Peugeot 405 dash/evapotator

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

ahing6

Peugeot 405 dash/evapotator

Postby ahing6 » January 31st, 2014, 8:31 am

Any 405 owners ever had issues with 405 A/C evaporator leaks?
I purchased the car with non working A/C
When took off dryer line saw green dye which is clue a tech was looking for a leak in system.
Are the evaporators on these cars long lasting over 12yrs ('95 model)or are they known to fail after period of 5-6yrs like most modern all aluminium evaporators?

I don't want waste time 'gas up' system and have it all leak out next day.

Any feed back/advice appreciated.

ringlord

Re: Peugeot 405 dash/evapotator

Postby ringlord » March 13th, 2014, 9:18 am

should hsve it checked by an a\c guy, pressure test first and inspect the lines, problem is getting under the dash, it hard like s**t. look upthe Haynes Manual, it shows u how to scrap it. better to scrap it for the ac man dey always braksin from dat, btw the compressor in these cars seize up real quick, dont forget the oil when u gasin up, the sell compressors for $600 in el seccoro , poeples motors
674-6071 plus most othe part for our 405 available dey, i have a 405 GR which one u have ?

ahing6

Postby ahing6 » March 18th, 2014, 11:59 pm

Hard is joke.....was like a 4hr wuk to get out plus had practice taking one off scrap 405 by Curtis that had center console off already and cut up wires. Dash removal has become a side contract job with A/C ppl and understand y it cost so much.
Anyways got whole vent box and pressure tested evap 120psi in water no bubbles.
Other one had green dye stain, meaning leak... as previous owner suspected.
Seems i was not 1st to remove dash as the vent box had some abuse, crack up plastic missing screws etc prob due to frustrations with whoever previously tackled d job....and charge big $$.
What u can't see won't hurt.
Mounting up was not a one shot thing 2@!%**! times.... and this was with recorded pics!!
2nd time was because d idiots who did last wuk did not hook up vent slide cable.
Which gave reason y no blower air was coming through face vents no matter how ah slide d ting!
Only after ah putting on said slide controls it dawned on me ......"whe this cable going"?....sh...t!!
Take off alll dem bolts/nuts but this time slide dash enough to ben up meh body an hand and feel up behind dash to link cable in vent door flap....bruise an dig up hand fuh so.
Everything get a nice dose Lysol clean an fresh.
Next step is get new hoses made up Trinidad Hose Mucurapo rd. vacum gas up and ...........

Its a 405SRi XU10 engine.
Needing a trans or rebuild soon.
manual box could be option too, but da traffic is pressure.

CrisenB

Postby CrisenB » April 2nd, 2014, 8:23 pm

who services you car and who did the ac work for you?

ahing6

Postby ahing6 » April 4th, 2014, 2:00 pm

CrisenB wrote:who services you car and who did the ac work for you?

I do most repairs myself plus i have a mechanic friend owns a 306.
Have to get hoses made up for the A/C lots cracks dried up.
Focusing on installing a tranny i got last Sat.
Getting car decent then will tackle A/C last.

BTW am looking for frt shock mount, mine's busted on 405.

ringlord

Postby ringlord » April 11th, 2015, 10:57 am

i have my 405 for sale if allyuh interested

Return to “EURO”