AUDI DRIVERS - super or premium?

Posted: January 28th, 2013, 3:17 pm
by silverfire
Hey guys, I'm considering getting a Audi Q3 2.0L and I've been hearing mixed stories about using Super or Premium. ONe agent is saying that Super worked for him for the past 4 years as it did for others without any problem. Other agents are saying it may cause problems...can anyone tell me of their experiences????? Thanks.

Re: AUDI DRIVERS - super or premium?

Posted: January 28th, 2013, 11:08 pm
by Allergic2BunnyEars
2.0T engine has a high compression ratio. Chances are it needs RON 95 as minimum. The Tiguan which comes with the same engine requires a minimum of RON 95 as well so premium for it.

Posted: January 29th, 2013, 8:49 am
by nes123
Correct premium...

Posted: February 7th, 2013, 8:04 pm
by evo_mad
Super can be used, however the difference in performance between super and premium in my opinion is not worth it.

Posted: February 7th, 2013, 8:32 pm
by nes123
Not sure bout the info there bro...but compression is 10:5:1....though those engine resistant somewhat to knocking...if driven for long periods on the wrong fuel will wreak havoc to that engine...plus I think those are direct injection afaik...premium or nothing

Posted: February 8th, 2013, 1:22 am
by Allergic2BunnyEars
Doh take us on. Check yuh manual or fuel flap.

Posted: February 8th, 2013, 3:11 am
by nemesis
Check the manuals when you go to view.
Generally Premium is recommended, but some models like the A6 have the detuned 2.0T (180hp) and may work with Super.. not sure about Q3.

Posted: February 9th, 2013, 12:45 am
by equipped2ripp
2.0T needs 95 octane.

Posted: February 9th, 2013, 2:44 am
by nemesis
The 211hp or the 180hp? I know they bring both to trini in different vehicles.
Drove a 180hp last mth...been a long time since I was as disappointed with an engine as that.