Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW exec does your VIN have an "M" in it?
VW_Exec wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW exec does your VIN have an "M" in it?
According to my VIN:
Region: 1 W Europe
Manufacturer: 2-3 VW Volkswagen
I have the 24,455th VW Passat manufactured in Germany (not Mexico).
Also, confirmed that the Mechatronic Unit on the DSG tranny for the 2012 VW Passats were already upgraded to 'fault-free' version after the issues discovered in VW Jettas over 2010/2011 in the previous Mk5 chassis.
VW_Exec wrote:*side note*
Getting an annoying, intermittent, high-pitched squeal when applying light brakes at roll-forward pace to stop (for instance, bumper to bumper traffic). Also similar, but lower toned hum when reversing slowly with foot on brake.
It comes and goes; visited VW dealership yesterday, did a road test and true to form - noise did not appear. Technician viewed pads - lots of life left. Suggested that it may be brake dust and washing down brake set-up (when cold), would alleviate the noise.
Did some searches and noticed it is a fairly common problem with Audis/VWs, but just checking whether any of you guys experience this issue and any resolutions? Heard ceramic pads may help cure both heavy dusting/noise.
VW_Exec wrote:*side note*
Getting an annoying, intermittent, high-pitched squeal when applying light brakes at roll-forward pace to stop (for instance, bumper to bumper traffic). Also similar, but lower toned hum when reversing slowly with foot on brake.
It comes and goes; visited VW dealership yesterday, did a road test and true to form - noise did not appear. Technician viewed pads - lots of life left. Suggested that it may be brake dust and washing down brake set-up (when cold), would alleviate the noise.
Did some searches and noticed it is a fairly common problem with Audis/VWs, but just checking whether any of you guys experience this issue and any resolutions? Heard ceramic pads may help cure both heavy dusting/noise.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:We can now add Russia to the list of countries Volkswagen has increased the warranty of their 7 speed DSG trannies in. This addition came on Monday.
http://www.indiancarsbikes.in/cars/volk ... kms-60760/
"VOLKSWAGEN INCREASES WARRANTY ON 7 SPEED DSG AUTOMATIC GEARBOXES IN RUSSIA TO 5 YEARS/150,000 KMS
Volkswagen car owners across the globe have been complaining about the DSG automatic gearbox being trouble prone. The issue received global attention when Volkswagen issued an apology in China, to owners of Volkswagen cars that used DSG gearboxes. As a measure of goodwill, Volkswagen went ahead to increase the warranty on the DSG gearbox to 10 years and 160,000 kilometers. A while later, murmurs of DSG gearbox failures began emerging across the European car market. While Volkswagen is yet to officially take note of the problems expressed by Volkswagen group car owners in Europe, the brand seems to be wanting placate Russian car owners using the DSG gearbox.
In Russia, Volkswagen has offered a 5 years, 150,000 kilometer warranty on the 7 speed DSG gearbox after complaints about the gearbox were raised by Russian owners of Volkswagen cars. This move by Volkswagen Russia comes as a response to a campaign by Volkswagen car owners in Russia, protesting against the 7 speed DSG gearbox’s questionable reliability. The DSG automatic gearbox uses a dual clutch mechanism to make gearshifts faster than on conventional torque converter automatics. This gearbox is used on a range of Volkswagen group car brands like Skoda, Audi and Seat.
The technology laden gearbox has made cars quicker and more fuel efficient as it is said to be lighter than other comparable gearboxes. In India too, the DSG automatic gearbox is used on a range of Audi, Volkswagen and Skoda cars. Of these brands, Skoda has been selling the most number of cars with the DSG automatic gearbox and there have been quite a few cases of DSG gearboxes failing. While Skoda has repaired or replaced the DSG gearbox as and when problems occur, owners of these cars remain a worried lot as there is no real way of determining whether or not the trouble will re-occur.
This has meant that many Skoda car owners in India, have had to live with the Damocles sword like, potentially faulty DSG gearbox hanging over their heads. Just as it has done in China and Russia, would it not be apt for Volkswagen India and Skoda India to reassure customers with a similar goodwill extended warranty on the DSG gearbox? Doing thus will only reassure existing Volkswagen and Skoda car owners while reaffirming the Volkswagen group’s commitment towards customer delight."
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW_Exec wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW exec does your VIN have an "M" in it?
According to my VIN:
Also, confirmed that the Mechatronic Unit on the DSG tranny for the 2012 VW Passats were already upgraded to 'fault-free' version after the issues discovered in VW Jettas over 2010/2011 in the previous Mk5 chassis.
I doh mean to be all doom and gloom eh but you should verify part numbers before you accept what the sales execs say at the dealership.
Your passat is the 1.8T with DQ200 7 speed DSG yes?
rawCpoppa wrote:So far no real issues on my car to affect performance. I do experience a rattle noise though. I hear it with the windows down at low speeds when there is a gear change. Like when slowing down and crossing a hump. I also hear these rattles on bumpy roads.
Of course the dealer says this is normal but I have never heard this in other cars. Friend of mine was told this same thing when after having bought a new mk5 jetta tsi with the same dsg. They just replaced his gearbox after a year and a half.
VW_Exec wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW_Exec wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW exec does your VIN have an "M" in it?
According to my VIN:
I doh mean to be all doom and gloom eh but you should verify part numbers before you accept what the sales execs say at the dealership.
didn't come from sales exec.
yes; that's the drive train set-up.
we should probably catalogue various DQ tranny part numbers and determine if there are any differences.
rawCpoppa wrote:VW_Exec wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW_Exec wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:VW exec does your VIN have an "M" in it?
According to my VIN:
didn't come from sales exec.
yes; that's the drive train set-up.
we should probably catalogue various DQ tranny part numbers and determine if there are any differences.
Good idea...how do we get these part numbers?
Pointman-IA wrote:See if you all can get the Electronic Parts catalogue (ELSAWin) for the VAG Group cars.
neexis wrote:the possibility of dsg issues have me a bit hesitant right now.
whats BA's warranty with respect to the car? i suppose they deny any dsg issues right now
Rainman wrote:neexis wrote:the possibility of dsg issues have me a bit hesitant right now.
whats BA's warranty with respect to the car? i suppose they deny any dsg issues right now
They fully denied having any issues with the current model's DSG. My co-worker's car is still at BA for transmission issues. I really had my heart set on purchasing this car, but i will have to start looking at another model.
Rainman wrote:neexis wrote:the possibility of dsg issues have me a bit hesitant right now.
They fully denied having any issues with the current model's DSG. My co-worker's car is still at BA for transmission issues. I really had my heart set on purchasing this car, but i will have to start looking at another model.
neexis wrote:Rainman wrote:neexis wrote:the possibility of dsg issues have me a bit hesitant right now.
Is her model the 2012 as well? Is she receiving any compensation... or at least a loaner till they solve the problem?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Rainman wrote:neexis wrote:the possibility of dsg issues have me a bit hesitant right now.
To be fair I think we need better stats. While I know of two people with troubles and your coworker being the 3rd but there many Jettas on the road. Not saying there isn't an issue either. Just saying hearsay can put negative spin on things quite easily. Part of this thread will go towards getting better stats as well as providing info on day to day/week to week performance and issues with this car so anyone can get a better info about this model.