over Christmas, hell I went to two big weddings in Christmas, no outbreak like we expected.

My theory (and there is loads of science of back this up) is that the original covid strain is relatively easy to contain in warmer climates. However, the variations are far more contagious and spread as the original strain did in temperate climates.

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2021, 4:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ST Auto wrote:To know what strain it is testing of the positive sample must be done. It's a different test that's needs to be done to determine the strain. So if they not doing the test we will never know. Before it was said they test random samples for the Brazilian strain.
Mmoney607 wrote:

last i read they were only testing 10-20% of positive samples for variants

thats good news. what do u do with it? if the old vaccine not working against them, try to get some that does. if the new strains require different protocols, then those would be necessary.

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2021, 4:27 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 25th, 2021, 4:29 pm

Tests has been taken over a 6 day period.

Postby hover11 » May 25th, 2021, 4:31 pm

100 cases a day for our country size isn't good
DMan7 wrote:Image

Tests has been taken over a 6 day period.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 25th, 2021, 4:32 pm

Positivity rate is down. Only 10% positivity rate from the new 6200+ new tests done.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 25th, 2021, 4:33 pm

Yea they sticking in that 6 day thing as excuse for the failures. Habit need to get covid for all the crap he spewing.
Right now it's completely out of control and they seems to be out of ideas and can only balme everyone else rather than present a solution to the issue.
The frontlinere are burning out and with the current vaccine rate there is little hope this will end anytiem soon.

Postby K74T » May 25th, 2021, 4:38 pm

612 new cases / 18 deaths....damn