COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 3:11 pm

16 cycles wrote:props to gov't for trying to help the less fortunate - and keeping up with the school feeding program for kids who needed it most...
need those votes,,, hadda keep the mudda happy.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 3:12 pm

at least they trying to test in the wider communtity now

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 3:15 pm

sMASH wrote:at least they trying to test in the wider communtity now

sMASH bro... them fukers only have 2000 test kits.... they buying a next 2000 by next week and will get some more to make up 10,000 kits. This was published in the Guardian.

These kits are not for T&T alone its for the entire Caribbean of 18 Million + people....

Postby MaxPower » March 20th, 2020, 3:25 pm

That first letter in some of non-Dr. Deyalsingh words coming out too forceful...

Plenty boulders and spit flying out...germs na

hadda work on that...

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 3:42 pm

Devourment wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Italy announces 627 coronavirus deaths in 24 hours

From CNN's Mia Alberti in Lisbon and Nicola Ruotolo in Rome

The number of coronavirus cases in Italy has reached 7,021, the Italian Civil Protection Agency said Friday.

There have been 627 coronavirus-related deaths in 24 hours.

So far, 4,032 people in Italy have died from the disease.

that should be 47021 cases
That's a mortality rate of 8.58%,
chinee reason why it buss them up is they eating bat, but what is italy reason?

Italy has one of the oldest populations in the world. They also weren't testing much at first and it quickly got out of control.

Also much like trinis, no one obeyed the social distancing measures and mask/glove wearing, lastly there's a very touchy close culture in Italy and a lot of crowded cities.

Don't think we'll face it as bad as Italy, but it will be bad still.

hope you're wrong as we started taking measures early like the ban against China and currently everywhere- if not just think about 1 in 5 of all our relatives infected will need hospitalization, and 1 or 2 of those with underlying conditions will die :(

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Has anyone started pinching deyself yet just in case we all in a collective nightmare?

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Gladiator wrote:
sMASH wrote:at least they trying to test in the wider communtity now

sMASH bro... them fukers only have 2000 test kits.... they buying a next 2000 by next week and will get some more to make up 10,000 kits. This was published in the Guardian.

These kits are not for T&T alone its for the entire Caribbean of 18 Million + people....

i would soak up a 4-500 of those in semi random testing along the southern boarders. send out teams, to the towns and major squares, ask if any one had flu like symptoms, or was incontact with any one who had travelled with in the month, like fisher men or those dealing with venez. and just see what it have there.

if u pick up, u contact trace(duane) to findout how where who they got it from, and u isolate those people.

i woudl not really want to use testss on people that are severe, cause whether or not its covid, ur still just treating symptoms, and it should be the same.

use the kits on those u might have it, to confirm. to prevent spread.

my mindset is not on treating the cases, leave that for doctors and nurses to do. my mind is on arresting spread... to ease up the load on the doctors and nurses.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 3:59 pm

For those with breathing problems/shortness of breath that is a tell tale sign- u don't usually find that with flu/colds, they should be tested regardless of any travel history or even contact with such a person.

Anyone who has travelled ANYWHERE outside the country at this stage in the last 14 days as well as all their contacts should be tested, REGARDLESS OF SYMPTOMS. There is now ample evidence this thing is beating us by spreading by people without symptoms, the Govt. needs to look at the data NOW and act!

Oh and of course, QUARANTINE all of the above persons even before you test them!

Perhaps they can certify other/private labs to do testing (US has done this) as well on condition that they keep the price low like $200, or if they get free kits, for free.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 20th, 2020, 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 20th, 2020, 4:02 pm

Amazing how the next biggest destruction to civilization as we know it isn't a repeat of World War 2 but in fact a virus that nobody can see.

It will only be a matter of time until the next virus comes around, mutated far far worse than this killing a whole lot more. BTW China is lying they have not contained anything, they realized this was destroying their economy and so they covered it up yet again.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 20th, 2020, 4:11 pm

No one is addressing the CAL flight crews.

Only those that were onboard the covid cases were quarantined for 14 days.

What about for normal operations? These crews have to deplane, clear immigration/customs, take both private/public transport to the hotels, and lodge, obviously mingling around in their destinations if they can....then do the reverse to return home.

So the passengers must self quarantine for 14 days and not flight crew?

And these are the same ppl that serving allyuh?

Are these transport buses and hotels for flight crew being sanitized properly?

Your comments.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 4:40 pm

MaxPower wrote:No one is addressing the CAL flight crews.

Only those that were onboard the covid cases were quarantined for 14 days.

What about for normal operations? These crews have to deplane, clear immigration/customs, take both private/public transport to the hotels, and lodge, obviously mingling around in their destinations if they can....then do the reverse to return home.

So the passengers must self quarantine for 14 days and not flight crew?

And these are the same ppl that serving allyuh?

Are these transport buses and hotels for flight crew being sanitized properly?

Your comments.

perhaps a quarantine should be setup at the airport specifically for them- they not allowed to leave unless they agree to be tested and screened with the temp scanners and not more than once every week or 2.

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2020, 4:51 pm

They didn't have to shut down businesses. Buy yuh doubles and go. Buy yuh drinks and go home . Just no dining . Spread out the line , doh stick up under people. Pricemart open and crowded , banks have lines, what's the difference?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 20th, 2020, 5:04 pm

^^^^ this

Triniguy19

Postby Triniguy19 » March 20th, 2020, 5:21 pm

I flew from Barbados to Trinidad on Tue 17th at 8:25PM on BW449

The flight was full and was completely uneventful. There was some sort group of about 10 guys also on the plane representing Trinidad, looked like race car driving or rally not really sure.

Landed in Trinidad, went through immigration and customs no problem.

The next day, Wednesday I’m dressed for work and reading the news I come across this article:

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2-trini- ... o.facebook

Article basically states that 2 positive Corona patients flew on my exact same commercial flight.

My family and I decided to self quarantine even though we were not contacted my anyone from the airline or the ministry. The article was not reported on except for this one article and part of me thought it was an error.

Well I just got a call from the airport in Barbados asking what seat we sat on and they confirmed that in fact to passengers on row 10 were in fact positive and on the same flight. When asked why they took so long to contact me they said CAL initially denied the information in the article.

I’m writing this to maybe get news to the anyone that might have been on the flight as they seem to be some sort of motor sport.

Unfortunately my elderly Father picked me up from the airport so we are just hoping we are not infected.
639931EF-7ACD-4058-B75C-2ADFD6770720.jpeg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 20th, 2020, 5:27 pm

From the 10am update to the 4pm update 8 persons was tested
89920581_3216553601707759_1948413253860196352_o.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 5:36 pm

rspann wrote:They didn't have to shut down businesses. Buy yuh doubles and go. Buy yuh drinks and go home . Just no dining . Spread out the line , doh stick up under people. Pricemart open and crowded , banks have lines, what's the difference?

supermarkets considered essential services as ppl hadda eat and get cleaning supplies- same ting with other countries on lockdown.

banks well i suppose they need the money to do that (not everyone have bank card)

but either way they should enforce social distancing anywhere

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2020, 5:39 pm

You still getting Covid in the supermarkets and the banks. The point as you correctly stated is social distancing , not shutting down.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 5:47 pm

ST Auto wrote:From the 10am update to the 4pm update 8 persons was tested89920581_3216553601707759_1948413253860196352_o.jpeg

258 tests- i guess either they expanding the criteria or a significant amount of trinis coming back home

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 5:50 pm

rspann wrote:You still getting Covid in the supermarkets and the banks. The point as you correctly stated is social distancing , not shutting down.

and in offices too, but entertainment and other non-essential things u might as well shut down

did they shut down horse racing betting shops? is a lot of older ppl does be there putting deyself in danger

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 5:52 pm

Triniguy19 wrote:I flew from Barbados to Trinidad on Tue 17th at 8:25PM on BW449

The flight was full and was completely uneventful. There was some sort group of about 10 guys also on the plane representing Trinidad, looked like race car driving or rally not really sure.

The next day, Wednesday I’m dressed for work and reading the news I come across this article:

Article basically states that 2 positive Corona patients flew on my exact same commercial flight.

My family and I decided to self quarantine even though we were not contacted my anyone from the airline or the ministry. The article was not reported on except for this one article and part of me thought it was an error.

Well I just got a call from the airport in Barbados asking what seat we sat on and they confirmed that in fact to passengers on row 10 were in fact positive and on the same flight. When asked why they took so long to contact me they said CAL initially denied the information in the article.

I’m writing this to maybe get news to the anyone that might have been on the flight as they seem to be some sort of motor sport.

Unfortunately my elderly Father picked me up from the airport so we are just hoping we are not infected.

u kno i does want to screen shot them ting and send it out.... this time, im askng permission.... if u will let me post that out.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 5:56 pm

Triniguy19 wrote:I flew from Barbados to Trinidad on Tue 17th at 8:25PM on BW449

how close were u to the infected ones? and were they wearing masks?

as long as you stayed away from him afterwards he should be ok- i doubt it would infect you then jump to him in a matter of 1-2 hrs. but count 14 days from Tues. 17th- u inside till then.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 20th, 2020, 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 5:57 pm

came out after the breifing.

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2020, 6:00 pm

^ what about inspection sticker?

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2020, 6:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:For those with breathing problems/shortness of breath that is a tell tale sign- u don't usually find that with flu/colds, they should be tested regardless of any travel history or even contact with such a person.

Small problem with that particular brand of logic.
People with underlying cardiothoracic issues often have difficulty breathing, and fevers, and a cough. when they get a minor cold or flu it can get worse. So we can't just watch the symptoms and decide whether to test or not, because if a person with such symptoms is in fact infected with COVID-19 and not tested because we're only treating symptoms, medical personnel may have a lapse in protocol, leading to them getting infected themselves.

Postby hydroep » March 20th, 2020, 6:11 pm

A woman and three of her children have succumbed in New Jersey. Other members of the family are infected...:|

Coronavirus: Four members of New Jersey family die

Four people in the same family have died from coronavirus in the US state of New Jersey, with three more relatives in hospital.

Grace Fusco, 73, and six of her adult children fell ill after attending a large family gathering.

Nearly 20 other relatives are now self-quarantining and waiting to find out if they have also been infected.

The death toll across the US has continued to rise, as experts warn against any kind of social gathering.

'Unbearable tragedy'

The four family members who died are Grace Fusco and her children Rita Fusco-Jackson, Carmine Fusco and Vincent Fusco.

Rita Fusco-Jackson, a Catholic school teacher, 55, died on Friday. She had no underlying health issues, according to state health commissioner Judith Persichilli.

New Jersey health officials said Ms Fusco-Jackson was the second person to die from Covid-19 in the state, and the first fatality had also recently attended a Fusco family gathering.

Carmine Fusco died on Wednesday, followed hours later by his mother, Grace Fusco.

According to the New York Times, Grace Fusco died without knowing that two of her children had already succumbed to the deadly respiratory illness sweeping the planet.

On Thursday, Vincent Fusco died in the same hospital where his mother had recently passed.

According to family member Paradiso Fodera, 19 family members who attended the same dinner are now self-isolating, and have waited nearly a week to learn the results of their virus tests...

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-51978164

Triniguy19

Postby Triniguy19 » March 20th, 2020, 6:14 pm

Yes you have permission to repost.

Me and my family were two rows between us and the infected 2 passengers.

I’m so disappointed that we have not been contacted by CAL or the Ministry of Health which means there is the possibility that an entire flight of possibly infected passengers were released into society.

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2020, 6:26 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Amazing how the next biggest destruction to civilization as we know it isn't a repeat of World War 2 but in fact a virus that nobody can see.

It will only be a matter of time until the next virus comes around, mutated far far worse than this killing a whole lot more. BTW China is lying they have not contained anything, they realized this was destroying their economy and so they covered it up yet again.

See the posts I made a couple pages back? There is a reason for those.

On Wednesday night, I got a call from a person I do business with in China. I thought it was a routine business call, but I was very wrong. She called because she wanted to know if we had closed our borders yet.
She told me outright, she wants to get herself and her family out, now, because things getting worse. In certain locations, because nobody working and everyone in isolation there's been food shortages, ppe shortages, media blackouts, & hospitals still overwhelmed. Only reason she still there is because airport shut down and everybody else all over the world on lockdown and not accepting immigrants or visitors or ppl in transit.

Whoever want to play chupidee, feel free.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2020, 6:26 pm

i asked that too, no response. but next week i gonna see if i can sort out that.

30hz

Postby 30hz » March 20th, 2020, 6:45 pm

been telling ppl this, CAL is bringing suspect cases from Tobago (No testing or quarantine facilities) on regular passenger flights, mixed amongst regular travellers.

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2020, 7:13 pm

cal says their policy is to contact persons within
2meters seating.

i know of a yankee guy who came sunday
he says no questioning or screening if you want to call it that