COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby MaxPower » March 1st, 2020, 10:25 pm

Trinis are going to have it hard,

This basic personal hygiene thing is new to them.

Postby Gladiator » March 1st, 2020, 10:26 pm

Second death in the US. Man in his 70s....

A second coronavirus death has been confirmed in King County, Washington, according to a press release from Seattle and King County Public Health.

The patient was a man in his 70s with underlying health conditions. He was hospitalized at Evergreen Health in Kirkland and died Saturday, the release said.

The man's death is the second death in the US.

matix

Postby matix » March 1st, 2020, 10:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I saw a woman saying today how God is a Trini and we don't have to worry.

PNM or UNC?

killercow

Postby killercow » March 1st, 2020, 10:41 pm

Guess which Cruise liner left Guadeloupe today and will show up in Trinidad on Thursday?

Take a look at the itinerary for the next 7 days for the MSC Preziosa.
_20200301_223823.JPG

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 2nd, 2020, 12:13 am

Troubling...that cruise ship is..

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » March 2nd, 2020, 12:34 am

https://www.cbsnews.com/live-updates/coronavirus-outbreak-death-toll-infections-latest-news-updates-2020-03-01/

First case in New York reported.

Two potential cases in Florida being investigated.

Postby aaron17 » March 2nd, 2020, 3:32 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I saw a woman saying today how God is a Trini and we don't have to worry.
Lol

Postby matr1x » March 2nd, 2020, 3:43 am

Well death toll low....shrugs

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 2nd, 2020, 4:36 am

redmanjp wrote:There will likely be a run to buy masks, lysol hand sanitizer, etc soon and certainly when the first case in T&T is reported. So ppl stock up now.

We should compile a list of places with the masks as that is not as prevalent as the other items.

lyson spray
sanitaizer
bleach
facemask
clear eye glasses
soap
stay at least 3 feet away from everybody
doh touch yuh face

trinidad like to last minute panic buy so supermarkets look out as tings will run out in case we get lock down like china, we need to have at least 3 months ah sheit from what i reading from australia and parts of US. stuff like :
medication
personal hygine like TP and stayfree
emergency food and snacks
RUM (Puncheon killing everything )

.Until a vaccine is developed, what treatments are available?

Vaccines prevent infections and the best way of doing that at the moment is good hygiene.

If you are infected, then for most people it would be mild. There are some anti-viral drugs being used in clinical trials, but we cannot say for sure any of these work.

Stay at home if you begin to feel unwell, even with mild symptoms such as headache and slight runny nose, until you recover. Why? Avoiding contact with others and visits to medical facilities will allow these facilities to operate more effectively and help protect you and others from possible COVID-19 and other viruses.

trini doh listen and trini go abuse. spanish aint go stay home,daily paid aint go stay home so we screwed.

Postby RedVEVO » March 2nd, 2020, 4:40 am

Any confirmed Trini cases of the COVID-19 ?

Easter coming and plenty FETE ..

Postby Kenjo » March 2nd, 2020, 6:42 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^
Any confirmed Trini cases of the COVID-19 ?

Easter coming and plenty FETE ..

Easter is like 30 something days away. With this virus showing up on a daily basis you real looking far ahead . Between us and Barbados a good few of these cruise ships have been blocked so any hint of an infection then hardluck for them and it’s brace

Postby Ben_spanna » March 2nd, 2020, 7:34 am

There were alot of Trinis that vacationed in the caribbean islands that now have cases... its just a matter of time..just continue to wash your hands properly, use lysol wipes, bleach to clean high traffic areas, refuse to shake hands, etc... take all necessary precautions...

Postby hydroep » March 2nd, 2020, 7:46 am

New countries confirming cases: Indonesia, Dominican Republic, Czech Republic...:|

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2020, 8:43 am

I feel most likely our patient 0 will be a vene, cause they moving without checks.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 2nd, 2020, 9:08 am

sMASH wrote:I feel most likely our patient 0 will be a vene, cause they moving without checks.

very likely. Hopefully situation this can be used to tighten the illegal ports of entry

moving

Postby moving » March 2nd, 2020, 9:15 am

Dom rep, Saint Martin and Brazil has confirmed cases.
Only a matter of time before it hits Venezuela and Trinidad.

The Venezuelan migration issue will increase and our healthcare system not ready for such an outbreak.

The Chinese built hospitals in like 2 weeks, we still cant get the children hospital operational (and its been like 6 years).
Better stock up on essential supplies.

Postby nemisis » March 2nd, 2020, 9:41 am

Ministry being proactive?
Screenshot_20200302-093854_Messages.jpeg

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2020, 9:53 am

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 2nd, 2020, 10:29 am

nemisis wrote:Ministry being proactive?Screenshot_20200302-093854_Messages.jpeg
the've been sending this for weeks though.

Postby toyolink » March 2nd, 2020, 10:55 am

The 2019 flu season which I believe is still with us has accounted for deaths probably in-excess of 40 citizens and according to the information individuals afflicted seem to demonstrate many symptoms similar to covid-19 when one compares the two.
Domestic concerns about transmission of dengue etc. has traditionally focused on mosquitos and one wonders if this insect could become a major factor with this new threat.
We all just got to do what we can to safe-guard our families and hope the authorities do a better job than thus far including simple things like spraying.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2020, 11:53 am

anybody else getting problems trying to import stuff that originated out of China?? had a few things coming in and it seems like ports etc are on lock down.

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 12:05 pm

Gladiator wrote:Second death in the US. Man in his 70s....

A second coronavirus death has been confirmed in King County, Washington, according to a press release from Seattle and King County Public Health.

The patient was a man in his 70s with underlying health conditions. He was hospitalized at Evergreen Health in Kirkland and died Saturday, the release said.

The man's death is the second death in the US.

i think is the same place- they need to test everyone there because with 2 deaths there's bound to be dozens of cases there

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 12:09 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:There were alot of Trinis that vacationed in the caribbean islands that now have cases... its just a matter of time..just continue to wash your hands properly, use lysol wipes, bleach to clean high traffic areas, refuse to shake hands, etc... take all necessary precautions...

ppl need to chill and stay home for the next few months - my sis in the US who suffers with severe allergies/sinus was invited to a friend's wedding - in South Korea! i tell she no way! CDC Level 3 warning (DO NOT TRAVEL) in effect there. my other sis actually thinks its no big deal and we just freaking out. :roll:
Last edited by redmanjp on March 2nd, 2020, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby toyolink » March 2nd, 2020, 12:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:anybody else getting problems trying to import stuff that originated out of China?? had a few things coming in and it seems like ports etc are on lock down.

Production, distribution and export operations in China have been severely curtailed to reduce large congregations of staff and sanitization of work areas are required between shifts in many operations.
Many plants in selected provinces have reduce production-runs etc.
What this means is the global supply chain is under serious pressure and demonstrates how massive the Chinese input is today.
The reaction on the stock exchanges last week was a direct reflection of the problems many major global corporations must now deal with and if this situation continues shortages and price increases will hit hard.
Guyana may be the only country with a positive growth outlook.

Postby MaxPower » March 2nd, 2020, 12:30 pm

Any reason why these advisories and text messages are not in Spanish?

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2020, 12:55 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:There were alot of Trinis that vacationed in the caribbean islands that now have cases... its just a matter of time..just continue to wash your hands properly, use lysol wipes, bleach to clean high traffic areas, refuse to shake hands, etc... take all necessary precautions...

This is really the only thing you can really do. Also, don't touch your face unless you wash your hands first. You may also want to avoid wearing face masks.

N95 masks filter particles down to 3microns. A coronavirus cell is 0.2 to 0.3 microns (COVID-19 not yet known) so chances are that using a facemask will not help. In fact, it may make things worse because you will have to touch your face to adjust your mask if it gets uncomfortable which is what you are supposed to be avoiding. Not to mention the shortage that this is creating in other countries where medical staff that actually need facemasks are having a hard time getting it. Donating $150,000 worth of facemasks is also a bad idea.

This is a serious issue but it is not going to be the end of the world. So practice precautions but don't panic and go buying out the groceries and gas stations. But, you may want to advise you parents/ grandparents to stay at home and avoid crowds as much as possible. The 60+ age group is dying at a rate above the 2% which means it is far more serious for them.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 2nd, 2020, 12:55 pm

matix wrote:

PNM or UNC?

Only a PNM would think so

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 1:18 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:. Also, don't touch your face unless you wash your hands first. You may also want to avoid wearing face masks.

N95 masks filter particles down to 3microns. A coronavirus cell is 0.2 to 0.3 microns (COVID-19 not yet known) so chances are that using a facemask will not help. In fact, it may make things worse because you will have to touch your face to adjust your mask if it gets uncomfortable which is what you are supposed to be avoiding. Not to mention the shortage that this is creating in other countries where medical staff that actually need facemasks are having a hard time getting it. Donating $150,000 worth of facemasks is also a bad idea.

still a good option especially for public transportation where social distancing is not possible and pl coughing and expelling droplets into the air you breathing in- it does block droplets so the risk is lower.

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2020, 1:22 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:. Also, don't touch your face unless you wash your hands first. You may also want to avoid wearing face masks.

still a good option especially for public transportation where social distancing is not possible and pl coughing and expelling droplets into the air you breathing in- it does block droplets so the risk is lower.
Collects droplets, and smaller sizes will flow through.
Better than straight pipe, but marginally so.

Lysol, wipes, avoid contact and close breathing.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2020, 1:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

I would like to say "use it sparingly" but you know how trini culture is any time you have something resembling a "prisoner's dilemma". I know that as soon as the first case confirmed in the news all the masks going to sell out.

Imagine lining up in a crowd of people without masks so that you can buy a mask to protect yourself from crowds of people without masks.