Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 16th, 2020, 6:14 pm

bluefete wrote:From Le Book of Faces:

"I found this snake in my yard, do anyone know what kind it is...?"

Poisonous or venemous?

At first glance, cutlass :lol: not sure if fake coral or real one....cant remember the rhyme

WTF - Snake!

Postby MaxPower » June 16th, 2020, 6:20 pm

Red touch yellow, kill a fellow.

Thas all u need to know.

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2020, 6:27 pm

Looks like the larger of the two local corals, hard to tell without a reference. All our elapids, which is what corals are, are highly venomous.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 16th, 2020, 7:19 pm

Can anyone figure out what type of snake this is? Sorry about the pic quality, that was full zoom and I was not going any closer, plus I might have been trembling.
20200616_113832~2.jpeg
20200616_113835~2.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 16th, 2020, 8:07 pm

Rainbow boaish?

VII

Postby VII » June 16th, 2020, 8:40 pm

It's the smaller...heres a pic of the larger one,it has a totally different look...can be a real brute too,one of these killed two people in the 50's, in a cocoa estate house in Manzan .

The other one easy to catch because they're very small and hardly any chance of getting bitten unless it ends up in your shoe or sumn,they kinda frantically beat up like a big worm when disturbed with random snaps of their very small mouth ,the big one on the other hand strikes with purpose.. they're well known and respected in Guyana..'Hymerali' .

88sins wrote:Looks like the larger of the two local corals, hard to tell without a reference. All our elapids, which is what corals are, are highly venomous.
Last edited by VII on June 16th, 2020, 8:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » June 16th, 2020, 8:50 pm

That stupid rhyme would get you killed in Trinidad..

None of our corals have yellow stripes..and white on black will actually kill Jack here and a small area in the northern tip of your beloved Venezuela..

We've been through this sheit a thousand times man..

That stupid American rhyme only applies to their species of coral,very common and also found in central and South America..we even have a fake that look just like it..

If you know ours they're very easy to.spot man,forget that stupid boy scout rhyme and learn our snakes,and teach your kids..

MaxPower wrote:Red touch yellow, kill a fellow.

Thas all u need to know.

VII

Postby VII » June 16th, 2020, 9:05 pm

Pattern looking a lil tight for our local rainbow and the sharp dorsal area,but the shape looks like a rainbow,maybe he needs a meal,kinda hard to tell from that pic but you may be right,would be interesting to.find out the location,they're some interesting looking snakes in different areas as you probably know,even some medium sized ones that frequent water and come out every now and then..

But that's the perfect rainbow setting,they love a yard close to a fence and pipe..lol..

Probably the pic,lighting blurriness etc..

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rainbow boaish?
Last edited by VII on June 16th, 2020, 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 16th, 2020, 9:13 pm

This is in the Gasparillo area, no major water courses nearby.
VII wrote:Pattern looking a lil tight,but the shape looks like a rainbow,kinda hard to tell from that pic but you may be right,would be interesting to.find out the location,they're some interesting looking snakes in different areas as you probably know,even some medium sized ones that frequent water and come out every now and then..

VII

Postby VII » June 16th, 2020, 9:20 pm

Yeah well its probably a rainbow..leave him be..

We've caught and released them many times around our yard..they real aggressive when you're trying to hold them,legit strikes !!

rebound wrote:This is in the Gasparillo area, no major water courses nearby.
VII wrote:Pattern looking a lil tight,but the shape looks like a rainbow,kinda hard to tell from that pic but you may be right,would be interesting to.find out the location,they're some interesting looking snakes in different areas as you probably know,even some medium sized ones that frequent water and come out every now and then..

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2020, 9:28 pm

Good advice there. Saw a rainbow boa in my yard recently (I am no friend of any snake). When approached , the tail trembled / shook like it was a rattlesnake. Story done.

VII wrote:Yeah well its probably a rainbow..leave him be..

We've caught and released them many times around our yard..they real aggressive when you're trying to hold them,legit strikes !!

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2020, 9:29 pm

Re; Coral snake.

I take it that the best advice is to take no chances regardless of what colour it is.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2020, 9:45 pm

Pic kinda iffy but Ive seen red tail boas in the process of shedding with similar colors.
Either way, once he not bothering you leave him to his work helping with rat reduction.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 16th, 2020, 10:22 pm

bluefete wrote:Re; Coral snake.

I take it that the best advice is to take no chances regardless of what colour it is.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

correct is right...it could be how nice to reptile lovers....is level chop

Postby bluefete » June 16th, 2020, 10:29 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:Re; Coral snake.

correct is right...it could be how nice to reptile lovers....is level chop

And you are a bush man so I good with that.

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2020, 10:30 pm

bluefete wrote:Good advice there. Saw a rainbow boa in my yard recently (I am no friend of any snake). When approached , the tail trembled / shook like it was a rattlesnake. Story done.

I may be mistaken but they said some of the local mappapires carried a rattle on the tail and shake it when agitated. Not sure if its one without a rattle.

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2020, 10:31 pm

still there? plz dont kill it.

Grudge

WTF - Snake!

Postby Grudge » June 17th, 2020, 5:41 am

VII

Postby VII » June 17th, 2020, 11:21 am

You're talking about Bothrops Atrox /Mapipere Balsain/lancehead pit viper,it's the smaller of our two pit vipers, what it really does is vibrate its tail rapidly among dry leaves and brush to emphasize it's danger,in an effort to ward off threats..but it doesn't have the ratlle snake tail anatomy or anything close,it's just has a strong and active tail that mimics the rattler sound by vibrating along dry vegetation..

Some other non venomous snakes also use similar tactics .. a lot of mimickery takes place in the animal kindgom ..

bluefete wrote:Good advice there. Saw a rainbow boa in my yard recently (I am no friend of any snake). When approached , the tail trembled / shook like it was a rattlesnake. Story done.

I may be mistaken but they said some of the local mappapires carried a rattle on the tail and shake it when agitated. Not sure if its one without a rattle.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 17th, 2020, 2:46 pm

I know you guys are snake lovers, and thats fine but I have a real fear of them...REAL! I was clearing some land and the backhoe operator saw it and moved it to the side.

After I ran far away, I noticed that he did not kill it, so I went up to him and told him to kill it because that thing was big.

The operator then reluctantly killed it.

My apologies, but I would not have been comfortable knowing that thing was around.

still there? plz dont kill it.

Postby maj. tom » June 17th, 2020, 2:58 pm

Just because YOU are afraid of snakes doesn't mean you should kill them. Most mammals have a natural fear of snakes, not just you. I am afraid of snakes. But it was no threat to you. Even the backhoe man knew that. It was a scared animal and fleeing because YOU interfered with its home. You're using that age old excuse of personal fear to commit inhumane acts.

Next time, just don't.

VII

Postby VII » June 17th, 2020, 3:10 pm

Yuh chap it up nah bhai ?

Hope not...

VII

Postby VII » June 17th, 2020, 3:32 pm

8-)

maj. tom wrote:Just because YOU are afraid of snakes doesn't mean you should kill them. Most mammals have a natural fear of snakes, not just you. I am afraid of snakes. But it was no threat to you. Even the backhoe man knew that. It was a scared animal and fleeing because YOU interfered with its home. You're using that age old excuse of personal fear to commit inhumane acts.

Next time, just don't.

Postby 88sins » June 17th, 2020, 3:37 pm

rebound wrote:I know you guys are snake lovers, and thats fine but I have a real fear of them...REAL! I was clearing some land and the backhoe operator saw it and moved it to the side.

After I ran far away, I noticed that he did not kill it, so I went up to him and told him to kill it because that thing was big.

My apologies, but I would not have been comfortable knowing that thing was around.

cool, no problem.
But are you "comfortable with rats, lizards & other animals that could be considered pests? How about rapists, murderers, child molesters, wife beaters, bandits etc.?
Because with him now gone due to your irrational fears, you gonna have a lot more of the former in that area now more than ever, and the latter are more of a risk to your life & safety than the snake ever was, yet they still very much alive & practicing their dangerous habits.

just some perspective.

VII

Postby VII » June 17th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Yeah he definitely messed up the system ...he'll need plenty rat traps and poison now..

Hope he eh fraid dem nice big white barn owl too when dey pass over he house shrieking because somebody een de house go dead...he'll have to call the pied piper if he starts killing those..lol

rebound wrote:I know you guys are snake lovers, and thats fine but I have a real fear of them...REAL! I was clearing some land and the backhoe operator saw it and moved it to the side.

cool, no problem.
But are you "comfortable with rats, lizards & other animals that could be considered pests? How about rapists, murderers, child molesters, wife beaters, bandits etc.?
Because with him now gone due to your irrational fears, you gonna have a lot more of the former in that area now more than ever, and the latter are more of a risk to your life & safety than the snake ever was, yet they still very much alive & practicing their dangerous habits.

just some perspective.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 17th, 2020, 4:30 pm

....I knew I would have gotten some blows for that....hence my apology

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2020, 4:39 pm

Well, with all that tail shaking when approached .... It was only after we realized it was a rainbow boa (about 4-6 feet).

This came about 1 year after we dealt with a mapipire zanana in the yard.

VII wrote:Yuh chap it up nah bhai ?

Hope not...

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2020, 4:53 pm

VII

Postby VII » June 18th, 2020, 3:59 pm

A bushmaster in yuh yard !? Wtf..where !!!???

bluefete wrote:Well, with all that tail shaking when approached .... It was only after we realized it was a rainbow boa (about 4-6 feet).

This came about 1 year after we dealt with a mapipire zanana in the yard.

VII wrote:Yuh chap it up nah bhai ?

Hope not...

VII

Postby VII » June 18th, 2020, 4:01 pm

Yeah but they mixed up the corals' iinfo ,disappointing. ..and those lengths seem a bit off also..:oops: