Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

seanf3000

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby seanf3000 » March 3rd, 2014, 11:50 am

Thanks to you guys for posting all this info. It actually convinced me to pick up my mk6 Jetta bout almost a year ago.

Haven't been on trinituner for a while since today :| Lol

Anyways..not to current on the maintenance issues since its a leased car...but good to know what to expect. Love the dsg7, luckily haven't had any issues since I've had the car....same issues as you guys......a pain to drive in traffic cause of the d1/d2 so switch to manual mode. Actually...i think this car is meant more to be driven in manual mode than automatic.

Fuel efficiency is good...usually get about 550-600 a tank and i'm in the snail crawl in the morning going into town.

Definitely a change in driving style when i drive my older Fielder.....but at least it's a 1.8. Going back to a 1.5 would have probably been serious culture shock.

Question...what your oil temp usually like.....i'm usually around 90 and max i've seen is 98, but i saw on one of allergics pics his temp at 105.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 3rd, 2014, 1:04 pm

I actually did a hard run from Maraval to Blanchi and saw 115C degrees..ambient tempt was 28C...but the flash point of the factory Castrol syntech is around 200C...so I thinking we safe? :lol:

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 3rd, 2014, 1:16 pm

I have seen 105 deg C on my Yeti, spirited Highway run :lol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 3rd, 2014, 4:32 pm

The most mine reached was probably 112 deg on a highway run. Have seen other posters get up to 120.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 3rd, 2014, 6:01 pm

Silly question of course.....maybe i don't drive it hard enough.

I was considering getting a Tiguan to replace the fielder....but i'm not sure i want to deal with two dsg tranmissions in one garage....LOL!!!! Plus the trunk space is a bit small. But the TSI/DSG combination has me hooked.

Thanks for the earlier last name/first name solution for the voice calling....that was a savior. I do find that ever so often the bluetooth connection drops but then reconnects after a half minute or so....but i do know two people who sent in their passats because they could never get their bluetooth setups to work. Tricky Germans.

Anyone here using Amsoil in their mk6s.....that what i've been using in the fielder.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 3rd, 2014, 8:26 pm

The Tiguan's dq500 dsg wet clutch is the strongest of the lot ..it can handle HP to 476 lb ft. Of torque so you can go to stage 3 tune .....go for it bro

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 3rd, 2014, 10:10 pm

Thats true...its not a 200. Still doesnt solve the problem of space, but it is one less issue.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » March 4th, 2014, 2:02 pm

have to go in for a 40k service (now reach 30k) looking to organised for this week.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 4th, 2014, 9:31 pm

So hot that oil does get? Never crossed 101

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 5th, 2014, 12:28 pm

Drchaos...de way I does jive I sure I could have seen 120 at least...lol

Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 6th, 2014, 8:30 am

So just to give a word of caution to those who want to do their own oil changes: make sure the gasket from the old filter DOES NOT remain on the engine oil filter socket. If it does a proper seal won't be formed when you put on the new filter.

I did my first oil change this weekend and the hard part, draining the oil sump, went well. However when I put on the new oil filter and went for a drive things went lil sour. Got a leak thru the oil filter because I didn't realize the black ring on the empty oil filter socket was part of the gasket from the old oil filter.

Piece of old gasket stuck onto engine oil filter socket:

Damaged gasket on new filter due to tightening against old filter gasket:

Remnants of new filter:

Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on March 6th, 2014, 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 6th, 2014, 12:15 pm

Credit to allyuh fellas for being hands on, I literally not attempting to do anything in the car without prior experience or hands on training with somebody in the know. Learning on the go could be costly depending on what you dabble with.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » March 6th, 2014, 12:35 pm

greggle71 wrote:Credit to allyuh fellas for being hands on, I literally not attempting to do anything in the car without prior experience or hands on training with somebody in the know. Learning on the go could be costly depending on what you dabble with.

x2 but after 4 yrs i might be inclined too.... :D

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 6th, 2014, 1:29 pm

greggle71 wrote:Credit to allyuh fellas for being hands on, I literally not attempting to do anything in the car without prior experience or hands on training with somebody in the know. Learning on the go could be costly depending on what you dabble with.

I hear yuh but Youtube, this thread and other forums are your friend. This thread in particular is for details I found so others don't have to make the same mistakes I did.

Anyways my warranty is almost up. Doing the oil change yourself is $340 vs $1100 without having to drop your car off at the firm for hours or a day. Learning on the go could save you a ton and help you avoid alot of BS out there.

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » March 6th, 2014, 9:51 pm

So true bunny...

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » March 7th, 2014, 12:05 am

one should at least be able to change ones oil simply

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 7th, 2014, 12:40 pm

Castrol oil in my experience will achieve thermal breakdown faster than many oils out there with the exception of Mobil1 and AMSOIL. Depending on your time of driving and throttle input, I can achieve oil temps of late 90's and very rare over 110, oh and this is untuned...with an air filter that is probably a year old and spark plugs even older..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 7th, 2014, 1:24 pm

acesinghit wrote:Castrol oil in my experience will achieve thermal breakdown faster than many oils out there with the exception of Mobil1 and AMSOIL. Depending on your time of driving and throttle input, I can achieve oil temps of late 90's and very rare over 110, oh and this is untuned...with an air filter that is probably a year old and spark plugs even older..

You've done oil analysis on the oils?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 7th, 2014, 2:09 pm

yep....a series of observations over time. Use indicators like texture, smell, how it runs off the dipstick, check for any particles that you can see etc..Oil analysis does not always have to mean you have the machinery and engineers on-hand to test it. Key results for me in our 4 yr old motor is how quickly the oil changes colour and how it runs off the dipstick or into your catch container. Mobil1 and AMSOIL to me is well worth every penny especially for euro designed motors.

Since you are doing your own oil changes now you would observe a lot on your own.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2014, 2:59 pm

Yeah with that Castrol edge at 5000 mile mark it looks like they just drilled that oil out of the ground. Only think I have to compare with is shell in my parents crv which just gets a bit darker in colour but still transparent and very fluid like. Then again direct inject engines are known to be dirtier with carbon build up and I'm glad the stuff is in the oil which means it ain't in the engine.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » March 9th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Guys I use this
http://www.liquimolytt.com/index.php/pr ... ech-5-w-40

Its a German made oil that works very well for me, that also make a good injector cleaners.
I find I get a smoother acceleration, better fuel economy, and longer intervals between changes with this oil as com paired to castrol.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 10th, 2014, 11:21 am

Do you buy the oil and take in to BA when you service? Or do the oil changes yourself/outside?

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » March 10th, 2014, 9:43 pm

Good work Bunny, sorry that the seal from the old one remained though. I for one will be doing like you when my warranty is up in May. Will look out for that seal..thanks!
The last time I went there they did not tighten the oil filter and oil leaked all over because of this.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 10th, 2014, 9:47 pm

fastredcar wrote:Good work Bunny, sorry that the seal from the old one remained though. I for one will be doing like you when my warranty is up in May. Will look out for that seal..thanks!
The last time I went there they did not tighten the oil filter and oil leaked all over because of this.

How bad was the leak? How did you get the oil cleaned off? Where did it end up falling? Mine got on the engine block, exhaust and engine underbody shield. Looking for the best way to clean these things.

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » March 10th, 2014, 10:12 pm

So guys..I have some news for you about my DSG in my MKVI Jetta...

It is failing..some signs to look out for are:

1. When put in a gear..the car does not move and the respective gear blinks on the dash.

2. A flashing wrench on the dash, alternating with the gear in place.

My car made 45,000 miles before this happened. Went today to see what they are saying, initially they said it was not the mechatronic..so they updated the car's software...went for a test drive and the flashing wrench came back.

This time it showed up with a Hydraulic pump error..mechatronic issue. They ordered it for me, so right now I am hoping that my car lasts until then.

Thank you for allowing me to place this note here for you guys.
Jetta_D1.jpg
Jetta_Wrench.jpg

fastredcar

Postby fastredcar » March 10th, 2014, 10:14 pm

The oil leak was all over under (hahaha) the engine..had to get an underwash after because the oile ran down the engine bay..leaked on the floor etc..I lost almost a quart of oil before i realised what was happening.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 10th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Thanks for the info. Sorry to hear bout your issue though. When was your Jetta bought/made?

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 11th, 2014, 6:37 am

Fastredcar are you in heavy traffic during daily commute?

telfer

Postby telfer » March 11th, 2014, 6:50 am

What kind of cost does the mechatronics carry

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 11th, 2014, 3:41 pm

Also they covering under good will or you hadda pay?

Return to “EURO”