COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 73 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2020, 12:54 pm

CMO said on podium, that there wasnt any significant increase in respiratory related deaths. dr hinds says that the numbers by them selves without passing tru an expert to process and digest and twist and turn, is reckless and deserving of admonishment

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 73 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 3rd, 2020, 6:58 pm

Went to do some essentials today.

Went Massy early, no one wiping carts, some employees wearing no masks or have it below the chin. When i left though, someone was now there wiping carts.....the damn Trini like he reach late smh.

Went to put gas, they have water down soap in the sinks.....sinks STINK AF like allyuh dont wash allyuh stinkness down after so it just splatter and stain all over...just like allyuh house.

Plenty establishments are rapidly relaxing their “New Normal” measures.....people are entering with no masks and not washing their hands/sanitizing before entering and no one is stopping them.

Allyuh go ahead.

Luck and GT is on allyuh side.

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2020, 7:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Went to do some essentials today.

Went Massy early, no one wiping carts, some employees wearing no masks or have it below the chin. When i left though, someone was now there wiping carts.....the damn Trini like he reach late smh.

Went to put gas, they have water down soap in the sinks.....sinks STINK AF like allyuh dont wash allyuh stinkness down after so it just splatter and stain all over...just like allyuh house.

Plenty establishments are rapidly relaxing their “New Normal” measures.....people are entering with no masks and not washing their hands/sanitizing before entering and no one is stopping them.

Allyuh go ahead.

Yeah boy Max... Trinidad real nasty... you should head back to Venezuela.

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2020, 8:13 pm

sMASH wrote:CMO said on podium, that there wasnt any significant increase in respiratory related deaths. dr hinds says that the numbers by them selves without passing tru an expert to process and digest and twist and turn, is reckless and deserving of admonishment

This site has some good info... https://www.worldlifeexpectancy.com/cau ... y-country/

Alarmingly, the countries that have usual high deaths due to influenza and respiratory illnesses are not the COVID epicenters yet. We might soon see these areas spiking...

Also Trinidad's deaths per 100000 persons is 25.74 which translates to ~360 deaths per year normally. From the link http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/498-pneu ... dd4411ed8f seems as though we had 478 respiratory related deaths in just 4 months Dec 2019 - March 2020. I aint no epidemiologist... but does this raise a flag?

Is it really so hard for the authorities to process this data...

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2020, 8:20 pm

F*K U!!
, sincerely Dr. Deyalsingh.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 3rd, 2020, 8:46 pm

You do realize we had about the same amount of deaths from December 2018 to March 2019 right...
Gladiator wrote:
sMASH wrote:CMO said on podium, that there wasnt any significant increase in respiratory related deaths. dr hinds says that the numbers by them selves without passing tru an expert to process and digest and twist and turn, is reckless and deserving of admonishment

This site has some good info... https://www.worldlifeexpectancy.com/cau ... y-country/

Alarmingly, the countries that have usual high deaths due to influenza and respiratory illnesses are not the COVID epicenters yet. We might soon see these areas spiking...

Also Trinidad's deaths per 100000 persons is 25.74 which translates to ~360 deaths per year normally. From the link http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/498-pneu ... dd4411ed8f seems as though we had 478 respiratory related deaths in just 4 months Dec 2019 - March 2020. I aint no epidemiologist... but does this raise a flag?

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2020, 9:11 pm

u hadda compare period of the year to the same period of the previous years. like how gg dem does do it. but i have no data for that. just the map as quoted above and the figure that mark bassant dug up.

if we could get a month by month for like since 2016 come up till april this year, then we coudl really talk. and u working with CoD on death certificate.

this adminstration is the least transparent of any, besides dictatorship.

Postby paid_influencer » May 3rd, 2020, 10:14 pm

another day, another 0 positive tests.

Down to only 15 active cases right now

No_Name

Postby No_Name » May 3rd, 2020, 10:29 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Very factual indeed, but it's easier for d authorities to process shifting of funds, quickly..

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2020, 10:53 pm

Post the data please... can't find anything to that kinda detail online. I would really like to compare month for month.

fokhan_96 wrote:You do realize we had about the same amount of deaths from December 2018 to March 2019 right...
Gladiator wrote:

Postby MaxPower » May 4th, 2020, 12:08 am

Gladiator wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Went to do some essentials today.

Allyuh go ahead.

Yeah boy Max... Trinidad real nasty... you should head back to Venezuela.

Aye thanks bro.

What about you and your countrymen? Hadda head back to standard 1 to learn basic hygiene. Allyuh making a mess here.

Keep safe toppy

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 4th, 2020, 2:05 am

Screenshot_20200504_020443.jpg

Gladiator wrote:Post the data please... can't find anything to that kinda detail online. I would really like to compare month for month.

fokhan_96 wrote:You do realize we had about the same amount of deaths from December 2018 to March 2019 right...
Gladiator wrote:

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 4th, 2020, 4:05 am

^^^ A blurry screenshot is the best we get from MOH? It's no where on health.gov.tt, and submissions to WHO seems to have stopped at 2017. Looks like that's MOH private data records. This kinda thing should be public domain, like on http://www.data.tt

Based on the Guardian data alone though, eyeballing it there seems to be a noticeable uptick in pneumonia and respiratory mortality between Feb and Mar, but that's only 3 or 4 data points; April should be telling. [perhaps guardian can get the updated data]

Dohplaydat wrote:Screenshot_20200504_020443.jpg

Gladiator wrote:Post the data please... can't find anything to that kinda detail online. I would really like to compare month for month.

Gladiator wrote:

Postby sMASH » May 4th, 2020, 7:57 am

nearly every wrong or bad decision, they could have taken advice from us

Postby Dizzy28 » May 4th, 2020, 9:16 am

Gladiator wrote:

Trinidad and Tobago has somewhere in the vicinity of 12,000+ deaths annually not 360.

Edit* Upon reading over the posts and links I would assume you are referring to deaths by Influenza and Pneumonia only as per the links.

Postby sMASH » May 4th, 2020, 9:39 am

360 is only the pneumonia attributed death. not the total death.

Postby paid_influencer » May 4th, 2020, 10:03 am

400+ surveillance tests, all negative

racy lady

Postby racy lady » May 4th, 2020, 10:10 am

Talking about masks...

racy lady

Postby racy lady » May 4th, 2020, 10:15 am

Postby sMASH » May 4th, 2020, 11:13 am

paid_influencer wrote:400+ surveillance tests, all negative
the official data says its nowhere...

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2020, 11:14 am

deal singh need a better fitting mask

Postby SMc » May 4th, 2020, 11:49 am

^^smaller head and face maybe?

Postby toyolink » May 4th, 2020, 4:07 pm

The mortality rates in T&T as a result of respiratory complications resulting from the 'flu' over the last few years have always been a cause of real unhappiness for me.
We must recall the many published news reports over the last couple of years which informed issues with our health care system inability to cope and the difficulties many faced to be warded and/or be treated.
There were even battles about the correct numbers of deaths.
I am hopeful that this pandemic will cause a reduction in the impact of the scourge of the flu we have had to deal with for years now and the attendant sadness many families endure.
Covid19 has been treated as a special project and we also need to have the authorities and citizens to treat with the prevalence of H1N1 with grave seriousness.
We have to universally clean-up our act!

Postby toyolink » May 4th, 2020, 4:07 pm

double post deleted.

Postby paid_influencer » May 4th, 2020, 10:12 pm

another day, another 0 new positive cases.

Also, we are down to 6 active cases in the whole country.

https://www.facebook.com/MinistryofHeal ... 004025051/

Postby Kenjo » May 4th, 2020, 10:32 pm

toyolink wrote:The mortality rates in T&T as a result of respiratory complications resulting from the 'flu' over the last few years have always been a cause of real unhappiness for me.
We must recall the many published news reports over the last couple of years which informed issues with our health care system inability to cope and the difficulties many faced to be warded and/or be treated.
There were even battles about the correct numbers of deaths.
I am hopeful that this pandemic will cause a reduction in the impact of the scourge of the flu we have had to deal with for years now and the attendant sadness many families endure.
Covid19 has been treated as a special project and we also need to have the authorities and citizens to treat with the prevalence of H1N1 with grave seriousness.
We have to universally clean-up our act!

Just to be clear do you mean the high number of people who don’t take the flu vaccine from the health centre and the system always has excess that have to throw away ?

Postby goalpost » May 4th, 2020, 11:56 pm

Nice work GORTT.

We go get a green highlight on Worldometer and join just 4 countries, right now, to have cleared all their cases.

Rowley and dem might still keep we home till May 15, because it go look foolish if they open back and immediately we start to get back cases.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2020, 12:20 am

According to the Harvard Global Health Institute, upon re-opening a country, they should have a testing rate at a MINIMUM of 1500 tests per million per day, which means we should be doing 2000 tests a day.

We have taken two months to do 2000 tests.....sigh.

Postby shogun » May 5th, 2020, 12:39 am

^Yup, that needed to be upped.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 5th, 2020, 12:48 am

Ppl fraid to get tested now cos nobody wants to get quarantined for a month and have the Ian Allen experience. Ppl with mild symptoms will just hope it goes away..... if it doesn't and they reach a critical stage, then they'll get tested.

So our numbers will likely remain low for a while, but it could be deceptive unless we're able to find some way to massively increase testing.