Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

drchaos

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby drchaos » April 29th, 2013, 12:10 am

Thanx man!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 30th, 2013, 7:59 am

Just gonna leave this here...Recall for Singapore seems similar to China. Might come in handy for mk5 1.4tsi Jetta owners here.
http://www.volkswagen.com.sg/en/company/dsg.html

"Volkswagen Singapore voluntarily recalls a certain number of vehicles with 7-speed DSG gearbox in Singapore
Singapore, 29 April, 2013 — Volkswagen Singapore, as a responsible OEM, will recall 6,181 vehicles with 7-speed double-clutch gearbox (DQ200).

In isolated cases, an electronic malfunction in the control unit or a lack of oil pressure inside the gearbox mechatronics may result in a power interruption. The most important vehicle systems, such as steering and braking, along with other relevant systems will not be affected regarding their functionality. If, in rare cases, the car loses power while driving, the driver can remain in control to safely manoeuvre the car to a stop.

All vehicles produced and sold now, and vehicles in the dealer stock are not affected by this problem.

Volkswagen Singapore will replace a new gearbox mechatronic on affected vehicles at zero cost to the customer. As a good-will measure to our valued customers, we will provide the latest upgraded software version – also at zero cost to the customer."

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » April 30th, 2013, 9:48 am

For the sake of our MK V owners, I hope they don't face any of those issues.

Thanks for such info A2BE

neexis

Postby neexis » April 30th, 2013, 11:50 pm

why is that? are the mk5 jetta's down here the same as the ones in Singapore?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 1st, 2013, 6:25 am

Well it's more of a precautionary thing I suppose. All jettas are made in Mexico. When you look through forums and vcds scans you get to realize the vehicles seem to be the same across countries with minor tweaks between them but noone knows if the tweaks go down as far into major components like engine and tranny.

It's like Audi multitronic issues from several years ago. There was an issue with them that affected users in several countries. Trinis were affected too but the dealer would tell you there are no issues. If you mentioned the other countries the dealer would say that those models are different to the trini ones...which in that case is bollocks cuz it's the same parts going bad really.

So I would say it makes sense to pay attention to recalls elsewhere rather than paying them no mind. The info might be helpful once the recall is pertinent to the model you are interested in.

I don't pay much attention to recalls for the US jetta as there are several differences including engines, transmissions, suspensions and some body work. Rest of the world jettas however would catch my attention due to the similarities with the ones we have here.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 2nd, 2013, 11:39 am

Yeah the US really gets a crap jetta. The engines are naturally aspirated, old tech and the suspension is torsion beam at the back. Also the materials are not as nice on the inside.

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 2nd, 2013, 3:02 pm

@drchaos

Actually, the US Gli Jetta is a 200HP 2.0 TSi engine, and the Hybrid is a 1.4 170 HP TSi engine.
And the 2.5L naturally aspirated engine is 5 cylinder 170 HP engine..

When I was in Chicago last year, I had the privilege of driving the 2.5..and it is one of the best manual cars I ever drove.

And the interior is actually just like ours.

But I hear you, you are right, they generally don't have the higher standard interiors like their European counterparts.

All Jettas are made in Mexico though..check this excerpt.."as part of Volkswagen's goal of reaching sales of 800,000 units in the North American market by 2018. Production of the vehicle is at Volkswagen's Puebla, Mexico, facility. The sixth generation Volkswagen Jetta was primarily designed by Volkswagen Mexico under the supervision of Volkswagen Germany and 70% of the parts are designed and manufactured in Mexico.

And you are right as we see here another excerpt..

"Volkswagen's target of increasing its North American sales removed the Jetta from the premium compact car market. This forced many cost-cutting measures to be made for the North American models, which include a lower quality trim material for the interior and the replacement of leather with leatherette as an optional seating upholstery. Leather is still available on Canadian-spec models. The North American version also loses the multi-link rear suspension of the previous generation"

Thanks @drchaos for bring certain things to light..

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 3rd, 2013, 12:20 am

fastredcar wrote:@drchaos

Actually, the US Gli Jetta is a 200HP 2.0 TSi engine, and the Hybrid is a 1.4 170 HP TSi engine.
And the 2.5L naturally aspirated engine is 5 cylinder 170 HP engine..

When I was in Chicago last year, I had the privilege of driving the 2.5..and it is one of the best manual cars I ever drove.

And the interior is actually just like ours.

But I hear you, you are right, they generally don't have the higher standard interiors like their European counterparts.

All Jettas are made in Mexico though..check this excerpt.."as part of Volkswagen's goal of reaching sales of 800,000 units in the North American market by 2018. Production of the vehicle is at Volkswagen's Puebla, Mexico, facility. The sixth generation Volkswagen Jetta was primarily designed by Volkswagen Mexico under the supervision of Volkswagen Germany and 70% of the parts are designed and manufactured in Mexico.

And you are right as we see here another excerpt..

"Volkswagen's target of increasing its North American sales removed the Jetta from the premium compact car market. This forced many cost-cutting measures to be made for the North American models, which include a lower quality trim material for the interior and the replacement of leather with leatherette as an optional seating upholstery. Leather is still available on Canadian-spec models. The North American version also loses the multi-link rear suspension of the previous generation"

Thanks @drchaos for bring certain things to light..

Dunno why they won't give us the GLI for our region ... that would have been a sweet car

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » May 3rd, 2013, 8:07 am

Effective Marketing strategy...if we did in fact get those GLI...few locals would buy the GTI Golf...which has 211HP,plus the Jetta would be faster than the Entry level A4 2.0TFSI...can't have that I suppose

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 3rd, 2013, 8:33 am

Yep..thats the idea..marketing strategies. .

Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2013, 9:31 am

FYI

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=180&PN=1

The story behind VW's DQ200 voluntary recall

A number of motorists have been complaining about their faulty DSG gearboxes, which have caused the loss of power, amongst other problems. And based on the stories we've been hearing it's not because they've abused their cars. Until now, Volkswagen has recalled some 384,000 vehicles in China for faulty DSG transmissions.

Volkswagen has recently ordered an official voluntary recall of over 6,000 vehicles in Singapore. A spokesperson also added that the replacement for the affected parts will be free and the completion of the entire recall exercise would take up to a few months.

While some owners are glad that Volkswagen is doing something about it to solve the problem, many are unhappy about the situation.

We recently got in touch with Volkswagen Group Singapore to better understand the problems and to see what solution it has in store to overcome this tough period.

SGCM: What is the technical issue behind the recall?

VW: Sulphur in the gear oil and an inorganic heat stabiliser in the plastic parts (iodine) of the mechatronic unit can cause metallic surfaces to be attacked and to suffer from electrolytic corrosion, in connection with high air humidity and high outside temperatures. Conducting particles can then settle between the circuit paths of the control unit and could cause a short circuit.

SGCM: Is it true that only the seven-speed gearbox has been affected?

VW: The subject of the voluntary recall is the DQ200 seven-speed DSG gearbox. Volkswagen also produces the DQ250 six-speed DSG and DQ500 seven-speed DSG which are not affected by this voluntary recall.

SGCM: What will be the scope of work done?

VW: As part of the voluntary recall, Volkswagen Singapore will replace the gearbox mechatronics on affected vehicles at zero cost to the customer. The work will take around 3 hours per car to complete.

SGCM: How will Volkswagen Singapore cope with the additional workload?

VW: We have employed an additional 10 technicians and four Service Advisors to ensure that the voluntary recall campaign runs smoothly. There will be a dedicated team handling the work, so every car will receive the highest possible level of attention.

SGCM: Where will the cars be repaired?

VW: We have set up a new workshop area with 10 vehicle hoists at Volkswagen Centre Singapore (MacPherson) for the voluntary recall campaign.

SGCM: Why aren't the newer cars being recalled?

VW: We introduced a new generation of mechatronics which solved the issue. Vehicles produced and sold currently are not affected by this problem.

SGCM: In what order will customers be called in for repair?

VW: The mechatronics replacements are being carried out according to car model, production date and the supply of the necessary parts. We will write to customers when the parts for their vehicles are available, so as to avoid inconvenient waiting time.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 7th, 2013, 6:56 pm

syncrod wrote:was just informed that BA will be handling the cost involved with the mechatronic unit replaceement. all i need to know now is the lifespan of this new and hopefully i should be driving vw next year

just got the Mk5 :) :)
on a side note the this is the forth mechatronic unit its one, and its working great so far (about 5 months and counting)
also got a 1 year warranty on the unit.
just waiting on the vcds cable
black is mine
20130507_164133.jpg

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Fourth yuh say?

neexis

Postby neexis » May 7th, 2013, 9:20 pm

:shock: :shock:

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 7th, 2013, 10:17 pm

yea boy was real pressure with that thing
1 - failed (original)
2 - failed (short lived)
3 - didnt work
4 - current
first 2 were lady driven, so i guess it was luck of the draw

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » May 7th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Hope this one lasts.

The failures of 1 and 2 were they instantaneous, or progressive deterioration?
Any sort of "bangs", indicating the mecatronic is on its way out?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 7th, 2013, 10:32 pm

1 was after about 2 or 3 years
2 was within a month
wasn't in possession at the time cant say if it banged, was just told its not working

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2013, 7:24 am

When they replaced them the invoice had the part numbers for each? Post them up if you have them please.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 8th, 2013, 4:52 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:When they replaced them the invoice had the part numbers for each? Post them up if you have them please.

don't think they got one as BA paid for the items

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 9th, 2013, 4:25 pm

syncrod wrote:
syncrod wrote:was just informed that BA will be handling the cost involved with the mechatronic unit replaceement. all i need to know now is the lifespan of this new and hopefully i should be driving vw next year

just got the Mk5 :) :)
on a side note the this is the forth mechatronic unit its one, and its working great so far (about 5 months and counting)
also got a 1 year warranty on the unit.
just waiting on the vcds cable
black is mine
20130507_164133.jpg

Now see why you getting rid of the Clio.....lol......
What plans you have for it?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 9th, 2013, 5:27 pm

nothing right now, car only has 17,000 mile on it.
maybe some 17" and coilovers eventually, lil power bump 200+

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2013, 12:01 am

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » May 10th, 2013, 9:35 am

Hi guys..

Nice to see we doing our bit by looking out for stuff for our cars.

However with front headlights we have to be careful as to our purchases from the US.

The lights are focused differently because of the US being left hand drive and driving on the 'right' side of the road. So you may find that you would not be able to see parts of the road etc when placed in our version cars.

Just food for thought as I know this has happened to one Jetta owner and a few other friends with different brand cars that bought headlights from the US.

Now if there was a way we could modify it or something..or we could try and locate same in the UK.

Have a great day folks..and have a safe Friday.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2013, 6:26 pm

fastredcar wrote:Hi guys..

However with front headlights we have to be careful as to our purchases from the US.

The lights are focused differently because of the US being left hand drive and driving on the 'right' side of the road. So you may find that you would not be able to see parts of the road etc when placed in our version cars.

Just food for thought as I know this has happened to one Jetta owner and a few other friends with different brand cars that bought headlights from the US.

Now if there was a way we could modify it or something..or we could try and locate same in the UK.

Thanx for the info man!!!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 10th, 2013, 7:38 pm

drchaos wrote:

I think the lights would just have to be aligned to suit right hand drive.
Same applies when you want to drive from England (vehicles are RHD) to either France or Germany (vehicles are LHD).

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2013, 9:39 pm

4000 miles and my oil looking real dark brown ... almost black.

neexis

Postby neexis » May 12th, 2013, 8:05 pm

yea... i thought mine was looking a lil dark at 3000.... going in for a service this week.. almost at 5000 now.

drchaos what kinda driving you doing? highway? city? mixed?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 13th, 2013, 10:18 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
drchaos wrote:

I think the lights would just have to be aligned to suit right hand drive.
Same applies when you want to drive from England (vehicles are RHD) to either France or Germany (vehicles are LHD).

The lens itself is built differently to allow glare to one side so you can see street signs and stuff.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2013, 5:46 pm

neexis wrote:yea... i thought mine was looking a lil dark at 3000.... going in for a service this week.. almost at 5000 now.

drchaos what kinda driving you doing? highway? city? mixed?

Almost all highway, Central to South runs 5 days a week and the occasional central to north on my days off.

I'm at 4030 now, was putting them miles on quickly but started carpooling to work so I should slow that down quite a bit. Will probably be ready for the service around end of the month.

When you take the car for service can you let me know the cost and what they changed?

Thanks!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 13th, 2013, 6:28 pm

I have a post going back to November with the servicing cost for oil and oil filter change.

Return to “EURO”