Trini Businesses - Why are you all doing so many simple things wrong!?

Re: Trini Businesses - Why are you all doing so many simple things wrong!?

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2020, 11:24 am

That customer is always right maxim is madness. Alot of people are nasty despicable idiots looking for free handouts.
I've had people come back 10 months after with a water damaged phone insisting it be replaced under warranty. And usual threats of they going to social media.

Had this clown recently who battery swell out in her iPhone and demand a free replacement...2 years after buying the phone.

A next one decide to go take her s9+ bathing in the Salt water. Call to say it saying moisture detected when she try to charge it. She let a friend open it and clean it out and it still have the same issue. She want a refund under warranty.
She even went so far as making a police report that I sold her faulty goods. Police laugh when I send them the recording of the phone call where she admit she took it into the sea and she admit how a friend of hers open the phone and spray it out with contact cleaner.

Postby Rovin » December 1st, 2020, 11:28 am

Skanky wrote:The worst customer service you can get will be at the banks.

d slow ass waiting in line is what gets me

they build 12 teller counters but always only have 4-5 tellers & over 50 ppl line up standing up wasting their time, cyar provide seating using safety issues as a excuse like if somebody go chook in a bomb under a chair

then want to ask u why going to do with d $$$ u withdrawing , like they feel ah goin by villa with it or gonna buy drugs ... i cud lie & tell them anything

Postby 88sins » December 1st, 2020, 12:26 pm

Rovin wrote:
Skanky wrote:The worst customer service you can get will be at the banks.

d slow ass waiting in line is what gets me

they build 12 teller counters but always only have 4-5 tellers & over 50 ppl line up standing up wasting their time, cyar provide seating using safety issues as a excuse like if somebody go chook in a bomb under a chair

then want to ask u why going to do with d $$$ u withdrawing , like they feel ah goin by villa with it or gonna buy drugs ... i cud lie & tell them anything

this sounding like sumn a rep in scotia would ask.
d day I hadda justify why I want my money to anybody, is d day I keep my money elsewhere. I didn't need yuh permission to deposit it, you can bet yuh rass I eh need yuh permission to take it all out & put it elsewhere

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2020, 12:37 pm

yuh does need their permission to deposit it these days though

Postby 88sins » December 1st, 2020, 2:07 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:yuh does need their permission to deposit it these days though

nah, yuh eh need permission to deposit unless is an amount that bigger than what you'd normally deposit.

but RBC however does tell you yuh hadda pay them to take your money otc. if you depositing over 10K in cash they taking a 0.15% otc charge based on the deposit amount.
It have a way to circumvent that tho

So guess whose otc individual cash deposits are never more than $9999.99?
You can make as many deposits on the same day totalling as much as you want, once none of them gibber than $9999.99 you pay zero charges.
this rounds yuh hadda beat them at their own game with their own rules.

but yuh kno eventually they go change the rules when they see the licks they getting :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2020, 3:44 pm

Rovin wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Business 101

The customer is always right

Exits ched

i guessing u being sarcastic right ?

anybody who has to deal with selling\serving others will say hell no

have some ppl who passing on d road & just glimpse ur store & they have time to kill waiting for their gyul or kids so they come in watching & jes asking a setta random questions each totally not related to d last 1 they ask or jes making small talk to pass their time & when they done is i go check u when ah ready

or they come in with no clue of what they want & providing u with next to no info but expect u to read what in their mind

or do no research even though they fully capable of using google\yuotube but asking u 100 questions to explain every little detail , when ur done they go be like well i hadda ask meh cousin or d man who hooking up meh thing wa he think , some does jes want to use u for info then "i go check u later" or go somewhere else to buy it , they try this on d phone too

i cud go on & on ... this is why i posted d 10 tips on how to be a good customer

it's something that's actually taught in several courses within a management program. It's subjective and possibly only applies in the perfect world. However, from listening to persons within the medical/dental fields.....it does apply

Postby 88sins » December 1st, 2020, 5:19 pm

To qualify as a "customer" you have to purposefully be at the premises with the intent to buy what is available for sale there.
Just walk in a store and ask a setta jackass questions and you know (the shop keeper highly suspects) that you not there to buy, that don't make you a customer, it makes you a nuisance and an inconvenience.

Because the truth is, while they engaged with one broke as a joke imitation "customer", a real customer that could use the attention and assistance has to wait, and the business might even lose the sale or worse, develop a rep for port service.
All because a joker walk into your store.

I believe in the 15 minute policy.
From the moment a customer enters, he has 15 minutes to buy something and get out. In those 15 minutes, he will get 5 minutes of my attention before I move on to the next customer. If he lingers around after that 15 minutes and hasn't even shown enough interest to pick out an item, he either there to kill time, or to steal and he waiting for an opportunity, or some other unproductive reason. Either way, he can be monitored, and dealt accordingly.

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2020, 6:15 pm

inbox fuh price... same mentality playing the show on both sides.

Postby Rovin » December 1st, 2020, 6:40 pm

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2020, 7:14 pm

Does have the massive waste of time idiots too. My cheapest phone is 2400. They come and asking for a phone for 800. When I tell them cheapest phone is 2400....they still asking about it...and then asking about higher end models...and they want to see and touch all these higher end models to compare them.....but their budget is only 800.

With covid you not allowed to touch anything anymore unless you buying it

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 1st, 2020, 7:24 pm

Rovin wrote::lol:

LOL this is trinidad for you.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 1st, 2020, 7:36 pm

Saw this today :D :D

Rovin,

I know there are bad customers, my complaints were mainly focused on common sense things businesses doing wrong to at turnoff a well-meaning customer.

If there's one thing I've learned in business is that you can't please everyone, but the people you have to please must be your best or highest value customers.

And that's where I think thousands of Trini businesses are failing in catering to the needs of a young modern middle class.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2020, 8:26 pm

No lies told here

Postby MaxPower » December 1st, 2020, 8:27 pm

We need to hire more foreigners to improve the customer service in T&T.

We are blessed with the Venezuelans but we can invite Americans and Europeans and compensate them handsomely.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 1st, 2020, 8:40 pm

MaxPower wrote:We need to hire more foreigners to improve the customer service in T&T.

We are blessed with the Venezuelans but we can invite Americans and Europeans and compensate them handsomely.

I concur, don’t leave out the Japanese bro work ethic on point and I like them skinny with long black hair

Postby 88sins » December 1st, 2020, 9:03 pm

Devourment wrote:
I know there are bad customers, my complaints were mainly focused on common sense things businesses doing wrong to at turnoff a well-meaning customer.

If there's one thing I've learned in business is that you can't please everyone, but the people you have to please must be your best or highest value customers.

And that's where I think thousands of Trini businesses are failing in catering to the needs of a young modern middle class.

Hadda say I disagree with you there, to a point. How young you mean.
Because what you might think that young modern middle class is, take what I telling you, it ain't. They have very little spending power due to most in that bracket not working for a whole lot of money (many make well under 3500/month), & they prefer to spend on weed, alcohol, zesser parties and baddess gyul to get a flex.
The real spenders are the people in the 30-45 age group. Making good money and can afford to spend, and they have their priorities in order so they would faster spend on stuff a store would sell than on things like weed. Look at stores like courts, pricesmart, supermarkets, etc., and pay attention to what age group you see in these stores the most and who spending on the big ticket items.

A wise businessman will always look to attract the largest cross section of the demographic that would find his wares desirable with the most spending power. That ain't them youngsters.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 1st, 2020, 9:19 pm

Devourment wrote:

Hadda say I disagree with you there, to a point. How young you mean.
Because what you might think that young modern middle class is, take what I telling you, it ain't. They have very little spending power due to most in that bracket not working for a whole lot of money (many make well under 3500/month), & they prefer to spend on weed, alcohol, zesser parties and baddess gyul to get a flex.
The real spenders are the people in the 30-45 age group. Making good money and can afford to spend, and they have their priorities in order so they would faster spend on stuff a store would sell than on things like weed. Look at stores like courts, pricesmart, supermarkets, etc., and pay attention to what age group you see in these stores the most and who spending on the big ticket items.

A wise businessman will always look to attract the largest cross section of the demographic that would find his wares desirable with the most spending power. That ain't them youngsters.

By young middle class, I actually did mean professionals who range from 25-45, not them zessers or new graduates.

For example, one of my former employers had roughly 300 staff, most professional, most come in between 7 and 8:30am and left 5 to 7pm......almost everyone there was below 45 and the average salary would have been 20k I figure.

By far the most common complaint was, they couldn't do jack sh*t during the week. In fact, I remember a time someone told everyone that a home furnishings store of all places was closing 7pm during Christmas season. Man almost every woman or new home owner went there, multiple times during them two weeks. They easily got 50K in sales from the staff at this company alone for that 2 week period.

The business owner might easily assume this was a Christmas rush, but he could have done this any time of the year and benefitted tremendously.

He's back to closing at 5PM and I distinctly remember a day I left work early to get there, but stupid traffic kept me back so I ended up reaching 5pm on the dot and the man told me come back tmr.

Well, firetruck. him. I sent him an angry email about how inconvenient it is for us to shop at his business if he closes 5pm.

His response flabbergasted me, which is why I no longer shop there.

It was along the lines of, "Just like yourself, we are entitled to close the reasonable hour at 5pm. To cater for those who cannot make it in the week, we open half-day on Saturdays.".

I now use Amazon and pay probably twice the price, but hey it's convenient. I prepay my Aeropost charges and they deliver them to my office lobby. Easy.

Trini Businesses - Why are you all doing so many simple things wrong!?

Postby MaxPower » December 1st, 2020, 9:44 pm

Friends,

Understand that most customers are expecting terrible customer service once they are dealing with Trinis.

So when they call in or visit the establishments they are already hyped up to give attitude, be difficult and be highly intolerant.

Honestly i do not give them wrong as the Trinidadian customer service is really disgusting and it is rampantly rampant almost anywhere you go.

Its like you know someone who is an a$$hole so you treat them as an a$$hole as if its second nature.

Do better Trinis and gain back the trust and confidence from service seekers.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » December 2nd, 2020, 3:59 am

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Understand that most customers are expecting terrible customer service once they are dealing with Trinis.

So when they call in or visit the establishments they are already hyped up to give attitude, be difficult and be highly intolerant.

Honestly i do not give them wrong as the Trinidadian customer service is really disgusting and it is rampantly rampant almost anywhere you go.

Its like you know someone who is an a$$hole so you treat them as an a$$hole as if its second nature.

Do better Trinis and gain back the trust and confidence from service seekers.

lol true talk when trying to get a refund or exchange in trini stores despite being agreed to on sale of item in the first place.
if you dont getting on like a ripe muffler bearing certain places dont want to honour their agreement

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2020, 5:21 am

I wont say all businesses have poor customer service. I've received good service from popular restaurants(not kfc et al) and one or two other stores but NONE from the govt services

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2020, 7:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I wont say all businesses have poor customer service. I've received good service from popular restaurants(not kfc et al) and one or two other stores but NONE from the govt services

Then Government HR interviewing skills is all flawed

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2020, 8:30 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I wont say all businesses have poor customer service. I've received good service from popular restaurants(not kfc et al) and one or two other stores but NONE from the govt services

Interview?
What interview? :lol:

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2020, 8:32 am

Interview?
What interview? :lol:

The ones at Balisier House

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 2nd, 2020, 11:05 am

Had a few good experiences at Licensing office, no joke.
Transfer (south)
Permit renewal (chag)

Great experience at ID card office, Couva.

Stellar experience at Passport office (point fortin, chaguanas)

Great experience with TT Connect (online and in person - Tunapuna)
Great experience with eTax (filing online, follow up and cheque collection)

death365

Postby death365 » December 2nd, 2020, 12:15 pm

hear how govt offices work ...
7 - 10 am breakfast/ 2nd breakfast / going to stores
10 - 11.30 working 60% ... and complaining about bosses and or co-workers 40 %
11.30 - 1.45 lunch et al
2 - 3 working @ 50%
3 - 4.15 NOPE just nope

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2020, 1:04 pm

death365 wrote:hear how govt offices work ...
11.30 - 1.45 lunch et al
2 - 3 working @ 50%
3 - 4.15 NOPE just nope
Where government workers does reach to work 7am sir?

What you smoking?

9am is when they roll in.

9 - 10 is breakfast and talking people business.

10 - 11 they see what's on their desk to do. Rearrange it or have the clerk's put away the files they kept to make it look like they busy or let the messengers move it to someone else desk or just put it in the out dip for either of the above to be done. Either way, it looks like something happened.

11 to 1:30 is lunch and walk on charlotte street to air mark whet they buying when month end reach.

1:30 to 2 - 2:30 is when the next movements similar to that which took place this morning again takes place. Who have to ghost does look to ghost all now.

2:30 - 3:30 is home time or pick up children hour.

4pm security leaves and takes the building keys to the police station for locking up till tomorrow morning.

9 years experience, don't question my knowledge on this.

Any attempt to be productive or get work done is met with strong opposition. Join them or take stress.

death365

Postby death365 » December 2nd, 2020, 1:17 pm

22 going on 23 years here .... and yes south people come in for 7 ...

death365 wrote:hear how govt offices work ...
11.30 - 1.45 lunch et al
2 - 3 working @ 50%
3 - 4.15 NOPE just nope
Where government workers does reach to work 7am sir?

What you smoking?

9am is when they roll in.

9 - 10 is breakfast and talking people business.

10 - 11 they see what's on their desk to do. Rearrange it or have the clerk's put away the files they kept to make it look like they busy or let the messengers move it to someone else desk or just put it in the out dip for either of the above to be done. Either way, it looks like something happened.

11 to 1:30 is lunch and walk on charlotte street to air mark whet they buying when month end reach.

1:30 to 2 - 2:30 is when the next movements similar to that which took place this morning again takes place. Who have to ghost does look to ghost all now.

2:30 - 3:30 is home time or pick up children hour.

4pm security leaves and takes the building keys to the police station for locking up till tomorrow morning.

9 years experience, don't question my knowledge on this.

Any attempt to be productive or get work done is met with strong opposition. Join them or take stress.

Postby MaxPower » December 2nd, 2020, 1:38 pm

I must commend the Tax Return online facility.

That was extremely convenient and efficient!

We need more online services to eliminate face to face local interaction.