COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby toyolink » August 15th, 2020, 12:04 pm

toyolink wrote:The prevalence of cvid19 is as a consequence of failure to comply with rules we have all been encouraged to follow to keep ourselves safe and mitigate the possible spread of this virus.
The science about this virus and infection rate suggest that using a factor of about 10-15 will give a good idea of the true number of infected individuals moving around within our borders, and a large number of these individuals may never know they are infected.
Using the assumptions made here it is imperative that everyone protect themselves and their family by not taking any chances and slavishly following all the rules.
BTW, I am assuming at least 8000 infected persons are floating around and every time I 'go out', I would cross paths with at least 1 or surface contaminated by an infected person.
This is my reality today and that which informs my behavior.
Instead of fearing this virus understand it and resolve to manage it, actually those who elect to disregard the risk and the simple rules are playing with self imposed pain and suffering which I wish on no one.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby toyolink » August 15th, 2020, 12:06 pm

toyolink wrote:
toyolink wrote:The prevalence of cvid19 is as a consequence of failure to comply with rules we have all been encouraged to follow to keep ourselves safe and mitigate the possible spread of this virus.
The science about this virus and infection rate suggest that using a factor of about 10-15 will give a good idea of the true number of infected individuals moving around within our borders, and a large number of these individuals may never know they are infected.
Using the assumptions made here it is imperative that everyone protect themselves and their family by not taking any chances and slavishly following all the rules.
BTW, I am assuming at least 8000 infected persons are floating around and every time I 'go out', I would cross paths with at least 1 or surface contaminated by an infected person.
Instead of fearing this virus understand it and resolve to manage it, actually those who elect to disregard the risk and the simple rules are playing with self imposed pain and suffering which I wish on no one.

Was about to edit and hit repost button in error.

ftitan

Postby ftitan » August 15th, 2020, 12:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:3 in ICU. the last 2 that was in ICU dead. so we can expect 3 more deaths soon?

so your survival rate in ICU is so low despite drug treatments?

I don't think there are any effective treatments, you just giving them oxygen and panadol, then hope for the best last i checked.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2020, 12:13 pm

Make sure allyuh life insurance up to date.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 15th, 2020, 12:17 pm

Based on the numbers MOH no longer have the capacity to test, trace and isolate. Government/MOH/CMO is to blame since the time to lockdown was 2 weeks ago and they put elections ahead of COVID-19. I gave them credit in the first wave with the lockdowns since you could not trust the population to follow public health guidelines but election seemed to get the better of them.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 12:21 pm

ftitan wrote:
redmanjp wrote:3 in ICU. the last 2 that was in ICU dead. so we can expect 3 more deaths soon?

so your survival rate in ICU is so low despite drug treatments?

I don't think there are any effective treatments, you just giving them oxygen and panadol, then hope for the best last i checked.

no remdesivir ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 12:22 pm

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

You are way, way off even as a joke.

The USA has 168K deaths and 5.62M cases.

To match the severity of USA outbreak, Trinidad would need to have 700 dead and 22K cases -- and climbing.

U missed my point. I am stating that like US is the leader in covid infections in the G7. We may end up being the leader in covid infections in the catibbean. That is all. Hence my statement the US of the caribbean.

He's not wrong.

It's almost exactly as I predicted. Back in March or April I said we locked down too hard and when we eventually have a real first wave, we'll be fed up. I hate being proven right about this now but it was very very predictable.

This isn' simply a trini thing, locking down hard for months is difficult or anyone, Americans, Italians, Chinese, Spanish etc.

People all over the world now have lockdown fatigue. Almost no one has the same fear, discipline that they did in Mar to June. We fed up.

Worst of all, the way we behaved from March to June is how we should be behaving now. The goal is always to flatten the curve, not avoid it (which is near impossible, even NZ is finding that out now).

Secondly, we have a government that for the last 3 weeks has been extremely complacent in allowing election activities to go on, playing down the severity of the outbreak. Remember "it's not raging, no community spread, we have it under control, we still Oxford number 1".

Thirdly, we have a government that sends messaging saying it's the citizens fault for getting covid. That is utterly rediculous. Almost 90% of the cases so far are people who have contracted it from co-workers or their immediate relatives. Not people going bars, restaurants, groceries or not wearing masks in crowds.

Many persons can't work from home and many employers need to make up for low earnings right now so again, unless a strict lockdown is enforced, it will continue to spread.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 12:24 pm

^ thanks for detailing what i was trying to say. I was too lazy to type it out lol. But yh exactly that. We have the same tools (lockdown fatigue, poor governance, misingormation, slackness) to allow a wide spread of covid and with it eventual deaths

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 12:28 pm

Using the assumptions made here it is imperative that everyone protect themselves and their family by not taking any chances and slavishly flow all the rules.

This is all well and good, but it's flawed. Being careful amongst stangers is a good thing, especially in public. But covid outbreaks happen easily even if everyone exercises strict hygiene and mask wearing.

The simple reason is that people are still working and most of these cases are being contracted by persons who get it while during work.

I know that 90% of office workers or more are not wearing masks while at work. This 6ft distance thing is bull crap as covid lingers in the air for hours especially in poorly ventilated rooms. If one person is contagious in an office, everyone can be wearing masks, and still many will contract it eventually if the building isn't ventilated well.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 12:37 pm

shouldn't they be putting ppl in state quarantine instead of staying home? they are infecting everyone in their family who are in turn going out in public- and then all of them now require bed space in hospital. stop the repatriation flights for now.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2020, 12:49 pm

Caricom Covid-19 cases by country

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 1:27 pm

FB_IMG_1597511821145.jpeg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2020, 1:35 pm

what time is the pm to talk ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 1:43 pm

screwbash wrote:what time is the pm to talk ?

He said 1:30 so probably 2pm in PNM time.

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 1:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
screwbash wrote:what time is the pm to talk ?

He said 1:30 so probably 2pm in PNM time.

Nah 2:30

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 1:54 pm

So 3 then

Postby goalpost » August 15th, 2020, 2:05 pm

Time changes perception.

Remember when we got 1 imported case and the entire population went nuts?

Today we got 48, of which 22 are from unknown sources and PoS pumping like normal. Hardly any social distancing and even less masks. I've noticed the majority of these breaches are from the elderly.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2020, 2:17 pm

yup, it’s a general problem across the board

go down charlotte st all the old fogies without masks walking around

likewise go by them bars out of town
the old rum corks without masks liming whole day
just like the woodbrook bars

goalpost wrote:Time changes perception.

Today we got 48, of which 22 are from unknown sources and PoS pumping like normal. Hardly any social distancing and even less masks. I've noticed the majority of these breaches are from the elderly.

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 2:18 pm

^ plenty people in this country like they ready to dead.
Fits the general attitude of our nation overall.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 2:32 pm

PM Address supposed to start now.

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 2:34 pm

Prob more like 2:45

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 2:38 pm

goalpost wrote:Time changes perception.

Tnt rel upside down....or they fed up...idk

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 2:43 pm

It start

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2020, 2:43 pm

K74T wrote:Prob more like 2:45

PNM time son, also I hear it flood in Diego Martin

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 2:45 pm

23 additional cases to add. Will be reflected in 6pm update.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 2:49 pm

CMO now says we are at Community Spread

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 2:51 pm

Press conference

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2020, 2:52 pm

oh really

redmanjp wrote:CMO now says we are at Community Spread

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 3:00 pm

In house dining banned