sMASH wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/no-election-observers-from-the-commonwealth-6.2.1164742.d5969e456fguardian wrote:
PM Rowley responds to queries:
No election observers from the Commonwealth
by
Yesterday
Sat Jul 25 2020
Gail Alexander
No Commonwealth observers are coming for T&T’s elections, but there is the possibility of CARICOM observers.
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, who addressed the issue during his Friday Night Lime on Facebook, also said he is open to properly organised political debates, he isn’t going for any “Mickey Mouse foolishness.”
The social media event was based on the ruling party’s concept of presenting Dr Rowley in a different light in an informal event hosted by young artistes. It featured conversations with young students and entrepreneurs along with entertainment.
The Prime Minister got a tassa lesson from members of an all-female group. He played a round on the nagaara with backup from the group on the dhol and jhal. After the first set, Rowley threw his hands in the air, declaring happily: “I’m playing the tassa!!”
He said he had seen the Dragon Boys group play “some serious tassa” and did another set swaying to the beat and in tune with the band.
He was later presented with the drum he played and said: “I think I’m going to like this.’’
Dr Rowley also replied to questions sent in by viewers, including the matter of election observers. He said the Commonwealth had said they didn’t think a team would be able to come because of the cost. It was also difficult to get to T&T since there are no commercial flights.
Since they hadn’t arrived by Friday, he said: “We may not have a Commonwealth team.”
Dr Rowley said if the government assisted in bringing the team, in the event they did a favourable report, the PNM might be accused of paying for the team.
“We’re not doing that,” he said.
He said CARICOM had also been invited to send observers and three countries had agreed to provide a team.
“So we’re waiting to hear what that means. The Secretariat will now ask each country to send a representative,” he said.
The CARICOM team will have to get here by this weekend but if T&T doesn’t get them, he said: “We’re no banana republic and overly troublesome. We conduct ourselves unless someone intends to misbehave.”
Dr Rowley said he would like to have the observers since “sometimes they make interesting comments if you have to make adjustments.”
He also said he’s participated in many debates but noted that some people are not interested but if there are parties whose leaders are interested in seriously examining issues in an unbiased way in a properly organised arrangement, debates could go on. However, he wouldn’t participate in “any Mickey Mouse foolishness.”
The Debates Commission was meant to organise debates and he is prepared to participate twice but people had backed out, he added
If there is a properly organised arrangement “I wouldn’t have a problem...I would like to say why Government has done things and what it’s done and why it should be re-elected but some politicians hide behind the fake news and should be fact-checked and those who can’t be fact-checked wouldn’t want to be in debates,’’ he said.
1. yuh own CAL, and give them a big covid bail out,
and
VexXx Dogg wrote:This concerns me.
The fact that he digging for excuses eh looking too good.sMASH wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/no-election-observers-from-the-commonwealth-6.2.1164742.d5969e456fguardian wrote:
PM Rowley responds to queries:
No election observers from the Commonwealth
by
Yesterday
Sat Jul 25 2020
Gail Alexander
No Commonwealth observers are coming for T&T’s elections, but there is the possibility of CARICOM observers.
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, who addressed the issue during his Friday Night Lime on Facebook, also said he is open to properly organised political debates, he isn’t going for any “Mickey Mouse foolishness.”
The social media event was based on the ruling party’s concept of presenting Dr Rowley in a different light in an informal event hosted by young artistes. It featured conversations with young students and entrepreneurs along with entertainment.
The Prime Minister got a tassa lesson from members of an all-female group. He played a round on the nagaara with backup from the group on the dhol and jhal. After the first set, Rowley threw his hands in the air, declaring happily: “I’m playing the tassa!!”
He said he had seen the Dragon Boys group play “some serious tassa” and did another set swaying to the beat and in tune with the band.
He was later presented with the drum he played and said: “I think I’m going to like this.’’
Dr Rowley also replied to questions sent in by viewers, including the matter of election observers. He said the Commonwealth had said they didn’t think a team would be able to come because of the cost. It was also difficult to get to T&T since there are no commercial flights.
Since they hadn’t arrived by Friday, he said: “We may not have a Commonwealth team.”
Dr Rowley said if the government assisted in bringing the team, in the event they did a favourable report, the PNM might be accused of paying for the team.![]()
“We’re not doing that,” he said.
He said CARICOM had also been invited to send observers and three countries had agreed to provide a team.
“So we’re waiting to hear what that means. The Secretariat will now ask each country to send a representative,” he said.
The CARICOM team will have to get here by this weekend but if T&T doesn’t get them, he said: “We’re no banana republic and overly troublesome. We conduct ourselves unless someone intends to misbehave.”
Dr Rowley said he would like to have the observers since “sometimes they make interesting comments if you have to make adjustments.”
He also said he’s participated in many debates but noted that some people are not interested but if there are parties whose leaders are interested in seriously examining issues in an unbiased way in a properly organised arrangement, debates could go on. However, he wouldn’t participate in “any Mickey Mouse foolishness.”
The Debates Commission was meant to organise debates and he is prepared to participate twice but people had backed out, he added
If there is a properly organised arrangement “I wouldn’t have a problem...I would like to say why Government has done things and what it’s done and why it should be re-elected but some politicians hide behind the fake news and should be fact-checked and those who can’t be fact-checked wouldn’t want to be in debates,’’ he said.
1. yuh own CAL, and give them a big covid bail out,
and
eliteauto wrote:^^I've seen that argument, I think the best resolution is to get official correspondence from the Commonwealth. Just because their policy if to bear the cost of an observer mission doesn't mean that they can't say that they can't afford it, it will come down to what their budget and finances are like currently . Also how many observers and from what countries would they be coming from? A plane can't do hops to various countries like it's pulling bull, everyone is in a cash crunch atm. It's more feasible IMO to get Caricom observers, that would be easier for CAL to facilitate, the State can also look at our local diplomatic corps to get international observers already based here, dunno if that's possible
Well elite is described as hoss 5hit, oh boyDe Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:^^I've seen that argument, I think the best resolution is to get official correspondence from the Commonwealth. Just because their policy if to bear the cost of an observer mission doesn't mean that they can't say that they can't afford it, it will come down to what their budget and finances are like currently . Also how many observers and from what countries would they be coming from? A plane can't do hops to various countries like it's pulling bull, everyone is in a cash crunch atm. It's more feasible IMO to get Caricom observers, that would be easier for CAL to facilitate, the State can also look at our local diplomatic corps to get international observers already based here, dunno if that's possible
Horse sheit. JUHN Scarfy deliberately waited until the last minute to call for them, even though it is the normal practice for years to have them here. Now, again, lying through his stink mouth about "cost". When has a Commonwealth team not sent observers based on "cost?" I'll tell you, NEVER! JUHN Scarfy trying to convince people of the fairness of the process, conveniently forgetting that the last one ended up in court with the EBC being held to be wrong for extending voting hours. T
This waste of time PM insists on lying about easily provable things, and hypocritical toadies like elitecorolla, Red Plastic Bag, Tokesy, jizz eye lap it up, as if it would be acceptable from anyone else.
eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
De Dragon wrote:Horse sheit. JUHN Scarfy deliberately waited until the last minute to call for them, even though it is the normal practice for years to have them here.
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
Sheepishness from those passing themselves off as elite also tends to do that.
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:^^I've seen that argument, I think the best resolution is to get official correspondence from the Commonwealth. Just because their policy if to bear the cost of an observer mission doesn't mean that they can't say that they can't afford it, it will come down to what their budget and finances are like currently . Also how many observers and from what countries would they be coming from? A plane can't do hops to various countries like it's pulling bull, everyone is in a cash crunch atm. It's more feasible IMO to get Caricom observers, that would be easier for CAL to facilitate, the State can also look at our local diplomatic corps to get international observers already based here, dunno if that's possible
Horse sheit. JUHN Scarfy deliberately waited until the last minute to call for them, even though it is the normal practice for years to have them here. Now, again, lying through his stink mouth about "cost". When has a Commonwealth team not sent observers based on "cost?" I'll tell you, NEVER! JUHN Scarfy trying to convince people of the fairness of the process, conveniently forgetting that the last one ended up in court with the EBC being held to be wrong for extending voting hours. T
This waste of time PM insists on lying about easily provable things, and hypocritical toadies like elitecorolla, Red Plastic Bag, Tokesy, jizz eye lap it up, as if it would be acceptable from anyone else.
eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
sMASH wrote:eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
hoss, sh!tkickers deliberately call elections early to screw many thigns up. right now, all pnm apologists sounding like abused women keeping face.
sMASH wrote:hmmn, kamla kamla kamla kamla kamla kamla kamla kamla... if she making so many decisions on behalf of, might as well make it official... lol.
not u specifically or uniquely, but on fb,,, pnm people realllll, defensive. every slight lil positive ting they find to promote pnm, is like if they had they own lunar landing.
eliteauto wrote:sMASH wrote:eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
hoss, sh!tkickers deliberately call elections early to screw many thigns up. right now, all pnm apologists sounding like abused women keeping face.
Miss me with that BS, what part of my post was apologist? Can you read? You like many others look more at the poster than the content. BTW what did the PM screw up by calling the elections a month early? Most other parties especially the UNC have been saying call the elections now for over a year, now I'm seeing the same people saying now is a bad time![]()
boxy wrote:Hey Smash I notice you quoted a fb post along with a press release. Basically the press release states exactly what the fb post quoted and if I am correct the guy who posted that did it prematurely as he misunderstood or selectively heard what KR said the day before. So technically he self owned.
Yes we own CAL but there is no airline on the planet state or privately owned is capable of feasibly picking up 40 people (just an example) from 6 different countries. Refueling cost, landing cost, crew hours, the logistics for something like this exceeds utilizing common sense to apply it to aviation.
I would however like to hear from the secretariat first hand that the claims made by KR are indeed true that they cannot come due to financial constraints. Not taking any politician word.
sMASH wrote:boxy wrote:Hey Smash I notice you quoted a fb post along with a press release. Basically the press release states exactly what the fb post quoted and if I am correct the guy who posted that did it prematurely as he misunderstood or selectively heard what KR said the day before. So technically he self owned.
Yes we own CAL but there is no airline on the planet state or privately owned is capable of feasibly picking up 40 people (just an example) from 6 different countries. Refueling cost, landing cost, crew hours, the logistics for something like this exceeds utilizing common sense to apply it to aviation.
I would however like to hear from the secretariat first hand that the claims made by KR are indeed true that they cannot come due to financial constraints. Not taking any politician word.
well then probably we should hand over CAL to the venez, cause they making things happen.
and if u want to come with , they guy didnt understand what rowley meant by what he said(always need to clarify), then u would mean that rowley is speaking on behalf of a body, he doenst have the right to do. they were able to do it for guyana, sooo.
So after reading this you convinced me you are devoid of logic. Nice chat.sMASH wrote:venez them getting people moved all over. even in places where borders are closed.
and u dont need the secretariat to verify their stance, cause rowley spoke on their behalf.
borders being closed, is non issue, cause its rowley that called the date and goebbels young that have the key to the borders. rowley could have called the date later, or give a lot greater lead up, and young could issue exemptions. all the balls in PNM court, but the blaming kamla
boxy wrote:So after reading this you convinced me you are devoid of logic. Nice chat.sMASH wrote:venez them getting people moved all over. even in places where borders are closed.
and u dont need the secretariat to verify their stance, cause rowley spoke on their behalf.
borders being closed, is non issue, cause its rowley that called the date and goebbels young that have the key to the borders. rowley could have called the date later, or give a lot greater lead up, and young could issue exemptions. all the balls in PNM court, but the blaming kamla
Gladiator wrote:Aye Elite... Carry some news to your PNM overlords... Plenty on the fence voters very upset that there will be no observers for this elections and will not consider your red party over this issue.eliteauto wrote:sMASH wrote:eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
Miss me with that BS, what part of my post was apologist? Can you read? You like many others look more at the poster than the content. BTW what did the PM screw up by calling the elections a month early? Most other parties especially the UNC have been saying call the elections now for over a year, now I'm seeing the same people saying now is a bad time![]()
eliteauto wrote:sMASH wrote:eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
eliteauto wrote:Gladiator wrote:Aye Elite... Carry some news to your PNM overlords... Plenty on the fence voters very upset that there will be no observers for this elections and will not consider your red party over this issue.eliteauto wrote:sMASH wrote:eliteauto wrote:When hate and anger prevents you from reading and comprehending.
Ay Gladiator tell your UNC overloads to be grateful they get another excuse to use if they lose the elections, after all, writing the Commonwealth Secretariat to confirm what the PM stated is wayyyy to hard and why do that when you have a fully dUNCe clip that believes anythingBTW Zoom said fence sitters are PNM