Poll: Rent in T&T too high? or we like it so?

Should we have rent regulations in T&T?

Yes! Dem landlords advantageous!
47%
No! Government to boldface. Rent is the landlord-tenant business!
32%
Maybe... focus on protective legal frameworks only. Leave price between landlord & tenant.
21%

Total votes: 38

Re: Poll: Rent in T&T too high? or we like it so?

Postby maj. tom » February 23rd, 2020, 8:17 am

daxt0r wrote:
88sins wrote:just an exmple of the kinda $$ we talking about
I know a couple that owns a few apt buildings along the east-west corridor
one building has 18 apts & rent is 2400/m each. that building alone nets them $518K/year, and they have 2 other buildings, same design & rental prices. Meaning they pulling in a cool $1.5M/year easy, +/- $200K for R&M costs.

If they were to be charged income tax on that revenue, that'd be roughly $388K/year they have to pay this gov't of useless anal fistulas for doing absolutely NOTHING.
yuh feel dem is money satan in joke

Dem self so suppose to be payin tax, they could afford it. Dem so does tell yuh cash only rent payments cuz nothin to go in the bank accounts to look suspicious. Same with doctors too, they get the accountant to break up there pay cheque to make it look like they get paid small money and use multiple bank accounts not to mention takin wok on d side.

Kill d poor man with PAYE, NIS, etc and all the rest ah tax while d rich man live scott free using same public services they don't contribute a cent to ent? So then if they have no problem breaking the law by evading tax on their profits what's the problem if tenant breaks the law and mash up dey place and doh pay rent? Different strokes for different folks or wa?

Give unto Caesar wa due to Caesar or go live ina 1st world country an see wa tax really is and worse try avoid it and see how 1st world countries effectively implements laws relating tax evasion

yeah but he saying that we pay tax in this country and we see nothing for it. Only that tax money going in Faris pocket every month and the regular "Kamla teef out the Treasury." Why would any other income brought through hard work by the individual be given freely to the government? Rowley and Imbert come and mix concrete and buy blocks and plaster the man wall? They buy iron gate and paved the driveway? They give him money to do it?

See, you're quoting a system that works like Canada and most US States, even Barbados. TT it's just written on paper, but the tax system is very broken. We do not see the returns in our tax money. What would give you real national pride? The President's House, or a smoothly paved road? 14 months waiting for a WASA connection giving you national pride? No bed in an overcrowded SFGH and lying sick in the corridor while there isn't enough staff to attend you gave you pride?

Postby MaxPower » February 23rd, 2020, 10:22 am

Dunno when the poor people going to stop the excuses and sympathy seeking na.

Its ok to be poor, but lose the attitude and stop fighting down the more fortunate.

Learn to MYF business too and stop counting the rich man money and how he making it.

Focus on allyuh self and get out of the shithole allyuh in.....cuz i sure when things get better and allyuh get that nice house allyuh hush allyuh kant.

Get busy.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2020, 10:31 am

Bredda man ^^ you have a strong superiority complex....lehme guess, you drive a 4x4 and compensating???

Postby MaxPower » February 23rd, 2020, 12:20 pm

^ I like SUVs and my piggy is prob between 5.5-6 inches.....works ok i guess.

What else u want to know?

Anyways you missing the point...i dont tolerate sufferers and the constant whining annoys me. The majority of the less fortunate always complaining and blaming society for their failures.

People dont want to work...they want to live in big boy area and they scorning curepe and laventille and VEX when they cant pay the bill.

Not one person here man enough to say they playing the ass and they and they alone are responsible for their incapability to pay the ppl high rent. But allyuh want want want want.

The problem is productivity....do not tote because people like me tell allyuh as it is.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2020, 12:31 pm

Well^ if you put it like that...I got you

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 23rd, 2020, 1:04 pm

Thieves discussing their superiority to other thieves
ITT.PNG
ITT.PNG (14.4 KiB) Viewed 4741 times

Postby matr1x » February 23rd, 2020, 2:50 pm

Why dey don't talk to sinanan?

Postby 88sins » February 23rd, 2020, 3:31 pm

daxt0r wrote:Dem self so suppose to be payin tax, they could afford it. Dem so does tell yuh cash only rent payments cuz nothin to go in the bank accounts to look suspicious. Same with doctors too, they get the accountant to break up there pay cheque to make it look like they get paid small money and use multiple bank accounts not to mention takin wok on d side.

Kill d poor man with PAYE, NIS, etc and all the rest ah tax while d rich man live scott free using same public services they don't contribute a cent to ent? So then if they have no problem breaking the law by evading tax on their profits what's the problem if tenant breaks the law and mash up dey place and doh pay rent? Different strokes for different folks or wa?

Give unto Caesar wa due to Caesar or go live ina 1st world country an see wa tax really is and worse try avoid it and see how 1st world countries effectively implements laws relating tax evasion

I notice you speak about "1st world country an see wa tax really is" & the consequences of tax evasion in those countries. Son, that alone tells me your truth, you clueless as to what you posting about.
There is no question or on whether or not one can afford to pay a tax, or who should pay a tax, & your quoting bible verses is as ineffective as a fart in a hurricane. Just so you know, in developed nations, your tax dollars do a whole lot of work for your society and everyone benefits from them to some degree. They not only pay for infrastructure, but also for services that directly benefit the tax payers and property owners. That does not happen here, so I am not surprised you unaware of that. & that line about you about how they "effectively implements laws relating tax evasion" make me laugh.

The issue is why should a tax be lievied upon people simply because are reaping the rewards and profits of their investments and hard work, when they getting absolutely nothing for it.
The definition of a tax is a fee levied upon the people to pay for goods, services and development that would benefit those people of that society. Historically it's been proven, this does NOT happen in this place. In T&T, you pay taxes, and you get nothing of benefit for your tax dollar, and this is the way these politicans like it and would love to keep it. If you doubt that, take a close look at VAT as well as OPT they are classic examples. VAT is basically a tax you pay simply because you can afford to buy something that you want that would benefit you, adding whatever tangible or intangible value to your life, however big or small that value might be. OPT is there simply because you can afford to buy items online, whether or not those items are available locally, or necessary for life or not.

When arsehole politicians pretended to cuss & complain when ANR Robinson implemented VAT in T&T, called him an unfeeling tyrant. one dead one even said Robbie doh like poor ppl, and that poor ppl go suffer with that VAT. Observe, 30 years later, you still pay VAT, and you can't say what the state does with that tax revenue that benefits you or your community, & not ones of these jizz drinkers have any interest in abolishng it, nor can they say what it was originally implemented to pay for, nor do they want to discuss that topic at all. Same situation with OPT, you pay it on imports but you have no idea where that money goes and paying it does not benefit you. That is not an accident.

These shitbirds if left to their own devices, would tax your rental income, your property, and the fixtures inside your property, and tell you flat out that your property that you worked hard to obtain does not belong to you.

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 3:41 pm

88sins just expressed the feelings of most Trinis. But I have to correct him on one point , there are people who benefit from the taxes. The friends and family if the politicians, the financiers and all the contractors.

Postby RedVEVO » February 23rd, 2020, 3:56 pm

People call themselves LANDLORDS ..

Then they feel they are SIR Honorable .. etc etc ..

It's time for the Gov't to institute absolute " rent control " via stringent Laws.

It will protect the "renter" or "lessee" people from the Greedy, Shylock type hooligans .

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 4:24 pm

That is true .Nanny have so much tenants living in apts with no windows and a shared toilet. That will help them . She trying to put out one every month for not paying rent ,whose son here playing international businessman.

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 5:25 pm

Nanny had a tenant in a bachelor apt once and he end up breeding nanny daughter. Everybody shocked how she get pregnant and ain't have no boyfriend. If you see bacchanal when they find she in the apt one night. Nikka next day yes.

Postby maj. tom » February 23rd, 2020, 5:30 pm

wait, wait wtf going on here now!!! :lol: :popcorn: :drinking:

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2020, 5:46 pm

rspann wrote:Nanny had a tenant in a bachelor apt once and he end up breeding nanny daughter. Everybody shocked how she get pregnant and ain't have no boyfriend. If you see bacchanal when they find she in the apt one night. Nikka next day yes.

Lol well that boy real win

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 23rd, 2020, 5:49 pm

88, u rite, ah not bright like u at all but that don't change the fact that already rich property owners have no problem breaking the law where it comes to not payin their taxes on all their undeclared income, an in the same breath would complain about problems about shootings, robberies, etc.
Crime is crime, but that's the prob with this country somehow a bandit eatin ah lil 10-20k food worse than a man robbin the gov 330k in tax revenue or as someone else put faris al-wari $21M he hit d tax payers in rent.
Anywayz i iz a renting sufferer so i go b inclined to have tainted views eh.

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 5:54 pm

Maj Tom ,One tub of popcorn not enough. Fed up hear sufferers boast. Foreign rankers who liming on superyachts looking for wuk to build wall. Only envying who have apts, just like the govt and wish they could get taxed out if business or shut down. If I want to be on someone level I climbing up to meet them, I don't want them falling down to make us equal . One set of lies trying to impress. New species , orange fox redVagina etc.

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 6:02 pm

Kenjo wrote:
rspann wrote:Nanny had a tenant in a bachelor apt once and he end up breeding nanny daughter. Everybody shocked how she get pregnant and ain't have no boyfriend. If you see bacchanal when they find she in the apt one night. Nikka next day yes.

He real gt. He live rent free for years till he 5 children get big. The downside is the girl was reaaaal ugly.

Postby maj. tom » February 23rd, 2020, 6:13 pm

rspann wrote:Maj Tom ,One tub of popcorn not enough. Fed up hear sufferers boast. Foreign rankers who liming on superyachts looking for wuk to build wall. Only envying who have apts, just like the govt and wish they could get taxed out if business or shut down. If I want to be on someone level I climbing up to meet them, I don't want them falling down to make us equal . One set of lies trying to impress. New species , orange fox redVagina etc.

The guy mentally ill. I now only feel pity for him and wonder what hell his joker personality brain has to create to survive. But not that pityful it seems that he comes here and harassing people on the forums with his bs. Is every single thread he only talking a set of retard, like if somebody does molest him (this isn't funny though) on a Sunday and that triggers a reaction.

Postby 88sins » February 23rd, 2020, 6:16 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^
People call themselves LANDLORDS ..

Then they feel they are SIR Honorable .. etc etc ..

It's time for the Gov't to institute absolute " rent control " via stringent Laws.

It will protect the "renter" or "lessee" people from the Greedy, Shylock type hooligans .

Curious, you see the need for laws to protect the lessees. Not a problem by me at all. All for it.
What do you propose be done to protect landlords from lying, destructive, abusive, cantankerous, treacherous and more often than not broke ass tenants?

If I tell you how many females today more than willing to pay rent with crotch instead of actual currency you'd be surprised. Is a regular thing, even in places where you would not expect it to happen.
When dealing with those types, the landlord has to be extremely careful. Cuz they already can't pay the rent, and them so usually have no problem lying and saying they were propositioned for sex in lieu of rent and stinkin up an honest man's name when facing eviction. So the property owners in such circumstances take hits from all sides. Who/what protecting them?

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 6:53 pm

The first time the ambulance come to pick up nanny daughter , she bawl out , rspann , they kidnapping mih, allyuh help

mih! I hadda go by the amblance and say girl, they carrying you for treatment. Relaxx

Maj Tom is true . Mental health is a serious matter, can it be passed down?

How you just bring up molestation? Like you hear something?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 23rd, 2020, 11:20 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Does that make him the landlord now?

Or at the very least is he in line for the throne?

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 11:47 pm

Nah he leave the mad wife and children on their own and pick up a next woman.

Nanny rent a one room to a young Guyanese about 20 yes old. Next thing the boy helping with chores. He boasting nanny giving him money and everybody laughing. Until a neighbor catch nanny in the gallery sucking the young boy tongue. When his mother run up on nanny she say she in love and in love age is no barrier. Nanny 80+ eh.
Allyuh feel I could make up this?

Postby 88sins » February 24th, 2020, 1:13 am

She might be old buh she eh cold.
Da man have belly tho

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 24th, 2020, 4:11 am

if from a next tread a man charging /paying $25000 to put up 300 blocks on a 50 foot wall dem landlords have a rignt to charge what they want to make back they money yes. is up to allyuh tuh pay it if allyuh want of buy yuh own piece ah land and pay $$25000 x 6 to block it around and 7-800000 $ to put up yuh own house.

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2020, 6:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Well^ if you put it like that...I got you

Aye yeh fadda blessings

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 24th, 2020, 8:39 am

spann say grab more than one

:popcorn: :popcorn:

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 8:47 am

You know about the Chronicles of Narnia? Well I writing The Chronicles of nanny-a.

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2020, 9:40 am

rspann wrote:Maj Tom ,One tub of popcorn not enough. Fed up hear sufferers boast. Foreign rankers who liming on superyachts looking for wuk to build wall. Only envying who have apts, just like the govt and wish they could get taxed out if business or shut down. If I want to be on someone level I climbing up to meet them, I don't want them falling down to make us equal . One set of lies trying to impress. New species , orange fox redVagina etc.

You're forgetting the biggest sufferer pretender, wanna-be Vene Max Kant

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 10:08 am

Nah. He is a wanna be vene , and he too aggressive but he ain't a sufferer. He big in the dance.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 24th, 2020, 11:21 am

Rent is pretty good in TNT. In the Cayman islands it`s about 900-1200 USD a month for a room in a house. Bremuda is also pretty high but those places salaries are high or men have side hustle to try to make it.

In Cayman i spent 2900 USD for a 2 bedroom.

In Trinidad I spent 250k+ just renovating a 3 apartments and boy the problems I get with contractors like they not coming to work they doing somebody else work and the labour/material cost is very high.

Prices wise in TNT i think 4500 for a 2 bed 1 bath with ac and water/internet (maybe electricity) is really good especially in the east/west corridor and close to the PBR/Highway with amenities semi furnished.

A 3 bedroom would be about 5000-5500 east/west corridor depending on furnishes and what utilities are included as well.

But labour in Trinidad is wayy to expensive like wth man charging me 6500 for plumbing and his material list was way off.

I`ve been looking at Antigua rent prices as I may go there but damm it`s like 700 USD for a 1 bedroom and 1400 USD for a 2 bedroom sigh.