Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2020, 7:23 pm

hilti(liechtenstein) and makita(japan)
standing alone

Postby Rovin » June 1st, 2020, 7:36 pm

HITACHI tools changed its name to HIKOKI back in 2018 , i posted that here a while back ... viewtopic.php?f=4&t=319216&p=9820904&hilit=HIKOKI#p9820904

Postby X_Factor » June 1st, 2020, 7:40 pm

Rovin wrote:HITACHI tools changed its name to HIKOKI back in 2018 , i posted that here a while back ... http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... I#p9820904

that is the name they use in europe/asia markets and metabo for N america and canada since they bought over metabo a couple yrs ago

Postby rspann » June 4th, 2020, 8:33 pm

Where sells internal coil springs compressors. I have to install a pair of front springs on a double wishbone suspension and the engine and body is off ,so no weight .

Postby rspann » June 5th, 2020, 5:46 pm

rspann wrote:Where sells internal coil springs compressors. I have to install a pair of front springs on a double wishbone suspension and the engine and body is off ,so no weight .

Got it at Tool Zone today .

Postby supercharged turbo » June 13th, 2020, 12:57 am

Saw this on Edoos fb page
SmartSelect_20200612-215820_Facebook.jpeg

Postby adnj » June 16th, 2020, 1:18 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Saw this on Edoos fb page
SmartSelect_20200612-215820_Facebook.jpeg
I wonder what the output and duty rating is.

Postby pugboy » June 16th, 2020, 1:32 pm

There are loads of them on ebay

mantis

Postby mantis » June 16th, 2020, 3:20 pm

I am looking for this in Trinidad for concrete countertop
Screenshot_20200615-160554_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg

Postby adnj » June 16th, 2020, 4:33 pm

pugboy wrote:There are loads of them on ebay
Maybe that's why... stomp out the competition.

Postby pugboy » June 16th, 2020, 4:38 pm

at first a few years ago
the stick welders were the hot stuff but now they are dime a dozen

so now they making the 3in1 machines and plasma cutters.

the inverter tech is fairly mature and commoditized now.
them stick welders are basically just a circuit board.

adnj wrote:
Maybe that's why... stomp out the competition.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 16th, 2020, 6:07 pm

might be buying one soon, really good unit from what i saw from the page.

it does MIG stick and TIG, has co2 for the mig, does both 110v and 220v welding, the tig setup is a DC TIg so only stainless and carbon steel. No aluminum TIG on that unit. The Tig setup with regulator for argon is $1700

I currently have one of the flux core 110v model and it does alot of work around my house, building all kinda burglar proof, brackets, removing broken bolts ect. the good thing about mig flux core is that its super portable, throw and move, Once yuh have wire, thing could happen.
3/16 it could weld easily.

goviboo

Postby goviboo » June 16th, 2020, 6:20 pm

Aside weight, I got around to converting my lincoln AC 225 to DC and I’m presently completing the assembly of a high freq arc starter/stabilizer add on to it. I gotta look into to argon setup with torch after some testing.

IMG_4057.JPG
IMG_2048.JPG
IMG_6125.JPG

Postby adnj » June 17th, 2020, 3:56 am

goviboo wrote:Aside weight, I got around to converting my lincoln AC 225 to DC and I’m presently completing the assembly of a high freq arc starter/stabilizer add on to it. I gotta look into to argon setup with torch after some testing.

IMG_4057.JPG
IMG_2048.JPG
IMG_6125.JPG
That's an interesting project.

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2020, 5:52 am

Nice, a good choke transformer rectifier supposed to give a smooth arc.

You can also look at adding a digital amp shunt display

loads of these types, of course the only catch is it displays when in use.

https://www.amazon.com/Multifunction-Ba ... 692&sr=8-5

Postby Chimera » June 17th, 2020, 7:40 pm

Anyone know a good fridge repair person in central area. Someone legit who wont make me buy unnecessary parts.

Postby maj. tom » June 17th, 2020, 8:07 pm

Call Reliable Parts in Chaguanas tmrw and ask them, stating the make and model of your fridge. They have a few technicians on their call list who work with different brands.

Postby adnj » June 18th, 2020, 4:27 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:might be buying one soon, really good unit from what i saw from the page.

it does MIG stick and TIG, has co2 for the mig, does both 110v and 220v welding, the tig setup is a DC TIg so only stainless and carbon steel. No aluminum TIG on that unit. The Tig setup with regulator for argon is $1700

I currently have one of the flux core 110v model and it does alot of work around my house, building all kinda burglar proof, brackets, removing broken bolts ect. the good thing about mig flux core is that its super portable, throw and move, Once yuh have wire, thing could happen.
I may need a CO2 bottle for the two times each year that I want to use a MIG torch inside. Do you have an opinions?

I would be willing to refill between Trincity and POS.

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2020, 4:40 pm

i bought a soft drink type aluminium co2 tank on amazon
about 3ft tall or so. there are diff sizes.

i initially rented the igl big steel cylinder but didn’t make sense as the rent cost outstripped the deposit. a pia to transport too.

adnj wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:might be buying one soon, really good unit from what i saw from the page.

I may need a CO2 bottle for the two times each year that I want to use a MIG torch inside. Do you have an opinions?

I would be willing to refill between Trincity and POS.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 18th, 2020, 9:02 pm

visit your refiller and ask them about it.
There are small bottles being sold on the market, very similar to a portable medical oxygen tank/diving tank.
i would recommend purchasing a personal bottle. one time fee, re inspection every 10 years or so i think.

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2020, 9:15 pm

Those bottles work out more expensive than the soft drink co2 ones On amazon
At least when I was shopping around.

Ted_v2 wrote:visit your refiller and ask them about it.
There are small bottles being sold on the market, very similar to a portable medical oxygen tank/diving tank.
i would recommend purchasing a personal bottle. one time fee, re inspection every 10 years or so i think.

Postby maj. tom » June 23rd, 2020, 2:58 pm

NHTSA recall: https://www.nhtsa.gov/press-releases/co ... is%20issue
There are two separate recalls for the jack stands. NHTSA recall 20E016 involves an estimated 454,000 units that were produced from June 13, 2013, to November 22, 2019. NHTSA recall 20E027 involves an estimated 1,254,000 units that were produced from December 1, 2012, to March 31, 2020.

Given these numbers and dates, it's a guarantee that some car maintenance shops and home users in Trinidad are currently using these recall models.

Details of the failure: https://www.motortrend.com/news/harbor- ... fety-tips/
Last edited by maj. tom on June 23rd, 2020, 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2020, 3:04 pm

lot of those sold locally

Postby maj. tom » June 23rd, 2020, 3:05 pm

Pass it round on Whatsapp, those who are connected. You know this is a life/death situation if those jack stands fail.

hindian

Postby hindian » June 28th, 2020, 9:07 pm

Fellas where can I get fender mats to buy locally? I've checked a few places but nothing came up...

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » July 7th, 2020, 3:54 pm

Hey folks any recommendations on a Generator for home use?

Also any reviews on this brand....
20200707_154647.jpg
20200707_154634.jpg

Postby adnj » July 7th, 2020, 7:21 pm

Calor wrote:Hey folks any recommendations on a Generator for home use?

Also any reviews on this brand....
Supposedly the Chinese copy of the B&S OHV engine, if that helps.

https://www.amazon.com/iPower-SUA12000E ... B07L8TVLWT

This machine at 9000 Watts/75A-120V should be enough to power everything in a medium-sized home if you turn off your air conditioning. It will also power-up nearly any welder that you will come across.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2020, 8:17 pm

that is a large sized one
Unless you plan to run lot of stuff and run a sub panel as a dedicated backup
might be more portable to get slightly smaller like a 7000

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » July 8th, 2020, 12:39 am

Thats for the info...was more concerned about the brand/parts availability/reliability etc

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2020, 5:39 am

Check them small engine repair places
They will know the issues of repairs

Calor wrote:Thats for the info...was more concerned about the brand/parts availability/reliability etc