The United States government’s list of sanctioned individuals and institutions in Venezuela was yesterday sent by the US Embassy in Trinidad to Foreign Affairs Minister Dennis Moses.
This list contains 28 names, among them Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro and members of his inner circle as well as Vice-President Delcy Rodriguez.
So why would the US Embassy send a list of sanctioned Venezuelan individuals and institutions to the Foreign Affairs Ministry?
According to former head of the Public Service and foreign service officer Reginald Dumas, it could be the US is giving Trinidad and Tobago a chance.
“It’s one of two things, either the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, not having these names, asked the US Embassy to send a list. Or the US Government which from what I see published in the newspaper...is increasing the pressure on Trinidad and Tobago and sent this list saying well here is a list of the sanctioned people in case you didn’t know and you will see the Vice-President is one of the people on the list that you allowed in,” Dumas said.
“If in fact the Government of Trinidad and Tobago had no idea whatsoever who was on that list or the fact that the Vice-President was sanctioned, which I would find amazing because even I sitting in Tobago know that and I’m no longer in Foreign Affairs. If in fact they didn’t know the US is saying well now you know,” he said.
Dumas said this could be the United States’ way of diplomatically warning T&T.
“They are saying we are giving you a chance in other words, but don’t do it again, it could be that, I would want to hope that it is that,” he said.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 8423e.html
Rowlee and the PNM are a shame and disgrace to the Citizens.shaneelal wrote:Seems the US is making sure gov't is aware of the blacklist, maybe if an infringement reoccurs there'll be consequences.
T&T gets blacklist from US
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 8423e.htmlThe United States government’s list of sanctioned individuals and institutions in Venezuela was yesterday sent by the US Embassy in Trinidad to Foreign Affairs Minister Dennis Moses.
This list contains 28 names, among them Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro and members of his inner circle as well as Vice-President Delcy Rodriguez.So why would the US Embassy send a list of sanctioned Venezuelan individuals and institutions to the Foreign Affairs Ministry?
According to former head of the Public Service and foreign service officer Reginald Dumas, it could be the US is giving Trinidad and Tobago a chance.
Rowley: Don't call me a liar over Delcy's visit
Sean Douglas
THE Prime Minister has said only Venezuelan Vice President Delcy Rodriguez and Asdrubal Chavez, who was not the president of PDVSA at that time, met with him at the Diplomatic Centre in March.
Dr Rowley posted the comment on Facebook in reply to criticism in the Thursday Guardian's editorial.
The Government has said Rodriguez's visit was to discuss the covid19 pandemic.
Soon after that, in April, a Paria Fuel Trading Company shipment of fuel to Aruba allegedly ended up in Venezuela, in defiance of US sanctions imposed for alleged election-rigging by the Venezuelan Government.
Further, questions have been asked as to whether TT had violated the Rio Treaty by allowing in Rodriguez, who is subject to travel restrictions, although National Security Minister Stuart Young said US Ambassador Joseph Mondello had not mentioned this in a recent phone call with him.
The editorial said the Government has not denied a letter circulating on social media from the Ministry of National Security's permanent secretary to the Chief Immigration Officer seeking on March 26 to exempt Rodriguez's delegation from TT's border lockdown against covid19. The editorial said the document named seven people and listed their passport numbers. If true, this was contrary to the government denials, said the editorial, and showed the delegation was not a surprise, but was planned for and welcomed.
Rowley hit back. "Contrary to what has been published in today’s Guardian Editorial, I once again must confirm that, notwithstanding any list of names of passengers on any manifest or aircraft, the only persons from Venezuela, who attended a meeting with the Prime Minister, Minister of National Security and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, at the Diplomatic Centre in March 2020, were Vice President Delcy Rodriguez accompanied by one other person Mr Chavez, who was not the President of PDVSA at that time.PDVSA (Petróleos de Venezuela, SA) is the Venezuelan state-owned oil and gas company.
Rowley continued, "None of the other persons (security or other officials) who accompanied Mrs Rodriguez conducted any meeting with any official/s of the Government of TT.
"On the basis of these indisputable facts, today, I reject being called a liar by the Guardian newspaper in furtherance of their interests."
He needs to explain that to the US.hydroep wrote:Sh!tkickers like the man who not wearing any mask in public but shouting at others because they not social distancing...Rowley: Don't call me a liar over Delcy's visit
Sean Douglas
THE Prime Minister has said only Venezuelan Vice President Delcy Rodriguez and Asdrubal Chavez, who was not the president of PDVSA at that time, met with him at the Diplomatic Centre in March.
Dr Rowley posted the comment on Facebook in reply to criticism in the Thursday Guardian's editorial.
The Government has said Rodriguez's visit was to discuss the covid19 pandemic.
Soon after that, in April, a Paria Fuel Trading Company shipment of fuel to Aruba allegedly ended up in Venezuela, in defiance of US sanctions imposed for alleged election-rigging by the Venezuelan Government.
Further, questions have been asked as to whether TT had violated the Rio Treaty by allowing in Rodriguez, who is subject to travel restrictions, although National Security Minister Stuart Young said US Ambassador Joseph Mondello had not mentioned this in a recent phone call with him.
The editorial said the Government has not denied a letter circulating on social media from the Ministry of National Security's permanent secretary to the Chief Immigration Officer seeking on March 26 to exempt Rodriguez's delegation from TT's border lockdown against covid19. The editorial said the document named seven people and listed their passport numbers. If true, this was contrary to the government denials, said the editorial, and showed the delegation was not a surprise, but was planned for and welcomed.
Rowley hit back. "Contrary to what has been published in today’s Guardian Editorial, I once again must confirm that, notwithstanding any list of names of passengers on any manifest or aircraft, the only persons from Venezuela, who attended a meeting with the Prime Minister, Minister of National Security and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, at the Diplomatic Centre in March 2020, were Vice President Delcy Rodriguez accompanied by one other person Mr Chavez, who was not the President of PDVSA at that time.PDVSA (Petróleos de Venezuela, SA) is the Venezuelan state-owned oil and gas company.
Rowley continued, "None of the other persons (security or other officials) who accompanied Mrs Rodriguez conducted any meeting with any official/s of the Government of TT.
"On the basis of these indisputable facts, today, I reject being called a liar by the Guardian newspaper in furtherance of their interests."
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/14/rowley-dont-call-me-a-liar-over-delcys-visit/
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:dont forget RONAni.....never forget him, deals are big up East
You forget Camile buying Indian weave with tax payers money to put in her hair.Dizzy28 wrote:This issue has highlighted why Trinidad will always be a 3rd world shiet hole. Just like how KPB's supporters never held her accountable now Rowley's supporters are not holding him accountable. Every lie becomes a non issue, every corruption scandal becomes thrown behind the "But they did so too" excuse.
Its even more infuriating because Rowley continues to like to feign piety and claim this is a Government of Ethics.
Nevermind McDonald and her numerous scandals, Daryl Smith is a sex predator, Rowley himself authorized the stealing of money to pay Cuffie's bills (if you pay for something you not eligible for from money that is not yours you have stolen), Dillon and his"house", Al Rawi and rent. We go give Shamfa a bligh for she roaming bill. And that's just Ministers.
The 2nd and 3rd level men busy making a name for themselves in the state enterprise system with joke contracts
zoom rader wrote:You forget Camile buying Indian weave with tax payers money to put in her hair.Dizzy28 wrote:This issue has highlighted why Trinidad will always be a 3rd world shiet hole. Just like how KPB's supporters never held her accountable now Rowley's supporters are not holding him accountable. Every lie becomes a non issue, every corruption scandal becomes thrown behind the "But they did so too" excuse.
Its even more infuriating because Rowley continues to like to feign piety and claim this is a Government of Ethics.
Nevermind McDonald and her numerous scandals, Daryl Smith is a sex predator, Rowley himself authorized the stealing of money to pay Cuffie's bills (if you pay for something you not eligible for from money that is not yours you have stolen), Dillon and his"house", Al Rawi and rent. We go give Shamfa a bligh for she roaming bill. And that's just Ministers.
The 2nd and 3rd level men busy making a name for themselves in the state enterprise system with joke contracts
Dizzy28 wrote:This issue has highlighted why Trinidad will always be a 3rd world shiet hole. Just like how KPB's supporters never held her accountable now Rowley's supporters are not holding him accountable. Every lie becomes a non issue, every corruption scandal becomes thrown behind the "But they did so too" excuse.
Redman wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:This issue has highlighted why Trinidad will always be a 3rd world shiet hole. Just like how KPB's supporters never held her accountable now Rowley's supporters are not holding him accountable. Every lie becomes a non issue, every corruption scandal becomes thrown behind the "But they did so too" excuse.
Ultimately on election day if its only UNC and PNM-what are your choices in terms of voting?
The whole system has been left to be by passed by time,technology and life.
The_Honourable wrote:I have seen what appears to be a photograph of a letter dated March 26, 2020 from a Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security to the Chief Immigration Officer indicating that the Minister of National Security granted an exemption for a Venezuelan delegation to enter Trinidad and Tobago on March 27, 2020.
I have ascertained that this letter is authentic.
It has been somewhat surprising to me how some have conveniently twisted this letter in a deliberate attempt to mislead the population and undermine the facts that have been outlined by the Prime Minister and myself.
5. The letter being referenced, simply confirms that the public service had details of the aircraft and persons in the delegation and that I had granted approval for entry.
I trust that this serves to clear the deliberate doubt and ambiguity being created over this matter.
Lou Screuz wrote:The_Honourable wrote:I have seen what appears to be a photograph of a letter dated March 26, 2020 from a Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security to the Chief Immigration Officer indicating that the Minister of National Security granted an exemption for a Venezuelan delegation to enter Trinidad and Tobago on March 27, 2020.
I have ascertained that this letter is authentic.
It has been somewhat surprising to me how some have conveniently twisted this letter in a deliberate attempt to mislead the population and undermine the facts that have been outlined by the Prime Minister and myself.
5. The letter being referenced, simply confirms that the public service had details of the aircraft and persons in the delegation and that I had granted approval for entry.
I trust that this serves to clear the deliberate doubt and ambiguity being created over this matter.
If there was ever a man
who reach where he reach
because of WHO he know and WHO know HE
as opposed to WHAT he know
Redress10 wrote:Guardian aggressive stance in this issue have some people believing that a certain community can't afford too much unnecessary US eyes on the country. They relll pushing an agenda.
I want this issue to keep burning cause it seems to be making somebody in that community squirmish.
The playing a game that making them out. Every couple of years they switching sides and regimes to keep thd country off balance. So close to election the news becomes very aggressive. The game is to keep both partiea off balanced so no one party could accumulate enough power.
Go back and check it out. From calling Manning dictator, to calling Kamla corrupt, now to this gas deal. I feel next 5 years we will see it again with whoever in power again. Is the new divide and rule.
US is fully aware of this community.Redress10 wrote:Guardian aggressive stance in this issue have some people believing that a certain community can't afford too much unnecessary US eyes on the country. They relll pushing an agenda.
I want this issue to keep burning cause it seems to be making somebody in that community squirmish.
The playing a game that making them out. Every couple of years they switching sides and regimes to keep thd country off balance. So close to election the news becomes very aggressive. The game is to keep both partiea off balanced so no one party could accumulate enough power.
Go back and check it out. From calling Manning dictator, to calling Kamla corrupt, now to this gas deal. I feel next 5 years we will see it again with whoever in power again. Is the new divide and rule.
shaneelal wrote:Seems the US is making sure gov't is aware of the blacklist, maybe if an infringement reoccurs there'll be consequences.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 8423e.htmlThe United States government’s list of sanctioned individuals and institutions in Venezuela was yesterday sent by the US Embassy in Trinidad to Foreign Affairs Minister Dennis Moses.
This list contains 28 names, among them Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro and members of his inner circle as well as Vice-President Delcy Rodriguez.So why would the US Embassy send a list of sanctioned Venezuelan individuals and institutions to the Foreign Affairs Ministry?
gastly369 wrote:Lololol dotish trini
Carry onshaneelal wrote:Seems the US is making sure gov't is aware of the blacklist, maybe if an infringement reoccurs there'll be consequences.
FordeG wrote:gastly369 wrote:Lololol dotish trini
Carry onshaneelal wrote:Seems the US is making sure gov't is aware of the blacklist, maybe if an infringement reoccurs there'll be consequences.
The US can say whatever they want, why must we bow down to them!?
We signed the doc right?FordeG wrote:gastly369 wrote:Lololol dotish trini
The US can say whatever they want, why must we bow down to them!?
Dr Rowley, the documents, please
Fri May 15 2020
Editorial
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley took to social media yesterday to respond to this newspaper’s editorial calling for his Government to be more transparent about his March 27 meeting with Venezuelan Vice President Delcy Rodriguez, who has been blacklisted by the US and European Union.
After that meeting, the Prime Minister’s Office released a statement declaring the two leaders had discussed efforts to combat COVID-19. A day later, state-owned Paria Fuel Company entered talks to sell a shipload of fuel alleged to have ended up in Venezuela, where thanks to US sanctions, gasoline is in dire shortage.
In his post, Dr Rowley said he “rejected being called a liar by the Guardian newspaper in furtherance of their interests.”
We dare not seek to engage in mind-reading to determine what the Prime Minister was trying to impute when he says “in furtherance of their interests.” He would know well that our interests have always been to seek out truth and speak truth to power even when doing so is not popular.
We never called Dr Rowley a liar but merely urged him to produce documents, including those relating to the sale of oil to fuel tycoon Wilmer Ruperti and permission for Rodriguez’s plane to land at Piarco.
A lot is at stake: if our Government knowingly violated US sanctions by selling fuel to Venezuela, the US could exact a heavy price against T&T.
Our editorial was clear that recent documents showed Government knew the Venezuelan delegation who came to T&T in advance, contradicting earlier denials by the Prime Minister and National Security Minister Stuart Young.
To tweak the words of a former US senator, Rowley is entitled to his opinion, not his own facts.
Recent documents show that “contrary to denials from both the Prime Minister and Minister Young, the other members of delegation did not come here as a surprise and were planned for and welcomed,” our editorial stated.
In his Facebook post, Dr Rowley said he met only with “Rodriguez, accompanied by one other person Mr Chavez, who was not the president of PDVSA at that time.”
That, Mr Prime Minister, is a distinction without a difference. Mr Chavez, a cousin of former Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez, was the recent head of Citgo, PDVSA’S US arm. He became PDVSA chief in late April.
Our editorial did not state who was present at the Diplomatic Centre meeting with Dr Rowley. By arguing that he is being wrongly attacked on that basis, the Prime Minister obfuscates issues that he has failed to address.
Dr Rowley can put an end to this matter once and for all by releasing the Paria fuel sale contract and providing the minutes of the Rodriguez meeting to the public and showing the transactions were above board.
Dr Rowley needs to show that his actions in providing these answers are consistent with his endorsement of open and honest Government. If you take these small steps, Dr Rowley, it would be in furtherance of our interests in transparency and, most importantly, the national interest.
The_Honourable wrote:So basically... oh gosh man stop with the ole noise and bring d documents for meh please
De Dragon wrote:The_Honourable wrote:So basically... oh gosh man stop with the ole noise and bring d documents for meh please
JUHN Scarfy already gave his dotish and nonsensical reason for not releasing any documents, basically saying Mondello could go to hell along with the UNC. Maybe someone should stick it this imbecile's mailbox, or buttam and then he would be rushing to bring it to Parliament