Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

jrpug407

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby jrpug407 » October 14th, 2020, 7:42 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
jrpug407 wrote:Hi Guys it's be awhile the misfires in my Jetta seems to persist, long story short decided to take it to a different garage and have it inspected. These pictures attached are what I just received from the mechanic, appreciate your thoughts.

Wondering too if I had already done a decarbonizing procedure (walnut blasting) should there still be this much carbon? ImageImageImageImageImage

That’s carbon build up on intake valves? What’s your mileage?
It's at 118k miles, damn could I have been flimflammed by the previous garage, I had done at least 2 decarbonizing procedure with them..... sigh

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 14th, 2020, 7:44 am

jrpug407 wrote:
jrpug407 wrote:Hi Guys it's be awhile the misfires in my Jetta seems to persist, long story short decided to take it to a different garage and have it inspected. These pictures attached are what I just received from the mechanic, appreciate your thoughts.

Wondering too if I had already done a decarbonizing procedure (walnut blasting) should there still be this much carbon? ImageImageImageImageImage

It's at 118k miles, damn could I have been flimflammed by the previous garage, I had done at least 2 decarbonizing procedure with them..... sigh

Not sure if walnut blasting works. Some take off manifold and get a brush directly to the intake valves for carbon removal on direct injection engines.

Side question: You ever had to change your mechatronic unit?

jrpug407

Postby jrpug407 » October 14th, 2020, 7:48 am

jrpug407 wrote:

Not sure if walnut blasting works. Some take off manifold and get a brush directly to the intake valves for carbon removal on direct injection engines.

Side question: You ever had to change your mechatronic unit?
Yes I had it replaced at 48000 miles on my final year of the warranty back in 2015

Postby Dave » October 14th, 2020, 7:53 am

Carbon build up is exacerbated by thinner oils required in newer cars and less use of good gas treatments.
Traffic also adds to this condition.

Postby aaron17 » October 14th, 2020, 8:21 am

Update.....same ole front wheel speed sensor need replacing from the diagnosis. He told me vw always give trouble with them speed sensors. I asked him if cleaning would help. He said no. So them wheel sensors always be poppin...lol
Steups..

Postby aaron17 » October 14th, 2020, 8:41 am

You all ever get trouble with those wheel sensors like me?

jrpug407

Postby jrpug407 » October 14th, 2020, 8:58 am

aaron17 wrote:You all ever get trouble with those wheel sensors like me?
they do pop up once awhile but not as often as you had described, by the way with regards to the sensor problem have had a 2nd opinion?

I had always sent my cat to one garage after the warranty was over. I decided to try another after they failed to address the issues of the ever mistifying misfires my car had been experiencing the last thing they recommended was an engine change (6k) at that point I knew I had to obtain a second opinion.

The car is in the garage and I'm really hoping a thorough clean up of all carbon would finally resolve the issue.

Postby aaron17 » October 14th, 2020, 9:15 am

What I read on google was is either they failing as a defect...they not designed properly or they need cleaning. Strange enough, I was in some heavy white rain the day before. Would that cause something? Them thing jus pricey to change and the car does act up if I don't. I read up a forums and this does cause the same problems that I have and they just have to change the wheel sensors to sort out the erratic behaviour. A japanese vehicle next time yes...like the yaris cross..vezel (no dct) ...
Toyota ...honda or mazda....

Kinday

Postby Kinday » October 14th, 2020, 8:59 pm

I changed the rear left wheel sensor a couple years ago. Now I'm getting the christmas tree lights on dash cluster, upon checking it's the same rear wheel sensor again. I realized that VW changed the part number though so I'll try the new revision. Eagerness cost me the last time around because out of frustration I bought two sensors but they were for the older model.

What I find strange though is that the lights themselves come on and off on their own. They might come on while on the highway and come off before I get to my destination. Some days they're on for a full day then off for two days. So weird and frustrating at the same time. The mechanic confirmed that its the sensor and no its not lose nor can't be cleaned. Regarding the erratic behaviour, I must agree. When the light comes on the car act like there are other issues involved...When there's no dash lights = no problems.

Postby aaron17 » October 15th, 2020, 7:35 am

"When the light comes on the car act like there are other issues involved...When there's no dash lights = no problems"

This^^ self.
Only way for me so far is to shut down and restart car to clear the lights...may not be full proof but it avoids the car bucking and erratic behaviour.

Postby aaron17 » October 16th, 2020, 10:22 am

I guess potholes and bad roads would make this fail more often.

jrpug407

Postby jrpug407 » October 16th, 2020, 12:39 pm

aaron17 wrote:I guess potholes and bad roads would make this fail more often.
Is yours a Jetta 1.4tsi ?

Postby aaron17 » October 16th, 2020, 4:55 pm

jrpug407 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I guess potholes and bad roads would make this fail more often.
Is yours a Jetta 1.4tsi ?
Yea

valentino 46

Postby valentino 46 » October 18th, 2020, 11:22 am

I had the same issue with wheel speed sensors with an a3 . When they bad they can misreport the speed of the vehicle erratically so gears would change erratically . When it gets really bad the car will disable electric steering (since this is speed sensitive and relies on data from sensors , abs, and tyre pressure mgmt - all dependent on speed sensor data ) I have vcds diagnostic so I knew which one was bad and changed it .I can actually drive the car with laptop on and log the data then look at all 4 sensor data on a chart and you will see how the bad ones makes the graph spike . I eventually had to change all . Bought them on eBay (original part from a German seller ) and well easy to install. No problems since.
Prob even same vw part number as a3

Postby aaron17 » October 19th, 2020, 7:12 am

What is the part number? Lights came up today....this morning it geared from d6 to d7 with a high rpm . Then I stopped on the shoulder and it geared down but the last gear it geared down to was d7..with a shudder... wth.

jrpug407

Postby jrpug407 » October 19th, 2020, 7:22 am

aaron17 wrote:What is the part number? Lights came up today....this morning it geared from d6 to d7 with a high rpm . Then I stopped on the shoulder and it geared down but the last gear it geared down to was d7..with a shudder... wth.
I've got a feeling the issue lies with the transmission speed sensor and wheel speed sensor, car shuddering while changing gears could be a mechatronic problem but since your wheel sensor seems to be an on going issue then it's could be also affecting the transmission speed sensor. Just my 2 cents

Postby aaron17 » October 19th, 2020, 8:02 am

Hmmm

Postby aaron17 » October 19th, 2020, 8:56 am

From 2016 to now...10 speed sensors were changed so far.
A total of $7,844.96 or more were spent :/

I eh changed this one yet ...

Postby aaron17 » October 19th, 2020, 2:10 pm

What is advisable on how to drive by the mean time?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 19th, 2020, 2:25 pm

Drive into a reputable garage and do a complete diagnostics.
Regardless of manufacturer, you should not be changing sensors like that.

Postby aaron17 » October 19th, 2020, 2:30 pm

I assume not massy right?

valentino 46

Postby valentino 46 » October 19th, 2020, 9:53 pm

aaron17 wrote:What is the part number? Lights came up today....this morning it geared from d6 to d7 with a high rpm . Then I stopped on the shoulder and it geared down but the last gear it geared down to was d7..with a shudder... wth.

This is for left side front I think
WHT 003 861

Remember it’s left/right, front / rear specific

Postby aaron17 » October 20th, 2020, 8:10 am

valentino 46 wrote:

This is for left side front I think
WHT 003 861

Remember it’s left/right, front / rear specific

thx

Postby aaron17 » October 22nd, 2020, 7:40 am

Mechanic says I still can drive it.but when i drive it on the highway at 80 constant..it does act up and i does lose power when it slip and rev over 3000rpm. So i have to pull on the shoulder and restart car. Mind u it only happens when abs and traction lights on.

Postby aaron17 » October 27th, 2020, 3:23 am

Got it replaced...runs like new again..until it fails again ...steups

Postby aaron17 » November 2nd, 2020, 2:34 pm

Would reverting from 17 to 16 or 15 inch would prevent this from happening?

Postby aaron17 » November 9th, 2020, 3:43 pm

Somebody replied my problem with this...

'no bro its the problem with abs sensor rings which are mounted on the wheel hub... They rust easily and since the sensor and ring are located so close the rusted and warped rings rub along the sensor and this causes the sensor to fail...
As a failproof, do not apply heavy pressure wash over the wheel hub.. And carefully apply antirust spray (wd40) such that it doesn't interfere with the brakes'

I usually spray down my wheel with a hose and a pressure attachment nozzle. Should I use normal bucket?

jrpug407

Postby jrpug407 » November 10th, 2020, 2:14 am

aaron17 wrote:Somebody replied my problem with this...

'no bro its the problem with abs sensor rings which are mounted on the wheel hub... They rust easily and since the sensor and ring are located so close the rusted and warped rings rub along the sensor and this causes the sensor to fail...
As a failproof, do not apply heavy pressure wash over the wheel hub.. And carefully apply antirust spray (wd40) such that it doesn't interfere with the brakes'

I usually spray down my wheel with a hose and a pressure attachment nozzle. Should I use normal bucket?
Very interesting indeed, do try it hopefully it fixes the issue do update here as well really eager to know, I would think this issue could be related to the gearbox as you mentioned earlier that gear shifts were not quite right.

Postby aaron17 » November 20th, 2020, 4:07 am

What is average cost to change a dual mass flywheel? Better to change to single?

Postby aaron17 » November 28th, 2020, 7:31 pm

What engine noise is this? Been getting a strange noise at cold start..
54000 miles

Happens at startup...not every-time though. and it goes away after 20 seconds.

link of noise : https://voca.ro/1n4xnNE7xRcv

Return to “EURO”