COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 20th, 2020, 7:43 pm

hydroep wrote:No problem with helping refugees eh, but NOT at the expense of tax paying citizens.

You could imagine the hell that would break loose if locals were denied access to healthcare and found out it's because José and Juanita (among others) occupying beds? Actually this could be another reason the authorities are trying their damnedest to conceal identities of the infected. They do not want the obligation of revealing information that could precipitate trouble.

While we hope the Government has a handle on this thing locals need to be realistic. If Sh!tkicker and dem couldn't stop the illegal inflow under "normal circumstances" how can any reasonable person could expect them to do better now?

People, prepare allyuhself...:|

Hello Hydroep,

I understand your concerns, but it is in the wrong direction, if you can permit me to explain.

T&T is a loving and giving country, an example being our masks offering to China. We made our supply short to help another at the expense of the tax payers, likewise for refugees.

Covid19 has no race, colour, religion or nationality.
In this crisis, humanity and togetherness is our weapon against this virus. We cannot argue about who gets treatment or a bed. If a Venezuelan is in need of health care, then we as a people must help them.

Remember, hard times will have its ups and downs, but our heart should always remain the same.

Max

Your post is very humanitarian, BUT, Trinis will be Trinis, and even the most liberal non-xenophobe is going to have a fit when he, or a relative is ill and cannot get treatment. Then the issues about their non-payment of any taxes, health surcharge etc. is bound to rear up. That is just human nature

Exactly,

Trinis will be Trinis.

Imagine a Trini, who does not have citizenship in another country for whatever reason and this crisis hits. Their son/daughter is in need of immediate medical attention and there is one bed available....but then a citizen arrives with a similar but less urgent issue. Wont you as a parent, demand or even beg that your child be attended to? That’s human nature.

We have to help those in need, but unfortunately what is in black&white on a piece of paper dictates who lives and who dies.

Postby adnj » March 20th, 2020, 7:57 pm

pugboy wrote:cal says their policy is to contact persons within
2meters seating.

i know of a yankee guy who came sunday
he says no questioning or screening if you want to call it that
According to the WHO, 1 meter distance is recommended from other person that is coughing or sneezing. The UK recommends 2 meters for everyone.

I plan o sticking with 10 feet, just in case.

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-guidance-on-social-distancing-and-for-vulnerable-people/guidance-on-social-distancing-for-everyone-in-the-uk-and-protecting-older-people-and-vulnerable-adults

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 8:18 pm

jamaica locking all travel from tomorrow
citizens incl

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 8:37 pm

adnj wrote:
2meters seating.

According to the WHO, 1 meter distance is recommended from other person that is coughing or sneezing. The UK recommends 2 meters for everyone.

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-guidance-on-social-distancing-and-for-vulnerable-people/guidance-on-social-distancing-for-everyone-in-the-uk-and-protecting-older-people-and-vulnerable-adults

but i wonder- does a ventilation system or AC on a plane serve to increase that distance by possibly blowing droplets further?

VII

Postby VII » March 20th, 2020, 9:08 pm

All these hopeless and pessimistic scenarios and we are doing just fine...the authorities are doing a damn good job, half the naysayers here couldn't contain and sanitize a sheit leak from their own sewer pipe.

We are doing well...get that in your thick skulls dimwits..we know allyuh sheit dont stink, allyuh just fulla it..

Go clean some ah allyuh stink yard nah and leave the people to do their jobs..allyuh always know how to do everything better ffs ..from petrochemicals to economics to pandemics..Geez..
Last edited by VII on March 20th, 2020, 9:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » March 20th, 2020, 9:19 pm

VII wrote:All these hopeless and pessimistic scenarios and we are doing just fine...the authorities are doing a damn good job, half the naysayers here couldn't contain and sanitize a sheit leak from their own sewer pipe.

We are doing well...get that in your thick skulls dimwits..

I hope so :drinking:

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 9:27 pm

only as long as ALL the borders are closed. but if economic pressures force them to reopen to for instance the US which has 19000 cases right now & 55 deaths things will escalate. you can't tell foreigners to stay home as they have no home here so u will have to have a big quarantine facility at the airport to quarantine everyone- and yes everyone as we know there is asymptomatic spread.

Postby paid_influencer » March 20th, 2020, 9:31 pm

next week is game changer. they talking in the press conference about new testing criteria to find community spread + plenty more testing in general. they are assuming it already walked off the airport or a boat. the minister himself saying we will find community spread and the work now is to identify and break the transmission.

more lifestyle changes on the way. NYC today straight banning non-essential businesses and forcing essential workers to stay on duty. watching CNN today is like seeing what policies coming here tomorrow.

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 9:34 pm

VII wrote:All these hopeless and pessimistic scenarios and we are doing just fine...the authorities are doing a damn good job, half the naysayers here couldn't contain and sanitize a sheit leak from their own sewer pipe.

We are doing well...get that in your thick skulls dimwits..we know allyuh sheit dont stink, allyuh just fulla it..

Go clean some ah allyuh stink yard nah and leave the people to do their jobs..allyuh always know how to do everything better ffs ..from petrochemicals to economics to pandemics..Geez..

Its too soon to tell how "well" we are doing... but its always good to keep a positive attitude.

Oh and don't forget to sanitize your thin skull after you pull it out of Rowley's anus.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 9:38 pm

well at least nobody dead yet- if we had like 100 cases but undetected from lack of testing we would of had about 2 deaths or so based on 2% fatality rate. so i assume actual undetected cases to be less than 100.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 9:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:well at least nobody dead yet- if we had like 100 cases but undetected from lack of testing we would of had about 2 deaths or so based on 2% fatality rate. so i assume actual undetected cases to be less than 100.

would those deaths be recorded as due to covid, or just respiratory complications due to flu/pneumonia ?

even if they dead and not confirmed covid, it will still count low.

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2020, 9:46 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Its too soon to tell how "well" we are doing... but its always good to keep a positive attitude.

Oh and don't forget to sanitize your thin skull after you pull it out of Rowley's anus.

The frottage is strong in here :)
Anyway,
keep an eye on Venezuela, and villages in south. If there's going to be community spreading and contamination it'll most likely start in south, after a major spike in Venezuelan cases and asymptomatic infected people flee there for here.
Eyes open ppl.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 9:51 pm

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:well at least nobody dead yet- if we had like 100 cases but undetected from lack of testing we would of had about 2 deaths or so based on 2% fatality rate. so i assume actual undetected cases to be less than 100.

would those deaths be recorded as due to covid, or just respiratory complications due to flu/pneumonia ?

even if they dead and not confirmed covid, it will still count low.

i would imagine that if ppl dying u would want to test to see what they dying from- i mean we in a declared pandemic right?

if we ramping up testing then we should at least test every death, or every pneumonia like case. and u wouldn't want to expose other patients to a possibly covid patient anyway, if u assume it's something else.

The WHO say test test test.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 20th, 2020, 10:08 pm

I have just been telling my wife that this situation now is very volatile. If people follow the calls of those is authority and do the right thing this could be over soon. But as usual Trinis are stubborn and harden... Hear another story...

I gone pricesmart, albeit against my will but out of sheer necessity. People still cannot understand social distancing. What is the point of keeping a safe distance from the cashier when everyone else within 3-5 feet of each other? Any opportunity I had I made sure to keep a distance. But it get better. Y'all know in pricesmart chaguanas it have this irritating woman who does come and ask for donation and sell some lil dotishness? I'm packing my car and she coming close to me and harassing me. I back away to keep a distance and had to put the trolley between us at least twice. Then it had the next duncey head man who does beg you to buy a CD. This imps walking along side two women in the car in front of mines and harassing them. He start to aiyo my way and I just start to cough like my liver string coming up. If you see how he aiyo the next way.

My point is that this is the second time I went out this weekend observe the lack of adherence to social distancing. So, statistically, it's safe to assume that a large portion of people are not practicing social distancing. And statistically, those 9 cases must have come into contact with people who not practicing social distancing.... And so on and so on. Seeing the trend and the point?

All we have to do is it still for two or three weeks and let this dwindle. We know our health care system is not the best on a good day, so why dare do an acid test of its effectiveness in these times? If the best hospital in Lombardi, Italy, a first world country, struggling, what about our hospitals in third world Trinidad?

People need to use common sense. I've never been fond of much this government has done, but so far I agree with the measures. Unfortunately, Trinis stubborn, selfish, ignorant and make everything a joke, so when government step up to drastic measures, I hope those who lacking the common sense could shut dey mouth.

In case many people don't realise, the government is trying to prevent a complete lockdown as that will economically strain us more in the long term and could send us right into a bad recession. So we should all do our part, follow the simple guidelines and help our government to help our Nation to win this battle.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 20th, 2020, 10:11 pm

Noticed at some places people lining up close together, good idea from UTC:

UNIT-TRUSYT-SOCIAL-DISTANCING-scaled.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » March 20th, 2020, 10:13 pm

^^^ my point exactly. Why remind people of this? This is just common sense. But it is a good idea for the dunces who roam among us.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 10:19 pm

Postby aaron17 » March 20th, 2020, 10:19 pm

When I see ppl overcrowding in an area...I jus turn back yes....mission failed.

QM

Postby QM » March 20th, 2020, 10:27 pm

shaneelal wrote:Noticed at some places people lining up close together, good idea from UTC:

UNIT-TRUSYT-SOCIAL-DISTANCING-scaled.jpg

They should leave those floor stickers permanently...

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 10:36 pm

Them Cedros drivers going brave with each shipment of venes they driving out

Gladiator wrote:

The frottage is strong in here :)
Anyway,
keep an eye on Venezuela, and villages in south. If there's going to be community spreading and contamination it'll most likely start in south, after a major spike in Venezuelan cases and asymptomatic infected people flee there for here.
Eyes open ppl.

Postby shogun » March 20th, 2020, 10:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Lmao. Where's the conspiracy?

Film makers usually consult actual doctors when making those kinds of movies, to help make it more realistic and accurate. They just went a step further and gave him a part in the film, since he's already comfortable on camera. The advice given in the movie is the same you would give for any contagious outbreak. Just common sense.

Postby adnj » March 20th, 2020, 11:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:
2meters seating.

but i wonder- does a ventilation system or AC on a plane serve to increase that distance by possibly blowing droplets further?
Airplanes have safer air filtration than most public spaces. The problem is sitting in the same seat for hours, touching restroom surfaces and overhead bins.

------------

The airlines are trying to do everything they can to mitigate the spread of these viruses.

[According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, HEPA filters capture 99.9% of particles (bacteria, fungi, and larger viruses or virus clumps) 0.1–0.3 micrometers in diameter, and cabin air generally passes through the filters 20-30 times per hour.]

The airlines started to put in HEPA filters because they are effective, but they will only protect you from airborne viruses or bacteria. If you touch a tray table, a HEPA filter is not going to help you. There is a misperception that the public feels that “I got sick on an airplane because I breathed air that is filled with a virus,” but normally, it’s from touching hard surfaces that haven’t been cleaned properly.

[URL]https://thepointsguy.com/news/airplane-air-hepa-filter/
[/URL]

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » March 21st, 2020, 12:18 am

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-health-coronavirus-usa-utilities-idUSKBN2171AC

WASHINGTON/NEW YORK (Reuters) - The U.S. electric industry may ask essential staff to live on site at power plants and control centers to keep operations running if the coronavirus outbreak worsens, and has been stockpiling beds, blankets, and food for them, according to industry trade groups and electric cooperatives.

The contingency plans, if enacted, would mark an unprecedented step by power providers to keep their highly-skilled workers healthy as both private industry and governments scramble to minimize the impact of the global pandemic that has infected more than 227,000 people worldwide.

“The focus needs to be on things that keep the lights on and the gas flowing,” said Scott Aaronson, vice president of security and preparedness at the Edison Electric Institute (EEI), the nation’s biggest power industry association. He said that some “companies are already either sequestering a healthy group of their essential employees or are considering doing that and are identifying appropriate protocols to do that.”

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 21st, 2020, 1:20 am

sMASH wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Italy announces 627 coronavirus deaths in 24 hours

From CNN's Mia Alberti in Lisbon and Nicola Ruotolo in Rome

The number of coronavirus cases in Italy has reached 7,021, the Italian Civil Protection Agency said Friday.

There have been 627 coronavirus-related deaths in 24 hours.

So far, 4,032 people in Italy have died from the disease.

that should be 47021 cases
That's a mortality rate of 8.58%,
chinee reason why it buss them up is they eating bat, but what is italy reason?

Italy has 200-300k Chinese population many of whom travelled for the Chinese New Year. A lot of them live in Lombardi. Hence the infection cluster.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 21st, 2020, 5:48 am

Some in Balandra quarantine show virus symptoms

Shirley Bahadur

While the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Trinidad and Tobago remained at nine yesterday, the Ministry of Health’s Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram says some of the 68 people who were quarantined in Balandra after returning from Guadeloupe are now exhibiting viral symptoms.

Parasram made the comment yesterday during a post-Cabinet media briefing called to update the country on the measures being put in place to deal with the outbreak of COVID-19 now in T&T.

The group was immediately sent into a 14-day quarantine at the Seventh Day Adventist Church Camp—Camp Balandra on Wednesday after returning from Guadeloupe. They had been stranded there after the cruise ship they were on, the Costa Favalosa, was denied entry to Martinique after leaving Guadeloupe when several passengers tested positive for the virus.

The return of the 68 nationals was preceded by the arrival of two women who were on the same cruise. They, however, were sent for treatment at one of the two quarantine hospitals at either Caura or Couva after they tested positive for the virus on the way home.

Yesterday, Parasram said some of the quarantined nationals at Balandra were now exhibiting symptoms which included sore throats and runny noses and they are now to be tested for the virus.

Asked for an update on the nine patients who had contracted the virus, Parasram said they were still receiving treatment at the Caura and Couva hospitals.

“Basically, all nine cases, they are still within the hospital system. Some are in Caura, some in Couva but the more severe ones are showing improvement day-to-day. The milder ones are doing well,” Parasram said.

“In Balandra, they would have come in recently so we would have had a few people developing mild symptoms. Of course, as we said, once you have symptoms we would test but other than that... mild symptoms, meaning sore throat, runny nose, that kind of thing... very mild symptoms. But once we have symptoms, as I said, we would test as many people as we can. Of course, if they become positive, we will transfer to one of the centres, either Couva or Caura.”

http://guardian.co.tt/news/some-in-bala ... 8074895522

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2020, 5:53 am

that will be an interesting situation since the balandra was mean to be sterile quarantine, so now it is not
they will need to find more place to keep persons in quarantine

Postby hydroep » March 21st, 2020, 6:04 am

Estimated eh, so the actual figure go probably be twice that...:|

Gov’t covid19 economic bailout to cost $6b
Carla Bridglal

The government’s coronavirus social and economic relief and stimulus plan will cost an estimated $6 billion, the Prime Minister said Friday. At a media briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, Dr Rowley said there was a limit to what the government can do regarding financial intervention. The government had to find resources and found as much as it could.

“Six billion dollars is what we had not catered for three months ago but we have to use it now and we are focusing on those people who are least able to look after themselves.” The Prime Minister had previously said the government would have to use funds from the Heritage and Stabilisation Fund (HSF) to help mitigate the economic impact. In Senate Friday, Leader of Government Business, Camille Robinson-Regis, said legislation to amend the HSF Act will be brought to Parliament on Wednesday.

On Thursday, commercial banks started amending their interest rates and offering deferrals for loans and mortgages, in keeping with covid19 economic policy announcements made by the government on Wednesday. On Tuesday, the Central Bank, also in response to the covid19 precautions, lowered the repo rate to 3.5 per cent and lowered the reserve requirement to 14 per cent, in order to lower lending rates and increase liquidity in the financial system.

In a statement, the Bankers’ Association (BATT) outlined its members’ response to the government’s call to action to mitigate the economic burden on citizens in the face of the covid19 pandemic. The measures, BATT said are aligned to our collective responsibility as a society to protect our employees, our clients, business and ultimately our country.

Banks will all be reducing their prime lending rate by at least 1.5 per cent following the reduction in repo rate. This reduction will reduce the interest cost for all clients whose loans are re-priced on prime. For varying loan types for both businesses and individual, some deferral of interest and/or principal payments will be considered by banks for at least one month. Arrangements will vary by institution and by type of loan. Consideration is being given by banks to temporarily reducing the rates on credit card balances. “The focus at this time is to assist customers in meeting their critical, immediate and short-term needs, to weather this global pandemic. Each Bank will customise and roll out the solutions to their individual clients. BATT will continue to work to monitor and co-ordinate the sector response in the best interest of the national economy,” BATT said.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/21/govt-covid19-economic-bailout-to-cost-6b/

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 21st, 2020, 6:55 am

This bolded part is the problem with Trinidad. We accept mediocrity as excellence and use worse performance in other countries as our yardstick.

Why can't we as a country be doing excellent/exceptional and set the standard for others to follow?

As an example I watched one of the first Covid press conferences and afterward there was a Let's Talk Tobago program. On the program there was an award ceremony for pupils of Signal Hill Secondary where all the pupils who got above 70% in academics were awarded tokens. I sat there and my wife and I laughed. Where I went to school if you got around 70-75% you came in dead last in a class of about 38 persons. Incidentally those persons who used to come last in class with 70-75% are now doctors ,lawyers and engineers. Imagine what the top half of the class is doing with their lives !

Btw the above is not a boast, it's just to shine a light on the fact that we have some world topping people from this country but we have good enough running it!

We have to stop accepting good as good enough !

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 21st, 2020, 7:20 am

Ahhh find allyuh quiet in here...how come nobody aint talking about the people who were sent to balandra late last night

Postby sMASH » March 21st, 2020, 7:48 am

didnt catch where they came from... only heard other people were sent. flights? cruise? local?