Bora maintenance tips
Posted: November 24th, 2008, 9:00 am
by Melkor
I just bought a local used VW Bora. So far the car is problem free and I want to keep it that way. Anybody have any maintenance tips.
I'm taking it for a tune-up at my local mechanic - who isn't a VW specialist. Any recommendations on oil, plugs, etc?
Posted: November 24th, 2008, 4:49 pm
by Gool
my best advice is to make friends with a vw specialist
i sell mechanical, electrical and maintenance parts for the bora and passat.
these are real nice cars but are quite tricky when it comes to maintenance and repairs. simple thing as putting in an engine treatment or transmission treatment can actually mess it up reeeel bad. so please dont take any chances.
also.. many of the sensors go bad quite frequently and many parts are plastic which tend to get brittle and break after a while.
call me if you need a linkup with a vw mechanic as i know quite a few
703-8157

Posted: November 26th, 2008, 10:02 pm
by MG Man
do not take it by a local mechanic who is unfamiliar
worse yet a mechanic who does not work on euros
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED
oh yeah, and invest in one of these

Posted: December 11th, 2008, 2:55 pm
by bcozier
yeah...that is what i want??
anyone can tell he where to find it???
Posted: December 11th, 2008, 4:20 pm
by MG Man
want me to source it for u?
Posted: December 11th, 2008, 7:22 pm
by Gool
try ebay or sumtin.. or torrents.. u mite get it to download electeronically
Posted: December 11th, 2008, 7:36 pm
by Pointman-IA
hoss..don't take it by someone who doesn't know anything a fack about VW vehicles...
Posted: December 12th, 2008, 4:28 am
by TriniVdub
i have it ...u want a photocopy ?

Posted: December 21st, 2008, 2:44 pm
by EuroMaan
Any known issues to look out for with the '03 bora? Thinking of getting one for the misses. I going to look at one with 55 k on it for 60 g. I hear the bora not the most reliable but i fig wid dat mileage the price eh bad. Wha allyuh think ?
Posted: January 2nd, 2009, 11:17 pm
by Dada
Lets Ride Instead in couva...ask for Tony Lions..is the best VW specialist i've known...he just migrated back to tnt..his shop is open about 2-3 months now.......
Boss dont let anyone who dont know about VW touch your car...i have had horror stories until i found the right man....those cars are very good cars way ahead of its time...great cars...
Posted: January 3rd, 2009, 3:56 pm
by TriniVdub
^^^What part of couva an do u have a #?
Posted: January 3rd, 2009, 3:58 pm
by TriniVdub
jus called directory assistance his # is 6362277
Posted: January 3rd, 2009, 4:10 pm
by Dada
trinivdub...did I meet you @ luis shop in Miami once
Posted: March 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm
by Melkor
TriniVdub, Dada:
You have a contact for Tony Lions? You know a good VW man closer to town?

Posted: March 12th, 2009, 3:29 pm
by Melkor
TriniVdub, Dada:
You have a contact for Tony Lions? You know a good VW man closer to town?

Posted: March 12th, 2009, 3:33 pm
by Dada
i have to check
Posted: March 12th, 2009, 3:34 pm
by Melkor
Thanks. And you right, so far this car has been the best. I had a couple problems here and there but you have to expect that from a used vehicle. I heard some horror stories about VW but if you treat them right you safe.
Posted: March 13th, 2009, 1:15 am
by DTAC
Taking an essentially computer controlled car by any old mechanic is madness. Had a lady who took her Audi A4 to some dude because he cheap and he blow the ECU. $20k in her MC.
Like BUGWANAAAaaaaa said, The best thing you can get for your car is a service manual. Worth it's weight in gold. You buy a bess ride, get a bess mechanic. No compromises.
Posted: March 13th, 2009, 6:41 am
by TriniVdub
^^^^ $20k for an ECU

lol she obviously never heard of ebay

Posted: July 24th, 2009, 3:04 am
by naughtyghul
Re: Bora maintenance tips
Posted: October 18th, 2010, 2:12 am
by godgift1025
By the way, we sincerely invite all game players whether you are newbie or veteran to buy cheap
WOW Gold.
It's worth saying a few words on Dark Simulacrum
Buy WOW Gold, the new level
85 spell steal ability. Right now, it's actually pretty amazing. You cast it on your target, and the
debuff stays for around 8 seconds and steals pretty much whatever spell the target casts
RuneScape Gold, giving you a buff that lasts for 20 seconds that lets
you cast a copy of the same spell on whatever target you want
Aion Kinah.
Posted: October 18th, 2010, 10:56 am
by japs
doh make the mistake of carryin it by no ordinary mechanic who doh know nothin about vw, made the same mistake, Rennie from Pointe a Pierre does fix my Bora never had any probs 3550695
Posted: October 18th, 2010, 10:57 am
by japs
doh make the mistake of carryin it by no ordinary mechanic who doh know nothin about vw, made the same mistake, Rennie from Pointe a Pierre does fix my Bora never had any probs 3550695
Posted: October 18th, 2010, 12:32 pm
by Mazdout
x2 Lions or rennie - ebay has those books available or amazon.
Lions very thorough and most of all explains the cause.
Stay away from regular mechs - you will eventually learn that the engineering of these cars are unique.
Posted: October 21st, 2010, 7:23 pm
by thegtiman
Bora is the European version of the North American Jetta 1J chassis.
Copy the manual given below.
USJetta/Golf4 Manual Note this is a US publication and not everything in here would apply to a "general export" vehicle.
Join
ClubGTi for more up to date discussions on European/UK market VWs. Your vehicle is a very similar spec as a vehicle built for the UK/RHD markets.
An example of a "How to" that was written for the benefit of the CGTi forum on MK4
Golf/Jetta/Bora glovebox lid repair.I own a Bora V5 170PS and the only thing that has gone wrong, besides the glovebox lid, were blown side light bulbs. We do service it as per intervals, using VW 505 approved oil and OE filter and G12+ coolant (pink stuff) and it returns very faithful use. I suspect in Trinidad that suspension components will take a beating such as rear bushings, rear springs, ball joints and front ARB drop links. ATE brakes last a long time with Pagid or Ferrod pads. Besides the glovebox lid issue, also broken window regulator and coolant gauge temp sensor are common issues to expect. Not a biggie if you know what to do and correct OE quality parts are available.
Typical parts factors in the UK for these vehicles are,
Euro Car Parts or
GSF. Both do international shipping.
A VDS tool from
Ross tech is a very good investment if you own a VW/Skoda/Seat/Audi vehicle.
It will save you a lot of time, if you learn how to use it, and possibly money in garage scan check bills.
Hope this helps.
Posted: December 13th, 2010, 9:06 am
by Tetramiel
this post is very educational. I am interested in a bora as well and I am going to test drive it later. I am from arima and i don't know any VW specialists in my area. It would be great if someone could list a contact for a VW person within the east side
Posted: December 16th, 2010, 9:24 am
by TriniVdub
^^^My garage on the eastern main road in St Joseph would be officially opening in January, all my guys are certified and have tons of experience with the euros.
Give me a call @ 726-2510
Posted: December 16th, 2010, 6:05 pm
by Mazdout
BUMP!!!!