wtk: audi engine swap **(PICS)**

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

miguel granville

wtk: audi engine swap **(PICS)**

Postby miguel granville » May 2nd, 2007, 3:52 pm

just whant to know if the engine in an audi a4 gone bad and you en wha spend 30k+ to fix or buy a new a new engine ,

wha you go do?

wha kind of engine you go buy to replace it ?

is one like this. i just need to know wha you would do fellaz

plex

Postby plex » May 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm

If you can get an audi engine will be the better thing..

I not in favour of cross breeding...But if costs is a factor and you have no choice then ok...

I feel thegtiman is the person to pm, he seems to know these cars really good..

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 3rd, 2007, 1:13 am

Ok cool

thegtiman

4V ADR 8D

Postby thegtiman » May 3rd, 2007, 2:30 am

miguel granville wrote:Ok cool

Thats an ADR (Big port) 20v motor. You can pick-up one of those for £350. You can also rebuild it. What is wrong with it? timing belt break?

plex

Postby plex » May 3rd, 2007, 6:56 am

Thats serious thing if engine timing belt burst.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » May 3rd, 2007, 7:06 am

plex306 wrote:Thats serious thing if engine timing belt burst.

More of a hassle on those cars. But repairable and not always terminal. On A4s and Passats you have to remove the front end of the car to replace belt. Should be done every 60K miles. Its easier than it sounds TBH.

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 3rd, 2007, 11:21 am

nah nothing happen to the car . its workin real good.

i just was home and i waz thinkin what will i do if the engine goes bad lol
if you know wha i mean

the only thing i need for it is a fuel pump so if any one know where i can get a link up let me know. cool

DNicK

Postby DNicK » May 3rd, 2007, 1:40 pm

U ever tried getting parts out of Miami or something? I've seen A4's, Golf IV's and Jetta IV's (Boras) in Florida running pretty well.

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 3rd, 2007, 8:25 pm

fellaz i waz expectin to hear you call sr20det as a replacement lol :D

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » May 4th, 2007, 7:34 am

This is the Euro thread, only purist in here... you won't be getting that kinda advice in here. If you want a replacement go for the 2.0T from one of the newer A4's.

plex

Postby plex » May 4th, 2007, 11:01 am

thegtiman wrote:Should be done every 60K miles. Its easier than it sounds TBH.

Correct.. 8-)

DNick wrote:U ever tried getting parts out of Miami or something? I've seen A4's, Golf IV's and Jetta IV's (Boras) in Florida running pretty well.

Which is why German drivers are so lucky in this country, USA is right there..

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 4th, 2007, 12:18 pm

fellaz this is my old fuel pump. rite now the car usin a temporary punp and the car kinda starvin for gas so i need a pump that could replace it , a walbro or sum,
any advice fellaz.

pics of the pump in link below

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

DNicK

Postby DNicK » May 4th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Is your engine code AEB-1.8 or AWV?

Grind

Postby Grind » May 4th, 2007, 5:54 pm

miguel granville wrote:...... the only thing i need for it is a fuel pump so if any one know where i can get a link up let me know. cool

Have you tried ERM in Freeport 673-5215

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » May 5th, 2007, 12:54 pm

NickJr. wrote:This is the Euro thread, only purist in here... you won't be getting that kinda advice in here. If you want a replacement go for the 2.0T from one of the newer A4's.

I agree. SR series motors are for Nissans and Projects and there is no reason an Audi owner would want to go down this road.
2.0T conversion is not a straight forward one I am afriad. And will be very expensive especially in trini where you would ideally need the doner car with all the looms, imobilliser,keys, EMS and so on. 2.0T is an Fuel Stratified Injection motor (same as Mitsubishis GDI) and works differently to the older 1.8 20vT with conventional 3bar net FI. Most of the cars with a TFSI motor would run on a mulitplexing system of various baud rates so the wiring is different as well.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » May 5th, 2007, 1:27 pm

DNicK wrote:Is your engine code AEB-1.8 or AWV?

Look at the cover in the picture. Its says 5v. If it was turbo'd you would see 5VT.
So its an ADR which is also used in the Passat (same car mechanically)
AEB= early north-south 1.8T For Passat and A4

AWV= Later 1.8T used in tranverse engined VWs and Skodas from 2001. Not used by Audi.

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 5th, 2007, 2:32 pm

Is your engine code AEB-1.8 or AWV?

ADR-1.8-20v why ?

DNicK

Postby DNicK » May 6th, 2007, 3:14 am

well as thegtiman just explained, that would determine what fuel pump it uses.

Thanks for that info there thegtiman

Postby equipped2ripp » May 17th, 2007, 3:45 am

miguel granville, you'll have to buy the pump from southern sales

as for changing the engine, get an engine from a crashed audi a4 as urs..

i think you told me you had a 1.6 or 1.8 NA one right? putting a turbo engine, you'll have to upgrade brakes etc... which would be costly

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 17th, 2007, 7:01 am

you'll have to buy the pump from southern sales

do you know the price range of the pump ?

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 17th, 2007, 7:04 am

putting a turbo engine, you'll have to upgrade brakes etc... which would be costly

wel we car have the same exact brakes as the a4 1.8 turbo model

irishbadlad

Local 1998 Audi A4 Power steering pump needed

Postby irishbadlad » September 9th, 2008, 5:09 pm

I have a local 1998 A4 that needs a power steering pump urgently.Anyone knows where i can bet one 2nd hand?

I dont want to go new cos i can well imagine the cost.

Mine was involved in an accident and I got all the other parts form miami onl to realise that my hose connection was damaged in the crash and I'm going to try and mig weld it but I'm looking in front just in case.

Soooo..... If any one can help me it would be greatly appreciated.I'm also looking at my source in miami but I got a raw deal from the shippers and then customs so I'm hoping i can get one here.

Any body have any ideas?? :?:

I can be reached @ 682-1268 and ask for Sean

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » September 18th, 2008, 1:13 pm

but u do know that there is a BMW 3 series roaming the streets with an SR20 from an S14 right?

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » September 18th, 2008, 2:34 pm

i could get u a s4 engine

Grind

Postby Grind » September 19th, 2008, 9:30 am

sr20ve wrote:i could get u a s4 engine

i just had to jump in here... an s4 engine?
how much will that cost!?

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » September 21st, 2008, 8:16 pm

about $30,000 TTD

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 21st, 2008, 11:37 pm

a conversion on that car will cost more than buyin the audi engine if its anything like my pug was

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 21st, 2008, 11:44 pm

if you decide to convert check over the performance specs of the new engine against your old one also check out if your suspension and brakes etc are the same as a version of your car with similar power to the doner car you may not have to upgrade if this is the case audi normally make there cars to be well equiped anyway this is why my dad always bought audis and swears buy them lol.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 21st, 2008, 11:49 pm

btw peugeot 307s have walbros if thats any help id give you my old one but thats one of the many things that killed my car lol

Grind

Postby Grind » September 22nd, 2008, 9:14 am

sr20ve wrote:about $30,000 TTD

s4 engine with tranny or gearbox?

Return to “EURO”