hydroep wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Heritage to stop exporting crude as prices crash to record lows
...Multiple sources at Heritage tell GML that the hope is that demand will pick up in the next sixty days, and with it global prices, as world economies start to reopen...
Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/heritage ... 2794ead34d
IIRC when the PNM assumed office certain "experts" predicted oil prices would recover within two years. Based on that appraisal, some believe the Government chose to ride out that period instead of moving steadfastly ahead with its diversification thrust.
Now 4 1/2 years later, sh!t hitting the fan and dem fellas still living on "hope"?...
Grate is the Pee oN deM yes...
hydroep wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Heritage to stop exporting crude as prices crash to record lows
...Multiple sources at Heritage tell GML that the hope is that demand will pick up in the next sixty days, and with it global prices, as world economies start to reopen...
IIRC when the PNM assumed office certain "experts" predicted oil prices would recover within two years. Based on that appraisal, some believe the Government chose to ride out that period instead of moving steadfastly ahead with its diversification thrust.
Now 4 1/2 years later, sh!t hitting the fan and dem fellas still living on "hope"?...
"Trinidad and Tobago, however is lucky if I should use that word, that our crude is what you call water-based crude, which means it can be exported to any part of the world by ship. Hence the reason, our price is pegged to Brent. We have two types of crude here, which is Heritage crude and BP crude, both of them are pegged to Brent."
The Energy Minister also confirmed that Heritage Petroleum is exploring its option and may stop exporting oil for the time.
"The price of Brent today is down $25. It is still not a comfortable price to be in and when we make our next shipment we will know what price we will be getting. You can only stop exporting up to the point at which you have storage capacity to keep the crude," he said.
Asked if Trinidad and Tobago should be worried by the developments, Khan said the country should be concerned.
"Yes, we should be worried. Everybody else in the world is worried. Trinidad and Tobago's revenue comes to a great extent from the energy sector. So as a country, we have to be concerned," he said.
So, as far as I understand it, this whole thing has happened because people were trading oil futures, which is the promise of future oil at a set point in time. That point in time arrived (is arriving soon?) at which point if you are holding a future you actually now own the oil and have to like, have it shipped to you and store it. Normally this would be fine, because people use oil and it's easy to sell so you can just immediately sell the oil, hopefully for more than you paid for it in your investment, and you don't ever actually come into contact with the oil. But now, because everybody is at home and factories are shut and nobody actually needs the oil, nobody wants the freaking stuff so all these investors are like 'what the firetruck am I going to do with 1000 barrels of oil I live in an apartment in Manhattan' and are desperately trying to get rid of it at any cost, to the point where they will actually now pay people to take the oil from them.
pugboy wrote:at the end of the day we are gonna be saving big on the diesel subsidy now
Redman wrote:pugboy wrote:at the end of the day we are gonna be saving big on the diesel subsidy now
Subject to the volumes required.
The US is enjoying low gas prices-but very little volumes are being used with the Covid shut down.
De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would so love to hear Imbert's take on this
1) Blame Kamla
2) Raid HSF more
3) Use it as an excuse to borrow more money
4) Tax us into oblivion
paid_influencer wrote:From the Minister of Energy:"Trinidad and Tobago, however is lucky if I should use that word, that our crude is what you call water-based crude, which means it can be exported to any part of the world by ship. Hence the reason, our price is pegged to Brent. We have two types of crude here, which is Heritage crude and BP crude, both of them are pegged to Brent."
The Energy Minister also confirmed that Heritage Petroleum is exploring its option and may stop exporting oil for the time.
"The price of Brent today is down $25. It is still not a comfortable price to be in and when we make our next shipment we will know what price we will be getting. You can only stop exporting up to the point at which you have storage capacity to keep the crude," he said.
Asked if Trinidad and Tobago should be worried by the developments, Khan said the country should be concerned.
"Yes, we should be worried. Everybody else in the world is worried. Trinidad and Tobago's revenue comes to a great extent from the energy sector. So as a country, we have to be concerned," he said.
https://www.looptt.com/content/energy-m ... oil-prices
You hitting real hard dey,shake d livin wake d dead wrote:You aint fedup talk about them stale points...you listed 7...Id give you 5 alone
1: billions of red house, paula house and rowley house
2: billions on highways only for financiers to benefit and nothing for citizens. Nothing has been completed
3: pay faris 60+ million for buildings that benefit the public how?
4: 100 milli fake oil, 90 mili lara stadium
5: spent more than kamla in 5 years and have nothing to show for it...give we something to talk about nuh
randolphinshan wrote:De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would so love to hear Imbert's take on this
1) Blame Kamla
2) Raid HSF more
4) Tax us into oblivion
Or
1.Spend a billion dollars on a wastewater treatment plant that his not produced a single drop of water
2.Raid NGC BILLIONS
3. Pay 34 million to a Life sport employee for not a second work
4. Cost taxpayers millions in court compensation for an ill advised SOE
5. Spend 6 million to wreck a 2 million dollars water tender
6. Spend billions in box drain and Penal still flooding
7.Etc
mrtrini45 wrote:randolphinshan wrote:De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would so love to hear Imbert's take on this
1) Blame Kamla
2) Raid HSF more
4) Tax us into oblivion
Or
1.Spend a billion dollars on a wastewater treatment plant that his not produced a single drop of water
2.Raid NGC BILLIONS
7.Etc
Man still talking about this
The_Honourable wrote:mrtrini45 wrote:randolphinshan wrote:De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would so love to hear Imbert's take on this
1) Blame Kamla
2) Raid HSF more
4) Tax us into oblivion
Or
2.Raid NGC BILLIONS
7.Etc
Man still talking about this
The $20 from balisier house come thru.
Btw guy smiley say to chill, dey have everything under control.
doh frighten...
Redman wrote:Check the financials of some of the local producers-they benchmark to brent.
xtech wrote:C7606366-D05D-4243-A1BF-F2D5C253C9FA.jpeg
Quick reaction....
gastly369 wrote:If we only had something like ah refinery or some.. Oh wait.... Nvm
I am neither here nor there when it comes to politics nor do I think that this thread is the appropriate forum to do so. But at the end of the day all governments steal (whether you find out about it or not is always the question). What I personally look at is what trickles down amidst the greed and nepotism that the tax payers may actually benefit from.randolphinshan wrote:De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would so love to hear Imbert's take on this
1) Blame Kamla
2) Raid HSF more
4) Tax us into oblivion
Or
2.Raid NGC BILLIONS
7.Etc
elec2020 wrote:Redman wrote:Check the financials of some of the local producers-they benchmark to brent.
Can you kindly provide links of these reports that go into budget decisions
sMASH wrote:gastly369 wrote:If we only had something like ah refinery or some.. Oh wait.... Nvm
hey, thats my line. lol