death365

Re: Worst doubles thread

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2020, 6:47 am

screwbash wrote:doubles queen - el socorro
Darren Doubles - el socorro south
Singhs - freeport ( all dem by dat big drain)
one with a red shed some where in cunupia not to far from airlinks bar
d spanish woman opposite beddoes in santa cruz
d man in valcenia opposite the tyre shop
Wait u buy doubles from a Spanish woman... Yuh real brave.

Just incase u don't know vennies not clean at all, food wise. Cubans, Colombian other South Americans OK

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2020, 7:06 am

Keep allyuh masks on if allyuh choke today please.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2020, 7:08 am

screwbash wrote:doubles queen - el socorro
Darren Doubles - el socorro south
Singhs - freeport ( all dem by dat big drain)
one with a red shed some where in cunupia not to far from airlinks bar
d spanish woman opposite beddoes in santa cruz
d man in valcenia opposite the tyre shop

You have real belly to buy from that man in valencia...is doubles with slight gravel and dust in yuh mc

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 11th, 2020, 7:12 am

I find with all doubles is a hit and miss.
Most either very bland and you have to hope the sauce will save it,
or if it taste slightly above 1 star, some ingredient smellin like #2 and you have to hold your breath if you decide to eat it.

And if you do find one that taste above 2.5 stars and not smelling like "ghobar" it not consistent.
Would quicker buy a saheena.

Cool story one night I was heading Cedros from Freeport but decide to stop for gas by Debe (instead of going into sando etc)
One shed was still open and I say lemme buy 2 (was only doubles at that time - 9pm) because I not sure if I getting food later.
It did not taste great, a solid 1 out of 5, but I was just glad to eat something.
You know whole day next day I feel sick? Couldn decide if to vomit or sheit dung the place. Steups.

The reason I didn't just go KFC was because the only 2 times I buy there (years apart) and the chicken like it had no salt, and dry dry and taste burnt. Not me and food from Debe again nah.

The sweet shop was arite tho, but they don't sell food.
It was a white small store. I don't think I buy from the green one maj tom mention.
I think is this from google images. Don't know what has changed since then.

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2020, 7:19 am

Some taste good on the day they change the oil . Then after that is pure sheit .

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2020, 7:31 am

I hate doing this cause I love the man doubles.

Sweaty swami... The guy in d back road near grand bazaar he does come out only in d night. Good tasting good quality but as my nick name suggest...

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 11th, 2020, 7:54 am

Dais probably d man secret ingredient.

If now he have to wear mask, gloves, long sleeve, and the doubles start tasting even better, well dais your confirmation.

Best he start bottling it and selling to other doubles vendors "Sweaty Swami's Secret Seasoning"

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 8:16 am

today will be one of few days you getting to taste bara made with fresh oil
savour it

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 10:00 am

death365 wrote:I hate doing this cause I love the man doubles.

Sweaty swami... The guy in d back road near grand bazaar he does come out only in d night. Good tasting good quality but as my nick name suggest...

Kelvin and Rose???

His quality has gone downhill over the years. Seems his doubles got progressively worse each time he moved

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2020, 10:02 am

death365 wrote:I hate doing this cause I love the man doubles.

Kelvin and Rose???

His quality has gone downhill over the years. Seems his doubles got progressively worse each time he moved

yeah

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2020, 10:02 am

Which might the the key, today may taste bad untill the oil cures lol
pugboy wrote:today will be one of few days you getting to taste bara made with fresh oil
savour it

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2020, 10:03 am

This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.
So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now. And then the price will never go back down when all the goods prices normalize again. It's the Trini way.

Doubles vendors warn that the price of doubles may well be going up in the next week.

The warning comes in the wake of their complaints that prices for the basic ingredients for T&T’s favourite street food, have shot up in the last 6 weeks.
Popular Couva doubles vendor, Shayam Mohammed, told Guardian Media that the last six weeks have been disastrous for the industry, as the country was under stay-at-home orders for the COVID-19 pandemic. He said many persons involved in the doubles making process remained out of work and are yet to get any unemployment grant.

Shayam Mohammed said returning to serve the public would be difficult, since mobile doubles vendors, who operate out of the back of a van, may have to get their vehicles repaired and mechanics and tyre shops have been closed. He said some vendors have expired insurance and are not able to operate.

The doubles vendor also points out that ingredients such as split peas, channa and flour have seen their prices escalate, and it would be difficult for vendors who retail doubles at $4 to remain afloat.

However, Shayam Mohammed gave assurances that if he comes out to work this week, he would be following the strict protocols set down by the authorities for persons handling food. He said customers who insist on breaking the line or making nuisances of themselves, would not be served.

Meanwhile, roti shop owners say they were not as fortunate as larger establishments to get information that the ban would be lifted on Monday.

Speaking with Guardian Media, Darrien Penco, spokesman for Vanessa’s Kitchen at Cacandee Road in Felicity, said they have moved immediately to start clean-up operations and restocking.

Penco told us that had the announcement been made on Friday, small food vendors would have had ample time to restock and clean up.

The Vanessa’s Kitchen spokesman assured that his facility would be thoroughly sanitized by one crew, while another would be tasked with restocking the business.

Like Shayam Mohammed, Darrien Penco told us the last few weeks of stay-at-home orders have dealt a terrible blow to him and the three employees who work at Vanessa’s kitchen.

He revealed that no-one applied for the relief grants because they found the application process challenging. He also said they received little or no assistance from their local government representatives.

“We held it together and we took it day by day, until now,” Penco told Guardian Media.

The Vanessa’s Kitchen team is expected to offer a limited menu and consumers would have the option of a pick-up service.

Darrien Penco also reports they have seen a hike in food prices: dhal or split peas prices reportedly went up from $280 to just under $600 per 100 pounds; while garlic prices rose from $150 to $280 for a 25 pound bag.

Penco said his business would be operating at a very low profit margin for the foreseeable future.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/prices-f ... 7bb178b353

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 10:08 am

that is the trick with them chinese restaurant fry chicken

Dave wrote:Which might the the key, today may taste bad untill the oil cures lol
pugboy wrote:today will be one of few days you getting to taste bara made with fresh oil
savour it

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 10:27 am

In the article he specified people selling at $4 would be the ones seeeing problems
I don't know of any $4 doubles though

maj. tom wrote:This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.
So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now. And then the price will never go back down when all the goods prices normalize again. It's the Trini way.

Doubles vendors warn that the price of doubles may well be going up in the next week.

The warning comes in the wake of their complaints that prices for the basic ingredients for T&T’s favourite street food, have shot up in the last 6 weeks.
Popular Couva doubles vendor, Shayam Mohammed, told Guardian Media that the last six weeks have been disastrous for the industry, as the country was under stay-at-home orders for the COVID-19 pandemic. He said many persons involved in the doubles making process remained out of work and are yet to get any unemployment grant.

Shayam Mohammed said returning to serve the public would be difficult, since mobile doubles vendors, who operate out of the back of a van, may have to get their vehicles repaired and mechanics and tyre shops have been closed. He said some vendors have expired insurance and are not able to operate.

The doubles vendor also points out that ingredients such as split peas, channa and flour have seen their prices escalate, and it would be difficult for vendors who retail doubles at $4 to remain afloat.

However, Shayam Mohammed gave assurances that if he comes out to work this week, he would be following the strict protocols set down by the authorities for persons handling food. He said customers who insist on breaking the line or making nuisances of themselves, would not be served.

Meanwhile, roti shop owners say they were not as fortunate as larger establishments to get information that the ban would be lifted on Monday.

Speaking with Guardian Media, Darrien Penco, spokesman for Vanessa’s Kitchen at Cacandee Road in Felicity, said they have moved immediately to start clean-up operations and restocking.

Penco told us that had the announcement been made on Friday, small food vendors would have had ample time to restock and clean up.

The Vanessa’s Kitchen spokesman assured that his facility would be thoroughly sanitized by one crew, while another would be tasked with restocking the business.

Like Shayam Mohammed, Darrien Penco told us the last few weeks of stay-at-home orders have dealt a terrible blow to him and the three employees who work at Vanessa’s kitchen.

He revealed that no-one applied for the relief grants because they found the application process challenging. He also said they received little or no assistance from their local government representatives.

“We held it together and we took it day by day, until now,” Penco told Guardian Media.

The Vanessa’s Kitchen team is expected to offer a limited menu and consumers would have the option of a pick-up service.

Darrien Penco also reports they have seen a hike in food prices: dhal or split peas prices reportedly went up from $280 to just under $600 per 100 pounds; while garlic prices rose from $150 to $280 for a 25 pound bag.

Penco said his business would be operating at a very low profit margin for the foreseeable future.

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2020, 10:30 am

maj. tom wrote:So we entering a "$6 for a doubles" economy now.

by September (after Budget) I expecting 8 and 10 for a triples. Btw ah go still buy

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2020, 10:31 am

It have a few for $4, but their quality is generally poor, hence the lower price. Fewer sauces and half-assed channa and bara.

But then that's saying $5 was an over-inflated price for so many years... and we all know they're going to raise it to $6 now. Which is reasonable for what going on now. But how come the prices never go back down to reflect the market price of raw goods?

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2020, 10:36 am

maj. tom wrote:It have a few for $4, but their quality is generally poor, hence the lower price. Fewer sauces and half-assed channa and bara.

But then that's saying $5 was an over-inflated price for so many years... and we all know they're going to raise it to $6 now. Which is reasonable for what going on now. But how come the prices never go back down to reflect the market price of raw goods?

flour and channa(chick peas) is a commodity aka the price raises and drops based on market factors worldwide. being so close to the start of winter season (I know... ok don't fight meh down) the price will rise and NFM will pass cost to customers.

Postby mero » May 11th, 2020, 10:41 am

Never had a 100% consistent doubles anywhere tbh, even the good ones.

But biggest failure of doubles after taking 2nr recommendation is Franks (behind UWi doubles). Long line, piping hot , channa spread nice but pure failure, barely made it to eat a whole one.

And it have a old man in Arima outside Royal Castle that does cater for the late night drunk/munchies wanderers after KFC/RC close, 1 doubles and U sober up indeed

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 10:44 am

Worst doubles I have tasted is a woman who used to sell outside Tunapuna Market quite a while back.
Fat, doughy bara and not very tasty sauces. I think she is in the market now but it looks like she is part of a different setup.

At that point she was the only doubles you could get at 4am on a weekend and after liming when you want something to eat she was one of the few options around. We would buy but ask her for channa alone.

She never had a name on the box but we just referred to her as Cyat Doubles because once she told us her daughter was supposed to be there helping her but she gone to get she cyat scratch.

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2020, 10:47 am

I have had bad but Daren in Maraval always has ppl but never got what the hype was about, nothing I would buy in a hurry.

Postby Gladiator » May 11th, 2020, 11:06 am

You probably went there on a bad day....but that is one of the best doubles in Trinidad. Never see doubles sell out so fast...
mero wrote:Never had a 100% consistent doubles anywhere tbh, even the good ones.

But biggest failure of doubles after taking 2nr recommendation is Franks (behind UWi doubles). Long line, piping hot , channa spread nice but pure failure, barely made it to eat a whole one.

And it have a old man in Arima outside Royal Castle that does cater for the late night drunk/munchies wanderers after KFC/RC close, 1 doubles and U sober up indeed

Postby De Dragon » May 11th, 2020, 11:14 am

mero wrote:Never had a 100% consistent doubles anywhere tbh, even the good ones.

The closest to 100% consistency is the tants in Chase Village who sells from the tiny blue shed. Now, her doubles isn't for the thin yellow bara crew, but she is more traditional and her kutchela and pepper are to die for. My personal preference, as I really don't eat too many doubles, and I believe most people will state theirs, so your taste is your taste.
Last edited by De Dragon on May 11th, 2020, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2020, 11:44 am

maj. tom wrote:This is expected. People will complain and yak... and then buy 10 to go. Same with the KFC.

Quite a few places are already at $6...All ah dem in the airport(old and new) is $6

Postby hydroep » May 11th, 2020, 11:54 am

Left out a fella with top of the line doubles because he raised it to $ 6. Place does still be ram out though.

Regular doubles man back out today...business as usual...:|

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2020, 11:59 am

Red Cap airport doubles is HUGE though. $6 reflects that.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2020, 12:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:Red Cap airport doubles is HUGE though. $6 reflects that.

If I have to buy doubles these days, Red Cap is my go to. I know this guy personally, he will get my $ anytime just because of how CLEAN his place is at home and the standard he maintains when it comes to food preparation

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 12:08 pm

that is a stroke of genius eh
because all ah we home makers know that the tiny extra dough and stretching to make a bara bigger aint costing 20% more
and he just have to thicken sauce more to stretch it
once it tasting good the "bigger" cost factor is neither here nor there with the customer

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 11th, 2020, 1:06 pm

mero wrote:But biggest failure of doubles after taking 2nr recommendation is Franks (behind UWi doubles). Long line, piping hot , channa spread nice but pure failure, barely made it to eat a whole one.

one day i was passing by this character , line was short so i say lemme see what the long line does be all about.
so i reach and the mans say all i could get is a cup of channa.
i say no tenks and walk off.
man watch me like i cuss him yes.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 11th, 2020, 2:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

If I have to buy doubles these days, Red Cap is my go to. I know this guy personally, he will get my $ anytime just because of how CLEAN his place is at home and the standard he maintains when it comes to food preparation

I don't take away his cleanliness, etc and kudos to him for being there early o' clock to cater for those on the move before sunup but in my opinion, his standard dropped a bit. Bara got smaller and the channa a bit runny. Definitely not worth $6 again. Even the foot long pie ain't worth the $11/$12 anymore because that got smaller too. I know he has been dealing with a health issue and reeling from a recent robbery at the stand too so maybe that's why.
Last edited by d.d.s. on May 11th, 2020, 2:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Gladiator » May 11th, 2020, 2:23 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:
mero wrote:But biggest failure of doubles after taking 2nr recommendation is Franks (behind UWi doubles). Long line, piping hot , channa spread nice but pure failure, barely made it to eat a whole one.

one day i was passing by this character , line was short so i say lemme see what the long line does be all about.
so i reach and the mans say all i could get is a cup of channa.
i say no tenks and walk off.
man watch me like i cuss him yes.

Bro ... people come from all over to buy that cup of channa thing.... its da bomb.