COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 4:09 pm

a chocolate factory essential?

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 4:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:a chocolate factory essential?

Dude, all manufacturing has been deemed 'essential'. Lots of people don't realize how many things still taking place.

And when I've been saying for weeks workplaces and offices are the biggest super spreader areas, people tell me I wrong and it's zessing, or lining up buying doubles or people liming on the corner without masks. Steups, i fed up.

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 4:19 pm

spread maybe happening in work place in general but in factories where there may be an assembly line arrangement social distancing may be harder than say an office. plus i would bet many of them were not wearing masks

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 23rd, 2021, 4:20 pm

Eating in the same lunch room as well
redmanjp wrote:spread maybe happening in work place in general but in factories where there may be an assembly line arrangement social distancing may be harder than say an office. plus i would bet many of them were not wearing masks

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 4:23 pm

I mean, it's common f*cking sense, the US and UK's biggest outbreaks occurred in factories/warehouses and offices (but almost all were shut down early).

In Japan and many Asian countries, masks are compulsory indoors and optional outdoors.

Yet, we closing beaches and rivers and outdoor exercising (groups should be banned though).

Postby MaxPower » May 23rd, 2021, 4:26 pm

Trinis still not getting it…..

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 4:31 pm

MOH needs to emphasize that 'public' includes workplaces. many ppl are wearing their mask coming into the office (not to long ago my own office as well) taking it off while in office then putting it on when they leave.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » May 23rd, 2021, 4:33 pm

573 new cases
IMG-20210523-WA0010.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 23rd, 2021, 4:34 pm

573 x 10 on a sunday. back to the bunker.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 4:34 pm

ron_28 wrote:573 new cases
10 dead.
Next week might be better.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 23rd, 2021, 4:35 pm

Deaths Gona keep going up
wtf wrote:
10 dead.
Next week might be better.

novastar1

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby novastar1 » May 23rd, 2021, 4:41 pm

adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Covax didn't see us as a priority?

Where did you get this info?

Covax essentially covers countries such as India, Nigeria etc. Basically over 92 countries. Plus countries such as Canada also pulled from Covax supply and India mandated that the main supplier to Covax which is the Serum Institute keep 50% of their supply for Indian innoculation.

So granted once your country is managing "well" the suppliers would not be in a rush to get vaccines to you when other countries are in crisis with much larger populations.

So again where did you get this info?
Where did the rest of the Caribbean get their vaccines?
How did almost ever other country do better than us with procurement?

Remember this?
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/22/ansa-m ... go-public/
"The WHO, one of the leaders of COVAX, recognised vaccine doses would initially be scarce, and therefore, prepared a two-staged allocation mechanism they considered fair. In the first stage, vaccine doses are distributed equally among participating countries, while in the second stage vaccine doses will be allocated according to a country’s need."

https://jme.bmj.com/content/early/2021/ ... 020-107152

I guess you didn't see my other post.....

I meant covax isn't the only source

We have only 1179 people in Trinidad fully vaccinated according to the bulletin today
Barbados has fully vaccinated 51,704 people
And they have less cash and a lower credit rating that us

Barbados and TTO both received two tranches of 33,600 doses of vaccine from COVAX within days of each other. Barbados received a donation of 100,000 doses of Ox/AZ from India in March. TTO received a donation of 100,000 doses of Sinopharm in May.

TTO has a population 4.75 times larger than Barbados.
Barbados had a confirmed infection rate was 40% higher and that peaked four months earlier than the current TTO spike.

Barbados and TTO received aporoximately the same number of vaccines but TTO received the bulk 2 months later.

Sinopharm recommends 3 weeks between doses. Ox/AZ recommends 4 to 12 weeks.

The current number of first doses is 64,639, second doses is 1,179.

Vaccines have not been in TTO long enough to satisfy the time lag necessary to give the second dose.Image

So are you trying to say we are doing ok to you?
Given that are are last in the region?
Nothing could have been done differently?

Every other country just sat back and "received" vaccines right?
Every other Caribbean country seemed to have exhausted all avenues to get their population vaccinated

We should just be content with our place at the bottom and count the numbers every day I guess

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... r-vaccines

You just went off on a tangent.

You keep asking. I keep answering with irrefutable fact. Now you want to segue off into opinion.

If you just want to jump out there and talk about how your pride as a citizen is diminished or how you want to vote people out of office, have at it.

Or you can just walk outside at 10 pm tonight with no mask on and find someone that gives a sh!t.

But that is exactly it
You don't give a sheit that we have no vaccines
We are among worst in the world with respect to death rates
And you act like it's covax at fault
If anyone asks any questions then time to get on like an ass and blame everyone and everything else
Every other caricom country has done better
I didn't say anything about voting people out of office.. That was you
I was speaking about accountability and responsibility

We can't hide from covid
We need to vaccinate out of this
And that is not happening

ALSO curfew starts at 9... Not 10
Last edited by novastar1 on May 23rd, 2021, 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 23rd, 2021, 4:41 pm

I think this week we're going to see a massive decline in the number of daily cases. I'm predicting below 300 cases per day.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 23rd, 2021, 4:41 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Habit is a PNM stooge that just trying to save face, prob a fat idiot that go dead if he get covid too.
Fact is real people went bago with the virus and had fetes limes parties etc and virus spread. Anyone who think otherwise is an idiot.
You sound like ZR,

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 4:44 pm

206 deaths for May thus far and 472 in Hospital atm... place getting filled fast.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 23rd, 2021, 4:45 pm

novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
adnj wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Covax didn't see us as a priority?

Where did you get this info?

Covax essentially covers countries such as India, Nigeria etc. Basically over 92 countries. Plus countries such as Canada also pulled from Covax supply and India mandated that the main supplier to Covax which is the Serum Institute keep 50% of their supply for Indian innoculation.

So granted once your country is managing "well" the suppliers would not be in a rush to get vaccines to you when other countries are in crisis with much larger populations.

So again where did you get this info?
Where did the rest of the Caribbean get their vaccines?
How did almost ever other country do better than us with procurement?

Remember this?
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/22/ansa-m ... go-public/
"The WHO, one of the leaders of COVAX, recognised vaccine doses would initially be scarce, and therefore, prepared a two-staged allocation mechanism they considered fair. In the first stage, vaccine doses are distributed equally among participating countries, while in the second stage vaccine doses will be allocated according to a country’s need."

https://jme.bmj.com/content/early/2021/ ... 020-107152

I guess you didn't see my other post.....

I meant covax isn't the only source

We have only 1179 people in Trinidad fully vaccinated according to the bulletin today
Barbados has fully vaccinated 51,704 people
And they have less cash and a lower credit rating that us

Barbados and TTO both received two tranches of 33,600 doses of vaccine from COVAX within days of each other. Barbados received a donation of 100,000 doses of Ox/AZ from India in March. TTO received a donation of 100,000 doses of Sinopharm in May.

TTO has a population 4.75 times larger than Barbados.
Barbados had a confirmed infection rate was 40% higher and that peaked four months earlier than the current TTO spike.

Barbados and TTO received aporoximately the same number of vaccines but TTO received the bulk 2 months later.

Sinopharm recommends 3 weeks between doses. Ox/AZ recommends 4 to 12 weeks.

The current number of first doses is 64,639, second doses is 1,179.

Vaccines have not been in TTO long enough to satisfy the time lag necessary to give the second dose.Image

So are you trying to say we are doing ok to you?
Given that are are last in the region?
Nothing could have been done differently?

Every other country just sat back and "received" vaccines right?
Every other Caribbean country seemed to have exhausted all avenues to get their population vaccinated

We should just be content with our place at the bottom and count the numbers every day I guess

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... r-vaccines

And that is exactly it.

Trinis are content with their place.

What an embarrassment.

Blaming everyone but themselves.

Exactly
God is ah Trini version 2021

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2021, 4:49 pm

by wed hospitals might be full

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2021, 4:50 pm

Tacarigua Health Centre had lots of renovations recently. They refurbished the long disused old age home on the compound and added an area called Oxygen Bay. I feel they prepping for Covid patients.
IMG_20210523_163724.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 4:51 pm

Month end is this week also but who getting paid..

BUG

Postby BUG » May 23rd, 2021, 4:52 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Dude, all manufacturing has been deemed 'essential'. Lots of people don't realize how many things still taking place.

And when I've been saying for weeks workplaces and offices are the biggest super spreader areas, people tell me I wrong and it's zessing, or lining up buying doubles or people liming on the corner without masks. Steups, i fed up.

There's a few of us here who have been saying the same thing. Not many, not enough, but a few.

People calling this a lockdown when there's fvcking chocolatiers designated as essential workers :roll:

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 23rd, 2021, 4:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:i think we should give the AZ shot to as many ppl as possible instead of reserving half for the 2nd shot as data gives it a 76-80% efficacy with just 1 shot, just about the same as 2 shots of sinopharm

You mean you don't want the sinopharm for yourself?
Can't get an AZ
No Pfizer/moderna on the horizon
Not any Johnson and Johnson

Not even 95+percent efficacy Sputnik after 1 dose

And no Trinidadian FDA to approve what is safe and what is not?
No government officials taking the sinopharm on TV to show their faith in it?

Just frustrating times here in Trinidad
Last edited by novastar1 on May 23rd, 2021, 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 23rd, 2021, 4:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

It's only supposed to be food & beverage manufacturers. But tbh places like Carib could have been an exception imo.

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 4:59 pm

MOH: wear your mask WITHIN your home if u have a covid +ve person, or person in close contact with one, or person with any flu like illness regardless of whether u get back your test results. isolate from each other.

your home may be considered a bubble but certainly not in these circumstances.

i would go further- if u have an essential worker going out and a high risk person in the house u should be isolating or wearing masks given the amount of cases at this time regardless of testing +ve or being under quarantine or having any flu like illness.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 23rd, 2021, 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 5:00 pm

Damn did not expect that.

Oh well, last week wasn't the peak.

Testing still at an all-time high, but I would be able to assess better tomorrow.

Average cases per day last week was 536....Next week I estimate it'll be up slightly, maybe averaging 550 per day.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2021, 5:04 pm

killercow wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

It's only supposed to be food & beverage manufacturers. But tbh places like Carib could have been an exception imo.

Yea food and beverage plus supporting industries for them too eh.

- Judiciary : magistrates, supreme court, industrial court, equal opportunities commission, tribunals, tax appeal board, legal services,
- sittings of the House of Parliament , Cabinet meetings or any committee meetings, sittings of the THA, meetings of the Assembly or committees
- operations of the Diplomatic Corps
- Primary emergency services: State and private emergency ambulance services, all emergency call centres
- TTPS, Defence Force, Fire Services, Immigration, Intelligence Services, prisons services, children’s homes
- Janitorial and maintenance services concerning the provision of health, hospital, water, electricity, fire, sanitation, civil aviation, telecommunication
- Workers at WASA, and TTEC
- Health services workers
- Only allowing provision of dental, ophthalmology, physical and occupational therapy
- Essential janitorial and maintenance services for private condominiums, townhouses, residential homes, private and public facilities
- Domestic workers and gardeners who are live-in employees
- Private security firms, estate constables, special reserve and municipal police
- Social workers and social services workers and care givers
- Employees providing services at hardwares, electrical and plumbing establishments (to be closed at 8 p.m.)
- Financial and insurance services with the provisio for those who are essential employees
- Electricians, plumbers, exterminators on a needs/ emergency basis
- Retail services – discount stores including Pricesmart only to sell the food an essential services items and at 50 per cent capacity
- Markets, fruit stalls or shops, vegetable stalls or shops, bakeries, pharmacies and parlours for the provision of food, medicine and other necessities of life
- Wholesale stores for the provision of food, medicine and other necessities of life
- Ministries
- Manufacturing, transportation and logistic services for certain areas
- Emergency automotive repair and maintenance
- Manufacture and distribution of food and beverages, pharmaceuticals, and its packaging and bottling
- -Employees that maintain aircraft, marine vessels
- employees at media houses
- services related to food, beverage, agriculture and fisheries
- farm workers, animal feed production and packaging
- -zoo employees or animal shelters
- -employees in the production and supply of medical supplies, and servicing and repair of medical equipment, and other services for the medical sector
- -workers who are providing wholesale suppliers with groceries, markets, parlours
- -energy sector
- -petroleum station and convenience markets attached to gas stations close at 8 p.m.
- -hotels, guest houses, eco-lodges, seismic research unit of the UWI

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 5:05 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Damn did not expect that.

Oh well, last week wasn't the peak.

Testing still at an all-time high, but I would be able to assess better tomorrow.

Average cases per day last week was 536....Next week I estimate it'll be up slightly, maybe averaging 550 per day.

u have to take the P1 variant into consideration. if it 100% more contagious we need to isolate more, even from household members. see previous post. MOH stated right now a lot of spread is in homes, of couse primarily the ones with confirmed/suspected infections. but i suspect even a lot of asymptomatic spread is happening. yuh wifey might be given u it now and u doh know.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 23rd, 2021, 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » May 23rd, 2021, 5:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Fact is obvious to all except Habit7 that Trinidad and Tobago has done POORLY in vaccine acquisition.

Our target of 10% fully vaccinated by the end of August is quite pathetic as many in the Caribbean have already surpassed that, and by August 1st many including Jamaica and Guyana would have reached between 20-30% fully vaccinated.

CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 2.38.22.png
CleanShot 2021-05-23 at 2.38.10.png

It is easy to say TT vaccine acquisition has been poor. Where you will trip up is when you try to point out alternative sources of WHO approved vaccines. Because the entire world knows that there is a shortage of vaccines.

Jamaica and T&T are in the same position as we have both received the same proportion of vaccines. This month T&T, Belize, Bahamas, Barbados and Guyana all received the same amount of Covax vaccines, Guyana got slightly more. T&T's population dwarfs those countries, Guyana is at least half. Simple maths will obviously show that they will vaccinate a larger portion of their population than us. Smaller Caribbean countries will obviously be further along because the no bigger that the population of Chaguanas.

So unless you know viable source of vaccines that T&T, Jamaica and nearly the majority of countries are not tapping into then you are just being unreasonable. It is just like saying TT is behind in getting nuclear weapons because Israel, USA, UK, Pakistan and Russia get them so easily.

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2021, 5:11 pm

we should be preordering cuban and other vaccines with the anticipation of WHO approval. if they don't grant it by the time we ready to receive it we can always cancel the order. did we not preorder sinopharm prior to who approval?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 5:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:we should be preordering cuban and other vaccines with the anticipation of WHO approval. if they don't grant it by the time we ready to receive it we can always cancel the order. did we not preorder sinopharm prior to who approval?
No. Sinopharm was a side deal when Imbert went to take a loan.

Postby RedVEVO » May 23rd, 2021, 5:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:we should be preordering cuban and other vaccines with the anticipation of WHO approval. if they don't grant it by the time we ready to receive it we can always cancel the order. did we not preorder sinopharm prior to who approval?

Agree 100%

From the time COVID became known T&T should have placed orders.

Many citizens keep asking on many many social media hubs - When will we get vaccines ?

There was much much silence .

Why do Gov'ts always procrastinate ?

The consequence is that billions $$$ is now being lost with close of business etc.

Tend to believe Gov't can do more since T&T has the $$$ to buy .

Buy is at twice or 3X or 4X the price if needed since it's now for survival .

And get private industry involved since THEY have the connections and communication channels .
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 23rd, 2021, 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.