COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4741 cases, 81 deaths, 1817 active, 2843 recovered in T&T

Postby bluefete » October 6th, 2020, 8:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the mental toll from this thing getting bad... long-term anxiety, listlessness, feeling of loss, uncertainty, health concerns, I really don't know what to do with myself these days

the only thing keeping me from going mad is the NBA still operating and new movies coming out on HBO.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4741 cases, 81 deaths, 1817 active, 2843 recovered in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2020, 11:18 am

30 new cases; 1 death

120998147_3779529345410179_2471504059403076409_o.jpg

121009495_3779529212076859_5196847675764232147_o.jpg

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2020, 2:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the mental toll from this thing getting bad... long-term anxiety, listlessness, feeling of loss, uncertainty, health concerns, I really don't know what to do with myself these days

the only thing keeping me from going mad is the NBA still operating and new movies coming out on HBO.

get some exercise to ward off that anxiety. also take some Vit. D 1000-2000 IU to boost your immune system to reduce the risk of severe impact if you get infected (a lot of studies showing good outcomes for ppl with optimal levels). If you have health conditions now is the time to manage them better if you weren't doing that before- e.g. diabetics need to keep that blood sugar under control, ppl with hypertension keep their BP under control, etc.

avoid 'doom surfing' (browsing the web looking for all the negative effects of covid). i was doing that for the first few months and every covid article was more bad news than the previous till one day my heart rate was high and i was feeling like i had trouble breathing- almost like a covid symptoms itself but then i realized it was probably a panic attack. i was worried much for myself but for my mom who has 3 risk factors (age plus 2 comorbidities).

Postby K74T » October 7th, 2020, 4:32 pm

FB_IMG_1602097595290.jpeg

Postby K74T » October 7th, 2020, 4:40 pm

Chief Medical Officer : As of tomorrow the Ministry of Health will release one Covid-19 Update per day at 4PM which will look like this.

FB_IMG_1602103224570.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2020, 6:14 pm

^was now about to post that announcement

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2020, 7:03 pm

listen to the 'young doctor'

Also the CMO talks about 'Long Covid'.

2WNBoost

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4887 cases, 84 deaths, 1793 active, 3010 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » October 7th, 2020, 8:00 pm

14-22 minute mark

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4887 cases, 84 deaths, 1793 active, 3010 recovered in T&T

Postby maj. tom » October 7th, 2020, 9:37 pm

Airborne transmission of SARS-CoV-2 can occur under special circumstances
Pathogens that are mainly transmitted through close contact (i.e., contact transmission and droplet transmission) can sometimes also be spread via airborne transmission under special circumstances. There are several well-documented examples in which SARS-CoV-2 appears to have been transmitted over long distances or times. These transmission events appear uncommon and have typically involved the presence of an infectious person producing respiratory droplets for an extended time (>30 minutes to multiple hours) in an enclosed space. Enough virus was present in the space to cause infections in people who were more than 6 feet away or who passed through that space soon after the infectious person had left. Circumstances under which airborne transmission of SARS-CoV-2 appears to have occurred include:

Enclosed spaces within which an infectious person either exposed susceptible people at the same time or to which susceptible people were exposed shortly after the infectious person had left the space.

Prolonged exposure to respiratory particles, often generated with expiratory exertion (e.g., shouting, singing, exercising) that increased the concentration of suspended respiratory droplets in the air space.

Inadequate ventilation or air handling that allowed a build-up of suspended small respiratory droplets and particles.
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... cov-2.html

Postby maj. tom » October 7th, 2020, 9:37 pm

Making it absolutely imperative to wear a mask. Everyday i wake up wondering if i was infected 7 days ago, even though i never take off my mask outside my house and always washing my hands. Today i thought i was feeling a sore throat and was getting some headaches which now passed. I dunno nah... but when yuh time reach, you can only accept it.

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2020, 2:18 pm

i feeling a slight urge to cough, but it's been off and on for the past 6-7 weeks (since i had to quarantine along with 16 other ppl in my office). i at times have a very occasional cough due to allergies, but something feels different in my chest. i have no other symptoms.

Could i have been asymptomatic AND now have mild 'long covid'? or perhaps as i have been reusing my kn95 mask every 3-4 days for about 3 weeks before replacing ?
Last edited by redmanjp on October 8th, 2020, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2020, 2:21 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Airborne transmission of SARS-CoV-2 can occur under special circumstances
Pathogens that are mainly transmitted through close contact (i.e., contact transmission and droplet transmission) can sometimes also be spread via airborne transmission under special circumstances. There are several well-documented examples in which SARS-CoV-2 appears to have been transmitted over long distances or times. These transmission events appear uncommon and have typically involved the presence of an infectious person producing respiratory droplets for an extended time (>30 minutes to multiple hours) in an enclosed space. Enough virus was present in the space to cause infections in people who were more than 6 feet away or who passed through that space soon after the infectious person had left. Circumstances under which airborne transmission of SARS-CoV-2 appears to have occurred include:

Enclosed spaces within which an infectious person either exposed susceptible people at the same time or to which susceptible people were exposed shortly after the infectious person had left the space.

Prolonged exposure to respiratory particles, often generated with expiratory exertion (e.g., shouting, singing, exercising) that increased the concentration of suspended respiratory droplets in the air space.

Inadequate ventilation or air handling that allowed a build-up of suspended small respiratory droplets and particles.
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... cov-2.html

well this is almost every office! so u are in an air-conditioned environment among coworkers for 8 hours everyday!

Postby K74T » October 8th, 2020, 4:54 pm

2 deaths and 76 new cases. (24 of those cases came from the prison in Tobago)

FB_IMG_1602190311691.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2020, 5:04 pm

so only 6% of active cases in hospital- i remember months ago they said like between 15-20% require hospitalization - have me wondering if ppl at home going untreated.

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2020, 5:06 pm

K74T wrote:2 deaths and 76 new cases. (24 of those cases came from the prison in Tobago)

FB_IMG_1602190311691.jpeg

taken from samples from the last 3 days - another backlog again?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4963 cases, 86 deaths, 1801 active, 3076 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2020, 8:14 pm

I guess this new format is easier to read

Screenshot 2020-10-08 at 8.13.28 PM.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4963 cases, 86 deaths, 1801 active, 3076 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » October 8th, 2020, 8:18 pm

also more colorful

Postby Ted_v2 » October 8th, 2020, 8:24 pm

well thought out

killercow

Postby killercow » October 8th, 2020, 9:27 pm

How will we anticipate prospective deaths? (ICU / HDU). I not seeing that info in this new format.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 8th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Number of new deaths not immediately obvious unless you keeping mental count and do some subtraction.

Postby adnj » October 8th, 2020, 10:53 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2020, 11:29 pm

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Screenshot 2020-10-08 at 11.27.45 PM.jpg

Screenshot 2020-10-08 at 11.27.55 PM.jpg

Screenshot 2020-10-08 at 11.28.05 PM.jpg

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2020, 11:12 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Number of new deaths not immediately obvious unless you keeping mental count and do some subtraction.

yeah they omit that as well as age, health condition of those persons

they could simply have e.g. a +2 for 2 more deaths in 24 hrs

Postby bluefete » October 9th, 2020, 12:46 pm

Do you see how these people monitor our discussions here?

Since I started closely looking at the ICU / HDU figures and projecting deaths, they have totally abandoned giving us the ICU/HDU figures.

We no longer know how many are in ICU / HDU in the updates.

More things for them to hide.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I guess this new format is easier to read Image

Postby sMASH » October 9th, 2020, 1:53 pm

bluefete wrote:Do you see how these people monitor our discussions here?

Since I started closely looking at the ICU / HDU figures and projecting deaths, they have totally abandoned giving us the ICU/HDU figures.

Just this week I Sawa release saying 9/10 HDU /ICU...
Prolly look out fir it next week to see if its changes.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 9th, 2020, 2:20 pm

bluefete wrote:Do you see how these people monitor our discussions here?

I know for a fact Avery Hinds' team monitor this thread. Hence why I call him out a lot because they're deliberately creating misleading graphs and models.

Also, why did someone cut and paste the total persons tested number onto this amateurish graphic? That looks so embarrassingly bad.

Secondly, there needs to be a New Deaths category or simply create something like "total deaths - 86 + 1 (in super script so that we'll know there's one new death).

Also, patients in ICU and HDU need to return.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 9th, 2020, 2:25 pm

^ for real. On that note give us the real numbers Avery

Postby mero » October 9th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I know for a fact Avery Hinds' team monitor this thread. Hence why I call him out a lot because they're deliberately creating misleading graphs and models.

Right right

Daran and his "facts"

Postby redmanjp » October 9th, 2020, 2:51 pm

i guess we have to go to MOH website for the full details, but the new deaths should at least be next to total deaths

http://www.health.gov.tt/sitepages/default.aspx?id=314

but d same info in this pic with a couple lines at the bottom- so they couldn't even put in 2 lines about the deaths ?

EDIT: It seems the link to the images points to the current day's update- i posted the data from yesterday but it got updated to today
Last edited by redmanjp on October 9th, 2020, 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2020, 3:23 pm

after a run of very low numbers things gone back up