COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13355 cases, 211 deaths, 3907 active, 9237 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2021, 11:07 am

some persons still recovering but not fit to go home yet being moved to 'step down' facilities

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13355 cases, 211 deaths, 3907 active, 9237 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2021, 11:09 am

paid_influencer wrote:I give up on trying to reason with adnj. He's a party hack like habit7. I know better now and will not waste my time.

on to other matters, MoH conference at 11am.
I stop dealing with that idiot

Zoom Hater

Last edited by adnj on May 10th, 2021, 11:28 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 11:10 am

ftitan wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
The FDA and EMA approved vaccines have been widely distributed in the USA and Europe and have hundreds of millions of doses to provide information. The level of data there is well beyond what any previous study could have provided. I could put my head on a block for them.

To say Sinopharm has the same level of safety/efficacy data as Pfizer or AZ.... is being dishonest imo.

There are no FDA approved vaccines though, they're only authorized for emergency use.
The main problem with Sinopharm is they omitted testing data, or didn't test people with comorbidities except obesity. So they have an unusually high positive rate because of no data on the bad things.

You giving too facts. You will be accused of being a party hack.

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2021, 11:19 am

ftitan wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
The FDA and EMA approved vaccines have been widely distributed in the USA and Europe and have hundreds of millions of doses to provide information. The level of data there is well beyond what any previous study could have provided. I could put my head on a block for them.

To say Sinopharm has the same level of safety/efficacy data as Pfizer or AZ.... is being dishonest imo.

There are no FDA approved vaccines though, they're only authorized for emergency use.
The main problem with Sinopharm is they omitted testing data, or didn't test people with comorbidities except obesity. So they have an unusually high positive rate because of no data on the bad things.
Chinese researchers were among the first to begin developing vaccines against COVID-19 in early 2020, but they have yet to publish full trial results. Some researchers have raised concerns that a lack of transparency could fuel vaccine hesitancy, but others say collating the data takes time and resources, and should be available for both front-runner vaccines within weeks.

China’s vaccines (see ‘How China’s vaccines compare’) have had to be trialled elsewhere because the country didn’t have enough transmission itself to conduct them, says George Gao, who heads the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention in Beijing.

So far, only scattered information from various nations has been released on Sinopharm’s Beijing vaccine, says Hilda Bastian, an independent scientist who studies evidence-based medicine in Victoria, Australia (Sinopharm is producing a second inactivated-virus vaccine in Wuhan). She hopes the WHO will now release detailed data.

In early December, both the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Bahrain approved it — making it among the first COVID-19 vaccines to be granted full clearance in any country. Approval was based on late-stage trial data, including a UAE study involving 31,000 participants. These showed the vaccine was 86% effective at preventing COVID-19 after 2 shots, with no deaths among immunized individuals. Documents published following the 29 April meeting suggest the combined trial efficacy over several countries was 78%.

Data on CoronaVac from clinical trials and national vaccination campaigns have also emerged, with mixed results. Trials from Brazil and Turkey have revealed efficacy figures of 50.7% and 83.5%, respectively. Researchers say the lower figure might be because Brazil includes mild cases of COVID-19 in its counting and because there is circulation of the P.1 variant, which is more transmissible and might be better at evading immunity. Results from an analysis following mass vaccinations in Chile have landed between these numbers, at 67%.

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-01146-0

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 10th, 2021, 11:22 am

With this new airborne ting... Anything possible
fleck_alyuh.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13122 cases, 203 deaths, 3783 active, 9126 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 11:35 am

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Yes, but the esteemed PM JUHN Scary says all of our protocols, from vaccines to policy are WHO guided. Now, not only isn't he following them wrt vaccines, but actually lying about how long after you have had Covid that you can be vaccinated

We get it, you don't like Dr Rowley.

But you are mixing your hate of KCR with medical advice from the MoH. It was the CMO who said there is a 6mth wait for vaccines post covid-19, not KCR. It was not conveniently made for the PM, this was the recommendation prior to him contracting the virus. The only reason you are disagreeing is because the PM is subject to it.

For reasonable, levelheaded ppl, our medical decisions are not determined by hate for KCR. I hope that some day you will rise to that level.

I don't hate JUHN Scarfy moron :roll: I hate his nasty attitude and how he's dragging this country to hell with his inept bumbling, lies and corruption
What I stated has nothing to do with hate, but exposing LIES and misinformation. A lowly pleb like me could find that information on the WHO website, yet JUHN Scarfy with all his resources cannot realize that yet? Even if your initial position was incorrect, it cannot be corrected weeks later?
Someone who claimed that they were going to be "first in line" sure sounds like they're either changing their tune maybe because of Guy Smiley's death? This is what happens when you put your foot into your lying mouth, you get backed into corners from which there is no easy escape, but to LIE, misrepresent, deal in misinformation or whatever you want to term it is a disservice to the WHO and people who are vaccine hesitant.

It is not a lie. He said that he would be first to get the vaccine but got flu like symptoms the night before. Which invalidates you from being vaccinated.

Your hate for KCR is tripping you up. Calm down.

No one is disputing his claim to have gotten Covid and couldn't get the vaccine then
The issue is the lies and misrepresentation of why he can't take it now
Don't burn yourself when you're doing aarti to his picture later mmkay? :wink:

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 10th, 2021, 11:38 am

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh’s cheap theatrics fools no one. According to Deyalsingh, he was driven to tears when he saw someone drinking alcohol in public during Covid-19.

He was so moved that he had to pull his car aside and cry, one tear. Citizens of this country have been crying because they have been abandoned abroad for over a year, reduced to destitution and living on the streets, forced to find food and shelter in a foreign country while their Government allows their friends, family and financiers to come and go as they wish. Did he shed a tear for them?

Families have been crying as loved ones have been hospitalised and some have died from Covid-19 while the Government fiddles with vaccine procurement. Mothers and fathers of this country have been crying to put food on their tables to feed families, unemployed with no scope or hope for employment since March last year. Many still have not received relief grants and the Government admits that those who received the small relief grants only received them for three months over the last year. A few lucky ones got support for six months but the Government has failed to explain why some received support for six months and most were restricted to three months support. No tears for them either!

The fact is that tens of thousands of citizens remain in desperate need today, teetering on the brink of absolute frustration and the associated social challenges. In these circumstances, Government’s delayed reaction in providing support to citizens in need is matched to its lagged response last year which saw citizens waiting months for small stipends despite their immediate needs. This lack of initiative and sense of urgency on the part of the Government, when coupled with the victim blaming and shaming engaged in by the Prime Minister and his Minister of Heath reeks of disdain and disconnect between the Government and the taxpaying citizens they are supposed to be serving.

It is unacceptable and highly hypocritical that the Prime Minister and Minister of Health continue to harass, harangue and insult the population for the spike in the spread of Covid-19 when senior Government officials appear to breach the very regulations with impunity.

The Government continues to demonstrate that it has no plan in treating with the various levels of the pandemic confronting our nation. Worse, instead of engaging stakeholders, the Prime Minister somehow manages to blame the Opposition for the Government’s failures, such as their failure to secure our porous borders while locking out our own citizens!

The leader of the Opposition, Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar has repeatedly reached out to the Government since the UNC first raised this crisis as a priority demanding attention. At that time, the Government repeatedly downplayed the severity of the pandemic, with both the Speaker of the House and President of the Senate “not being convinced of its urgency” when the Opposition brought motions to address the Covid-19 issue. Are they convinced now?

Even at that time, senior Government officials including some of those now in front the cameras, like the Minister of Health, CMO, Dr Avery Hinds etc were also repeating that the virus was not a threat to the health and safety of the country.

Mrs Persad-Bissessar has once more repeated her call for a bipartisan approach, including all stakeholders in addressing this national crisis. This people-centred approach requires political maturity from the Government and a real desire to work towards the resolution of this pandemic in T&T, and particularly, putting the lives of citizens first. The egos of the government may be bruised by reaching out but the fact is that while they play petty politics and engage in public relations gimmicks, our citizens are dying, our economy is collapsing and the business community is being polarised into monopolies by select business houses and families. Our citizens deserve better.

I support the repeated call by the leader of the Opposition and the various interest groups who have demonstrated their patriotism in support of this call, for the Government to put its political games aside, and work together for the benefit of all the citizens of this country, in particular the middle and lower income groups most affected by the restrictions implemented in response to the pandemic. The Government needs to focus on the welfare of the majority of its citizens and not just the friends, family and financiers of the ruling party. The time for action is now.

But yeeaaa man all ah we fully fully dunce up in d zess, Graaateee is ddd PeeeNM

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13122 cases, 203 deaths, 3783 active, 9126 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 11:52 am

De Dragon wrote:No one is disputing his claim to have gotten Covid and couldn't get the vaccine then

I don't think you understand what a lie is (hence you do it so often). The CMO said that there will be a 6mth wait after covid-19 infection for vaccination.

There is no absolute wait time, varying health authorities have varying recommendations. Our health authority arrived at this decision without considering Dr Rowley. You are only disagreeing because it is being applied to Dr Rowley, not because of any medical science.

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 11:56 am

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:No one is disputing his claim to have gotten Covid and couldn't get the vaccine then

I don't think you understand what a lie is (hence you do it so often). The CMO said that there will be a 6mth wait after covid-19 infection for vaccination.

There is no absolute wait time, varying health authorities have varying recommendations. Our health authority arrived at this decision without considering Dr Rowley. You are only disagreeing because it is being applied to Dr Rowley, not because of any medical science.

No Tuntsy, I am disagreeing because it is simply not true according to the WHO. Try again.

Postby zoom rader » May 10th, 2021, 11:59 am

Habit7 it's time to stop posting now you looking and acting like a true idiot

Postby MaxPower » May 10th, 2021, 12:03 pm

Citizens deserve better?

Lol

Work for it

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2021, 12:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:

No Tuntsy, I am disagreeing because it is simply not true according to the WHO. Try again.

Both of these statements were posted previously. Both of these statements are current and from the WHO. Neither of these statements give a definitive answer beyond a six month window.

You seem to be looking for conflicting statements - there is none but I believe that you will just keep looking at the words on the page even harder.

Studies are underway to show us how strong this immune response is and for how long these antibodies last. What we understand from these studies — and there are many that are currently underway, so we still don't have a full picture yet — is that these antibodies last for many months, some see some studies showing that they last for six months and possibly longer. But we do have clues from other coronaviruses, that it will not be a lifelong immunity.

https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detai ... -(covid-19)-vaccines

Even if you have already had COVID-19, you should be vaccinated when it is offered to you. The protection that someone gains from having COVID-19 will vary from person to person, and we also don’t know how long natural immunity might last. 

https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease ... -(covid-19)-vaccines/
Last edited by adnj on May 10th, 2021, 12:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2021, 12:09 pm

zoom rader wrote:Habit7 it's time to stop posting now you looking and acting like a true idiot
Zoom Hater

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 10th, 2021, 12:10 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Let's all just agree to disagree here because no one winning this argument.

Can Rowley take the vaccine now? Yes, there is no harm. Is he going to have natural immunity to covid for at least 6 months, also yes more than likely. Is the CMO wrong in giving such advice? No. Has any country given such advice? Yes one.

What do I recommend?

I think he should take the vaccine as it appears he didn't get the P1 strain (speculation), and as such natural immunity to P1 is NOT guaranteed. It is in his interest he take the vaccine.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 10th, 2021, 12:11 pm

Btw cases are still going up and might be 20% higher this week.

Screenshot 2021-05-10 at 12.09.48 pm.png
Screenshot 2021-05-10 at 12.07.25 pm.png

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 12:14 pm

Third world citizens looking down on a vaccine manufactured in China has got to be the dumbest funniest thing I have witness all weekend.

Carry on

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 12:15 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Can Rowley take the vaccine now? Yes, there is no harm. Is he going to have natural immunity to covid for at least 6 months, also yes more than likely. Is the CMO wrong in giving such advice? No. Has any country given such advice? Yes one.

What do I recommend?

I think he should take the vaccine as it appears he didn't get the P1 strain (speculation), and as such natural immunity to P1 is NOT guaranteed. It is in his interest he take the vaccine.

I fail to see what is the big deal about vaccination. Vaccination is a personal choice. No one should be forced to "take the vaccine"

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2021, 12:19 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

What do I recommend?

I fail to see what is the big deal about vaccination. Vaccination is a personal choice. No one should be forced to "take the vaccine"

no one forcing anyone. of course when countries, schools, businesses, etc. want to protect their citizens/students/teachers/employees etc by requiring you to continue to wear a mask/quarantine etc. u can't complain

Postby zoom rader » May 10th, 2021, 12:20 pm

adnj wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Habit7 it's time to stop posting now you looking and acting like a true idiot
Zoom Hater

Yawn

Postby timelapse » May 10th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Bleach your skin and hair.Dress like a whore and learn Spanish.You'll be deserving of things then.
MaxPower wrote:Citizens deserve better?

Lol

Work for it

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 12:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

What do I recommend?

no one forcing anyone. of course when countries, schools, businesses, etc. want to protect their citizens/students/teachers/employees etc by requiring you to continue to wear a mask/quarantine etc. u can't complain

That's different to being vaccinated. No one should be telling Rowley etc to "take the vaccine first" to prove to citizens that it safe. Citizens are big people and have sense. Get vaccinated to protect yourself from the virus. Stop worrying about who else aint vaccinated and who should take the vaccine first.

Everybody bad talking vaccine but lining up quietly to take it. Media talk a pack of sh*t about vaccines but were first in line and after taking it carried on scaremongering. Every covid death is somehow the vaccine fault and not covid.

Franklyn Khan dead..."is the vaccine". The young doctor dead..."is the vaccine". The fella from radio dead...."is the vaccine".
Trinis really are a special kind of dotish.

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2021, 12:40 pm

^ all ppl saying is if u as a leader want to tell citizens to get the vaccine u should demonstrate your trust in it by taking it- especially as citizens have stated they not taking it until he and other leaders have taken it. this is being done in other countries too. it would be hypocritical to refuse to take it while telling john public to take it. assuming of course he can take it having had the infection.

nothing wrong with the media asking questions on behalf of the citizenry re possible adverse events, as long as u also indicate that such events are very rare.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 10th, 2021, 12:48 pm

People who think Chinese vaccines are 100% safe should watch this video and reevaluate their position on China.
Also do a Goolge search on "Mike Yeadon" and see what he says about vaccines.
https://youtu.be/KlXuz5QpJfI

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 12:56 pm

Redress10 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

What do I recommend?

That's different to being vaccinated. No one should be telling Rowley etc to "take the vaccine first" to prove to citizens that it safe. Citizens are big people and have sense. Get vaccinated to protect yourself from the virus. Stop worrying about who else aint vaccinated and who should take the vaccine first.

Everybody bad talking vaccine but lining up quietly to take it. Media talk a pack of sh*t about vaccines but were first in line and after taking it carried on scaremongering. Every covid death is somehow the vaccine fault and not covid.

Franklyn Khan dead..."is the vaccine". The young doctor dead..."is the vaccine". The fella from radio dead...."is the vaccine".
Trinis really are a special kind of dotish.

Except for the inconvenient fact the HE said he would take it first and set the example, which is expected of someone in his position. His curious backtrack, based on lies and misinformation, doesn't matter who gave it to him, and is giving people pause, when they would do well to just get vaccinated.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 1:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ all ppl saying is if u as a leader want to tell citizens to get the vaccine u should demonstrate your trust in it by taking it- especially as citizens have stated they not taking it until he and other leaders have taken it. this is being done in other countries too. it would be hypocritical to refuse to take it while telling john public to take it. assuming of course he can take it having had the infection.

nothing wrong with the media asking questions on behalf of the citizenry re possible adverse events, as long as u also indicate that such events are very rare.

Right but he is not forcing anyone to take it. There isn't a vaccination mandate so your decision shouldn't rest on whether Rowley, Kamla, Fitz or Moonilal innoculates themselves. Vaccination is a personal choice.

In other countries vaccination isn't mandatory the way we are vaccinated at birth for certain things so that is why their leaders tend to vaccinate as a sign of encouragement. Remember the US etc has a history of forced sterilisation etc using vaccines as a cover so their citizens will always be sceptical. We don't have any such history when it comes to these things.

The media asking questions about adverse effects is dumb because the vaccine wasn't manufactured by us here in TT so any info that the gov't have would be the same info that is readily available online etc. Trinis just love to overcomplicate things for no reason.
Last edited by Redress10 on May 10th, 2021, 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 1:10 pm

Yes you are, like a vicious hypocrite
De Dragon wrote:Except for the inconvenient fact the HE said he would take it first and set the example, which is expected of someone in his position. His curious backtrack, based on lies and misinformation, doesn't matter who gave it to him, and is giving people pause, when they would do well to just get vaccinated.

You just agreed that he didn't take the vaccine first because he was sick. Now you are saying because of lies and misinformation.

Your rabid hate of KCR is the only thing governing your opinion here, not facts.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 10th, 2021, 1:12 pm

So anyone caught the presser this morning?
Anything new announced?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 1:12 pm

wtf wrote:People who think Chinese vaccines are 100% safe should watch this video and reevaluate their position on China.
Also do a Goolge search on "Mike Yeadon" and see what he says about vaccines.
https://youtu.be/KlXuz5QpJfI

The chinese vaccine was approved by the WHO. Do you think the Who ia a rum shop type organisation that grants approvals for any and everybody?

Do you think that the chinese gov't that has to vaccinate over 1.4 billion of its citizens isn't capable of creating a vaccine for its citizens? You do realise that every country is suppose to create its own vaccine for its citizens right. Why you think Russia, Cuba, China, India, UK, Usa etc all have their own vaccines. These countries don't rely on each other for things of this nature. They make their own.

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 1:16 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So anyone caught the presser this morning?
Anything new announced?

They got 100+ more beds so D Day postponed for 7 more days.

Postby aaron17 » May 10th, 2021, 1:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:So anyone caught the presser this morning?
Anything new announced?

They got 100+ more beds so D Day postponed for 7 more days.
Did they get more health staff and ppe too?