Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

nemesis

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby nemesis » December 5th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:After the two years it's pretty much up to you. Most people service just to maintain the warranty. Afterwards you could do it yourself or outside. Some people continue to service with BA afterwards to keep good faith incase something goes wrong out of warranty.

You all should really consult the dealer on this. Some dealerships(yes, in Trinidad) allow you to maintain their warranty even if you do some work outside.. once it's the simple jobs like changing oil/pads etc.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 5th, 2012, 5:02 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Fellas...if yall see a black PCW R-Line Tiguan zorcing it from Couva - POS...don't bother to catch him it now has 251hp and 302 lb ft. torque...proceed :D :D

did u dyno it to see the results?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 5th, 2012, 5:27 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Fellas...if yall see a black PCW R-Line Tiguan zorcing it from Couva - POS...don't bother to catch him it now has 251hp and 302 lb ft. torque...proceed :D :D

Not bad. Pump gas? Dyno? retuned stock ECU or add ons?

If I see it trying to keep up with me I'll let you know how it runs though. :)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 5th, 2012, 6:58 pm

Lol

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » December 5th, 2012, 8:20 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:

did u dyno it to see the results?

All manufacturers advertise crank HP, not wheel HP. That said, as Protune UK has been doing this for 22+yrs, they can remap Autos literally blindfolded...added to which they get about 2-3 of these motors often enough - short answer, remap results are tested in house at Protune so I merely pass on the advertised gains locally.

Consideration is given to avg temperature/humdity, distance above sea level etc.

nemesis wrote:

pump gas yes, if he has access to 100+ octane he should see additional gain to 273Hp approx.

Re-tuned ECU, no add-ons, won't even be detected by scan tools. It's just that the ECU had a cage securing it the SUV, so I had to cut it, which obviously voids warranty- then I had to open the ECU to solder 3 boot wires to the ECU mainboard for reading/writing via boot mode. This is how all Tricore processor ECU are done when you ship it out to US. I just offer the service which costs cheaper than doing so, but locally.

And don't vantage the poor Tiguan na man.. :lol:

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » December 5th, 2012, 10:07 pm

So for the benefit of some who may be more inquisitive than others...this is the surgery these VAG Tricore must go through unless someone can crack the 1gb hash key used to lock out ECUs from ODB programming....any other question feel free to ask....

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 6th, 2012, 12:16 am

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:So for the benefit of some who may be more inquisitive than others...this is the surgery these VAG Tricore must go through unless someone can crack the 1gb hash key used to lock out ECUs from ODB programming....any other question feel free to ask....

What are the thoughts of the driver after you gave their vehicle a "rude" awakening? :D :D

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » December 6th, 2012, 12:25 am

Lets just say we gave a Countryman S a head-start, then we caught it,then gave it about 10 car lengths.

He had a grin on his face right through... :lol:

This is the most rewarding part to me and what I do - to bring happiness to the customers' faces. He said he sacrificed his warranty for just cause, and with good reason..well, I said it, but he agreed afterward. :o

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 11:54 am

Here is a link to a document describing the euro jetta. It's very different fron the us jetta. Let me know if you guys can see it as I'm now trying out Dropbox.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l2z9492gtldjz ... a%20eu.pdf

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 6th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Here is a link to a document describing the euro jetta. It's very different fron the us jetta. Let me know if you guys can see it as I'm now trying out Dropbox.

Visible...

I am not a VW fanatic but the Jettas we have here are manufactured in Mexico?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 12:58 pm

All current Jettas are made in Mexico.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 6th, 2012, 1:28 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Consideration is given to avg temperature/humdity, distance above sea level etc.

nemesis wrote:

pump gas yes, if he has access to 100+ octane he should see additional gain to 273Hp approx.

Re-tuned ECU, no add-ons, won't even be detected by scan tools. It's just that the ECU had a cage securing it the SUV, so I had to cut it, which obviously voids warranty- then I had to open the ECU to solder 3 boot wires to the ECU mainboard for reading/writing via boot mode. This is how all Tricore processor ECU are done when you ship it out to US. I just offer the service which costs cheaper than doing so, but locally.

You calculated the power drop for our atms yourself? Or the original tuners estimated it for you?

And I stock! What you mean doh vantage him. Remember you're the one that said don't try to catch him...I was just considering the challenge. But doh study it, I go leave him alone with meh slow self. I don't usually do people nutting anyway.
Last edited by nemesis on December 6th, 2012, 1:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 1:29 pm

What you driving nemesis?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 3:04 pm

Here is another link. This document explains the workings of the 7 speed dry clutch dsg found in mk6 and some mk5 jettas, polos, passats with 1.8T sold in Trinidad and Tobago "recently".

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6eawcab83y1xr ... %20dsg.pdf

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » December 6th, 2012, 3:14 pm

nemesis wrote:
EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Consideration is given to avg temperature/humdity, distance above sea level etc.

nemesis wrote:

You calculated the power drop for our atms yourself? Or the original tuners estimated it for you?

And I stock! What you mean doh vantage him. Remember you're the one that said don't try to catch him...I was just considering the challenge. But doh study it, I go leave him alone with meh slow self. I don't usually do people nutting anyway.

:grin: that was directed to jetta men...lol...yeah what you driving anyway?

The maps are done by the pros in UK. I have done some datalogging on past vehicles so they get an indicator for our ATM.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 4:37 pm

1.4 TSI Twincharger engine document. Found in local mk5 and mk6 Jettas usually in conjunction with DQ200 7 speed dry clutch DSG or 6 speed manual tranny.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/x14avmr724z52 ... arging.pdf

neexis

Postby neexis » December 6th, 2012, 6:39 pm

good stuff Allergic!
Any documents on the 1.8 TSI?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 6:50 pm

looking but so far haven't found any docs...depending on what else I find online I may make a separate thread with VAG docs pooled together.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » December 7th, 2012, 7:03 am

Have the jetta for a week now. Damn ting don't have folding mirrors!!! Arrgg!! :@ :@. With allllll the other nice features they loaded onto the thing - no folding mirrors????

Still sort of babying it. I didn't find anything in the manual about "breaking in the engine" but I did see that they said to take it easy on the brakes for the first 320km.

I find the transmission takes 2-3 seconds to pick up from a full stop. Also - this is a bit dangerous on steep hills when at a full stop, and trying to pull off - it wants to roll back - and you gotta be careful if there is a car close to your bumper. Have to use handbrakes (driving test hill test style) to safely pull off.

Tyres screeching on dry road when mashing out :O ! Even with 225 width! I hope to be putting some 235's on in a couple of weeks -so I'll see how that works.

Stereo and MFD workings took a while to read through and learn!

Just over quarter tank down from a full tank, and got about 330 km so far. I know others have been getting more out of it.... I'll update this over time.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 7th, 2012, 7:53 am

Congrats Tired Accord :D

A couple things:

The vehicle has hill hold feature. On inclines when you mash brakes on full stop the vehicle will hold the brakes for you for about 2 seconds after you release the brake. It's a feature designed to prevent severe roll back on inclines after releasing the brakes as the vehicle takes a half second to apply the clutch.

The other thing is the car is very cautious in D. Shift points are low (2000 rpm) and the car is not aggressive at all due to how VW tuned D mode for economy. If I want fast pull offs I throw it in sport or manual mode OR I take my foot off the brakes a half second earlier and begin to apply throttle depending on the traffic. It's off at first but you'll get accustomed to it in no time.

There is a section on breaking in the engine but I don't know the pages off hand.

What colour you got? I agree the non power folding mirrors was a disappointment. I sort of just expected the car to come with it. It's an option to add. Available on Highline Jettas as standard. We get the Comfortline here.

Put some pics up when yuh can nah. Either this thread or the show off your euro thread.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » December 7th, 2012, 2:14 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The vehicle has hill hold feature. On inclines when you mash brakes on full stop the vehicle will hold the brakes for you for about 2 seconds after you release the brake. It's a feature designed to prevent severe roll back on inclines after releasing the brakes as the vehicle takes a half second to apply the clutch.

Thanks cuz. I can't say that I've noticed this, or maybe that feature on mine isn't working... Think Lady Young traffic on evenings going uphill :shock: :shock:

The other thing is the car is very cautious in D. Shift points are low (2000 rpm) and the car is not aggressive at all due to how VW tuned D mode for economy. If I want fast pull offs I throw it in sport or manual mode OR I take my foot off the brakes a half second earlier and begin to apply throttle depending on the traffic. It's off at first but you'll get accustomed to it in no time.

I realize that, but I wasn't referring to the speed of pull off. Moreso - I meant to say that from full stop, the transmission takes about 1-2 seconds before the car starts moving. But as you say - that's how it works -so will take some getting used to - and compensate by taking foot off brakes earlier.

What colour you got? I agree the non power folding mirrors was a disappointment. I sort of just expected the car to come with it. It's an option to add. Available on Highline Jettas as standard. We get the Comfortline here.

I got a white, sunroof model. I thought the sunroof model is the Highline? Also - according to a feature sheet one of the sales exec had given me some time back - it said: Side mirrors electronically adjustable, foldable and heated with LED turn signals for the "package 2" as it was called. Soooooo.....false advertising? I depend on folding mirrors alot in moving through narrow roads, tight parking spaces, tight garages, kids on bicycles.... Really a disappointment.

Oh - also the brake dust on them fifty-spoke queensland rims is a bych to clean! But I knew that going in with a euro anyways.

Put some pics up when yuh can nah. Either this thread or the show off your euro thread.

Will do eventually. I don't want to post up crappy phone pics :(

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 7th, 2012, 2:23 pm

Technically the sentence is worded in a way to cover their asses eh. The mirrors are electronically adjustable with the knob inside yuh car. :lol: :lol:

The mirrors are foldable. They didn't say electronically foldable. Smh. They vague with that writing I know. The mirrors are heated BUT they only heat up when the ambient temperature is below some low figure that we practically NEVER hit here.

Highline Jettas get electronically adjustable seats, extra chrome on the lower grille in front and under the windows, electronically fold-able mirrors with memory function and a different keyless entry with push start, leather wrapped steering wheel with paddle shifters. What you can do when ordering is purchase some of these features to put in your Comfortline @ the factory. There are a ton of extras I didn't list. When I get a chance I'll post the option brochure from the UK so you get an idea of what you might be missing.

White is a nice colour. I hate the Queenslands. It's why I changed mine. I eh cleaning all dem spokes fuh nothing.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » December 7th, 2012, 5:19 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Here is a link to a document describing the euro jetta. It's very different fron the us jetta. Let me know if you guys can see it as I'm now trying out Dropbox.

got this for Euro Passat 1.8T?

Sorry, just so post where you're still looking.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 7th, 2012, 5:46 pm

I got a lot more to post. Have info on passat and will post up info for the 1.8T that I think is in the local passat along with repair manuals and other goodies.

Stay tuned!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 7th, 2012, 6:27 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Technically the sentence is worded in a way to cover their asses eh. The mirrors are electronically adjustable with the knob inside yuh car. :lol: :lol:

The mirrors are foldable. They didn't say electronically foldable. Smh. They vague with that writing I know. The mirrors are heated BUT they only heat up when the ambient temperature is below some low figure that we practically NEVER hit here.

Highline Jettas get electronically adjustable seats, extra chrome on the lower grille in front and under the windows, electronically fold-able mirrors with memory function and a different keyless entry with push start, leather wrapped steering wheel with paddle shifters. What you can do when ordering is purchase some of these features to put in your Comfortline @ the factory. There are a ton of extras I didn't list. When I get a chance I'll post the option brochure from the UK so you get an idea of what you might be missing.

White is a nice colour. I hate the Queenslands. It's why I changed mine. I eh cleaning all dem spokes fuh nothing.

Co-worker of mines bought a Nissan Quashai and was complaining in the office how he spent over $200k for it and it didn't come with powered mirrors. I had to tell him that when they say powered, it means the mirrors are adjustable just like what was said in the brochure.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 8th, 2012, 10:43 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars, why do ppl like/prefer electric folding mirrors?

Personally I don't care for them having had that on three of my cars. When some idiot hits your mirror the drive mechanism is often damaged which results in a malfunction or failure of the folding/un-folding capability. Replacement costs are high (if not found in the bamboo).

The benefits of the manual fold is; if hit, most times you just fold it back out manually and you're good to go (once the glass survives of course :lol:). My 2¢

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 8th, 2012, 10:52 pm

strange coincidence i was about to ask this question i test drove one today and really like it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 9th, 2012, 12:18 am

Wouldn't say I prefer it nah. I was talking more from the perspective of I thought I was paying for X but ended up not being X. I don't miss electronically foldable mirrors. On another vehicle with them I never used to fold them anyway. I guess to most people it's just one of those things you take for granted if you paying over 200K for a vehicle.

Alternatively another feature I wanted to add via VCDS can't be added because I didn't have the option to get electronically foldable mirrors.

Postby S_2NR » December 9th, 2012, 9:44 am

NorStar2K wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars, why do ppl like/prefer electric folding mirrors?

Personally I don't care for them having had that on three of my cars. When some idiot hits your mirror the drive mechanism is often damaged which results in a malfunction or failure of the folding/un-folding capability. Replacement costs are high (if not found in the bamboo).

The benefits of the manual fold is; if hit, most times you just fold it back out manually and you're good to go (once the glass survives of course :lol:). My 2¢

When squeezing thru tight traffic, parking in a tight spot or on a roadway. it is very convenient. cant live without it tbh

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » December 9th, 2012, 10:32 am

S_2NR wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars, why do ppl like/prefer electric folding mirrors?

When squeezing thru tight traffic, parking in a tight spot or on a roadway. it is very convenient. cant live without it tbh

Auto folding mirrors are pretty cool, especially if you park on the road with cars passing etc. My mom's 2007 Corolla has it.. why not my jetta ?

On another note, thx for the jetta eu.pdf Allergic pretty cool. Did you happen to stumble across any for the EU MK5 ?. They share some similarities.

Ps. US MK5 here.. http://www.vaglinks.com/Docs/VW/Misc/VW ... 891403.pdf

Return to “EURO”