TriniTuner.com  |  Latest Event:  

Forums

Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Moderator: 3ne2nr Mods

Allergic2BunnyEars
TriniTuner 24-7

Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 27th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Looking at the new 2012 Jetta and on the surface it looks like a solid buy based on price ($230K) but I may be overlooking a few things.

Pros:
Cheaper initial price than Lancer GT
Low Theft in general for VW (Do insurance companies recognize this?)
6 airbags standard
Good mileage (1400 cc TSI engine)

Cons:
Dealer servicing costs possibly higher than japanese cars in its segment locally (Corolla, Lancer, Civic).

On paper it looks to me a good buy but I have zero experience dealing with the local dealer. Are they reputable and hassle free? I've heard one or two stories about bait and switch on the pricing to entice you but I would like to hear the good stories too about dealing with the dealer too.
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on October 2nd, 2011, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Habit7
TriniTuner 24-7

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Habit7 » September 27th, 2011, 2:35 pm

Some insurance companies give a discount for euro cars (safety and low theft)

The engine might be advanced but its suspension and headlights are a bit of a throwback

rawCpoppa
Street 2NR

Postby rawCpoppa » September 27th, 2011, 4:13 pm

^^^Sales guy at Best Auto insisted that the JETTA we are getting is the euro spec one with the advanced multi link suspension versus the older torsion beam suspension of the US JETTA. Not sure how to check how accurate the accuracy of the local JETTA though.

I agree on the headlights though.

nes123
Chronic TriniTuner

Postby nes123 » September 28th, 2011, 3:43 pm

We actually do get the euro version with multilink suspension ..I checked myself...