COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 180 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » August 2nd, 2020, 7:35 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Penguin wrote:Saw this one Facebook and it seems worth sharing here.

Putting a random post into infographic form does not make it true, but it does make it more credible for the vast majority of people.

That said, that infographic is garbage. Being outside in the sun is a far, far safer scenario than being inside in confined space with a AC unit/recirculated air.
The infographic is saying that the type of ultraviolet rays that is used for disinfection (UVc) doesn't even make it through the atmosphere.

95% UVa 5% UVb 0% UVc at the Earth's surface -- basic earth science.
all the uv treated things that supposed to last and last in sunlight, does last... in america and uk and china. in trinidad, all them ting doe dry rot like saw dust.

even if not much UVc, the hot and dry conditions we had for the dry season, made outside open air very very detrimental for microbial propagation.

This was discussed at length here in May. SARS-CoV-2 thrives in moderate temperatures and humidity such as an air conditioned room. Higher temperatures and higher humidity are both detrimental. There is little change in tropical region virus viability due to weather.

Postby sMASH » August 2nd, 2020, 7:42 pm

hot and dryyyyyyy.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 2nd, 2020, 7:46 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Penguin wrote:Saw this one Facebook and it seems worth sharing here.

Putting a random post into infographic form does not make it true, but it does make it more credible for the vast majority of people.

That said, that infographic is garbage. Being outside in the sun is a far, far safer scenario than being inside in confined space with a AC unit/recirculated air.
The infographic is saying that the type of ultraviolet rays that is used for disinfection (UVc) doesn't even make it through the atmosphere.

all the uv treated things that supposed to last and last in sunlight, does last... in america and uk and china. in trinidad, all them ting doe dry rot like saw dust.

even if not much UVc, the hot and dry conditions we had for the dry season, made outside open air very very detrimental for microbial propagation.

The info graphic is 100% correct.

Now let's talk about climate and Covid-19.

While it's true that winter climates allow for far greater spread of the flu, Covid-19 is a little different.

We don't see a huge increase in Covid-19 spread in winter like environments because it spreads regardless of humidity. I'm not saying higher humidity doesn't reduce it, I'm saying it doesn't reduce it enough to let our guards down.

Many parts of the world are in winter and haven't feared much different to hot ass places in the middle east.

Main reason it spreads regardless of climate is because it's spread via close contact and in closed indoor environments. Having hot sun here (which doesn't significantly affect the life of Covid) makes it worse because most trinis spend their lives avoiding hot sun.

Hence why wearing masks indoors is perhaps the most important thing we can do right now. 6ft social distancing doesn't change Jack sheit if you're in a closed AC room with an infected person who isn't wearing a mask.

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2020, 7:53 pm

adnj wrote:
maj. tom wrote:lol what about that Trinituner user who said he disinfects his mask with a hair dryer?
I'm not sure where you're going with this but a hair dryer can be used to kill viruses.

SARS-CoV-2 is killed at temperatures above 130°F for 20 minutes or 150°F for 5 minutes.

Many hair dryers reach 150°F to 195°F. Home clothes dryers reach 130°F, some commercial clothes dryers reach more than 150°F to sanitize clothes.

Oh please, please, please show me with all your pedantic technicalities, just show me one source showing that covid-19 virus can be killed with a hair dryer and show me which publication says it's safe to sanitize your mask with a hair dryer. So you going to hold your hair dryer on high settings for 30 minutes right, and get equal coverage on a mask at all depths of the cloth? And counting on a clothes dryer to disinfect clothes is just stupid, unless it was specifically made for that to be used a hospital or lab setting.

Steups. Like some allyuh does get paid to post here by word count.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2020, 7:56 pm

nah, pathogens are generally killed at certain temps which are usually tabulated per time
eg at boiling water they die instantly but at lower temps require longer exposure

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2020, 8:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:what we've learn so far is that it is rare to get COVID19 from surfaces (fomites). (thelancet.com)

You generally get coronavirus from interacting with other people, not from clothes etc. If you just leave the clothes or mask overnight, you're pretty certain not to get COVID from it.

I was reading that in the early days in USA, the hospital and EMT personnel didn't have enough masks to go around and were told to rotate a mask and keep it stored for 5 days before wearing again hoping that the virus would not be viable after 48 hours. They didn't know enough about the virus yet at the time. And a lot of doctors and nurses there since died eh.

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2020, 8:26 pm

doctors for HCQ? they claim the studies condemning HCQ were flawed- and one was in fact retracted.

https://americasfrontlinedoctorsummit.com/

Postby paid_influencer » August 2nd, 2020, 8:27 pm

adnj wrote:The infographic is saying that the type of ultraviolet rays that is used for disinfection (UVc) doesn't even make it through the atmosphere.

the infographic supports a wrong premise with true facts. it's classic fake news.

yes, UVC is filtered out before it reaches earth. Yes, UVC is used for commercial disinfection. but, UVA and UVB also kill microorganisms on a longer time line (hours instead of seconds, as written on the same infographic).

Common sense will tell you the same UV radiation that can cause sunburn, skin cancer, dehydration, heat stroke and death will also be bad for microorganisms.
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 2nd, 2020, 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Kenjo » August 2nd, 2020, 8:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:doctors for HCQ? they claim the studies condemning HCQ were flawed- and one was in fact retracted.

https://americasfrontlinedoctorsummit.com/

You over late though

Postby bluefete » August 2nd, 2020, 8:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:if you doh have health insurance now is d time to get it- because when you get covid, even if you survive you could have lasting lung, heart or other organ problems!

This is what no one is talking about. Just today, I had a discussion on these same issues with someone.

Postby bluefete » August 2nd, 2020, 8:30 pm

I hearing some doctors in San Do general, ALLEGEDLY, tested positive but it is being kept on the down low.

Postby Gladiator » August 2nd, 2020, 8:36 pm

bluefete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:if you doh have health insurance now is d time to get it- because when you get covid, even if you survive you could have lasting lung, heart or other organ problems!

This is what no one is talking about. Just today, I had a discussion on these same issues with someone.

Insurance companies don't cover COVID related costs... Once its a Pandemic they have a clause in their agreements that says they won't cover. Guardian Life already sent the notice to my company to send to the workers.

Postby paid_influencer » August 2nd, 2020, 8:37 pm

how many schools with positive cases now?

people on my whatsapp freaking out. them doh want to send no children no school with this thing going around

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2020, 8:43 pm

Gladiator wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Insurance companies don't cover COVID related costs... Once its a Pandemic they have a clause in their agreements that says they won't cover. Guardian Life already sent the notice to my company to send to the workers.

i wasn't talking about the cost of treating covid itself- i'm talking about medium to long term effects which happen long after you 'recover'.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » August 2nd, 2020, 8:46 pm

Why so worried about COVID we have our very own herbal specialist who knows how to get rid of it.

Postby adnj » August 2nd, 2020, 8:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:
adnj wrote:
maj. tom wrote:lol what about that Trinituner user who said he disinfects his mask with a hair dryer?
I'm not sure where you're going with this but a hair dryer can be used to kill viruses.

SARS-CoV-2 is killed at temperatures above 130°F for 20 minutes or 150°F for 5 minutes.

Many hair dryers reach 150°F to 195°F. Home clothes dryers reach 130°F, some commercial clothes dryers reach more than 150°F to sanitize clothes.

Oh please, please, please show me with all your pedantic technicalities, just show me one source showing that covid-19 virus can be killed with a hair dryer and show me which publication says it's safe to sanitize your mask with a hair dryer. So you going to hold your hair dryer on high settings for 30 minutes right, and get equal coverage on a mask at all depths of the cloth? And counting on a clothes dryer to disinfect clothes is just stupid, unless it was specifically made for that to be used a hospital or lab setting.

Hair dryer and heat gun sanitization are common emergency medical techniques. Here's some more information:

------------

To find out the influence on the filtration mechanism of masks (N95 mask and medical surgical mask), five disinfection methods were compared: 1) oven dry heat disinfection, 2) alcohol spraying disinfection, 3) steamer wet heat disinfection, 4) high temperature and high-pressure disinfection and 5) ultraviolet disinfection.

1. It was found that dry heat disinfection (heating at 70 ℃ for 30 minutes) had the least effect on damaging the filtering mechanism, and the filtering effect could be maintained above 95%.
2. The disinfection method of spraying alcohol on the mask will destroy the electrostatic absorption of the mask, causing filtering efficiency of the mask lowering below 95%.
3. Other methods such as steamer damp heat method and high-pressure high temperature sterilization methods also made the filtering efficiency of the mask lower than 95%.In addition, high temperature and high-pressure method makes the mask seriously deformed.
4. The new coronavirus is sensitive to ultraviolet rays, and ultraviolet disinfection does not affect the filtration efficiency of respirators. However, the inactivation effect of viruses in mask fibers, which cannot be directly observed, is unknown. Therefore, it is not recommended.

https://www.imcclinics.com/english/inde ... view?id=83

DRYERS - SANITIZE CYCLE

Sanitizing dryers meet the NSF P154 protocol, and are certified to effectively sanitize household laundry after washing. The Sanitize cycle reduces certain types of bacteria by 99.8%, including: Staphylococcus aureus, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, and Klebsiella pneumoniae. The antibacterial process occurs when high heat is used during a portion of this drying cycle.

https://products.geappliances.com/appli ... ntId=23369

Drying masks and filters: It's recommended to "hot dry" masks and filters if possible, as heat aids in the sanitization process. If you have a dryer, it's easy enough to dry masks inside a laundry bag or pillowcase.

For those who don’t have one, however, you can use a hairdryer on them. As far as filters go, the hairdryer method is a better option, as a machine dryer can be a bit too harsh -- even on a gentler drying cycle. Be sure to keep your dryer at least six to eight inches away from the mask and filter during drying.

Keep in mind that heat exposure eventually deteriorates elastic. If you notice the elastic earloops seem overstretched, it's a sure sign it's time for a new face mask.

https://www.chicagotribune.com/consumer ... story.html

Postby paid_influencer » August 2nd, 2020, 8:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:i wasn't talking about the cost of treating covid itself- i'm talking about medium to long term effects which happen long after you 'recover'.

wouldn't the insurance company also deny coverage under the same clause? :drinking:

Postby goalpost » August 2nd, 2020, 8:55 pm

A lockdown is inevitable, unfortunately. Now would be the best time so the children can go back to school.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » August 2nd, 2020, 8:58 pm

goalpost wrote:A lockdown is inevitable, unfortunately. Now would be the best time so the children can go back to school.

Well until a vaccine is out, which might be end of 2020 or early 2021.

Postby paid_influencer » August 2nd, 2020, 9:03 pm

hidden option:

close schools now, but keep the SEA date.

Let the children write the exam (no prep classes) and what they score is what they score. Get the stress over with. Children can't really concentrate on prep classes in this environment either.

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2020, 9:16 pm

adnj wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
adnj wrote:

Hair dryer and heat gun sanitization are common emergency medical techniques. Here's some more information:

------------

To find out the influence on the filtration mechanism of masks (N95 mask and medical surgical mask), five disinfection methods were compared: 1) oven dry heat disinfection, 2) alcohol spraying disinfection, 3) steamer wet heat disinfection, 4) high temperature and high-pressure disinfection and 5) ultraviolet disinfection.

1. It was found that dry heat disinfection (heating at 70 ℃ for 30 minutes) had the least effect on damaging the filtering mechanism, and the filtering effect could be maintained above 95%.
2. The disinfection method of spraying alcohol on the mask will destroy the electrostatic absorption of the mask, causing filtering efficiency of the mask lowering below 95%.
3. Other methods such as steamer damp heat method and high-pressure high temperature sterilization methods also made the filtering efficiency of the mask lower than 95%.In addition, high temperature and high-pressure method makes the mask seriously deformed.
4. The new coronavirus is sensitive to ultraviolet rays, and ultraviolet disinfection does not affect the filtration efficiency of respirators. However, the inactivation effect of viruses in mask fibers, which cannot be directly observed, is unknown. Therefore, it is not recommended.

DRYERS - SANITIZE CYCLE

Sanitizing dryers meet the NSF P154 protocol, and are certified to effectively sanitize household laundry after washing. The Sanitize cycle reduces certain types of bacteria by 99.8%, including: Staphylococcus aureus, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, and Klebsiella pneumoniae. The antibacterial process occurs when high heat is used during a portion of this drying cycle.

Drying masks and filters: It's recommended to "hot dry" masks and filters if possible, as heat aids in the sanitization process. If you have a dryer, it's easy enough to dry masks inside a laundry bag or pillowcase.

For those who don’t have one, however, you can use a hairdryer on them. As far as filters go, the hairdryer method is a better option, as a machine dryer can be a bit too harsh -- even on a gentler drying cycle. Be sure to keep your dryer at least six to eight inches away from the mask and filter during drying.

Keep in mind that heat exposure eventually deteriorates elastic. If you notice the elastic earloops seem overstretched, it's a sure sign it's time for a new face mask.

You see you're just rambling again. All i did was mention how a person at the start of this thread said that he disinfected his mask with a hair dryer. That's where i am going with this. And you come and showing us a set of information that everyone already knew about heat killing microbes. Not viruses either, but strains of bacteria.

Please show a publication where the authorities said to disinfect your masks for Covid-19 with a hair dryer. None of what you posted there is regarding Covid, one experiment from an obscure website in China on the filtration mechanisms of masks, and one from a newspaper? Try to be aware also of the dates of those articles in common newspapers, published in the early days of covid way before we knew what we know now, . We are talking about the covid virus. And a hair dryer you have at home. We're not talking about commercial lab or specialized equipment and techniques performed by trained virologists and biochemists.

The guidelines from the medical community, from the CDC, are to wash the mask with soap (bleach or detergent) and water, and then tumble dry on high heat, or air dry thoroughly preferably in the direct sunlight.
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... rings.html

The end. Don't be telling people here a set of bullsheit about putting your mask in the clothes dryer or holding a hair dryer over the mask for 20 minutes at 155°F. That's where i'm going with this. :x

Postby paid_influencer » August 2nd, 2020, 9:18 pm

soap + water is d boss

lipid envelope mash up

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2020, 9:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i wasn't talking about the cost of treating covid itself- i'm talking about medium to long term effects which happen long after you 'recover'.

wouldn't the insurance company also deny coverage under the same clause? :drinking:

then they will have to deny ppl for the rest of their lives! how they know whether a specific heart issue someone get 1 or 5, or 20 years later is due to covid? and suppose we have community spread and thousands get infected- but many didn't get tested- they could say everyone get covid and deny everyone any coverage!

does that clause explicitly cover long term effects of a pandemic? because you can see how they can get away with anything just by saying covid probably cause it.

Postby adnj » August 2nd, 2020, 9:37 pm

maj. tom wrote:
adnj wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
adnj wrote:

------------

DRYERS - SANITIZE CYCLE

You see you're just rambling again. All i did was mention how a person at the start of this thread said that he disinfected his mask with a hair dryer. That's where i am going with this. And you come and showing us a set of information that everyone already knew about heat killing microbes. Not viruses either, but strains of bacteria.

Please show a publication where the authorities said to disinfect your masks for Covid-19 with a hair dryer. None of what you posted there is regarding Covid, one experiment from an obscure website in China on the filtration mechanisms of masks, and one from a newspaper? Try to be aware also of the dates of those articles in common newspapers, published in the early days of covid way before we knew what we know now, . We are talking about the covid virus. And a hair dryer you have at home. We're not talking about commercial lab or specialized equipment and techniques performed by trained virologists and biochemists.

The guidelines from the medical community, from the CDC, are to wash the mask with soap (bleach or detergent) and water, and then tumble dry on high heat, or air dry thoroughly preferably in the direct sunlight.
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... rings.html

The end. Don't be telling people here a set of bullsheit about putting your mask in the clothes dryer or holding a hair dryer over the mask for 20 minutes at 155°F. That's where i'm going with this. :x
You don't nessarily hold the hair dryer. The method for emergency sterilization over a hair dryer, heat gun or flame is to suspend the object or use a rack over the heat source. Flame sterilization is widely used for metal objects.

I am not debating what is the best means to sanitize. I posted that it can be used and has been shown to kill both bacterias and viruses.

With all due respect, my statement stands as is.
Last edited by adnj on August 2nd, 2020, 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » August 2nd, 2020, 9:38 pm

iirc, the insurance companies get access to your medical records for medical billing. If a doctor write in your record your chief complaint may be "secondary to SARS-CoV-2" infection, you under stress. If at some point they have a point-of-care serologic test and you get a positive on your record, you're also under stress.

at least that is in the US system. I have no idea how insurance billing works here. I've always paid in blue notes directly to the medical center.

Postby bluefete » August 2nd, 2020, 9:44 pm

St. Michael Anglican Primary school moved from being on watch to now closed.

All pupils, staff, teachers, parents and other contacts on quarantine for 14 days.

Parents and teachers freaking out all over the place.

It will be interesting to see how many SEA pupils attend classes in other schools tomorrow.

Postby bluefete » August 2nd, 2020, 9:49 pm

St. Bernadettes MIGHT be the next one.

Will know by Tuesday.
Last edited by bluefete on August 2nd, 2020, 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2020, 9:51 pm

what happens to SEA students in quarantine on the exam day?

Postby bluefete » August 2nd, 2020, 10:00 pm

Iere Village Government Primary just closed.

Alll parents. students, teachers to quarantine for 14 days.

This is getting much worse.

But elections have to elect.

Our children are not important before August 10th.

Postby sMASH » August 2nd, 2020, 10:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:what happens to SEA students in quarantine on the exam day?

same ting that happens to a voter outside the country for elections, i suppose