2010 VW Jetta door rattling

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

svramoutar

2010 VW Jetta door rattling

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 1:41 am

I recently started hearing these annoying rattling sounds coming from my rear left door. It sounded like it was the speaker, but one of the VW technicians told me nothing was wrong with the speaker. He was actually correct because I realized the noise was there even with the radio off. Anyway, he told me it was the plastic carbon fiber looking strip running across the door that was slack. He even demonstrated that the rattling went away when he pressed against it. Has anyone had this problem and repaired it? I need to know if there is anyone that can repair this for me as I don't want to damage anything. Mind you, this same problem I'm having now was mentioned to the head service tech @ Best Auto when the car was under warranty, but they never knew how to rectify it, but all of a sudden there is a solution when the warranty is up. The problem is its starting to get worse and it really makes the car sound old. Hopefully, after I tackle this, I can sort out the rattling coming from my AC vent by the driver's side, another issue that was never rectified under warranty. I'm so sorry to say this, but the after sale service @ Best Auto is the absolute worst. It was so bad that everytime my car was due for service I would panic, because bet your bottom dollar my car would be coming back out with a ding on one of the doors. Honestly, if they continue @ the rate they are going they may end up like Renault. On a positive note though, one person worth mentioning in there is a guy by the name of Kenny Francis. That is one employee who genuinely seeks the customers' interests. If its not for him, I can honestly say I won't touch another VW with a ten foot pole.

Re: 2010 VW Jetta door rattling

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 1:57 am

Good luck. This car has many random rattles.

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.p ... Fix-Thread

If it really is that pseudo carbon fiber strip making the noise I'd say you can pull it out yourself, put foam or foamy tape and reinstall it. You'll need a pry tool to get it out. VWVortex jetta forum should have multiple threads on trim removal if you do a search.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 2:02 am

Oh joy, thanks for the encouragement, lol. I think it should be a simple fix, just want to make sure I do it right, because I'm not too sure where to purchase that strip if I do damage it. Will definitely check out the link you sent though, thanks.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 2:04 am

So this particular model is known for having random rattles? Or is it VW on the whole?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 2:14 am

i will check etka for a part number incase you break it lol. Will also try to get a step by step removal from vw and post up later if i do find it. Don't be too afraid though. Alot of the stuff is held together simply by clips. You just need the right tools and patience and most times even if it feels it might break it won't as the parts are flexible.

Just to clarify the jetta is a mk6 or mk5?

Some of the cheaper VWs seem to have this issue. Golfs, jettas have odd noises from the door seals rubbing against the car frame. Dealer oils them up and the squeaky sound disappears. This one is apparent on some BMW vehicles as well so I dunno if it's just a euro thing.

The mk6 Jetta has alot of other rattles as you can see from the link earlier. I currently have a buzz sound from the tweeter in the A pillar on passenger side. Some people report that their speakers rattle etc. I've seen fixes for rattles from the instrument panel so that's another source.

Some dealers know how to fix them while other dealers give the run around. Guess BA is the latter type on this issue. Sometimes it also depends on who you talk to inside there. Not all technicians are created equally. Might make sense to go to the service manager if you aren't satisfied.

neexis

Postby neexis » April 29th, 2013, 7:15 am

actually the passat suffers from the same squeaky rubber door seals.. steups

and i get a good bit of creaking/clicking from the dash... actually going for thiem to check it this week as it's driving me nuts

allergic: do you know what they used to oil the doors?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 8:34 am

Don't know what BA used. I just know it used to run a bit. It also isn't a permanent solution. I had it done in May last year and lasted about 11 months so recently started acting up.

This thread looks promising though:
http://www.vwgolf.net.au/showthread.php ... oads/page2

There are alot of other threads in separate forums and they all basically talk about a silicone tubing or lubricating material.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 29th, 2013, 10:45 am

svramoutar wrote:I recently started hearing these annoying rattling sounds coming from my rear left door. It sounded like it was the speaker, but one of the VW technicians told me nothing was wrong with the speaker. He was actually correct because I realized the noise was there even with the radio off. Anyway, he told me it was the plastic carbon fiber looking strip running across the door that was slack. He even demonstrated that the rattling went away when he pressed against it. Has anyone had this problem and repaired it? I need to know if there is anyone that can repair this for me as I don't want to damage anything. Mind you, this same problem I'm having now was mentioned to the head service tech @ Best Auto when the car was under warranty, but they never knew how to rectify it, but all of a sudden there is a solution when the warranty is up. The problem is its starting to get worse and it really makes the car sound old. Hopefully, after I tackle this, I can sort out the rattling coming from my AC vent by the driver's side, another issue that was never rectified under warranty. I'm so sorry to say this, but the after sale service @ Best Auto is the absolute worst. It was so bad that everytime my car was due for service I would panic, because bet your bottom dollar my car would be coming back out with a ding on one of the doors. Honestly, if they continue @ the rate they are going they may end up like Renault. On a positive note though, one person worth mentioning in there is a guy by the name of Kenny Francis. That is one employee who genuinely seeks the customers' interests. If its not for him, I can honestly say I won't touch another VW with a ten foot pole.

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:
As what the VW God (Allergic) mentioned in his scribes, once you have the "PROPER TOOLS", it would be an easy fix.
Vast amount of information is available on the internet for the european cars, yet you hear people complaining that they cannot find anything.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 11:13 am

Thank you so much Allergic, will definitely check the link out. I appreciate all the help. Also, it was the head tech as well as the service manager that dealt with my car. The hard thing is these cars and all cars I think are only as good as their after sales support eh.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 11:22 am

I honestly think Renault, Peugeot, VW are all good cars, it's just the trained support we lack in Trinidad, because after all the little problems I've had with my VW, I still love my car. It's just that feeling I get when I drive my Euro vehicle as opposed to my Japanese vehicle. For one I can go to Trincity Mall and know that my car will be waiting for me in the car park, lol!

eurosol

Postby eurosol » April 29th, 2013, 11:46 am

that rattling problem that you guys are experiencing it from the plastic clips that fasten the upholstery to the door...they tend to become loose and so must be replace to give that snug original fit.

the squeaking in the passat dash board is due to the brittle plastic over the years with exposure to the sun. Small cracks develop which results in squeaking, that can be very annoying at most times.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 11:53 am

Eurosol, do the carbon fiber looking strips carry clips that can be changed? What do they even call those strips anyway?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 12:15 pm

Decorative strips they are called most likely.

Sv you didn't mention what version jetta you have. Mk5 decorative strips require a different method to remove compared to mk6 ones.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » April 29th, 2013, 4:01 pm

Hmm not sure, is the MK6 the newer square shaped model? If so, then I have the MK5.

neexis

Postby neexis » April 29th, 2013, 5:31 pm

eurosol wrote:the squeaking in the passat dash board is due to the brittle plastic over the years with exposure to the sun. Small cracks develop which results in squeaking, that can be very annoying at most times.

this passat was manufactured a few months ago....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 5:44 pm

It's poor workmanship at factory. Hit and miss with different passats. Might be a forgotten screw or missing padding, loose clip. All sorts of things yes.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 29th, 2013, 5:45 pm

neexis wrote:
eurosol wrote:the squeaking in the passat dash board is due to the brittle plastic over the years with exposure to the sun. Small cracks develop which results in squeaking, that can be very annoying at most times.

this passat was manufactured a few months ago....

Is the vehicle parked outside to endure the elements or is it in a covered area?

neexis

Postby neexis » April 29th, 2013, 5:59 pm

it's parked outside. the creaking occurs regardless of temperature.

it is noticed mainly on acceleration and braking, and sometimes on rough roads. definitely sounds like the plastic on the dash moving with any significant force on the car

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 29th, 2013, 6:13 pm

neexis wrote:it's parked outside. the creaking occurs regardless of temperature.

it is noticed mainly on acceleration and braking, and sometimes on rough roads. definitely sounds like the plastic on the dash moving with any significant force on the car

I could be wrong but are the VWs down here built for temperate or tropical climates? I think I heard the VW Gods debating that they were assembled in Mexico.

With the Renault VIN and info, the majority of tRenault vehicles down here were either assembled in England or in France and were meant for "TEMPERATE" Climates.
Bearing this in mind, my Megane and Clio are always under the house unless it goes on an errand.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 6:42 pm

Nah they started building them for the region. At least mine states it is meant for tropical climate and classes the region as "Barbados". I suspect they started doing that due to previous models having that headliner falling down issue.

Also VW states special requirements are done for the region including Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Trinidad ad Tobago. What exactly these special requirements are I am not sure as yet.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1367275307.925402.jpg

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 29th, 2013, 6:52 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Nah they started building them for the region. At least mine states it is meant for tropical climate and classes the region as "Barbados". I suspect they started doing that due to previous models having that headliner falling down issue.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1367275307.925402.jpg

It would be nice to compare at least 10 VW Jettas to see if this applies.
From the bits and pieces of plastic in my Megane that became brittle with our tropic conditions, it is better to replace than trying to stick with glue.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 7:04 pm

I agree it would be cool if more people got together to share info but the euro forum seems so dead at times :/

I guess people Doh really buy euros to mod or find out everything about them.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » April 29th, 2013, 7:31 pm

2008 B6 Passat, fortunately no rattles.... Opening driver door "crack" sound disappeared with some red grease.
p3.PNG
p2.PNG
p1.PNG

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 29th, 2013, 7:50 pm

I saw there is a National Sales Program Tdad as well.
Sales Program Tdad.jpg

neexis

Postby neexis » April 29th, 2013, 8:02 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
I could be wrong but are the VWs down here built for temperate or tropical climates? I think I heard the VW Gods debating that they were assembled in Mexico.

With the Renault VIN and info, the majority of tRenault vehicles down here were either assembled in England or in France and were meant for "TEMPERATE" Climates.
Bearing this in mind, my Megane and Clio are always under the house unless it goes on an errand.

the passat is manufactured in Germany... this model was from the Mosel plant

temp requirements are the same

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 8:16 pm

Neexis a few things. How does that drowsiness monitor work? Your spec also says nameplate "FSI" but I thought your PAssat has a TSI badge in the back? Your xenon headlamps turn with the steering wheel? Do they also have auto levelling?

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » April 29th, 2013, 8:22 pm

2013 Skoda Yeti
y1.PNG
y2.PNG
y3.PNG
y4.PNG

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 9:19 pm

svramoutar wrote:Hmm not sure, is the MK6 the newer square shaped model? If so, then I have the MK5.

Instructions for a 2010 Jetta mk5.

Part numbers for the decorative strip in the rear doors: left and right. Several colours for you to choose from.

The part is highlighted as number 30 in the image. Let me know if it matches up with the shape of the part you are talking about in your Jetta.

neexis

Postby neexis » April 29th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Neexis a few things. How does that drowsiness monitor work? Your spec also says nameplate "FSI" but I thought your PAssat has a TSI badge in the back? Your xenon headlamps turn with the steering wheel? Do they also have auto levelling?

yea i was concerned bout the FSI thing, but the car has the correct TSI name plate. i guess vehicle specific spec sheets aren't always 100% correct.

the drowsiness monitor/fatigue detection system supposedly works by monitoring driver input for steering wheel, brake and accelerator pedals. it's supposed to come on if it detects no change in input over a long period. but i've never really had any static periods like that when driving so i can't say.

the xenon headlamps do have auto leveling that is set every time the car turns on. the cornering light is a separate lamp adjacent to the fog lamps angled about 30-45 degrees outwards. either lamp will switch on (or fade in rather) depending on the direction in which the steering is turned, and back off once the steering wheel is centered. real neat feature. also, turning on the indicator will switch on the lamp on the respective side of the car. both lamps also come on when car is in reverse.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 29th, 2013, 9:42 pm

Ok I thought the monitoring was done via a camera or something. Sounds like it's software based. Might be able to retrofit in other vehicles.

Return to “EURO”