Page 1 of 2
MINI COOPER S COUNTRYMAN (LOVE LOVE LOVE)
Posted: November 1st, 2011, 3:38 pm
by eurotuner
Oh ok, so since this car come out, I've been getting rel gay about it,
thinking bout going in and checking it out, seen 2 from my office
this morning, one was a white one on MATTE black wheels sigh it sooooooo COOL!!!!!

Whats ur thoughts on it guys?
Re: MINI COOPER S COUNTRYMAN (LOVE LOVE LOVE)
Posted: November 2nd, 2011, 12:51 pm
by rfari
slick car. looks like a cooper on steriods
Posted: November 2nd, 2011, 2:21 pm
by eurotuner
it looks so much better in person
Posted: November 3rd, 2011, 1:49 pm
by MG Man
check the review in Zorce Issue 14
Posted: November 21st, 2011, 12:15 pm
by DSM_05
Zorce had a decent review. Probably makes the car sound faster than it really is.
The only downside was that some dum-dum parked up an "old" (new) silver Mini Cooper in front of the Countryman C-S.

Posted: November 21st, 2011, 12:22 pm
by MG Man
yeah we still tryin to find dat fella........man ruin ah real good shot there tryin to feel he special

Posted: November 21st, 2011, 12:35 pm
by wagonrunner
DSM_05 wrote:Zorce had a decent review. Probably makes the car sound faster than it really is.
The only downside was that some
dum-dum parked up an "old" (new) silver Mini Cooper in front of the Countryman C-S.

the correct term is KANT
Posted: November 21st, 2011, 12:35 pm
by MG Man
DSM was using the British vernacular
Posted: November 21st, 2011, 1:53 pm
by rfari
Any pics of this?
Posted: November 21st, 2011, 2:02 pm
by DSM_05
MG Man wrote:DSM was using the British vernacular
This is correct, good sir.
My vernacular is perhaps more british than the Mini though (cue BMW comments)

Posted: December 4th, 2011, 10:52 am
by DVSTT
if im not mistaken, zorce priced this base as 407k. thats MADNESS!!!!!!!!!
Posted: July 6th, 2012, 12:21 pm
by Dada
i dont like it....mini gone thru.....the last of the minis was the clubmans.......sorry fellahs i give up on them....that sheit look like a mini van now....maybe it have to grow on me....
Posted: July 9th, 2012, 12:25 pm
by MG Man
Dada wrote:i dont like it....mini gone thru.....the last of the minis was the clubmans.......sorry fellahs i give up on them....that sheit look like a mini van now....maybe it have to grow on me....
it's all about marketing and milking the niche
believe it or not, there are potential buyers who want a MINI but need the practicality of a bigger car......my only real issue is why the heck did they have to weird out the headlights and grille
My favorite is still the clubman, mainly because I like offbeat station wagons
PS dada when u comin down?

Posted: July 29th, 2012, 6:26 am
by Dada
MG Man wrote:Dada wrote:i dont like it....mini gone thru.....the last of the minis was the clubmans.......sorry fellahs i give up on them....that sheit look like a mini van now....maybe it have to grow on me....
it's all about marketing and milking the niche
believe it or not, there are potential buyers who want a MINI but need the practicality of a bigger car......my only real issue is why the heck did they have to weird out the headlights and grille
My favorite is still the clubman, mainly because I like offbeat station wagons
PS dada when u comin down?

4 real Hoss......Clubman rules and we both know that.....that sheit is just plain ugly to me...but it selling in the u.s like crazy....not sure wheni will be down there, have to go look for my mom first....lol before i make any trips....but i will link you when i pass thru...
Posted: July 30th, 2012, 11:21 am
by MG Man
nice
the local dealer FINALLY brought in a Clubman S

The owner of an R50 Cooper S done call dibs on it, once he sells his Cooper
Posted: March 20th, 2015, 2:18 pm
by TechLing
Last Cooper S Countryman in stock, at a special discounted price with free maintenance included! Call 774-1798 (Staci) for more information.
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 6:31 am
by sweeks
If u get it, be sure and negotiate for the free maintenance package ...partner bought a five year old with low miles and has been fixing it since he got it ....
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 7:07 am
by Allergic2BunnyEars
sweeks wrote:If u get it, be sure and negotiate for the free maintenance package ...partner bought a five year old with low miles and has been fixing it since he got it ....
What sort of problems?
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 7:09 am
by sweeks
Overheating
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 8:33 am
by MG Man
sweeks wrote:If u get it, be sure and negotiate for the free maintenance package ...partner bought a five year old with low miles and has been fixing it since he got it ....
weird....they tend to be virtually trouble free
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 8:46 am
by 1UZFE
MG Man wrote:sweeks wrote:If u get it, be sure and negotiate for the free maintenance package ...partner bought a five year old with low miles and has been fixing it since he got it ....
weird....they tend to be virtually trouble free
This... My cousin have 1 n all she do is change oil at intervals n drive.
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 7:42 pm
by sweeks
His is a 2 door PCP non turbo model.
Probably he got a lemon then
Posted: May 17th, 2015, 11:43 pm
by MG Man
Who's been looking at it for him?
Posted: May 19th, 2015, 1:29 pm
by sweeks
He was ... I think it went to the dealership
Posted: May 19th, 2015, 6:26 pm
by MG Man
sorry to hear the stress.....it was mainly the early R50s like the one I had, that gave trouble....the power steering pump was suicidal and the CVT was a real pain if you hardly used your car
Posted: May 20th, 2015, 1:53 am
by sweeks
Not familiar with them ... What year were those?
Posted: May 20th, 2015, 9:48 am
by MG Man
R50 was the first ones that came out, '01 to ,06
Those have the BMW / Chrysler engine abd choice of manual or CVT
The power steering is by electrical hydraulic pump. The pump has a cooling fin like what you'll find on a PC, and it's mounted under the car, totally exposed to dirt, stones etc....when the fan gets stuck, it begins to draw more power...eventually the pump overheats and dies....trouble is the same relay that powers the PS fan, also runs the cooling fan, so when the pump fan dies, radiator fans stop and your engine overheats....pure genius
The other issue with the cooling fan is the two-speed controller, which is basically controlled by a resistor. When the resistor burns out, the fan only has high speed...so until the temp rises to the point where high speed is needed, you have zero fan cooling....the dealershop will try and sell you a whole damn fan when you can buy the relay on ebay for US$10.00 and cut and solder it in.......
The CVT is generally arliable assuming you actually drive the car regularly, and change the fluid...I've had dealership techs tell me the CVT fluid is lifetime......total bs
Posted: May 20th, 2015, 9:51 am
by MG Man
The later cars switched to a proper power steering system and a Peugeot engine, plus the CVT was dropped...the newest cars have a 100% BMW sourced engine afaik
Posted: May 23rd, 2015, 9:00 pm
by sweeks
sweeks wrote:He was ... I think it went to the dealership
Correction .... Someone named Nigel sorted it out.
Posted: May 24th, 2015, 2:25 pm
by MG Man
what was the issue?