Will there be Trinidad Carnival in 2021?

Re: Will there be Trinidad Carnival in 2021?

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 1:33 pm

The local Airbnb folks sucking salt now bad too.

Postby De Dragon » May 6th, 2020, 1:45 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Hotel occupancy was probably down due to rising Airbnb listings. But I know on the whole carnival visitors are becoming less and less. Multitude of reasons, it is rediculously expensive to play mas in Trinidad vs other islands. Better and cheaper flights, hotels in other places as well etc. Many other islands and places are gaining a lot from their carnivals. There is competition, we are definitely not a tourist friendly destination, hence why it's mainly the Trini dispora and other rich islanders who come here for mas.

We need to be better, we need more comfortable mas times, routes, later hours and sexier costumes. Other islands have some wicked parties and mas days. Many trinis already admitting Jamaica carnival could become better than ours.

Only thing that keeps us ahead is soca and our fetes. We are still the Carnival capital. But we are losing ground fast.

Many of you are not Carnival people, I get that. But there's a huge community involved in this and we do need your support, not negativity.

As for the money laundering, ZR should know better. It is very very hard to launder big money through fetes or mas compared to simply a few bars or casinos.

I know it's hard to measure the economic benefits of carnival. But given that it keeps so many people gainly employed and garners a lot of Forex for us, it can't be bad.

Lastly, them businesses who say they in a loss are doing so to avoid corporate taxes. But literally all businesses do so. They still end up paying taxes if they paid themselves big salaries though, remember that.
Probably the most accurate post here. Seems most of tuner are not mas people. Fine, may not be for you but don't bash it. There is a whole circular economy around it. It doesn't need the negativity from people like ZR etc.
I've played mas for over 15 years straight and enjoy all aspects of it. Yes the model isn't sustainable at this rate but it up to the various interests groups and stakeholders to set the path correct.
As with covid-19, it's highly unlikely there will be a carbival next year, but perhaps that is needed to set the industry on a better path.

It's not "fine" if MY tax is funding it :?
We have to get away from this "whey yuh go do?" mentality when it comes to this colossal money pits. Withhold/reduce the funding and see if it dies. Worked for the diesel/gas subsidies

Postby paid_influencer » May 6th, 2020, 1:47 pm

let that "circular economy" fund itself.

and please don't put the country at risk for some people to wine and fete

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2020, 1:58 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Hotel occupancy was probably down due to rising Airbnb listings. But I know on the whole carnival visitors are becoming less and less. Multitude of reasons, it is rediculously expensive to play mas in Trinidad vs other islands. Better and cheaper flights, hotels in other places as well etc. Many other islands and places are gaining a lot from their carnivals. There is competition, we are definitely not a tourist friendly destination, hence why it's mainly the Trini dispora and other rich islanders who come here for mas.

We need to be better, we need more comfortable mas times, routes, later hours and sexier costumes. Other islands have some wicked parties and mas days. Many trinis already admitting Jamaica carnival could become better than ours.

Only thing that keeps us ahead is soca and our fetes. We are still the Carnival capital. But we are losing ground fast.

Many of you are not Carnival people, I get that. But there's a huge community involved in this and we do need your support, not negativity.

As for the money laundering, ZR should know better. It is very very hard to launder big money through fetes or mas compared to simply a few bars or casinos.

I know it's hard to measure the economic benefits of carnival. But given that it keeps so many people gainly employed and garners a lot of Forex for us, it can't be bad.

Lastly, them businesses who say they in a loss are doing so to avoid corporate taxes. But literally all businesses do so. They still end up paying taxes if they paid themselves big salaries though, remember that.
Probably the most accurate post here. Seems most of tuner are not mas people. Fine, may not be for you but don't bash it. There is a whole circular economy around it. It doesn't need the negativity from people like ZR etc.
I've played mas for over 15 years straight and enjoy all aspects of it. Yes the model isn't sustainable at this rate but it up to the various interests groups and stakeholders to set the path correct.
As with covid-19, it's highly unlikely there will be a carbival next year, but perhaps that is needed to set the industry on a better path.
You both speak a lot of crap.

Carnival is a money laundering bussiness. Mass costumes are pre brought from where? Internet sales are from where. All this is one big cook book.

Carry on and live in a box

Postby toyolink » May 6th, 2020, 2:03 pm

All countries globally have to deal with the challenges covid19 has placed on us which include festivals and all events where the masses come together.
What must be observed is that not all people are comfortable with being subjected to herd type experiences and this is really about how we were trained to socialize.
The idea of people rubbing-up on each other and having intoxicated individuals bombarding you with liquid boulders in the name of fun, to many is absolutely abhorrent and down right nasty.
Today we now have to add possibility of a mad virus happily looking for victims and things get real iffy.
Globally our species now has to find a better way to celebrate our festivals and maybe this may very well be how it should have been from inception.
Our carnival produces fantastic products which include the music, the art, the parties and the possible coming together of every creed and race,
The work now must be how to bring it all together so that all can be safe and comfortable.
Imagine we have banned glass bottles for peoples safety, this move met with tremendous resistance years before.
Transformational imperatives are being forced on us and who don't hear go feel.

Will there be Trinidad Carnival in 2021?

Postby MaxPower » May 6th, 2020, 2:05 pm

If only Trinidadians would give Covid19 the same attention they give Carnival....

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2020, 2:12 pm

pugboy wrote:The local Airbnb folks sucking salt now bad too.

My father in law has 2 Airbnb apts and he is getting a lil small change from them as compensation

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2020, 2:27 pm

toyolink wrote:All countries globally have to deal with the challenges covid19 has placed on us which include festivals and all events where the masses come together.
What must be observed is that not all people are comfortable with being subjected to herd type experiences and this is really about how we were trained to socialize.
The idea of people rubbing-up on each other and having intoxicated individuals bombarding you with liquid boulders in the name of fun, to many is absolutely abhorrent and down right nasty.
Today we now have to add possibility of a mad virus happily looking for victims and things get real iffy.
Globally our species now has to find a better way to celebrate our festivals and maybe this may very well be how it should have been from inception.
Our carnival produces fantastic products which include the music, the art, the parties and the possible coming together of every creed and race,
The work now must be how to bring it all together so that all can be safe and comfortable.
Imagine we have banned glass bottles for peoples safety, this move met with tremendous resistance years before.

imagine we have a socially distanced parade by law where u can't come within 6 feet of any other person :roll:

or no parades or fetes and have spectatorless calypso & soca monarch

Postby Gladiator » May 6th, 2020, 2:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:
toyolink wrote:All countries globally have to deal with the challenges covid19 has placed on us which include festivals and all events where the masses come together.

imagine we have a socially distanced parade by law where u can't come within 6 feet of any other person :roll:

or no parades or fetes and have spectatorless calypso & soca monarch

Calypso Monarch and Dimarche Gras are both already "spectatorless"

Postby Country_Bookie » May 6th, 2020, 3:06 pm

That's for damned sure! Barbed wire is barbed wire! I know what I'm up against.... No rose without a thorn!... And the last thing I'll stand for is ideas to get the better of me! I know that rubbish from '18 ..., fraternity, equality, ..., freedom ..., beauty and dignity! You gotta use the right bait to hook 'em. And then, you're right in the middle of a parley and they say: Hands up! You're disarmed..., you republican voting swine!—No, let 'em keep their good distance with their whole ideological kettle of fish ... I shoot with live ammunition! When I hear the word culture ..., I release the safety on my Browning!"

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2020, 4:09 pm

Gladiator wrote:

well yuh see we halfway there already :D

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 6th, 2020, 6:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

well yuh see we halfway there already :D

no changes needed here

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 6th, 2020, 6:31 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:

Carnival is a money laundering bussiness. Mass costumes are pre brought from where? Internet sales are from where. All this is one big cook book.

ZR you usually right about many things, but big bands who you assume are raking in cash, have professional accountants, pay business taxes, are subject to audit and regulation by NCC. In fact, NCC requires a lot of paper work submissions.

I'm definitely not saying laundering isn't happening by some bands or promoters. But, it isn't easy and it's no set of big money they laundering here.

Why you think so many bands and promoters does buss? Look at Fantasy/Entice, one time a massive band, but they lost market share to to the others and now the closing up.

On another note ZR, UNC is far more supportive and associated with Carnival than PNM and the 1%, a bit confused as to why you try to hide this well known fact.

Postby paid_influencer » May 6th, 2020, 6:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I'm definitely not saying laundering isn't happening by some bands or promoters. But, it isn't easy and it's no set of big money they laundering here.

whatever helps you sleep at night bro

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 6:54 pm

no setta laundering happening eh

man willing to put he head on the block for them

paid_influencer wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:I'm definitely not saying laundering isn't happening by some bands or promoters. But, it isn't easy and it's no set of big money they laundering here.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 6th, 2020, 6:59 pm

pugboy wrote:no setta laundering happening eh

man willing to put he head on the block for them

paid_influencer wrote:

Lol all I saying is that it have much better ways to launder.

Postby eliteauto » May 6th, 2020, 7:03 pm

Many event promoters are approached by persons to deposit inflated sums into their bank accounts disguised as gate receipts, food and beverage sales etc. The sums are large, large enough that promoters are paid over $100K per augmented deposit.

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 7:06 pm

i have seen young chaps throwing big fetes
fetes on par with the big boys tribe etc
i could put my head on a block them boys don’t have that capital and somebody backing that money

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 6th, 2020, 7:13 pm

pugboy wrote:i have seen young chaps throwing big fetes
fetes on par with the big boys tribe etc
i could put my head on a block them boys don’t have that capital and somebody backing that money

Which fetes man? PM me if you afraid to mention it here.

Some of those young boys calling they self a promoter but really just wukking for someone else.

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2020, 7:22 pm

eliteauto wrote:Many event promoters are approached by persons to deposit inflated sums into their bank accounts disguised as gate receipts, food and beverage sales etc. The sums are large, large enough that promoters are paid over $100K per augmented deposit.
Yup this is true and the promoters and bands that say they buss or gone out of business all do this for a reason.

Carnival is rotten to the core and a cover up, buy there are folks on here that will never understand.

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 7:27 pm

that whole “event mgmt” industry is riddled with characters of questionable nature
and as all local parties are largely cash it’s easy washing

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2020, 7:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:

ZR you usually right about many things, but big bands who you assume are raking in cash, have professional accountants, pay business taxes, are subject to audit and regulation by NCC. In fact, NCC requires a lot of paper work submissions.

I'm definitely not saying laundering isn't happening by some bands or promoters. But, it isn't easy and it's no set of big money they laundering here.

Why you think so many bands and promoters does buss? Look at Fantasy/Entice, one time a massive band, but they lost market share to to the others and now the closing up.

On another note ZR, UNC is far more supportive and associated with Carnival than PNM and the 1%, a bit confused as to why you try to hide this well known fact.
Bro ,

Accountants are paid to hide money and cook the books for a loss. I know this for fact. Yes they paid taxes but taxes are not the issue.

Promoters cook things to go buss for a reason. It just a sidestep to keep unwanted eyes off the real bussines.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » May 6th, 2020, 7:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:all we could have is soca monarch and all competitions live stream, no gatherings would mean no fans, fetes, parades. wine and jam at home. unless there is a huge breakthrough in treatment (maybe the UV light?). but even so an influx of foreigners would not be possible as they would overrun our facilites

No greedy nasty soca artiste going to release any tune if they have no fetes to perform in and make maximum money out of their songs.

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2020, 7:28 pm

pugboy wrote:that whole “event mgmt” industry is riddled with characters of questionable nature
and as all local parties are largely cash it’s easy washing
Men just dont understand

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » May 6th, 2020, 8:40 pm

rspann wrote:We were certain about it this year and still held Carnival .

Lol point taken

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » May 6th, 2020, 9:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:

Bro ,

Accountants are paid to hide money and cook the books for a loss. I know this for fact. Yes they paid taxes but taxes are not the issue.

Promoters cook things to go buss for a reason. It just a sidestep to keep unwanted eyes off the real bussines.

I have to agree with ZR here. As I said before I don't mind the carnival and have enjoyed it, was even thinking to play in 2021 before this covid got heavy, and you cannot dent it's benefits...but what he is saying has validity. Just because you file your paper work, get audited, pay taxes etc doesn't mean you not laundering. I work with some of the best auditors and tax advisors in Trinidad, partners of some of the big firms Ey, PWC etc and trust me if your money right, they will guide you accordingly. I'm not saying they will help you launder lol, but will help you get around some loopholes. Actually in the scheme of things, the cleaner your organisation's operations are, the easier it is to launder. My 2 cents...

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2020, 9:36 pm

While dumb folk jump and wave, money is washed as looses and banked abroad.

There are high ranking goverment accountants and tax personnel who work on the side and advise on the methods to wash these carnival money. All these private and goverment accountants all work hand in hand with these carnival bussinesses.

TT is rotten to the core , but they pressure Ramlal and Quame when they deposit money for selling a lil car.

Those that believe money is not washed are stupid as fvck.

Postby brams112 » May 6th, 2020, 9:38 pm

Just imagine a VIP fete done,unlimited premium drinks did not finish,all that drinks does come on consignment,that don't ever go back but down the drain eh,because it will be paid for and I mean even chaser,water soft drinks ,who does that.Who stands by the door to count for sure how much people really enters?against tickets sales or gate receipts,money easy to launder in tnt.

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 10:02 pm

In Barbados the taxman does stand by the door to count ppl coming in the party.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2020, 2:16 pm

d6629a1f-8de7-406d-99c9-130bafcd24a2.jpg