COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 22nd, 2021, 9:07 pm

Just want to report some semi-good news.

Testing rates are finally down (ever so slightly). Now this doesn't mean cases won't increase in the next coming days. In fact, the next few days or week may have higher numbers as the positivity rate is up.

But what it does mean is that this is the peak, and we will slowly start trending downward.

I estimate, that in a 4-6 weeks cases should be below 100 daily on average.

Deaths though, that will continue to rise over the next 2 weeks.

By end of June we could be looking at 400 more dead or close to 800 in total. In July we may cross 1000 dead.

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 22nd, 2021, 9:11 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Just want to report some semi-good news.

Testing rates are finally down (ever so slightly). Now this doesn't mean cases won't increase in the next coming days. In fact, the next few days or week may have higher numbers as the positivity rate is up.

But what it does mean is that this is the peak, and we will slowly start trending downward.

By end of June we could be looking at 400 more dead or close to 800 in total. In July we may cross 1000 dead.
Widdy ph uck.

novastar1

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby novastar1 » May 22nd, 2021, 9:16 pm

Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
cornfused wrote:While we need to do more vaccination we can only

vaccinate when we have the medicine. Throwing up a line chart with other vaccination rates in the Caribbean says very little. .

We have not been getting much vaccines as our neighbours. Not nearly , one reason is that we generally had this well managed
nd other other countries were in crisis. Covax did not see us a a priority.

Any one can remember our first vaccines were a gift from Barbados 2,000

Covax didn't see us as a priority?

Where did you get this info?

Covax essentially covers countries such as India, Nigeria etc. Basically over 92 countries. Plus countries such as Canada also pulled from Covax supply and India mandated that the main supplier to Covax which is the Serum Institute keep 50% of their supply for Indian innoculation.

So granted once your country is managing "well" the suppliers would not be in a rush to get vaccines to you when other countries are in crisis with much larger populations.

So again where did you get this info?
Where did the rest of the Caribbean get their vaccines?
How did almost ever other country do better than us with procurement?

Remember this?
https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/22/ansa-m ... go-public/

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 22nd, 2021, 9:24 pm

Source?

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby Redress10 » May 22nd, 2021, 9:31 pm

novastar1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

vaccinate when we have the medicine. Throwing up a line chart with other vaccination rates in the Caribbean says very little. .

We have not been getting much vaccines as our neighbours. Not nearly , one reason is that we generally had this well managed

Covax essentially covers countries such as India, Nigeria etc. Basically over 92 countries. Plus countries such as Canada also pulled from Covax supply and India mandated that the main supplier to Covax which is the Serum Institute keep 50% of their supply for Indian innoculation.

So granted once your country is managing "well" the suppliers would not be in a rush to get vaccines to you when other countries are in crisis with much larger populations.

Remember this?

Have a read

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... ing-scheme

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 22nd, 2021, 9:39 pm

Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Remember this?

Have a read

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... ing-scheme

I meant covax isn't the only source

We have only 1179 people in Trinidad fully vaccinated according to the bulletin today
Barbados has fully vaccinated 51,704 people
And they have less cash and a lower credit rating that us

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 22nd, 2021, 10:06 pm

novastar1 wrote:

Source?

CleanShot 2021-05-22 at 10.06.16.png

CleanShot 2021-05-22 at 10.05.59.png

Postby Gladiator » May 22nd, 2021, 10:08 pm

Thought I was the only one seeing that. Richards intentionally harping on the decline in ICU and HDU numbers without mentioning the obvious deaths being the cause for the reduction.

They all playing politics to look good. So sickening now...
redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:But check the number of patients in ICU and HDU it has been reduced drastically. I think there may be a huge decline in the number of critical patients in the hospitals now and we've seen the bulk of all deaths in the previous weeks.

a decline? that is only because a lot of them dead, and also the addition of pt fortin. within minutes it will be filling up again due to the continued high no of cases.

Postby Gladiator » May 22nd, 2021, 10:13 pm

The Easter spike is still ongoing....it's a domino effect. The amount of people spread it to each other during the tobago Easter weekend still rippling through the population.

It is the single most rampant super spreader event in the country so far.
redmanjp wrote:Easter may not be responsible for the recent spike (it was 7-8 weeks ago) but the spike before, then all who get infected from Easter infected others who went to las lap fast food and spread it.

why they not using antigen tests for inter-island travel yet :roll:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 22nd, 2021, 10:35 pm

Testing rates down isn't really giving a good representation of the virus spread. Its just saying virus detection is down but actual infection rates will prob be the same.
Any way you take it with our lie vaccination rates, any time there is there slightest of raising of restrictions, expect spikes to occur.

Postby Habit7 » May 22nd, 2021, 11:42 pm

Gladiator wrote:The Easter spike is still ongoing....it's a domino effect. The amount of people spread it to each other during the tobago Easter weekend still rippling through the population.

redmanjp wrote:Easter may not be responsible for the recent spike (it was 7-8 weeks ago) but the spike before, then all who get infected from Easter infected others who went to las lap fast food and spread it.

In 2020 the rubber talk was that Carnival caused some invisible spike that govt hid as if it possible to do so.
In 2021 it is the Easter Tobago spike. Because apparently there was no spike before Easter. Plus there is a special Tobago strain, that didn't affect those who went Maracas, Mayaro, DDI and local family limes, only those who went Tobago.

Let me remind of what occurred before Easter Weekend.
Upsurge in covid19 cases no longer isolated to County Caroni
RHIANNA MC KENZIE MONDAY 22 MARCH 2021

The recent spike in covid19 cases is no longer isolated to County Caroni, where the upsurge began several weeks ago.

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram, speaking at the Ministry of Health’s virtual press conference on Monday, said the cases that started as a cluster in Caroni are now spilling over into County Victoria (which spans Pointe-a-Pierre to Moruga), St Patrick (Siparia to Icacos), and St George (Arima to Port of Spain).

“Remember, someone residing in a particular area and then go(ing) to work in another area, for example Port of Spain…people now at risk will be people all over the country,” said Parasram.

“The graph reminds us that this is a very small country. Although we have a cluster of cases in one or two counties, that can easily spread to the entire country in a short space of time.”

He reminded business owners especially to be more vigilant with covid19 protocols such as sanitising hands and ensuring everyone wears a mask.

He said the ministry is doing its best to contain the spread.

But he stressed, “At this point in time, with the numbers going up, we need everyone to do their part..The virus doesn’t stay within a county. People move, and the virus moves with them.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/22/upsurg ... ty-caroni/

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2021, 11:48 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Testing rates down isn't really giving a good representation of the virus spread. Its just saying virus detection is down but actual infection rates will prob be the same.
Any way you take it with our lie vaccination rates, any time there is there slightest of raising of restrictions, expect spikes to occur.
the positivity rate can compensate. it it goes up, bet ur bottom dollar, there was more people positive, that the tests did not pick up.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 23rd, 2021, 12:01 am

Habit7 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:The Easter spike is still ongoing....it's a domino effect. The amount of people spread it to each other during the tobago Easter weekend still rippling through the population.

In 2020 the rubber talk was that Carnival caused some invisible spike that govt hid as if it possible to do so.
In 2021 it is the Easter Tobago spike. Because apparently there was no spike before Easter. Plus there is a special Tobago strain, that didn't affect those who went Maracas, Mayaro, DDI and local family limes, only those who went Tobago.

Let me remind of what occurred before Easter Weekend.
Upsurge in covid19 cases no longer isolated to County Caroni
RHIANNA MC KENZIE MONDAY 22 MARCH 2021

The recent spike in covid19 cases is no longer isolated to County Caroni, where the upsurge began several weeks ago.

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram, speaking at the Ministry of Health’s virtual press conference on Monday, said the cases that started as a cluster in Caroni are now spilling over into County Victoria (which spans Pointe-a-Pierre to Moruga), St Patrick (Siparia to Icacos), and St George (Arima to Port of Spain).

“Remember, someone residing in a particular area and then go(ing) to work in another area, for example Port of Spain…people now at risk will be people all over the country,” said Parasram.

“The graph reminds us that this is a very small country. Although we have a cluster of cases in one or two counties, that can easily spread to the entire country in a short space of time.”

He reminded business owners especially to be more vigilant with covid19 protocols such as sanitising hands and ensuring everyone wears a mask.

He said the ministry is doing its best to contain the spread.

But he stressed, “At this point in time, with the numbers going up, we need everyone to do their part..The virus doesn’t stay within a county. People move, and the virus moves with them.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/22/upsurg ... ty-caroni/
If Tobago and the government was smart they would have isolated their island and protected their local population.

The Prime Minister was very irresponsible and really set a bad example as a leader.

I see that you are going in a racist direction as usual and deflecting the real topic on the issues.

Postby K74T » May 23rd, 2021, 1:36 am

Ansa Bank closes branch for sanitisation, after two employees die from covid:
Via Newsday Newspaper

Ansa Bank closed its Port of Spain branch from May 19 to 21 out of respect for two of its employees who recently died from covid19.

According to the Ansa McAl's group communications manager Sharon Balroop, a supervisor and a cashier at the bank’s Independence Square branch died “within the last week” and the closure also allowed for the branch to be sanitised.

FB_IMG_1621748142918.jpeg

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 23rd, 2021, 1:51 am

Haha

Some of you all are really jack arses on this forum if you are blaming the PM for going to Tobago.

As the young ppl saying nowadays. Yuh big and ya have sense.

Howcome nobody blaming the PEA and Inshan for all the vigils that had thousands packed in confined spaces for hours night after night for weeks.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 19444 cases, 365 deaths, 7765 active, 11314 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 23rd, 2021, 3:59 am

^ yunno.

As if Master Keith forced them too.

Damn jackasses wouldve gone Tobago in any event.

It is obvious the spread is due to irresponsible Trinis who just don’t give a sheit. Basically anywhere that has congestion.

Travel to Tobago should require a PCR test. These stink Trinis are endangering the lives of the airport workers and are endangering the people of Tobago.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 23rd, 2021, 5:04 am

MaxPower wrote:^ yunno.

As if Master Keith forced them too.

Damn jackasses wouldve gone Tobago in any event.

It is obvious the spread is due to irresponsible Trinis who just don’t give a sheit. Basically anywhere that has congestion.

Travel to Tobago should require a PCR test. These stink Trinis are endangering the lives of the airport workers and are endangering the people of Tobago.

not only tobago, all them cyat like it was scratching for the easter that beach house all mayaro and east was booked out by entire extended families, just watch youtube and see how much ah dem jackarse the scene. together with that they rush kfc and royal castle in mayaro and valencia and the 3 persads grocery. IDK if they dotish and forget covid around that they have to leave they house with they pickney in tow and spend a long weekend somewhere. it have a next two that seem to like in the east somewhere rush and gone pricesmart maloney when the lockdown start in all the rush to buy a cheesecake and eat the ting in the car. doh talk about eh next clong that had to go tobago with he wife to go fish just cause fasting was starting soon. he couldnt just buy 2 tin of sardine and have he wife cook it on she youtube channels that seem to only cater for moslems. bunch ah idiots and we all have to pay the price for their jackarseness.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2021, 6:14 am

i pointed that out from day 1 of them vigils
many persons packed in cars whole night going to them vigil aka limes aka prayers

Redress10 wrote:Haha

Some of you all are really jack arses on this forum if you are blaming the PM for going to Tobago.

Howcome nobody blaming the PEA and Inshan for all the vigils that had thousands packed in confined spaces for hours night after night for weeks.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2021, 6:15 am

no mention of the beer brand manager

K74T wrote:Ansa Bank closes branch for sanitisation, after two employees die from covid:
Via Newsday Newspaper

Ansa Bank closed its Port of Spain branch from May 19 to 21 out of respect for two of its employees who recently died from covid19.

According to the Ansa McAl's group communications manager Sharon Balroop, a supervisor and a cashier at the bank’s Independence Square branch died “within the last week” and the closure also allowed for the branch to be sanitised.

FB_IMG_1621748142918.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 23rd, 2021, 8:12 am

Redress10 wrote:Haha

Vigils were not the cause to the current situation we are in.
The foolish prime Minister went against the advice received from the CMO and told everyone to go to Tobago and they did.
Now CMO saying he told the government and Rowley saying it's our fault.

Well as the saying goes, Who live live and who dead dead.

Postby adnj » May 23rd, 2021, 8:33 am

novastar1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Remember this?
"The WHO, one of the leaders of COVAX, recognised vaccine doses would initially be scarce, and therefore, prepared a two-staged allocation mechanism they considered fair. In the first stage, vaccine doses are distributed equally among participating countries, while in the second stage vaccine doses will be allocated according to a country’s need."

https://jme.bmj.com/content/early/2021/ ... 020-107152

Postby adnj » May 23rd, 2021, 8:37 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The death toll from COVID-19 in Latin America and the Caribbean passed 1 million people on Friday, according to a Reuters tally, with the pandemic worsening in the part of the world with the highest per capita death rate.

Brazil's infection spike is spreading outward.

Regional affects of Brazil's spike in Covid-19 infections.Image

Postby Habit7 » May 23rd, 2021, 8:59 am

wtf wrote:Vigils were not the cause to the current situation we are in.
The foolish prime Minister went against the advice received from the CMO and told everyone to go to Tobago and they did.
Now CMO saying he told the government and Rowley saying it's our fault.

Well as the saying goes, Who live live and who dead dead.

The CMO never said he warned the Govt and they didn't heed. He said he warned you and you didn't heed.

“We voiced that concern to the population to try to start the beginning of people having the behaviour that they would have had for the best part of November to March 2021, to really get people back on track,” he said.
https://guardian.co.tt/news/cmo--no-one ... 6a40ed8292

FB_IMG_1620732159852.jpg
FB_IMG_1620732164324.jpg

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2021, 9:08 am

^^ Well do the same thing for Easter, nah, please!

Or are you saying that these huge numbers of infections and deaths are all down to just the candlelight vigils?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 23rd, 2021, 9:11 am

Dan Tobago was booked to capacity from since January for Easter weekend. You couldn't get a plane or boat to bago. That was always a planned lime. People have to be stupid to think that the PM comment was the reason for the rush to bago. Was a long weekend in lock down and people wanted to free up. Had real fete and lime arranged months before KCR open his mouth. So don't be a jack to assume otherwise

Nexus

Postby Nexus » May 23rd, 2021, 9:12 am

Convenient how that graphic just left out easter weekend which was from the 2nd April...and when was the spike, almost exactly two weeks later. Yes, the vigils most likely did play a role, but to not mention the slackness over the Easter is disingenuous at best

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 23rd, 2021, 9:16 am

Habit is a PNM stooge that just trying to save face, prob a fat idiot that go dead if he get covid too.
Fact is real people went bago with the virus and had fetes limes parties etc and virus spread. Anyone who think otherwise is an idiot.

Postby K74T » May 23rd, 2021, 9:21 am

FB_IMG_1621773051940.jpeg

Postby timelapse » May 23rd, 2021, 9:26 am

That dude was a tuner?

Postby K74T » May 23rd, 2021, 9:26 am

IDK, but another Covid victim.