Official VAG DSG/Dual Clutch Transmission Thread

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Re: Official VAG DSG/Dual Clutch Transmission Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 15th, 2014, 8:42 am

Hopefully they did the switch along with your mechatronic unit replacement as the gearbox oil has to be drained and refilled during the process anyway. The question is if they refilled with mineral oil one time. The correct mineral oil is G052512A2. The synthetic oil to be removed is G052171A2. It may or may not show up on your invoice.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 15th, 2014, 8:50 am

See this post for some more info

http://www.vwwatercooled.com.au/forums/ ... ost1015994

It explains why some cars in different years are not affected by the recall. For example if your Jetta was made between May 2011 and November 2012 approximately chances are this recall will not apply to you as your gearbox is already filled with the correct mineral oil. This possibly explains why mk5 owners had alot more problems with their 7 speed dsgs. It also explains why some newer mk6 Jettas may fall under the recall.

Image[/url]
DQ200 gearbox oil by rawcpoppa, on Flickr

neexis

Postby neexis » May 16th, 2014, 6:17 am

Mine is on this recall list as well.

Anybody else?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 16th, 2014, 6:23 am

When was your passat made again?

carluva

Postby carluva » May 16th, 2014, 2:52 pm

Collected my car today and it's working as it should... all is ok except for the bloody ding the folks left on my front fender. Looks like someone opened a door in a rage... Jeeze...

Enquired about the oil recall and they are aware of it. They will however have to order the proper oil which will take some time to arrive in Trinidad and once in, they would then schedule owners to come in to have it replaced.

Looks like they are on track with that recall campaign...

Damn good info on the mechatronics there bunny!!!!

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 16th, 2014, 9:55 pm

@ carluva
Happy you got back the car..great news...

@ bunny
Will be checking my VIN in a bit to see if it is on recall as well. Thanks for the info man...

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 16th, 2014, 10:07 pm

Just checked my VIN so there are no recalls for my car..whew..thanks Bunny for putting us on to that. Found another site too

http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/owners/recallsSubmit

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 16th, 2014, 10:12 pm

just got a quote for replacement clutches by BA for $10.5K with labour at $2.1K
just for reference

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 16th, 2014, 10:18 pm

Fcuk

karl

Postby karl » May 16th, 2014, 10:19 pm

Last edited by karl on May 4th, 2017, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 16th, 2014, 10:30 pm

syncrod wrote:just got a quote for replacement clutches by BA for $10.5K with labour at $2.1K
just for reference

What's your mileage again???

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 16th, 2014, 11:03 pm

think about 33k

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 20th, 2014, 7:19 am

Ok guys..how are you all today?

So my car's mechatronic finally gave up...no gears at all on Saturday..after going down my hill...so had to park up by the neighbors..as well as after this the car was not starting just tumbling..LOL!!

Decided to leave it to rest and as it started up on Sunday night I drove it straight to my garage as the gears were going in.

Then I decided that if it works on Monday morning, I am driving it straight to BA. To which I did. They dealt with me very professionally at all times. Yes, this is a first for me gents. hahaha!
I even got a courtesy car.

So lets see how it goes, they are supposed to start work on it today.

laters

carluva

Postby carluva » May 20th, 2014, 5:04 pm

@ fastredcar - pity to hear that the tranny finally gave up. The good thing is that your Mechatronics is in so you should have your car back in no time. Glad you won't be too inconvenienced...

Based on my mechatronics changeout, you should be back up and running within two days tops... And don't worry - they will deal with you very good and that's a certain + for me based on my experiences...

neexis

Postby neexis » May 21st, 2014, 7:03 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:When was your passat made again?

October 2012.
Vehicle info says it's a 2013 model cuz it fell in that calender year apparently

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » May 21st, 2014, 10:51 am

Lucky you neexis I hoping they don't need to perform a software update after replacing my synthetic oil...bye bye dsg tune :(

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 21st, 2014, 12:16 pm

Software update needed Eco...The steps in the pdf...see page 21

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/acms/cs/ja ... 8-9034.pdf

Checked it for a regular Jetta too and it's the same software update.

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 21st, 2014, 10:09 pm

Hello guys..

Guess what...they couldn't work on my car until today...and then later on called me to tell me that my Fuel Pump needs changing....

Oh well

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 21st, 2014, 10:11 pm

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » May 21st, 2014, 10:56 pm

Thanks Bunny... Lol...ah not surprised at all....will need to find out if possible, different between that updated sw and the current one I have before I decide to just reinstall my dsg tune file..

neexis

Postby neexis » May 22nd, 2014, 7:03 am

I will ask about this recall next time I go in as well.

People in BA must wonder how some VW owners so informed on these issues. Them doh realise we have a VW Guru on board

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2014, 8:16 am

One other thing to consider...The word "recall" actually means something as opposed to words like "service campaign".

Recall usually means the issue is deemed safety related and the manufacturer is obligated to contact affected owners regardless of if the car has new owners according to their records (e.g. sold while under warranty) or if warranty period has been expended.

Service campaigns mean the manufacturer is not obligated to contact owners and do the work required only IF the vehicle is brought to them to do any type of servicing.

In this instance on official German and Global VW websites the word recall is clearly used on each pertaining to the oil change (34F6).

With that in mind I think affected owners should be asking the dealer why they weren't contacted by BA. Especially considering that the date of the recall for vehicles seemingly in this region was since the 7th of April 2014. Key word here being ask and not attack :)

Better to be informed and have issues clarified rather than to leave things in gray areas.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 22nd, 2014, 4:24 pm

Just to add my two cents... I did ask BA about that recall concerning the oil change. What I was told is that the recall was officially issued by VW on 08-04-2014 (which is true based on the VW webiste) but BA only received notice of this recall with a path forward later on in April. At the time I collected my car (which was last week) BA did not have the new oil in stock and I was advised this it was on order. Due to transit times and customs clearing times, the oil could be in stock by May-June. Once in stock, affected customers would then be contacted by BA to schedule a replacement of the oil. From what I gather, BA are aware and are working towards an effective solution to handle the recall and seem to have it under control. So it should likely be a matter of time (sooner from the looks of things) and then we'll be scheduled for an oil replacement.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » May 22nd, 2014, 4:32 pm

Good news!

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » May 22nd, 2014, 7:59 pm

Was reliably informed July the oil will arrive..we shall see

oogan

Postby oogan » May 27th, 2014, 2:49 am

OK...was seriously considering the Jetta as my next new car as Bunny would know...was really impressed with the test drive and even compared it to the A4 and BMW 320i in terms of ride quality and performance. But after reading through this thread and the Jetta pros and cons thread; can't risk it...was 95% sure; went to 85% now zero (my personal opinion). I did own a Renault in 2001-2005...and went through similar issues. Don't think I am prepared to do that again; even if the car is good quality and drives great. Not saying I will never buy Euro again or even a Jetta for that matter...but must be convinced of durability together with quality.

I must say hats of you guys for a very being so informative and detailed on issues. It will only benefit future new car owners.

Thanks.

neexis

Postby neexis » May 27th, 2014, 6:49 am

oogan wrote:OK...was seriously considering the Jetta as my next new car as Bunny would know...was really impressed with the test drive and even compared it to the A4 and BMW 320i in terms of ride quality and performance. But after reading through this thread and the Jetta pros and cons thread; can't risk it...was 95% sure; went to 85% now zero (my personal opinion). I did own a Renault in 2001-2005...and went through similar issues. Don't think I am prepared to do that again; even if the car is good quality and drives great. Not saying I will never buy Euro again or even a Jetta for that matter...but must be convinced of durability together with quality.

I must say hats of you guys for a very being so informative and detailed on issues. It will only benefit future new car owners.

Thanks.

The 320i had similar performance!? Interesting. Must test drive

Something worth considering though... If a Pros & Cons thread existed for every other vehicle locally, who knows what your confidence in each of the other brands/models would be when each of their problems came to light.

I have yet to see a thread on tuner that gives as much insight into the operation, issues, tweaks,etc of any vehicle as Bunny's Jetta thread. I think the major problems experienced have been highlighted, so we know what to expect and how to deal. Props to you guys for that!

oogan.. maybe you should create a pros/cons thread for the new vehicle you're considering

oogan

Postby oogan » May 27th, 2014, 6:47 pm

"(my personal opinion)"

neexis

Postby neexis » May 27th, 2014, 8:29 pm

neexis wrote:
"Something worth considering though"

Nothing against you... just food for thought

oogan

Postby oogan » May 28th, 2014, 3:58 am

My sales rep at BA contacted me...I expressed my concerns wrt to issues identified with the Jetta and BA agreed there were issues and that the new shipment; issues were addressed. I inquired; if BA ever considered giving an extended warranty period and mileage to new and existing owners. The response was negative. I was even referred to this forum...I think was only to show that BA was addressing the issues though.

Maybe BA should consider extended warranty; in fairness to customers and trying to regain their confidence levels...even if it for a specific period until they are 100% sure. Just identifying with issues and treating with them may not be acceptable to some owners...time = money; the least you expect is a worry free vehicle for at least 5 years especially when it is the likes of VW, Audi and BMW...not to mention the prices associated with purchasing, parts and maintenance for the Euros.

Return to “EURO”