Unemployment Count Thread

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2020, 9:49 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Maybe now employees will start to value their jobs, arrive ON time for work, put in a honest days work and add value totheir companies.... not to mention maybe they will stop taking so many extra unwarranted days off and time off.
That's for goverment workers only.

Private sector has more auditing and control of employees

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2020, 10:00 am

hydroep wrote:
Thousands on the breadline
CHARLES KONG SOO

More than 20,000 peo­ple have lost their jobs in T&T since 2015.

One of the largest mass re­trench­ments was the ap­prox­i­mate­ly 5,500 Petrotrin per­ma­nent and tem­po­rary em­ploy­ees who were sent home when the re­fin­ery was shut down on No­vem­ber 30, 2018.

In part two of his na­tion­al ad­dress to the na­tion called "It's Your Busi­ness" on Jan­u­ary 7, 2019, Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley said 20,000 peo­ple had lost their jobs in T&T since 2015.

Since then, more peo­ple have been placed on the bread­line.

The most re­cent was the 178 Unilever Caribbean Ltd (UCL) where work­ers faced a bleak Christ­mas when they were thrown on the bread­line in De­cem­ber 2019. Ac­cord­ing to the lat­est avail­able da­ta from the Cen­tral Sta­tis­ti­cal Of­fice (CSO) con­tained in the Cen­tral Bank of T&T's Mon­e­tary Pol­i­cy Re­port of May 2019, the un­em­ploy­ment rate in­creased to 4.8 per cent in 2017—the high­est rate of un­em­ploy­ment since 2012—from 4.0 per cent in 2016.

Dur­ing 2017, the num­ber of peo­ple em­ployed fell by just un­der 10,000 while the labour force con­tract­ed by 4,600 peo­ple. This re­sult­ed in a small de­cline in the par­tic­i­pa­tion rate from 59.7 per cent in 2016 to 59.2 per cent in 2017.

In the ab­sence of of­fi­cial un­em­ploy­ment da­ta for 2018, re­trench­ment no­tices filed with the Min­istry of Labour and Small En­ter­prise De­vel­op­ment in­di­cate that re­trench­ments were high­er by over 53.2 per cent (ex­clud­ing the lay­offs due to the clo­sure of the Petrotrin oil re­fin­ery) in 2018.

In Jan­u­ary-May 2019 re­trench­ments con­tin­ued to rise—631 peo­ple com­pared with 412 peo­ple in the sim­i­lar pe­ri­od in 2018. Fur­ther, the av­er­age num­ber of va­can­cies ad­ver­tised in the print me­dia fell by 11.7 per cent (year-on-year) over the first five months of 2019.

Econ­o­mist: It's a source of con­cern

Econ­o­mist Roger Ho­sein said "The lat­est of­fi­cial labour mar­ket sta­tis­tics from the CSO in­di­cate that the un­em­ploy­ment rate de­clined to 3.8 per cent dur­ing the first half of 2018 com­pared with 4.9 per cent dur­ing the same pe­ri­od of 2017.

"On a year-on-year ba­sis, to­tal em­ploy­ment fell by 900 per­sons, while the labour force con­tract­ed by 8,500 per­sons.

"This re­sult­ed in a de­cline in the labour force par­tic­i­pa­tion rate to 58.7 per cent over the first half of 2018 com­pared with 59.7 per cent dur­ing the cor­re­spond­ing pe­ri­od of 2017."

"The con­tin­ued de­cline in the labour force par­tic­i­pa­tion rate is a source of con­cern since this has im­pli­ca­tions for fu­ture eco­nom­ic prospects."

He said the 3.8 per cent un­em­ploy­ment rate in 2018 was a very low rate, since 2003 it had has been be­low ten per cent on av­er­age.

Ho­sein said since 2012 the un­em­ploy­ment rate on av­er­age per an­num had not crossed five per cent which was a very re­mark­able sta­tis­tic; on pa­per, it was one of the best in the world.

He said what was alarm­ing about the T&T econ­o­my case was the fall over time in its labour force par­tic­i­pa­tion rate which stood at 63.9 per cent in 2006 and col­lapsed to 58 per cent by 2018.

Ho­sein said the State made the tremen­dous er­ror in the last 15 years of be­ing too heav­i­ly in­volved in the labour mar­ket and ba­si­cal­ly starved the pri­vate sec­tor for work­ers.

He said while the pri­vate sec­tor was ex­pand­ing, it was ex­pand­ing main­ly in the ser­vices sec­tor. The State, he said, want­ed to ex­pand in the non-en­er­gy ex­port sec­tor, so the econ­o­my de­vel­oped se­ri­ous struc­tur­al im­bal­ances that need­ed to be ad­dressed.

Ho­sein said, how­ev­er, one of the most wor­ry­ing as­pects of the labour mar­ket da­ta trends in re­cent times was the sharp de­cline in the em­ploy­ment of pe­tro­le­um and gas sec­tor work­ers—this col­lapsed from 21,300 in 2014 to 12,600 in June 2018.

He said the pe­tro­le­um sec­tor was a high­ly com­pet­i­tive high hu­man cap­i­tal sec­tor and the loss of 40 per cent of the em­ployed labour force was a fright­en­ing even­tu­al­i­ty as these skills if they were lost or mi­grat­ed to near­by Guyana, Suri­name or else­where will take time to be re­built.

Ho­sein said pol­i­cy mak­ers would want to en­sure for ex­am­ple that by the time the Ru­by field comes on-stream with BHP Bil­li­ton in 2023, that the sec­tor was not fur­ther starved for work­ers with the rel­e­vant skill-sets.

Com­pa­nies that laid-off work­ers from 2015-2019
  • Arcelor­Mit­tal sent home 600 work­ers on De­cem­ber 2015 and laid off 800 con­tract work­ers ear­li­er that year
  • 200 TMS In­ter­na­tion­al Cor­po­ra­tion work­ers were al­so let go in 2015
  • Cen­tral Trinidad Steel Lim­it­ed (Cen­trin) sent home 200 work­ers on Feb­ru­ary 2016.
  • Over 800 Con­stru­to­ra OAS work­ers were laid off on March 2016
  • Caribbean De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny which pro­duces Carib beer re­trenched 15 work­ers on May 2016
  • 66 work­ers of roof­ing pro­duc­er, GGI Trinidad Lim­it­ed were sent home on Au­gust 2016
  • Over 100 work­ers of the Tourism De­vel­op­ment Com­pa­ny were re­trenched on Au­gust 2017
  • 16 work­ers at the Trinidad Ce­ment Lim­it­ed (TCL) were put on the bread­line on Sep­tem­ber 2018
  • Pe­tro­le­um mar­ket­ing and whole­sal­ing com­pa­ny Unipet laid off sev­en su­per­vi­sors in Oc­to­ber 2018
  • Ap­prox­i­mate­ly 5,500 Petrotrin per­ma­nent and tem­po­rary/ca­su­al em­ploy­ees lost their jobs when the re­fin­ery was shut down on No­vem­ber 30, 2018
  • TSTT re­trenched over 500 work­ers on No­vem­ber 15, 2018
  • 99 non-aca­d­e­m­ic staff at the Uni­ver­si­ty of TT (UTT) re­ceived sep­a­ra­tion let­ters on Au­gust 2019
  • 178 Unilever Caribbean Ltd (UCL) work­ers were thrown on the bread­line in De­cem­ber 2019.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/thousands-on-the-breadline-6.2.1027160.8a36af258e

There are stats missing as various agencies within nat sec sent home people as well

Unemployment Count Thread

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2020, 11:46 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Maybe now employees will start to value their jobs, arrive ON time for work, put in a honest days work and add value totheir companies.... not to mention maybe they will stop taking so many extra unwarranted days off and time off.

Hello Ben,

This is 100% correct.

I would also like to add that Trinidadians need to change their STINK mentality. Maybe when they do, the hard working, job-secured public will actually care if they lose their jobs. As for now, they can stay their lazy ass home and continue to whine and cry and continue dreaming to receive sympathy.

I wonder how many Trinis were replaced by Venezuelans?

Postby hydroep » January 17th, 2020, 7:01 am

Yara workers discuss futures with OWTU
Yvonne Webb

EMPLOYEES of Yara Trinidad Ltd gathered at the Paramount building headquarters of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU), San Fernando, on Thursday evening to find out what is to become of them and the jobs they currently hold at the ammonia plant.

About 200 workers sat in the hall and were addressed by president general of the union Ancel Roget. Workers from all of the bargaining units represented by the union were summoned to attend the meeting to discuss possible retrenchment and severance packages.

It is the first time the workers were invited to meet with the Roget in an open forum to hear about ongoing negotiations and ask questions regarding the way forward since the company announced the pending closure last year.

Closed-door meetings have been taking place between management and the union. Prior to Thursday’s talks, another round of discussions were held between Roget and branch officers and the company’s management at Paramount.

Although decommissioning has begun at the ammonia plant at Point Lisas, workers are still on the job and reports indicate that they have not yet received letters of retrenchment.

Yara announced the closure of its wholly-owned ammonia plant at Point Lisas on November 13. It cited plant profitability and failed negotiations with The National Gas Company of Trinidad (NGC) as key reasons behind the closure. The plant was expected to be closed by year’s end.

The Yara Trinidad plant is one of three ammonia plants operated by Yara Trinidad Ltd.

The remaining two plants, Tringen I and Tringen II, are jointly owned by Yara International ASA and National Enterprises Ltd (NEL).

In an e-mailed response to questions from Newsday last week, Yara Trinidad Ltd president Richard De La Bastide said the plant was safely shutdown and secured as planned on December 31.

De La Bastide also said that talks with the OWTU regarding the separation arrangements for workers are in progress.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/01/17/yara-workers-discuss-futures-with-owtu/

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 17th, 2020, 7:27 am

Hello Ben,

This is 100% correct.

I would also like to add that Trinidadians need to change their STINK mentality. Maybe when they do, the hard working, job-secured public will actually care if they lose their jobs. As for now, they can stay their lazy ass home and continue to whine and cry and continue dreaming to receive sympathy.

I wonder how many Trinis were replaced by Venezuelans?

see some digicel contractors hiring vene men, i see d chine buying d vene pies but i never see a chine buy a trini doubles. never see a vene buying a roti or doubles buy i see trini buying the vene pies or whatever they selling cause its a pretty spanish woman selling.

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2020, 7:30 am

Plenty of those venes does look at value for money. I had a good bit of them working for me. They does go buy a big box of chinese food for 30 to 40. Eat some for lunch. Eat some in the evening. And eat the rest for dinner.

Postby hydroep » January 26th, 2020, 5:39 am

Never send a Sh!tkicker to do a man's job...:|

Manufacturers: Brace for job cuts if NGC hikes gas price
Curtis Williams, Lead Business Editor

Thou­sands of jobs may be lost if the Na­tion­al Gas Com­pa­ny (NGC) goes ahead with its plan to sig­nif­i­cant­ly in­crease nat­ur­al gas prices to man­u­fac­tur­ers.

The State En­ter­prise is al­ready de­mand­ing that the man­u­fac­tur­ing sec­tor pay 13 per cent more for nat­ur­al gas this year, mov­ing to as high as a 100 per cent in­crease by 2023.

The Sun­day Guardian has learnt that at present man­u­fac­tur­ers pay be­tween US $2 to US $2.50 per mil­lion British Ther­mal Unit (mmb­tu) and the NGC wants this price to es­ca­late over time to US $4 per mmb­tu.

The NGC has been em­broiled in dif­fi­cult ne­go­ti­a­tions with all its cus­tomers as it tries to sig­nif­i­cant­ly in­crease prices be­cause of its new deal with the oil and gas ma­jors that have seen sig­nif­i­cant price in­creas­es for the ag­gre­ga­tor.

The deal which was bro­kered by Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley means that the NGC has to pass on price hikes to its cus­tomers, many of whom say they can­not pay the new prices.

This has al­ready led to the loss of scores of high-pay­ing jobs and tens of mil­lions of dol­lars to the Trea­sury, the clo­sure of an am­mo­nia plant, and the planned shut­down of a methanol plant in a week.

Sev­er­al man­u­fac­tur­ers spoke to the Sun­day Guardian on con­di­tion of anonymi­ty for fear of be­ing tar­get­ed. They in­sist­ed that the one com­pet­i­tive ad­van­tage they have is be­ing tak­en away from them by the NGC and they will have no choice but to pack up and leave be­cause they will not be able to com­pete.

They point­ed to the fact that many com­pa­nies have al­ready moved to Ja­maica and South Amer­i­ca where labour laws are less re­stric­tive, pro­duc­tiv­i­ty high­er and the ease of do­ing busi­ness bet­ter, as T&T be­comes in­creas­ing­ly un­at­trac­tive to do busi­ness.

Jobs have al­ready been lost as a re­sult of the chal­lenges fac­ing the sec­tor.

TTMA: Mem­bers wor­ried

Pres­i­dent of the T&T Man­u­fac­tur­ers As­so­ci­a­tion (TTMA) Fran­ka Costel­loe con­firmed to the Sun­day Guardian that her mem­bers are ex­treme­ly wor­ried by the pro­posed price in­crease which has been made retroac­tive­ly to 2019.

“We are ex­cep­tion­al­ly con­cerned about the im­pact, about the cost im­pact, about our abil­i­ty to main­tain com­pet­i­tive­ness, specif­i­cal­ly in the ex­port mar­ket, and our abil­i­ty to re­main com­pet­i­tive in at­tract­ing in­ward in­vest­ments for new man­u­fac­tures and for in­ter­na­tion­al in­vestors to stay in Trinidad and to ex­pand their fac­to­ries,” Costel­loe said in a can­did in­ter­view.

Costel­loe ex­plained that while she did not know the ex­act num­bers, since each man­u­fac­tur­er has in­di­vid­ual con­tracts with the NGC if what she has been told is cor­rect, it could lead to mas­sive lay­offs.

“If we start to re­duce our com­pet­i­tive­ness in the man­u­fac­tur­ing mar­ket, you start to talk about un­em­ploy­ment, you start to talk about in­vestors pulling out.

“I wouldn't be sur­prised that you could an­tic­i­pate the close­down of some of those ma­jor fac­to­ries if there is a 100 per cent in­crease of ma­jor ex­pense items.”

The TTMA pres­i­dent said nat­ur­al gas was T&T’s com­pet­i­tive ad­van­tage over oth­er CARI­COM states, and al­so some South Amer­i­can coun­tries, and for a lot of in­ter­na­tion­al in­vestors and lo­cal man­u­fac­tur­ers who have a sub­stan­tial size and use nat­ur­al gas.

She said the sec­tor was al­ready faced with a sig­nif­i­cant num­ber of tax­es that are work­ing to in­crease the cost of do­ing busi­ness and de­crease the ease of do­ing busi­ness.

She ar­gued: “It is the one thing that we have, it’s not done as yet, so it’s a mat­ter of ne­go­ti­a­tions be­tween NGC and the in­di­vid­ual mem­bers, and the TTMA is meet­ing with the of­fice of the Min­istry of En­er­gy to dis­cuss it. So, we’ll see if we get some head­way.”

Com­pa­nies to be hit hard

Among the hard­est-hit com­pa­nies will be:

•Trinidad Ce­ment Lim­it­ed

•As­so­ci­at­ed Brands Lim­it­ed

•Sev­er­al com­pa­nies that fall un­der the ANSA McAL group in­clud­ing Carib, Carib Glass­works, Abel etc. ANSA McAL is the par­ent com­pa­ny of Guardian Me­dia Lim­it­ed.

“Yes, you are ab­solute­ly cor­rect, those are the big­ger com­pa­nies that are go­ing to be gross­ly af­fect­ed by any price in­crease. You list­ed them all out. It’s a sig­nif­i­cant por­tion of their ex­pense line item.

"This is a big deal, a game-chang­er for them, but it’s neg­li­gent to NGC, it’s .5 per ec­nt of NGC’s nat­ur­al gas sales vol­ume. And that’s where we are go­ing to be dis­cussing with the of­fice of the Min­istry of En­er­gy be­cause we have to sup­port the man­u­fac­tur­ing com­mu­ni­ty to cre­ate a sus­tain­able en­vi­ron­ment in Trinidad. We have to be able to main­tain these jobs. The man­u­fac­tur­ing sec­tor em­ploys 50,000 peo­ple in this coun­try,” Costel­lo said.

'This is a na­tion­al is­sue'

Costel­lo told the Sun­day Guardian that all 150 man­u­fac­tur­ers com­bine make up less than .05 per cent of the NGC’s sales and sure­ly the com­pa­ny was putting an en­tire in­dus­try at risk for a small per­cent­age of its busi­ness.

Asked why the NGC should sub­sidise pri­vate sec­tor com­pa­nies, the TTMA pres­i­dent said, “Why do I go to the Min­is­ter of En­er­gy? I go to the Min­is­ter of En­er­gy to high­light the plight of the man­u­fac­tures in this de­ci­sion and this is a na­tion­al is­sue. This is not just an NGC is­sue or a man­u­fac­tur­ers is­sue, this is a na­tion­al is­sue.

“I agree that every state-owned com­pa­ny, like any com­pa­ny, should be not be run­ning at a deficit, not run­ning at break-even, and state com­pa­nies sub­si­dis­ing to its own per­il def­i­nite­ly should not be a strat­e­gy.

"We sup­port com­pa­nies to al­ways run at a prof­itable state, it’s noth­ing dif­fer­ent than what we would say for the NGC. But at the same time, this is a group that con­sti­tutes less than one per cent of vol­ume sales and is made up of 150 mem­bers and this can have a mas­sive im­pact on the en­tire na­tion.

"If we start to re­duce our com­pet­i­tive­ness in the man­u­fac­tur­ing mar­ket, you start to talk about un­em­ploy­ment, you start to talk about in­vestors pulling out. We’re talk­ing about sub­si­dis­ing .52 per cent for NGC’s ex­is­tence.”

Ques­tions to Enill

The fol­low­ing ques­tions were sent to the NGC Chair­man Con­rad Enill.

1) Has the NGC in­di­cat­ed to man­u­fac­tures that the price they pay for nat­ur­al gas will be in­creased ef­fec­tive 2019?

2) What per­cent­age of to­tal gas sales by the NGC is sold to man­u­fac­tur­ers?

3) Why the need for dou­ble-dig­it price in­creas­es at this time?

4) Is the NGC con­cerned by the po­ten­tial im­pact of this on the sec­tor and jobs?

Enill sug­gest­ed that the ques­tions be sent to the Head of Cor­po­rate Com­mu­ni­ca­tions at the NGC Lisa Bur­kett.

NGC: We will con­tin­ue to ne­go­ti­ate in good faith, we will not con­duct ne­go­ti­a­tions via the me­dia

In a re­sponse, Bur­kett said "NGC has been in dis­cus­sions with the LIC sec­tor for over 18 months and is still in dis­cus­sions with them. We all recog­nise that there is a chang­ing en­er­gy land­scape, not just in Trinidad and To­ba­go, but al­so glob­al­ly.

"We are in ac­tive ne­go­ti­a­tions at this point and would not con­duct ne­go­ti­a­tions via the me­dia.

"NGC ac­knowl­edges the im­por­tance of the LIC sec­tor and has ap­proached its ne­go­ti­a­tions in that con­text. We will con­tin­ue to ne­go­ti­ate in good faith."

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/manufacturers-brace-for-job-cuts-if-ngc-hikes-gas-price-6.2.1038700.29146d92d5

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2020, 9:20 am

^^^ National pride

Postby rspann » January 26th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Grate is Rowley. Plenty who lose they jobs going and vote him back in.

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2020, 1:30 pm

rspann wrote:Grate is Rowley. Plenty who lose they jobs going and vote him back in.
Lost of jobs was calculated by PNM to control spending.

They don't care about loss of jobs they have to make sure that 1% gets to tote away more forex..

small man will have to think twice about traveling and buying a $1000US for spending money when he out of wuk

Postby De Dragon » January 27th, 2020, 1:42 am

Forget the PNM, grate is JUHN Scarfy.

Postby The_Honourable » March 5th, 2020, 8:10 am

3000 busy...

Postby Dizzy28 » March 5th, 2020, 9:32 am

3,000 ppl really been planting trees these last few years? We should be looking like Borneo or DRC by now

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2020, 9:47 am

Dizzy28 wrote:3,000 ppl really been planting trees these last few years? We should be looking like Borneo or DRC by now

They've been doing some impressive work my side.

Postby De Dragon » March 5th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:3,000 ppl really been planting trees these last few years? We should be looking like Borneo or DRC by now

How fast you want the trees to grow soldier? :?

Postby zoom rader » March 5th, 2020, 10:12 pm

The_Honourable wrote:3000 busy...

Hope they continue to vote PNM

Postby Dizzy28 » March 11th, 2020, 9:30 am

How fast you want the trees to grow soldier? :?

That programme in effect since 2004. In 16 years some species of trees would be well sized. If they planted the False Ashoka Trees man them thing probably only exceeded in growth rates by Bamboo.

Postby Chimera » April 9th, 2020, 5:31 am

How things people. Plenty companies are now making workers take their vacation leave and telling them they getting half pay after that or firing them altogether. Allyuh find any side hustles that you could do with these quarantine rules?

Postby adnj » April 9th, 2020, 7:21 am

For Employers/Employees

Guidelines for Persons Who Were Retrenched, Terminated or Experienced Lost or Reduced Income

In keeping with Government’s initiative to mitigate the financial challenges experienced by persons who were Retrenched, Terminated or experienced Reduced Income as a result of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the Ministry of Social Development and Family Services (MSDFS) in collaboration with the Ministry of Labour and Small Enterprise Development (MOLSED), have put in place varied measures to support affected persons who are citizens or permanent residents of Trinidad and Tobago.

In this regard, the Government is committed to provide the following financial assistance to the Retrenched/Terminated/or those experiencing reduced income for a period not exceeding three (3) months:

Income support

Food support

Rental fee support

[URL]https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Form_A_-_COVID-19_Guidelines_For_Employers-Employees_26_March_2020_FINAL.pdf
[/URL]

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 17th, 2020, 10:31 am

heard holiday snacks sent home workers today, they handed out letters to workers. can anyone verify this?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 17th, 2020, 11:49 am

A major engineering company in south told its workers to expect pay cuts and reduced working hours from next month. Looks like this thing may go on for an indefinite period.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 19th, 2020, 12:32 pm

seems like alot of places are using this as an excuse to adjust their balance sheets through salaries.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 19th, 2020, 12:42 pm

Fluor I presume. This was planned a awhile now
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A major engineering company in south told its workers to expect pay cuts and reduced working hours from next month. Looks like this thing may go on for an indefinite period.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 6th, 2020, 1:50 pm

Minister: Hundreds retrenched as Unilever ends production

UNILEVER is ceasing all production in TT and retrenching hundreds of employees, Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus told the Senate on Tuesday, replying to a listed question from opposition senator Wade Mark.

Mark had asked if Unilever intended to retrench 286 workers in its restructuring, and whether the Government would intervene. The news came a fortnight after Unilever in TT reported a $54 million loss for last year.

Baptiste-Primus gave figures to suggest some 382 employees in total were being retrenched, in tranches of 191, 184 and seven respectively.

She said Unilever sent her a letter last December saying 191 monthly- and hourly-paid workers would be retrenched due to redundancy. Further, some 184 workers in areas such as warehouse, sanitation, quality control and field specialists were terminated on January 17. Some four warehouse managers were retrenched, along with three other workers. Some eight cases were sent to her for conciliation, she said.

Mark asked the reason for the changes, to which the minister replied the matter was under conciliation and she could not now go any further in her explanation.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/06/minist ... roduction/

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » May 6th, 2020, 3:08 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Fluor I presume. This was planned a awhile now
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A major engineering company in south told its workers to expect pay cuts and reduced working hours from next month. Looks like this thing may go on for an indefinite period.

Fluor/Stork, Massy and Bechtel all doing the same thing

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » May 22nd, 2020, 11:15 am

My company is on a small recruitment drive for Civil Engineers and Civil Technicians. If you Toonas know of anyone who is looking around, get them to send their details via PM directly. Ideally looking for ppl with no more than 0-3 years work experience to start as junior staff. Note - not any other kinda qualification pls, just Civil.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 27th, 2020, 8:17 am

Hearing lots of observations that MANY retailers have pulled out of the malls and are still dropping like flies as the weeks go by... apparently some mall owners have absolutely no heart.

But then again.. look at the US as well, so many big chain stores are closing their doors.
What will the future of shopping be like after this covid sh1t.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 27th, 2020, 8:24 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Hearing lots of observations that MANY retailers have pulled out of the malls and are still dropping like flies as the weeks go by... apparently some mall owners have absolutely no heart.

But then again.. look at the US as well, so many big chain stores are closing their doors.

We are going on two full months of Malls being shut. There is no way some of those stores were making the coin to weather this kinna thing without some sort of relief which hasn't been forthcoming if the news are to be believed.

Postby gastly369 » May 27th, 2020, 8:34 am

When dey was open wasn't making anyways.. The store is just a fron... Lemme stay quiet yes
Ben_spanna wrote:Hearing lots of observations that MANY retailers have pulled out of the malls and are still dropping like flies as the weeks go by... apparently some mall owners have absolutely no heart.

We are going on two full months of Malls being shut. There is no way some of those stores were making the coin to weather this kinna thing without some sort of relief which hasn't been forthcoming if the news are to be believed.

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2020, 8:43 am

I find the stats on our unemployment real hard to get
all the other countries not shame to say what their figures are like

USA is 39m out of wuk