Need Advice on Peugeot 306 engine swap

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

sham1984

Need Advice on Peugeot 306 engine swap

Postby sham1984 » January 29th, 2008, 5:13 pm

We have a PBA peugeot 306 here 1800cc engine and automatic transmission.
The transmission has failed before and cost a bunch, its dead again and we decided its best to swap it out.

I'd like to know if anybody has done engine swaps, what engine was used.
We'd prefer to have as little hacking and machining to do.
Any advice will b greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

plex

Postby plex » January 31st, 2008, 6:18 am

How did the transmission fail again? Are you going back with a peugeot engine?

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » February 1st, 2008, 12:46 am

water got into the transmission and killed it the first time. the "specialist" didn't do a perfect job rebuilding it and the gears are not engaging all the time. (the rebuild job gave us about 15months before it conk out again). the peugeot man in El Soccorro say he don have any transmissions to sell so we kinda hard up on a cost effective replacement

the estimate is around 4-5grand to do a proper job by another specialist, so we decide we want to skip that headache and put in a nissan or toyota engine and transmission

on the other hand, the engine is perfectly fine. if there's a remote possibility a nissan or toyota transmission would line up on it, then that'd just be fine.

ofcourse as i said before, we don't really want to cut parts and engineer all kinds of madness that not guranteed to last

plex

Postby plex » February 1st, 2008, 8:12 am

Putting a transmission of a different brand i not sure what to tell u..You could go manual but i see you did not mention that as it can be another solution.

I am wondering if you can use a citroen transmission as peugeot & citroen are a group of companies..I starting to think if renualt transmissions can work also.

Try and see if the other French rivals transmission can work..Thats is if u do not want to put back a peugeot transmisson. Other than that i try with a nissan if time is on you. Talk to Sheldon at the el soccorro branch to hear what he says..

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » February 1st, 2008, 9:41 am

the manual transmission for the peugeot is scarce too. um... we hav a little experience with renault and citroen and i don't mean to step on anybody toes buh those brands we really want to stay away from. my cousin hav a ded renault kangoo by him tha need a engine and transmission too..lol PBM plates i think

more so, i'm looking for someone to say "hey i put a toyota 4ag engine and transmission and it line up like it was make for that" or that a b14 engine work or something. the elsoccorro fella had a 306hatchback with a sr20 engine in it buh people wan dig out yuh eye with them sr engine prices and i doh know what them went through to get that in there, so thats not on my list.

plex

Postby plex » February 1st, 2008, 12:47 pm

I hope u get through with something...

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » February 1st, 2008, 1:02 pm

I saw a 306 with an SR20 for sale the other day, so that swap is possible.
If you wanna save some gas, try the qg18 from the primera or a qg15 from the Wingroad/Almera/B15.

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » February 1st, 2008, 4:06 pm

gas nuh a problem really..is that i don wan pay 7grand for a sr20

i doh wan cut mounts or shave the drive shaft an ting..if you could confirm for me that either of those engines fit easy, i'd be very grateful

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » February 3rd, 2008, 9:35 am

fella

call ramo's auto supplies

look in the directory for it

he is located somewhere on southern main road

wherver the hell that is

i got my tranny there

he got some peugeot parts brother

my advice

if u going WALK WITH CASH

when they see the blues they'll get the clues

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » February 14th, 2008, 6:11 pm

I would try ravestarfx's way 1st, any swap with another manufacturer especially euro to jap is going to have cutting, welding and switching of mounting areas.

giggle868

Postby giggle868 » November 21st, 2008, 5:34 pm

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » November 21st, 2008, 6:05 pm

erm.. i didn't know i had to give this post closure
We were getting the transmission rebuilt by chaguanas auto supplies..them on the mainroad in chag ent? some people who does service torque converters and stuff
I sure i have the name right
Anyways..the big teef dem steal out a buncha parts from the transmission and tell we that we gotta buy them brand new. We give them some cuss, take back we remaining tranny parts and went to a next fella about a 5mins drive from medfords and he coincedentally had another transmission and work up what we had and what he had with a new service kit and tadaa. Cost was $8G tho.
Can't do a thing about it, some fella came and bought the peugeot..good riddance to that horrid car

For god's sake people, don't buy any european cars unless you making a 5 digit paycheck and willing to send it to the dealer to fix every little thing
on second thought..stay away from euro cars

Re: Need Advice on Peugeot 306 engine swap

Postby ismithx » August 19th, 2015, 11:40 am

Bumping this thread. Also looking for info on the best engine (and optionally tranny) to put in a 306

peezhouguy

Postby peezhouguy » August 24th, 2015, 8:52 pm

Nissan is a safe option. GA16 works fine for my 306 SR, heard QG15s and SR18s work well too. On the other hand I personally saw men with 4AGE 20V (from a Levin AE111) and 4G15 (CK2) installed. Check out T&T Project Car Build on Facebook, you'd find some Peugeot guys there with other suggestions.

Soochi boi

Postby Soochi boi » September 4th, 2015, 8:14 pm

Bumping old thread cross breed brings unwanted problem not matter how "good" the mechanic who doing it says so. Cross breed reduces the value (small as it is:roll:)
Bess interest if u cant afford to maintain peugeot sell rather than swapping. Get a good mechanic.. David Hobbs/ amar ... some of the best in peugeot mechanics.
Money you paying to swap fix the problem. ..... and if u fed up sell...
My 0.02c as a peugeot owner ( from 206/306/406/306)

peezhouguy

Postby peezhouguy » September 4th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Bumping old thread cross breed brings unwanted problem not matter how "good" the mechanic who doing it says so. Cross breed reduces the value (small as it is:roll:)
Bess interest if u cant afford to maintain peugeot sell rather than swapping. Get a good mechanic.. David Hobbs/ amar ... some of the best in peugeot mechanics.
Money you paying to swap fix the problem. ..... and if u fed up sell...
My 0.02c as a peugeot owner ( from 206/306/406/306)

i hear what you saying buddy but when it's time to buy routine parts like throttle body etc you will be bawling. keeping the original engine only makes sense if you were in the UK or something where used parts are widely available. you may get some headache here and there with a swap but you will be saving tons of $ in the medium to long run. Because of the low resale value I don't think selling is a good option either unless you REALLY fedup.

Return to “EURO”