*** The official car accident thread***

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2020, 5:17 pm

No matter where you put a walkover some people won’t use it. It’s the pedestrians fault to risk his life

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 18th, 2020, 5:28 pm

^ everyday going into pos you see that... their was a similar accident a few years ago of a homeless woman crossing the highway a saturday morning i think it was around el soccoro... she was crossing just like 2 meters away from the walkover and wouldnt u know it she got hit by i think a black tiida... in work yhe monday everyone blaming the tiida man... bout he must have been speeding or DUI... but i saying... what the @ss she doing crossing the highway... people always quick to blame the driver who got in the accident... and never the circumstances surrounding the accident... pedestrians especially with this bonske me nah mentality... steupse driving in pos is the worse... always have to be on my p's and q's cause people crossing whenever they feel or men darting out from side streets vie kie vie

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 18th, 2020, 5:50 pm

Grudge wrote:I don’t care what the circumstances could have been. This driver should never drive again.

Most dotish comment I've seen today.

Postby maj. tom » May 18th, 2020, 6:03 pm

How the person supposed to cross the highway with no traffic lights? Well if you were put in that situation what would you do? Would you run across a busy highway with a 100 km/h limit? Nah, you not that stupid right? What would YOU do? The decision i would make it is to walk along the shoulder of the interchange all around which is 30 km/h and get to the other side. The 2nd decision i would have made is to walk 10 minutes down to the new walkover and walk back up. 20 mins of my life. I seriously can't believe some people complaining about having to walk (*measures on Google maps*) 1.39 km to get to a walkover. Whappen yuh dragging a big stone with yuh? And if you know you have to go out walking on the road at 10 pm, how about a high-vis jacket, or bright color t-shirt and walking with a flash light, or a reflective armband?

I don't see how the driver is to blame. 10 pm, place dark and a random highway walker wearing dark clothes jump out in front your car on a highway that's not well lit in the first place. And let's say you're doing normal 80 km/h on the left lane. What supposed to happen? How a human can survive 2 metric tons of steel at 80 km/h? And i'm all for defensive driving, but sometimes in that specific situation you can't avoid this.

Whoever blaming the driver in a circumstance like that you playing too many video games. Get a reality check. And let's hope it never happens to you eh? Just like it can happen to anybody because some death wish dumbass decided to cross the highway at that second you happen to be there.

Postby maj. tom » May 18th, 2020, 6:04 pm

j.o.e wrote:No matter where you put a walkover some people won’t use it. It’s the pedestrians fault to risk his life

boy i see people running across the highway right UNDER the walkover by West Mall.
What is a driver supposed to do there?

Postby aaron17 » May 18th, 2020, 6:15 pm

maj. tom wrote:
j.o.e wrote:No matter where you put a walkover some people won’t use it. It’s the pedestrians fault to risk his life

boy i see people running across the highway right UNDER the walkover by West Mall.
What is a driver supposed to do there?
You know what? I seeing ppl slowing down for them to cross over.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2020, 7:03 pm

This...it seems shorter to run across the road than go up, make a turn, go up again,walk across, go down twice

Postby Slartibartfast » May 19th, 2020, 8:59 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

This...it seems shorter to run across the road than go up, make a turn, go up again,walk across, go down twice
Yeah but if you counting the flight distance after you get knock down it's about the same.

I just standup on my horn and ease of the accelerator and prepare to mash breaks if necessary. Even if they are wrong, knocking them down is an inconvenience I can do without. But, I have a personal policy to mash brakes only, I don't swerve. That's when accidents get really bad and cars go flipping into oncoming traffic, harming nearby innocents.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 19th, 2020, 11:24 am

So either that camera real good, police lights real bright, or they bring lights cause that area looks well lit in the picture.

I see what appears to be a traffic light in the background of the picture... Still don't fully understand how you could get bounce with a traffic light just up the road.

Postby j.o.e » May 19th, 2020, 12:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:So either that camera real good, police lights real bright, or they bring lights cause that area looks well lit in the picture.

I see what appears to be a traffic light in the background of the picture... Still don't fully understand how you could get bounce with a traffic light just up the road.

Can’t be certain of area but the curepe interchange down to nestle area real light up

Grudge

Postby Grudge » May 20th, 2020, 6:05 am

I suppose, with the outcome of this accident, that driver was definitely driving within the speed limit.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » May 20th, 2020, 6:08 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Grudge wrote:I don’t care what the circumstances could have been. This driver should never drive again.

Most dotish comment I've seen today.

Dotish and Stupid are relative terms.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2020, 6:21 am

Tuner csi yes...never disappoints

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 20th, 2020, 8:44 am

Grudge wrote:I suppose, with the outcome of this accident, that driver was definitely driving within the speed limit.

To prove that their needs to be phhsic evidence.... like skid marks... and video footage to measure time and distance from one spot to another... i not sure about whether or not they can use the initial impact of when he hit the guy as the body was dismembered after the hit... also just because he passed through two windshields does not necessarily mean he was speeding... factors like the thickness of the windshield... the weight of the guy.... if he hit him while he was accelerating... would have played a critical factor in why he ended up through the two windshields... if he has a good lawyer this guy should get off with no problems as... again... while it is sad to see someone passing.... it is illegal to cross the highway... and if this person had an estate what you would have seen is that the insurance would have taken from the deceased's estate to settle the claim... in this case here i think all parties involved who got damaged from this incident would have to claim from their own insurance

Postby maj. tom » May 20th, 2020, 9:04 am

Even if it was 80km/h what do you believe would be the outcome of 2 metric tons of steel hitting a human body on a free flowing highway?

Man, you really defending an idiot trying to cross a busy highway? Again, if you were placed in that situation to get to the other side what would YOU do? Run across the highway? Wouldn't it be safer to walk along the interchange shoulder and roundabouts where the limit is 30 km/h and safely get to the other side? Didn't they build a walkover just 10 mins walk away? oh oh 20 mins of my life walking vs. being dead roadkill. i wonder...

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 20th, 2020, 9:25 am

Once a pedestrian is struck by a moving vehicle and dies as a result, the driver will be subject to a strict liability offence. The police will forward their findings to the DPP and whether the outcome was determined to be intentional or not, even the charge of vehicular manslaughter is not avoidable. It is better to be careful than to be subject to the inconveniences of being right.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 20th, 2020, 9:39 am

^ oh snap... that sucks... home boy will have alot of hurdles to go through

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 20th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Have to point out a couple of things...
    All our highways are not free flowing (they have traffic lights on them; in this case there are traffic lights from just after Grand bazaar heading east)

Depending on conditions and the situation I would wait for the traffic light to create the space I need to cross; I almost get eat up on the highway already, by a taxi driver driving on the shoulder in daylight... You think I walking on that in the night.

Everyone's responses will be different due to different experiences and the different levels of risk each individual is willing to take

I have yet to see a sign enforce the speed limit.

maj. tom wrote:Even if it was 80km/h what do you believe would be the outcome of 2 metric tons of steel hitting a human body on a free flowing highway?

Man, you really defending an idiot trying to cross a busy highway? Again, if you were placed in that situation to get to the other side what would YOU do? Run across the highway? Wouldn't it be safer to walk along the interchange shoulder and roundabouts where the limit is 30 km/h and safely get to the other side? Didn't they build a walkover just 10 mins walk away? oh oh 20 mins of my life walking vs. being dead roadkill. i wonder...

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2020, 12:17 pm

kamakazi wrote:Have to point out a couple of things...
    All our highways are not free flowing (they have traffic lights on them; in this case there are traffic lights from just after Grand bazaar heading east)

Depending on conditions and the situation I would wait for the traffic light to create the space I need to cross; I almost get eat up on the highway already, by a taxi driver driving on the shoulder in daylight... You think I walking on that in the night.

Everyone's responses will be different due to different experiences and the different levels of risk each individual is willing to take

maj. tom wrote:Even if it was 80km/h what do you believe would be the outcome of 2 metric tons of steel hitting a human body on a free flowing highway?

With the opening of the Curepe Flyover there are no traffic lights from Sea Lots to UWI.

There is however a walkover by Cipriani

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 20th, 2020, 12:37 pm

There is NO LAW existing in T&T called vehicular manslaughter, there is however causing death by dangerous driving which has to be proven that the driver was indeed driving recklessly. Its quite unfortunate that some jackass decided to run across the road at night on a highway with a speed limit of 100km/h and endanger the lives of many drivers and their passengers

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 20th, 2020, 3:01 pm

I was unaware that the lights were removed from valpark shopping centre.

With the opening of the Curepe Flyover there are no traffic lights from Sea Lots to UWI.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2020, 3:05 pm

kamakazi wrote:I was unaware that the lights were removed from valpark shopping centre.

Since before Covid they were removing lights. East Bound Valpark lights were gone since Jan or early Feb. As well as the right turn to enter Valsayn North. They kept west bound lights to facilitate a turn off to Valpark and the exit from Valsayn but now that the interchange is fully functional all the lights are gone.

Postby K74T » May 21st, 2020, 8:44 am

FB_IMG_1590065016175.jpeg
    FB_IMG_1590065013776.jpeg

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 21st, 2020, 11:10 am

Either the rims rolled out or he had on what may be a spare front and rear tire... idk how an insurance adjustor will view that... i heard before they rather all tires be of the same brand or relatively the same treadwear

Postby 16 cycles » May 21st, 2020, 12:57 pm

^ did not adhere to alchemy's first law of equivalent exchange....for the most....truck might have to re-weld the back grating...

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 21st, 2020, 1:05 pm

^ is that a full metal alchemist brotherhood reference?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 21st, 2020, 1:22 pm

It might help of the location of these accidents are given

Postby 16 cycles » May 21st, 2020, 1:52 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ is that a full metal alchemist brotherhood reference?

yes it is...

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 21st, 2020, 4:16 pm

^lol good to know i'm not the only anime fan on here

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 21st, 2020, 6:23 pm

:angel: