COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 6:10 pm

so they say we at a tipping point due to the fact that the 20000 ppl who came into the country the past 2 weeks would now be showing symptoms- so expect a surge in cases and be extra vigilant when making the grocery run.

Postby j.o.e » March 27th, 2020, 6:14 pm

aaron17 wrote:I called the police station and they said I dont need papers to show them when going to drop someone to work. So what really going on dread?

Nobody gonna beat you and lock you up for dropping someone to work. If you’re transporting an essential worker obviously you will get a bligh. The idea is to to regulate yourself and not just be breezing all over doing nothing. Head out to do critical things, go back home. If there is nothing critical, stay home.
For example I work in an essential industry and have authorization to be in office and move around but I can function at home perfectly, I haven’t been to the office for 3 weeks and counting.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2020, 6:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:so they say we at a tipping point due to the fact that the 20000 ppl who came into the country the past 2 weeks would now be showing symptoms- so expect a surge in cases and be extra vigilant when making the grocery run.

It was here before that, but them combined with the community transfer that is happening for sure will lead to a surge of new cases over the next few weeks.

The exponential increase that we anticipate is going to happen approximately a 3 to 4 weeks and last at least a month (not the increase, but top of the curve).

Postby pugboy » March 27th, 2020, 6:28 pm

church have underground parking so u can’t tell how many ppl inside but i hearing the singing

pugboy wrote:is there a number to call to report church still operating ?

Good job bro.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 27th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:so they say we at a tipping point due to the fact that the 20000 ppl who came into the country the past 2 weeks would now be showing symptoms- so expect a surge in cases and be extra vigilant when making the grocery run.

It was here before that, but them combined with the community transfer that is happening for sure will lead to a surge of new cases over the next few weeks.

The exponential increase that we anticipate is going to happen approximately a 3 to 4 weeks and last at least a month.

This will only be true if they are tested (since apparently only "official" figures count). In my personal opinion, we should have been testing people outside of travel history since day 1. I fully understand that we could not facilitate such due to limited access to medical testing resources and capabilities and as a third world country I expected nothing more. But this scenario in itself is part of the reason why by nature we will always be a cure rather than prevention country.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 6:35 pm

killercow wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Anyone see a 4pm update?

I waiting also. Looking like one update a day now :|

Numbers too low for Trinis to care bro...

More like the PM, Ministers etc following their own advice. I'm sure if any drastic situation occurs( and if KPB doesn't let it out first :? ) we'll have an unscheduled presser.

More than likely.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 6:37 pm

pugboy wrote:church have underground parking so u can’t tell how many ppl inside but i hearing the singing

pugboy wrote:is there a number to call to report church still operating ?

Good job bro.

Call the cops puggy,

Dont forget to take times and names when you call.

See the response time and if unacceptable, take the matter to GG.

Let us know.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2020, 6:42 pm

According to the World Health Organisation you can spread the virus even if you have no symptoms or still within the incubation period.
https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detai ... onaviruses

Also there are cases of incubation periods of over 42 days. The first Covid-29 related death in T&T was over 30 days according to the newspaper reports.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 27th, 2020, 6:44 pm

Something amiss for us not to get the day's 2nd update,? Shakes the man with the insider info what say you?

racy lady

Postby racy lady » March 27th, 2020, 6:50 pm

A video shows the lungs of a man who had been asymptomatic a few days earlier.

Now, the patient has Covid-19 and his lungs are failing to function properly, said Dr. Keith Mortman, the chief of thoracic surgery at George Washington University Hospital. The Washington, D.C., hospital recently released a 3D video of the coronavirus patient's lungs.

The imagery shows extensive damage to the lungs of a generally healthy 59-year-old male with high blood pressure, Mortman said. Since becoming seriously ill, the patient requires a ventilator to help him breathe, but even on the highest setting, it's not enough. He also needs another machine that circulates and then oxygenates his blood, Mortman said.

"This is not a 70, 80-year-old immunosuppressed, diabetic patient," Mortman said. "Other than high blood pressure, he has no other significant medical issues. This is a guy who's minding his own business and gets it ... If we were to repeat the 360VR images now, that is one week later, there is a chance that the infection and inflammatory process could be worse."

The patient remains in critical condition in the ICU.

"For these patients who essentially present in progressive respiratory failure, the damage to the lungs is rapid and widespread (as evidenced in the VR video)," Mortman said in an email. "Unfortunately, once damaged to this degree, the lungs can take a long time to heal. For approximately 2-4% (depending on which numbers you believe) of patients with Covid-19, the damage is irreversible and they will succumb to the disease."

The coronavirus is primarily respiratory in nature. It "gets into the mucus membranes, and then it's in the lung. The way the body tries to control that is with inflammation," Mortman said.

The yellow marks both infection and inflammation. "So you get this pretty strong inflammatory process in the lungs in the body's attempt to control the infection," Mortman said.

The images suggest that the words to describe common symptoms -- coughing and shortness of breath -- can't really capture the impact of the virus on the body.

In some people, Mortman said, the damage will be irreversible -- making it imperative that Americans heed advice on social distancing and self-isolation.

"I want people to see this and understand what this can do," Mortman said. "People need to take this seriously."

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2020, 6:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I called the police station and they said I dont need papers to show them when going to drop someone to work. So what really going on dread?

the list is pretty exhaustive. Yuh could tell them you going to cut grass for a small change and that is covered under the legislation.

that said, it is up to the discretion of the officer. If he doubts you, he'll ask to see your whacker or the address you are going to. you could lie again but at some point you would get ketch.

I personally not going anywhere unless necessary. Some of the officer out there are not pleasant people to interact with.

the list again:
https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 1033905610

A few things about that "essential" services list.
1)Almost all previous places can open it seems
2)Refinery operations are covered :lol:
3)Construction workers on healthcare facilities and the Curepe Interchange :?

linton

Postby linton » March 27th, 2020, 6:56 pm

Redress10 wrote:
linton wrote:People giving good info here , but their posts being spoilt by comments like 'uneducated jackarse' and other insults. These so called educated ones have no training . They getting on just like the ministers who come to give info but using tones and voices that are unbecoming. I listened to the Bajan Ag this morning and was pleasantly surprised by his language and demeanour.

Some people here don't care about facts bro. They only care to spread misinformation to cause uncertainty and panic. Need a strong response in case anyone reading what they writing and taking it as fact.

You and boxy doing an excellent job , but the behaviour not compatible . Carry on.

racy lady

Postby racy lady » March 27th, 2020, 7:09 pm

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/27/uk/coronavirus-uk-hospitals-masks-gbr-intl/index.html

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson said last Sunday that the UK is only "two or three" weeks behind Italy, and warned that its National Health Service (NHS) could be "overwhelmed" by the virus, like its continental European counterparts.

Chris Hopson, head of NHS Providers, which represents hospital administrators, said London was facing a "continuous tsunami" of coronavirus patients.

The virus appears to impact older people much harder than younger patients. But Lloyd, the north London doctor, told CNN that 30-year-olds were among the seriously ill patients he saw this week, whose x-rays "look like a bomb had gone off on either side of their chest."

Health workers are falling sick, or having to self-isolate due to someone in their household displaying flu-like symptoms, even before the expected surge of UK infections. The problem is made worse by the lack of available testing to help determine if they have the virus or have developed immunity to it. On Friday, the BBC reported that a doctor in Essex, outside London, died after showing "textbook signs" of the virus.

The government says testing capacity is being ramped up but health workers say it has not happened fast enough. Collins, who is 28, spent Tuesday morning writing his will after it was announced that 23 Italian doctors had died since the outbreak started. That toll increased to 37 on Wednesday, according to the Italian federation of doctors.

Frontline workers have had to rely on models, rather than testing data, to help estimate the surge in caseload in the coming weeks. Parmar, from DAUK, said Britain had "abandoned testing in the community so we really don't know what our population contamination and infection rates are."

"Think about it, we are testing between 8,000 and 10,000 patients a day -- but we need to be in the hundreds of thousands by now, and the UK has had a head start, we knew this [virus] was coming," Parmar said

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2020, 7:15 pm

50,000 tests a day, and america tops the charts for confirmed cases.
they were testing earlier, with kits that weren't giving reliable results, and they were good, they had very few confirmed cases.

keep ur head buried in the sand like a good sheep, and pray the non travel history, asymptomatic person in front u in the grocery didnt touch up the same snacks u gonna take up after.

u cant fight an enemy u do not detect. all u can do is hide and pray they dont find u.

linton

Postby linton » March 27th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Just heard on the news that the rapid test kits used in the US are faulty and are being returned . Trinidad is using a different type though .

What's the story on the media saying the MOH lost his cool . They retracted but didn't say what was said .

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 7:45 pm

Hello lipton,

U have flow?
Last edited by MaxPower on March 27th, 2020, 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

linton

Postby linton » March 27th, 2020, 7:45 pm

I just read in the energy sector thread that the PM met today with the VP of Venezuela to discuss Covid19 plans . Aren't the borders completely closed for our protection ?

Was she tested or quarantined ? Couldn't they video conference ? Wow , I guess the rules CAN be changed.

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2020, 7:46 pm

FB_IMG_1585352753132.jpeg
FB_IMG_1585352757420.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » March 27th, 2020, 8:06 pm

9 tests between reporting doesn't seem like a ramping up

abbow

Postby abbow » March 27th, 2020, 8:09 pm

Heard from a DMO today that the reason the Gov only wants Carpha to do testing is to keep control on the real numbers who have been infected since carnival. :? :?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 27th, 2020, 8:13 pm

According to the World Health Organisation you can spread the virus even if you have no symptoms or still within the incubation period.
https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detai ... onaviruses

Also there are cases of incubation periods of over 42 days. The first Covid-29 related death in T&T was over 30 days according to the newspaper reports.

Those cases tend to be anecdotal because they are based on when a patient believes he or she may have been infected.
Realistically it's a different story but medicine and testing needs lower and upper limits for medical and legal purposes. Sort of a way just for them to cover their asses for liability.

The incubation period is 1-14 days with average being 5 days.

Postby adnj » March 27th, 2020, 8:15 pm

K74T wrote:Exercise at home
This.

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 8:16 pm

abbow wrote:Heard from a DMO today that the reason the Gov only wants Carpha to do testing is to keep control on the real numbers who have been infected since carnival. :? :?

we have a confirmed case fatality that was in the country since Feb 5 and presented to the hospital on Mar 13. They insist it is an imported case (acquired before Feb 5), even though a 36 days incubation is very out of the norm.

Before these things came to light, I would agree with believing the official story. But now it seems undeniable the Ministry is good with telling us the story we need to hear. I agree with them in the interest of the greater societal good.

tl:dr, doh believe the DMO or the UNC. There were no infections during carnival. Do not listen to the people telling stories, trust only official sources such as the MoH.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 27th, 2020, 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 27th, 2020, 8:24 pm

abbow wrote:Heard from a DMO today that the reason the Gov only wants Carpha to do testing is to keep control on the real numbers who have been infected since carnival. :? :?

Well no. Every "positive" test done in private would have to be retested by CARPHA anyway resulting in duplication of services and all that.

Most epidemics are tightly coordinated by the state. Any major health issue is state coordinated. Same goes for hiv etc. You get an hiv+ test then the state needs to confirm diagnosis in order to determine treatment. There is also a quality issue in terms of machines and testing protocols that need to be audited and monitored by state before allowing private labs to test. You always try to avoid false negatives in testing. So in the case of a viral infection such as HIV where a person usually don't test yearly or even 2 years betweem tests then you can understand why a false negative is dangerous.

It's different in other countries such as USA as their healthcare system is different. The results may have to be reported to gov't officials but the treatment/isolation of individuals is left to private individuals.

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 8:37 pm

Tobago COVID19 press conference:
https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 5155600580

situation right now is with a Scarborough Health worker with no travel history testing positive for coronavirus

linton

Postby linton » March 27th, 2020, 8:53 pm

It's a doc who attended to the first case ?

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2020, 9:00 pm

I think we need some more panic. I'm seeing businesses on facebook running "one day" sales in an attempt to get as much people as possible in their store tomorrow. It is idiotic.

This virus is here. You are being told to stay home because there is a virus spreading that can kill you and those that live with you. Stay the F home tomorrow unless you really damn sure need to be outside.

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2020, 9:24 pm

Should a ban all international flights 2 weeks before those 20000 ppl came in.

Oh well it was a good run folks the coronapocalypse is here. 1 in 5 of our infected families will be hospitalized and a few will die.
Thanks to the CCP virus.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 27th, 2020, 9:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:Should a ban all international flights 2 weeks before those 20000 ppl came in.

Oh well it was a good run folks the coronapocalypse is here. 1 in 5 of our infected families will be hospitalized and a few will die.
Thanks to the CCP virus.

China must be made to suffer for this. They should bleed as the world has bled.

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2020, 9:29 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Should a ban all international flights 2 weeks before those 20000 ppl came in.

Thanks to the CCP virus.

China must be made to suffer for this. They should bleed as the world has bled.

Probably punishment for their dog meat trade.