COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 7 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2020, 2:12 pm

Max: Rowley just give allyuh $2.6 billion.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Banks to give 1-2 months moratorium. Yuh still have to pay yuh loans though.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Gov't asked businesses not to send home people for the next month.

Gov't suddenly finds money to pay outstanding VAT returns to preserve jobs.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Gov't asking financial institutions / HDC for deferrals for rent and mortgage payments for people for April-May.

But if you have the money to pay, PAY IT!

Postby rspann » March 18th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Zoom , I giving tenants a bligh next month. I know things hard. You doing the same?

Postby MaxPower » March 18th, 2020, 2:26 pm

bluefete wrote:Gov't asking financial institutions / HDC for deferrals for rent and mortgage payments for people for April-May.

But if you have the money to pay, PAY IT!

Lmao, i already having issues with some Trinis, ALL the Venezuelans have paid...late, but they all paid.

Rowley statement is encouraging ppl NOT to pay.

Postby aaron17 » March 18th, 2020, 2:42 pm

There is no SOE.....yet.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 18th, 2020, 2:50 pm

rspann wrote:Zoom , I giving tenants a bligh next month. I know things hard. You doing the same?

Me eh know bout he, but Venes by me already paid a few months rent in advance some time ago, so I tell them if they running low, I will give back the March rent. I will most likely let them stay for free for this whole month and possibly April if things get worse, but I might give them in TTD though since them pay in USD unless them planning to go USA later at some point.
Last edited by Blaze d Chalice on March 18th, 2020, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » March 18th, 2020, 2:51 pm

rspann wrote:Zoom , I giving tenants a bligh next month. I know things hard. You doing the same?

Once they not getting paid and can show me proof then I probably will. All wuking as far as I know.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 18th, 2020, 3:09 pm

Isn't one of the measures to wash your hands properly?

Thank goodness every citizen has a 24/7 supply of clean, potable water 50+ years after Independence.

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2020, 3:11 pm

Some of the highlights (Average figures)...

Credit card interest down by 10%
Repo rate now 3.5%
Prime lending rate to drop to 6%
Bank say is ok to skip a payment on your loan and mortgage

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2020, 3:13 pm

This forker Deyalsingh admit that they only testing people who travel.... and not people who even doctors refer for testing.

Postby MaxPower » March 18th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:

Me eh know bout he, but Venes by me already paid a few months rent in advance some time ago, so I tell them if they running low, I will give back the March rent. I will most likely let them stay for free for this whole month and possibly April if things get worse, but I might give them in TTD though since them pay in USD unless them planning to go USA later at some point.

Hello Blaze,

Hope all is well.

This is good.

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2020, 3:16 pm

man bashing allyuh injun river lime and rum shop ppl yes

ftitan

Postby ftitan » March 18th, 2020, 3:17 pm

Gladiator wrote:This forker Deyalsingh admit that they only testing people who travel.... and not people who even doctors refer for testing.

I just come on to post this..I know of 2 people in south who had high fever for 3 days and dry cough this week. Didn't travel and the doc in princes town said testing doesn't make sense...give them anti-biotics and send them home. Now we know why yes...

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2020, 3:19 pm

these measures better than the budget
kamala ain’t go have a response for this

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 7 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 18th, 2020, 3:20 pm

Trinis Trinis Trinis......

Allyuh have the full kit....masks, gloves, spray, wipes etc.....good but

Allyuh STILL putting the nasty cell phone by allyuh face??

Stop it, stop it now

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2020, 3:22 pm

2020 vision achieved

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Isn't one of the measures to wash your hands properly?

Thank goodness every citizen has a 24/7 supply of clean, potable water 50+ years after Independence.

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2020, 3:24 pm

posted about this already- wipe with soap & water with microfiber cloth for the screen, disinfectants & bleach too harsh and will take off the coating on screen

Postby aaron17 » March 18th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Next best thing. Use hands free/ speaker

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 18th, 2020, 3:42 pm

Safe by me so far.
I have to deal with very few people.

The trini workers were anxious to go home (as usual) and saying all kinda thing bout how them going and lock up in their room and watch whatever series.

Yet them posting picture with barbecue and beach and groups of people drinking Absolut and Jack Daniels tennessee honey.

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2020, 3:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:posted about this already- wipe with soap & water with microfiber cloth for the screen, disinfectants & bleach too harsh and will take off the coating on screen

What about rubbing alcohol?

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Safe by me so far.

The trini workers were anxious to go home (as usual) and saying all kinda thing bout how them going and lock up in their room and watch whatever series.

Yet them posting picture with barbecue and beach and groups of people drinking Absolut and Jack Daniels tennessee honey.

Trini workers are the absolute worst.... all they want to do is stay home. But mind you they pay must run...

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2020, 3:48 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Safe by me so far.

to be fair the tennesee honey does cut ... jim beam honey too !!!!!

i looking for a bottle of jack daniels apple :lol:

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2020, 3:53 pm

China reciprocating in exchange for receiving masks from us

jussvon101

Postby jussvon101 » March 18th, 2020, 3:53 pm

Gladiator wrote:Some of the highlights (Average figures)...

Repo rate now 3.5%

Does the drop in prime lending affect consumers with current loans or for new ones?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 18th, 2020, 4:03 pm

skylinechild wrote:to be fair the tennesee honey does cut ... jim beam honey too !!!!!

Nothing wrong the honey.

The issue is how so much people willing to take the time off under the guise of isolation but still pumping in places in groups.

VII

Postby VII » March 18th, 2020, 4:05 pm

jussvon101 wrote:

Repo rate now 3.5%

Does the drop in prime lending affect consumers with current loans or for new ones?

Depends on what kinda agreement you signed...some fluctuate with trends and some don't...

Postby hydroep » March 18th, 2020, 4:06 pm

Kudos to Government on some of their plans. Certain things haven't been finalized and the true test will be in the implementation and accessibility by the citizenry.

Monetary policy:
Reserve rate to be reduced from 17 to 14%; Repo rate to be reduced from 5 to 3.5%; request to lower the spread between deposit and lending rates, aiming for a prime lending rate of 6% (currently 9%).

Banking sector:
*1 month of moratorium on loan payments in the first instance with no penalties ("skip a payment" system).
*Reduction in CC Interest by 10 percentage points and for those with limits of under $ 25,000 a request to reduce that further to 10%.
*Request to increase in CC allowances.

Job security:
*Business Chambers and TTMA to encourage members to keep people in jobs for 1 month.
*Government to "accelerate" outstanding payables to businesses to mitigate the situation (if I heard correctly part of this has to do with the VAT bonds. Not sure how business owners will respond to that).

Social Services:
Additional top-ups to people on the food cards, families of children who are on the school feeding program to be brought onto the food card system as schools are closed. All benefits are for a 3 month period and beneficiaries can be prosecuted for abusing the system.

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2020, 4:06 pm

jussvon101 wrote:

Repo rate now 3.5%

Well when it goes up yuh mortgage does go up... so I guess the reverse will also apply. That's once you have a variable interest rate mortgage. Maybe a banking tuner can explain further...