COVID ends $80m prisoner transport contract, as courtrooms go to jails ... & now Somebody Providing Ankle Bracelets

Postby Rovin » April 17th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi has announced the establishment of virtual courtrooms at the nation’s prisons.
This, he said, will bring an end to prisoner transport service which cost the state approximately $80 million a year.

The virtual court system will begin next week, he said.

Speaking at the daily media briefing to update citizens on the COVID-19 coronavirus today, Al-Rawi said the said the virtual courtrooms will be a permanent fixture in the judicial system.

He said 12 virtual courts will be set up at the prisons, including Golden Grove, Maximum Security Prison, Eastern Correctional and Rehabilitation Centre, Woman’s Prison, Frederick Street and Youth Training and Rehabilitation Centre.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/covid- ... b1773.html
Last edited by Rovin on April 28th, 2020, 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: COVID ends $80m prisoner transport contract, as courtrooms go to jails ...

Postby The_Honourable » April 17th, 2020, 7:22 pm

Local black activists was turning up the heat on social media about Aboud eating ah food from that prisoner contract.

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2020, 7:25 pm

Just give him a next contract for something else. Something bigger though .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 17th, 2020, 8:03 pm

That 80m will find its way still....doh beat up

Snyper

Postby Snyper » April 17th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Stay woke

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2020, 10:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Local black activists was turning up the heat on social media about Aboud eating ah food from that prisoner contract.
And so they should.

All this time, those contracts should be cancelled.

The courts should have always been held in jails.

Cheaper for court officials to go the jails. Just give them traveling allowances so they can eat a food too.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 17th, 2020, 10:07 pm

Dont they have heritage now ?

Postby Rovin » April 17th, 2020, 10:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That 80m will find its way still....doh beat up

yup security is always a high demand business so when 1 door closes other doors will open ...

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2020, 11:01 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Local black activists was turning up the heat on social media about Aboud eating ah food from that prisoner contract.

link?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2020, 11:55 pm

$80 mil a year works out to much per trip?

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2020, 12:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:$80 mil a year works out to much per trip?

Assuming 200 working days a year and 10 trips a day.... that's $40k per trip

I pull them figures out ah mih jockey shorts eh... so doh kill mih... :oops:

matix

Postby matix » April 18th, 2020, 12:41 am

Gladiator wrote:

What brand jockey shorts?

Postby The_Honourable » April 18th, 2020, 12:52 am

eliteauto wrote:

link?

After he made this public, it started to gain momentum back in 2018.

Postby zoom rader » April 18th, 2020, 1:22 am

The_Honourable wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

link?

After he made this public, it started to gain momentum back in 2018.

They gonna be place on the PNM blackout list. Elite will report them

Postby stev » April 18th, 2020, 1:59 am

Gladiator wrote:

not bad figures IMO...well done

i guess someone will correct us eventually...

Postby zoom rader » April 18th, 2020, 2:25 am

Just think these 1% pest got $800milliion in the space of 10 years.

What have they given back to this country and citizens.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 18th, 2020, 6:57 am

Dem Judge done driving Tax free vehicles with allowance....
And so they should.

All this time, those contracts should be cancelled.

The courts should have always been held in jails.

Cheaper for court officials to go the jails. Just give them traveling allowances so they can eat a food too.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 18th, 2020, 7:38 am

Gladiator wrote:

still have to divide by number of courts, which is 13 magistrate courts plus 2 high court and it have some other special courts. Also sometime trips are shared depending on prisoner load, ex: one bus may carry prisoners to siparia magistrate court and go down point after to drop some more other times siparia alone can fill a bus.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 18th, 2020, 7:59 am

The Prisons Services have green branded 24 seater buses from since I small. Why not use those? If the excuse is, they too old and outdated then buy new ones!

Amalgamated has this contract for how long? Over a decade? That's approx $1B dollars folks. Nothing to show for it. That money could build another airport without any corruption.

If procurement and funds is the problem then make those soldiers in the regiment work instead of washing car, working out and playing football during the day. The TTR has 24 seater buses in their arsenal. Let them drive prisoners for crying out loud.

People dying, suffering, hungry and PNM grass roots supporters really need jobs, food and education. You know how much a billion dollars could do for them? Which will actually cause these people to turn away from crime and actually be productive which is the goal right?

The trini Economist who lectures at a UK university mentioned last night on CNC3 that the govt for 4.5 yrs focusing on the "economic elite" instead of the populace. And mr man is not looking like a UNC supporter to me. Wake up people.

wing

Postby wing » April 18th, 2020, 9:08 am

zoom rader wrote:Just think these 1% pest got $800milliion in the space of 10 years.

You call them pest. I see it as simply good business. Once again the one percenters continue to benefit from the intellectual defeciencies of the Indians and Africans. While Indo and Afro focus on race , the 1% smiling all the way.

Postby The_Honourable » April 18th, 2020, 12:18 pm

agent007 wrote:The trini Economist who lectures at a UK university mentioned last night on CNC3 that the govt for 4.5 yrs focusing on the "economic elite" instead of the populace. And mr man is not looking like a UNC supporter to me. Wake up people.

That's typical politics in Trinidad. The first 3 1/2 - 4 years focusing and benefiting party financiers while the remaining year is mamaguy and distributing crumbs all the way to election day. Rinse and repeat.

wing wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Just think these 1% pest got $800milliion in the space of 10 years.

You call them pest. I see it as simply good business. Once again the one percenters continue to benefit from the intellectual defeciencies of the Indians and Africans. While Indo and Afro focus on race , the 1% smiling all the way.

Agreed. People can argue on morals and ethics which is fine, but they simply took advantages of the opportunities and gained more power. Even when we do recognize what they are doing, we just talk about it and don't do anything. Massa chicken closed temporarily and we were in a frenzy. 1% have the majority by the balls.

Postby zoom rader » April 18th, 2020, 12:49 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
agent007 wrote:The trini Economist who lectures at a UK university mentioned last night on CNC3 that the govt for 4.5 yrs focusing on the "economic elite" instead of the populace. And mr man is not looking like a UNC supporter to me. Wake up people.

That's typical politics in Trinidad. The first 3 1/2 - 4 years focusing and benefiting party financiers while the remaining year is mamaguy and distributing crumbs all the way to election day. Rinse and repeat.

wing wrote:

Agreed. People can argue on morals and ethics which is fine, but they simply took advantages of the opportunities and gained more power. Even when we do recognize what they are doing, we just talk about it and don't do anything. Massa chicken closed temporarily and we were in a frenzy. 1% have the majority by the balls.
I have been something.

I keep telling you all don't support these people or buy or do any bussiness with them.

These scum are fueled by the 99%.

Then there are those that want to argue that they provide employment, their pay and working conditions are nearly slavery.

Those that support these arguments are the ones with PNM contracts and gain from PNM.

Stop giving these scum your money, support local folk. Local folk keep our money in TT. These scum export the money in US abroad. When the bubble burst they fly out but you are I are left here with nothing.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2020, 2:57 pm

Taught was me alone who heard the economist last night....I nearly spit out meh food yes...man hit them for ah 12.

Postby zoom rader » April 18th, 2020, 3:08 pm

agent007 wrote:The Prisons Services have green branded 24 seater buses from since I small. Why not use those? If the excuse is, they too old and outdated then buy new ones!

Amalgamated has this contract for how long? Over a decade? That's approx $1B dollars folks. Nothing to show for it. That money could build another airport without any corruption.

If procurement and funds is the problem then make those soldiers in the regiment work instead of washing car, working out and playing football during the day. The TTR has 24 seater buses in their arsenal. Let them drive prisoners for crying out loud.

People dying, suffering, hungry and PNM grass roots supporters really need jobs, food and education. You know how much a billion dollars could do for them? Which will actually cause these people to turn away from crime and actually be productive which is the goal right?

The trini Economist who lectures at a UK university mentioned last night on CNC3 that the govt for 4.5 yrs focusing on the "economic elite" instead of the populace. And mr man is not looking like a UNC supporter to me. Wake up people.

But as usally the PNM ppl to dumb to see this.

Dem elite pnm ppl milking it and they would try and convince you dem is all for small ppl. These elite scum only care about filling thier pockets.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 18th, 2020, 3:41 pm

agent007 wrote:The Prisons Services have green branded 24 seater buses from since I small. Why not use those? If the excuse is, they too old and outdated then buy new ones!

Dem elite pnm ppl milking it and they would try and convince you dem is all for small ppl. These elite scum only care about filling thier pockets.

You are one dunce biased clown. When Kamla was there she was sucking up to these very same people so what sh*t ya talking. You know how much UNC ppl always trying to gain favours with that community. Don't talk what you don't know.

Plus when Kamla was there all the contracts went to SIS. Where the SIS money gone? Billion dollar waste water treatment plant with nothing to show for it. Where the money ya dunce? Kamla had sooo much opportunity to fundamentally change this country. She had a constitutional majority ffs and she squandered it. Failure of a woman.

Trinidad's problem is not the 1%. Trinidad's problem is the parasitic oligarchies that benefit from our weak political system. Trinis too mentally weak and insecure. Everybody wanna boycott but everyone want to drink that cat piss of a beer when is time for cricket.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2020, 4:08 pm

As bad as we view the 1%....like it or not, trinidad needs them...they have employed thousands and dont forget their underground activities is what driving this nation

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2020, 4:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:As bad as we view the 1%....like it or not, trinidad needs them...they have employed thousands and dont forget their underground activities is what driving this nation

The only thing I blame them for is not taking over the running of this country... take it out of the hands of the incompetent PNM and UNC and run this country like a business. Make it profitable and prosperous..... fedup see Rowley and Kamala on TV

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2020, 4:40 pm

I honestly doh have a problem with that...they already running it from behind the scenes, why not do it from the front now?

Postby zoom rader » April 18th, 2020, 5:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:

You are one dunce biased clown. When Kamla was there she was sucking up to these very same people so what sh*t ya talking. You know how much UNC ppl always trying to gain favours with that community. Don't talk what you don't know.

Plus when Kamla was there all the contracts went to SIS. Where the SIS money gone? Billion dollar waste water treatment plant with nothing to show for it. Where the money ya dunce? Kamla had sooo much opportunity to fundamentally change this country. She had a constitutional majority ffs and she squandered it. Failure of a woman.

Trinidad's problem is not the 1%. Trinidad's problem is the parasitic oligarchies that benefit from our weak political system. Trinis too mentally weak and insecure. Everybody wanna boycott but everyone want to drink that cat piss of a beer when is time for cricket.
The trini Economist who lectures at a UK university who made the statement is a dunce?

UNC not running this county but PNM is and it is their opptunity to correct the problems of the past from mostly PNM governments and the little fill in between goverments.

Postby zoom rader » April 18th, 2020, 5:51 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I honestly doh have a problem with that...they already running it from behind the scenes, why not do it from the front now?
Cause they can't win an election.

Look at PEP