COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

nismotrinidappa

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 112 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 11th, 2020, 6:44 pm

I feel it could extend a two weeks just to be safe.. it hard but I don't really want a 2nd outbreak

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2020, 7:03 pm

bgh wrote:UWI link

http://bit.ly/mcovid-TT

Nice!

Screenshot 2020-04-11 at 7.02.35 PM.jpg

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2020, 7:06 pm

so, MoH releasing data... useful data. both maps kinda covering it.

Postby MaxPower » April 11th, 2020, 7:13 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I feel it could extend a two weeks just to be safe.. it hard but I don't really want a 2nd outbreak

Hello nismotrinidappa,

Lets say we so extend two week, and we get a 2nd outbreak, do you think the country can go through another semi-lockdown?

Can you imagine the immense crowding when the country fully opens up? Remember Trinis will learn norhing from this and their immediate action when the “chain buss” is to flee, flock and swarm all these establishments uncontrollably regardless of the Govt advising to practice social distancing as a precaution. And then to close borders again, close up shops, panic buying and hoarding all over again...

i think we might reach a stage where we cannot afford or control multiple shut downs and we will just take it as it come. Who immune immune, who who infected infected. Just like dengue and aids etc

What are your thoughts?

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2020, 7:19 pm

lets wait and see what a week of surveillance data uncovers. if is hell or if rowley had it under control.

Postby 88sins » April 11th, 2020, 8:08 pm

sMASH wrote:lets wait and see what a week of surveillance data uncovers. if is hell or if rowley had it under control.

I suspect that when we start that bout of testing that's when we'll see a spike in infected people. Particularly in south.

Postby Redman » April 11th, 2020, 8:21 pm

Once new cases admitted to hospital stays at these levels ...I’m encouraged.

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2020, 8:39 pm

sMASH wrote:lets wait and see what a week of surveillance data uncovers. if is hell or if rowley had it under control.

I suspect that when we start that bout of testing that's when we'll see a spike in infected people. Particularly in south.

and without a significant rise in respiratory deaths, that would be a good thing. cause it means, we're developing herd immunity. cause people have it, but not much severe cases.

but, would really like to get a report on the respiratory cases, change from the year before, like what the ttps uses to show from the previous year's quarter, to show a possibility of undiagnosed covids.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 8:44 pm

hoping for herd immunity don’t help old folks and those with under lying health issues

we already have obesity relative problems at a national level

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2020, 8:44 pm

the CMO said some time back that there were not that many re-tests. I'm thinking those 3 new cases were positive for some time now, but were not tested since the initial entry to Balandra.

wing

Postby wing » April 11th, 2020, 8:50 pm

sMASH wrote:

and without a significant rise in respiratory deaths, that would be a good thing. cause it means, we're developing herd immunity. cause people have it, but not much severe cases.

but, would really like to get a report on the respiratory cases, change from the year before, like what the ttps uses to show from the previous year's quarter, to show a possibility of undiagnosed covids.
What will you do with such a report? Are you in a position to influence govt policy? Or are you a research fellow or searching for a vaccine? Or you must be an epidemiologist or expert in infectious diseases. Please enlighten us. Thanks in advance.

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2020, 8:56 pm

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

What will you do with such a report? Are you in a position to influence govt policy? Or are you a research fellow or searching for a vaccine? Or you must be an epidemiologist or expert in infectious diseases. Please enlighten us. Thanks in advance.

yes.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 9:06 pm

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

I believe that what you are looking for is new cases along with a number on the population that has born previously infected but not tested.

Current local tests look for the presence of the virus. You will want to look for antibodies also.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2020, 9:23 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I feel it could extend a two weeks just to be safe.. it hard but I don't really want a 2nd outbreak

Hello nismotrinidappa,

Lets say we so extend two week, and we get a 2nd outbreak, do you think the country can go through another semi-lockdown?

Can you imagine the immense crowding when the country fully opens up? Remember Trinis will learn norhing from this and their immediate action when the “chain buss” is to flee, flock and swarm all these establishments uncontrollably regardless of the Govt advising to practice social distancing as a precaution. And then to close borders again, close up shops, panic buying and hoarding all over again...

i think we might reach a stage where we cannot afford or control multiple shut downs and we will just take it as it come. Who immune immune, who who infected infected. Just like dengue and aids etc

What are your thoughts?

Yes

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » April 11th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Cmo resign?

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2020, 10:00 pm

aspsounds wrote:Cmo resign?

It cyar be easy to be a CMO under these circumstances

Postby maj. tom » April 11th, 2020, 10:09 pm

what?
Don't post things like that without a link! Have enough fake news on this topic.

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » April 11th, 2020, 10:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2794291 ... 769832015/

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2020, 10:19 pm

aspsounds wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2794291 ... 769832015/

tv8 news :drinking:

Postby Gem_in_i » April 11th, 2020, 10:24 pm

Just a few hours ago the CMO was touring health facilities with the PM.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 11th, 2020, 10:31 pm

Unconfirmed news indicate that the CMO jump ship...my sauce is not tv8 news btw

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2020, 10:34 pm

word on fb is that the letter not getting accepted till the 30th.

i always thought it silly to not accept a resig letter, cause,, if i say i gone, i gone. that letter is just to let u balance ur manpower.

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2020, 10:37 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Just a few hours ago the CMO was touring health facilities with the PM.

yup. big press event.

https://www.facebook.com/drkeithrowley/ ... 1187225259
https://www.facebook.com/drkeithrowley/ ... 5540639037

The CMO, as part of his job, has to agree with all the politicians in the room, but I can't say he must like it. one day far in the future we'll find out what went on behind the scenes.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 11th, 2020, 10:45 pm

At some point in time your conscience must bother you

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2020, 10:51 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:At some point in time your conscience must bother you

maybe he collect a teacup :drinking:

Postby supercharged turbo » April 11th, 2020, 11:16 pm

I love how the Minister of Health wearing that mask.It just shows the proper technique he has been preaching all along.

Postby zoom rader » April 12th, 2020, 1:35 am

Postby MaxPower » April 12th, 2020, 2:12 am

^ Our borders are closed.

Examples must be made.

Stay strong Stuarty.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 12th, 2020, 4:18 am

7.8 billion people in the world, 1.7 million infected. 7,800,000,000 and 1,700,000. how can the WHO create all dis panic when it is not doing much damage to the world population as a whole. bunch ah propaganda to get everyone to take the poison they calling vaccine and for some reason to get everyone inside during resurrection of christ or when the asteroid passes month end. we just pawns in all this sheit.

Postby hydroep » April 12th, 2020, 4:43 am

Nice. They could make the bar graph even more informative by having separate indicators for the sex of the deceased. I believe the ratio of male to female deaths currently stands at 3:1.

sMASH wrote:so, MoH releasing data... useful data. both maps kinda covering it.

Last edited by hydroep on April 12th, 2020, 5:41 am, edited 1 time in total.